List Mgmt. 2025 Trade & List Management Thread

Oh Nostradamus mate you still haven’t answered why Richmond 3 times won flags with 1 ruck and two tall forwards in 3 flags (the outlier), Geelong won with two tall Fwds and one ruck, and Collingwood won with one tall forward (I’d play LMac on Miochek yes but I’ll give you him as a tall) and two Rucks.

I even allowed you Brisbane and calling Morris a tall (191cm) and their Daniher Hipwood Fort combo as proving your point.

So the only premiership won with 4 genuine talls was Melbourne with Brown McDonald Jackson & Gawn.

Be fair to say that the Jackson Gawn ruck duo was pretty unique.

And we do have a list spot for Allan, never once said we did not.

And he’d take Darling’s spot!

Oh Nostradamus mate you still haven’t answered why Richmond 3 times won flags with 1 ruck and two tall forwards in 3 flags (the outlier), Geelong won with two tall Fwds and one ruck, and Collingwood won with one tall forward (I’d play LMac on Miochek yes but I’ll give you him as a tall) and two Rucks.

I even allowed you Brisbane and calling Morris a tall (191cm) and their Daniher Hipwood Fort combo as proving your point.

So the only premiership won with 4 genuine talls was Melbourne with Brown McDonald Jackson & Gawn.

Be fair to say that the Jackson Gawn ruck duo was pretty unique.

And we do have a list spot for Allan, never once said we did not.

And he’d take Darling’s spot!
Home Run Sport GIF by MLB

Oh dear indeed
Next you’ll be telling me that Bailey Scott and his ability to gut run to the right spots on the ground as a winger, someone who covers exits from oppo defence, puts himself in great positions and who’s disposal and decision making is growing quickly is no good and this isn’t part of the modern game.

But you know footy so you wouldn’t double down your idiocy would you?

Next you’ll be telling me that Bailey Scott and his ability to gut run to the right spots on the ground as a winger, someone who covers exits from oppo defence, puts himself in great positions and who’s disposal and decision making is growing quickly is no good and this isn’t part of the modern game.

But you know footy so you would double down your idiocy would you?
Ah yes bailey butcher scott
Loves to run

Unfortunately so does a marathon runner doesn’t make them kick a footy well or block for teammates or get back in the hole putting their body on the line

Loves to run

Unfortunately so does a marathon runner doesn’t make them kick a footy well or block for teammates or get back in the hole putting their body on the line
for a bloke that cant kick that 56m goal of 2 steps was quite the aberation. Like ccjs bomb from the middle down at Tassie? Just between you and me i reckon one was a fluke! and more surely you will try and tell me ccjs wasnt. Just because you change your handle from the ziebell to nostradamas dont mean you know footy.

Loves to run

That was the past when he was the only one running. No he has everyone doing the work for him, he is looking pretty sweet

Fairly certain that we knew exactly where the game was heading at the end of last season , just like GC we looked to get players that provide run off half back .

Considering we were also keen on but missed out on Houston & Broad I’d think it’s a fair bet we will do all that we possibly can to get Maynard across & if we miss I fully expect us to go after another running defender . Milera is a RFA & Markov is an UFA that are moneyball options .

Other players that are out of contract who I rate highly that haven’t reached their full potential but would be great for us are Connor Budarick & Callum Brown .

Lol what by proving he doesn’t know that 2 rucks and 2kpf is the same as 3 talls and a ruck?

With the point being that we are playing one less tall atm than most teams (and our second half of last year) and thus can afford to target one and bring into the team eg Oscar Allen
Careful... Next he'll be schooling us again on Tsatis' armspan and how that makes him a superior player.

I’m sure they are completely unreleated, however, Collingwood have been the ones rumored to have been in LDU’s managements ears for the last 18 months.

You wonder if it’s a little bit of counter fire.

Further, I reckon that’s a strategic leak from Rawlings or Thursfield to Twomey to get the correct number out there. They talk regularly to Twomey, I’ve never heard them talk with Jay Clark tbh.

None of the first five picks in that year – including West Coast’s Harley Reid, North Melbourne’s Colby McKercher and Zane Duursma, Gold Coast’s Jed Walter and Hawthorn’s Nick Watson – have extended beyond 2026 as yet, although Reid has worn most of the focus.

There is also uncertainty around the list management rules relating to Tasmania’s entry into the AFL in 2028, with two players in that crop – McKercher and the Western Bulldogs’ Ryley Sanders – highly rated Tasmanian products.

Their next deals will be fascinating, as signing a one-year extension would ramp up speculation they were open to a move to their home state’s new club, while a longer-term deal would obviously rule them out of being part of the first Devils intake.

None of the first five picks in that year – including West Coast’s Harley Reid, North Melbourne’s Colby McKercher and Zane Duursma, Gold Coast’s Jed Walter and Hawthorn’s Nick Watson – have extended beyond 2026 as yet, although Reid has worn most of the focus.

There is also uncertainty around the list management rules relating to Tasmania’s entry into the AFL in 2028, with two players in that crop – McKercher and the Western Bulldogs’ Ryley Sanders – highly rated Tasmanian products.

Their next deals will be fascinating, as signing a one-year extension would ramp up speculation they were open to a move to their home state’s new club, while a longer-term deal would obviously rule them out of being part of the first Devils intake.

The club would want clarification.

From the initial things I’ve read, 1 x OOC player per club will be deemed as an unrestricted free agent for Tasmania with normal compensation rules to apply.

In a hypothetical, losing McKercher effectively as a FA for Band 1 when we climb the ladder would be a disaster.

If he is to go, it needs to be in a trade under contract so we extract as many picks out of Tassies initial hoard as possible.

It would be typical AFL to give Melbourne a kings ransom for Scully when he left under similar circumstances but have us completely shafted under a similar scenario.

There needs to be another category above Band 1 for younger stars offered huge money. Band levels are based on age at FA (26 or so) Not top draftee's just selected with 10+ years ahead of them. A 21/22 year old on millions would blow the rating calc formula up. Needs to be a 2 x Band 1 result for this situation for Tassie.

But there wont be.

If we lost McKercher, or Dogs Sanders, or GWS Callaghan, or Dogs Darcy, or Hawks Watson, or Pies Daicos, or WCE Reid in purely hypotheticals - clubs should be properly compensated.

FA compensation is not appropriate and fair market value for these types of young players. FA isn't built for that.

Can you imagine if we lost McKercher for Pick 12 or the Hawks Watson for Pick 16 as an example?

Given their age relative to other FA's and likely pay offers. Most of the above would probably sit #1 in the compo rating formula league wide. Not just the top 40 for Band 1.

List Mgmt. 2025 Trade & List Management Thread

Write your reply...