Player Watch #31 Rhyan Mansell - Re-Signed Until 2026

Your point?
To be a Richmond fan apparently you need to have a memory of a goldfish and a players 1 shit game after a month of solid ones including his best for the club only a week ago, after building a very decent year playing in a very difficult position being completely removed from ones memory and don’t count when discussing a player

Obviously

its the position, you see it every week unless they are elite.

Fair call mate. Guess we need to look at a few more classy small forwards. Not like they grow on trees ;)
Hawks have added Watson the wizard but pretty sure he was a pick 5 and ginnivan has been good for them.

Not saying he's elite but we do miss Rioli Junior, more so his frenetic pressure. Even in Mansells 3 goals last week, he had only 12 pressure acts and today 13

Mansell he's a trier I'll give him that but he doesn't have good running patterns for a small forward and doesn't possess any real forward craft.

At one time we had an influx of small classy forwards, Dan Rioli 2017, Butler, Higgins, Stengle

Green looks likely and has much upside.

Fair call mate. Guess we need to look at a few more classy small forwards. Not like they grow on trees ;)
Hawks have added Watson the wizard but pretty sure he was a pick 5 and ginnivan has been good for them.

Not saying he's elite but we do miss Rioli Junior, more so his frenetic pressure. Even in Mansells 3 goals last week, he had only 12 pressure acts and today 13

Mansell he's a trier I'll give him that but he doesn't have good running patterns for a small forward and doesn't possess any real forward craft.

At one time we had an influx of small classy forwards, Dan Rioli 2017, Butler, Higgins, Stengle

Green looks likely and has much upside.
Agree, I reckon if you had a gun small fwd, its easier to carry a junk yard dog like Mansell. It doesnt help our fwd line is so shit.

To be a Richmond fan apparently you need to have a memory of a goldfish and a players 1 shit game after a month of solid ones including his best for the club only a week ago, after building a very decent year playing in a very difficult position being completely removed from ones memory and don’t count when discussing a player

Obviously

One dimensional list clogger and has no natural small forward traits. Should be a tagger, but we do it different nowadays with our FD.

The second post quoted above is a beautiful example of what the first post described. :)

Explains why we are favourites for the wooden spoon. Keep gambling on list cloggers and you will go broke.

So let me get this straight.

The fact we have 23rd best performing general forward in the AFL(roughly 60-70 of these take the field in the AFL each week) in our team is the reason why we are favourite for the wooden spoon?

Rhyan Mansell is Richmond's highest rated general forward in 2024.

He is our highest rated specialist forward in 2024.

He is our 11th highest rated player in 2024 based on average performance. 8th highest rated if you remove the players who have not played 10 games.

But you say his presence in the team explains why we are wooden spoon favourite.

You do not appear to be sane.

So let me get this straight.

The fact we have 23rd best performing general forward in the AFL(roughly 60-70 of these take the field in the AFL each week) in our team is the reason why we are favourite for the wooden spoon?

Rhyan Mansell is our Richmond's rated general forward in 2024.

He is our highest rated specialist forward in 2024.

He is our 11th highest rated player in 2024 based on average performance. 8th highest rated if you remove the players who have not played 10 games.

But you say his presence in the team explains why we are wooden spoon favourite.

You do not appear to be sane.
Yep and we struggle to kick ten goals a game. I get it well and that’s why stats are rubbish . He’s rated so highly bc he plays every week and most are in and out with injuries or inexperienced players. As I said Mansell is the living evidence of where we are as a football club and the sooner this potato is upgraded the quicker we will rise.

Obviously
Obviously, is there any other way?

Speaking of, Dustin Martin just goes missing doesn't he? Why did we even draft him, doesn't seem interesting in his footy and making an impact on the ground.

Yep and we struggle to kick ten goals a game. I get it well and that’s why stats are rubbish . He’s rated so highly bc he plays every week and most are in and out with injuries or inexperienced players. As I said Mansell is the living evidence of where we are as a football club and the sooner this potato is upgraded the quicker we will rise.

Those are average performances. Not affected by missing games.

Just to be clear here, you plan to start rebuilding our forward line by replacing our best performing specialist forward...with who exactly?

Those are average performances. Not affected by missing games.

Just to be clear here, you plan to start rebuilding our forward line by replacing our best performing specialist forward...with who exactly?
If you’re missing games it’s harder to recapture form. 😝
Again if he’s our best forward then we’re in trouble and a struggling ten goal side will not win many games. Now I know why you’re a reformed gambler as you’ve often told us as you back long shot donkeys like the ilk of Sunshine Sally to beat the ilk of Winx . Smell the roses and come into reality.

I think Mansell has been quite serviceable this season, more than i thought he could achieve anyway. I had him on the delist pile, but he has exceeded my expectations and has shown us something we could possibly work with, if we can get some better players in the side, he might be even more damaging.

Players like Mansell, given reasonable fitness, are never going to be the reason the team is no good. He is tough, team focussed, committed and has reasonable skills. He doesn't have any single big weapon but he is an all round good footballer.

Yep, least of our worries, its the lack of quality around him IMO. FP is also on of the hardest positions to play, its either feast or famine

20 goals for the season and has improved a lot! Kicked some great goals this year, would be close to top 5 in B&F?

It will be interesting to see how Mansell's apparent improvement translates to when we are a competitive team. By official player ratings, he is the 21st highest rated general forward in the AFL in 2024, and 42nd rated forward full stop. He has been comfortably our highest rated forward. Good effort in the circumstances.

Anyone picking out Mansell this year as list clogger is a moron. A list clogger is a player who’s not delivering and in and out, or just going through the motions. How in the hell can he be seen as a list clogger when he’s probably be one of our top dozen performers? There are 15+ players on our list who you’d move on before this bloke. He’s an honest toiler. We’ll worth retaining, especially with the state of our list.

Player Watch #31 Rhyan Mansell - Re-Signed Until 2026