Player Watch #23: Geordie Payne - Pick 1 2024 MSD - Welcome to NM!

No he didn't.

He won the Tasmanian Coates League B&F.

Riley Sanders played his Coates League football for Sandringham as he boarded at Melbourne Grammar.

In terms of him versus McKercher and James Leake.

He played 15 Nab League games vs the 9 from Colby and 11 from Leake. McKercher won the Morrish Medal from only those 9 games though.

Sanders won the Larke Medal and Connor O'Sullivan won the Allies MVP at the carnival.

Payne didn't play in last years Allies side.

My lord his reaction was painful to watch lol I don't think he could hide his feelings on not wanting to come to North (I honestly don't blame him) especially considering it was a complete shock to him, because he had no idea North were even interested. I mean any young kid, going to one of the worst teams in history (losing culture) would be shattering haha we are a laughing stock to the AFL ATM

I am not a expert in reactions though, so WTF would i know haha at least the kid is raw and shows real emotion 💙

My lord his reaction was painful to watch lol I don't think he could hide his feelings on not wanting to come to North (I honestly don't blame him) especially considering it was a complete shock to him, because he had no idea North were even interested. I mean any young kid, going to one of the worst teams in history (losing culture) would be shattering haha we are a laughing stock to the AFL ATM

I am not a expert in reactions though, so WTF would i know haha at least the kid is raw and shows real emotion 💙
I spoke to someone yesterday morning who knows his coach and other people involved in AFL Tassie youth pathways and they all knew he was going to North with the draft. The person I spoke to said wtte of "Good news for Geordie Payne, he's going to North. The club told him last week."

OMG this TicToc Insta based world has gone crazy.

Yeah we carry the scars of Judas but Jebus......

We don't want a kid who flip flops and Dabs in his lounge room, or sleeps in a footy jumper with the night light on, we want a footballer.

Hopefully Geordie can deliver on field for us. We desperately need a little mongrel and anger in this team. F*&^ emotions and fake 15 seconds of fame crap, give us heart and effort, bleed for this team the love will come.

Yeah, none of that is true. He knew we we picking him well ahead of last night and said publicly (and you’d have to assume privately to recruiters) that he is rapt to be on an AFL list. The filmed moment was just too much.

Yes it's hard to believe in this day and age but a lot of people can't or won't just spontaneously look "excited" or "zany" on request.

If he contrived a reaction is guess it would've looked way worse.

Maybe one day he can high 5 a kid and scream on the premiership dais for us and we can breath easy about his ability to externise happy emotions.

This kid for some reason or another reminds of Kayne Turner .

Yes it's hard to believe in this day and age but a lot of people can't or won't just spontaneously look "excited" or "zany" on request.

If he contrived a reaction is guess it would've looked way worse.

Maybe one day he can high 5 a kid and scream on the premiership dais for us and we can breath easy about his ability to externise happy emotions.
I saw his interview with Nat Edwards after he was drafted. Poor kid seemed overwhelmed with the realisation of his AFL dream coming true, he said he shed a tear. I'm guessing he did his upmost to keep his emotions in check for fear that they might all coming rushing out.

I saw his interview with Nat Edwards after he was drafted. Poor kid seemed overwhelmed with the realisation of his AFL dream coming true, he said he shed a tear. I'm guessing he was upmost to keep his emotions in check for fear that they might all coming rushing out.
We're so used to draftees coming through like polished media professionals when a kid comes through responding to an interview like, well, a normal kid, it seems somehow more jarring.

He's gone from his own little world to his heart racing being livestreamed in his house.

Other than The acurate one I reckon most of us would be a little overwhelmed under similar circumstances.

Player Watch #23: Geordie Payne - Pick 1 2024 MSD - Welcome to NM!