3rd Ashes Test England v Australia July 6-10 1930hrs @ Headingley

Who will win?

Danger game. Australia were lucky to get out of that Lords game with a win, our batting in the second innings was appalling as was our strategy after we had them 4 down. The English will take a lot from both strategic failures on another doctored pitch.

I think they were more lucky to get out of the first game with a win. No wonder Pat Cummins is handling the press so well. He must be feeling like a million bucks.

We were still going for the win though so needed to score some runs in the 2nd dig. If it is another road and England start with a bouncer barrage, we can just bore them into a draw to retain the Ashes. They will be stuffed for the 4th Test.

I'm surprised Robinson is going to keep his spot. He's looked crap with the ball and even worse with the bat when the game was on the line. His dismissal was worse than Bairstows after all the hard work put in by Stokes & Broad.

Imagine if the Aussie team HAD actually done something dastardly? Pat Cummins is handling it beautifully, impressed with his demeanour.

Yep handling it superbly. Factual, non emotional and supportive of his side. He’s a bloody good skipper.

I don’t think so. We had enough chances to get Stokes out. Smith takes that catch which really wasn’t that hard and they collapse earlier.

These matches come down to a few moments. We kept them in it with a few mistakes. Reckon 2-0 is probably right.

The big concern is still not being able to bat england out of these games especially when we fight through toughest conditions, i would love to see a team bat big vs bazball make 500+ over 5 sessions if you can then see how england respond, maybe next test wont be sort of track where thats possible but at 3/320 at lords we could have shut them out of the match an hour after lunch day 2, grind them down let them hang themselves with bazball batting.

Costco in Perth has 1.75 Jacks for $99.

Daniel Day Lewis Fight GIF by MIRAMAX

Bring it Poms!

The big concern is still not being able to bat england out of these games especially when we fight through toughest conditions, i would love to see a team bat big vs bazball make 500+ over 5 sessions if you can then see how england respond, maybe next test wont be sort of track where thats possible but at 3/320 at lords we could have shut them out of the match an hour after lunch day 2, grind them down let them hang themselves with bazball batting.
I see glass half full, but I get what you mean Frank.

We have batted in the worst of conditions, I wonder how much different results may have been if the boot was on the other foot.

I don't get why everyone thinks "Bazball" has failed, or that them being 2-0 down is proof it is no good?

I love seeing them lose and I love seeing them complain even more, but without their aggressive approach they don't come close to beating us. This new style of play, although sometimes seemingly dumb is their best chance of winning and they're playing better for it.

The Aussies have just stood up a bit better in some key moments, without luck at times regarding conditions or winning the toss but just doing enough.

This article shows how close it is (keeping in mind England have generally had better conditions).

So Bazball is fine for them, it doesn't mean they're as good as Australia but it is making them competitive. Them losing doesn't mean their way of playing isn't good for them or it's a massive failure. It has made this test series so much more interesting and suits them well.

The downside of course being that their bowlers will be stuffed given how short a rest they get and how little they're getting from the pitch when the clouds disappear.

I am all for them playing that way, I love seeing this crazyness coming up against players like Smith and Usman at the crease and Cummins with the ball and how he sets fields.

Aussies have heaps of room to improve here and close out the series, England have even more to do to catch up, it makes for an exciting series.

The sooking in the media isn't about Bazball, it's just English cricket in general.

I don't get why everyone thinks "Bazball" has failed, or that them being 2-0 down is proof it is no good?

I love seeing them lose and I love seeing them complain even more, but without their aggressive approach they don't come close to beating us. This new style of play, although sometimes seemingly dumb is their best chance of winning and they're playing better for it.

The Aussies have just stood up a bit better in some key moments, without luck at times regarding conditions or winning the toss but just doing enough.

This article shows how close it is (keeping in mind England have generally had better conditions).

So Bazball is fine for them, it doesn't mean they're as good as Australia but it is making them competitive. Them losing doesn't mean their way of playing isn't good for them or it's a massive failure. It has made this test series so much more interesting and suits them well.

The downside of course being that their bowlers will be stuffed given how short a rest they get and how little they're getting from the pitch when the clouds disappear.

I am all for them playing that way, I love seeing this crazyness coming up against players like Smith and Usman at the crease and Cummins with the ball and how he sets fields.

Aussies have heaps of room to improve here and close out the series, England have even more to do to catch up, it makes for an exciting series.

The sooking in the media isn't about Bazball, it's just English cricket in general.
I think it's telling that they've been better for us for large periods of both games and still found a way to throw it away. I think that's the real criticism of their approach at the moment. It's working very well...until they overdo it and let us back on top.

I think England were lucky to get that close.
The innings from Stokes was incredible but if they’re relying on a performance like that to (almost) get over the line then they’ll lose a lot more than they win.

I think it's telling that they've been better for us for large periods of both games and still found a way to throw it away. I think that's the real criticism of their approach at the moment. It's working very well...until they overdo it and let us back on top.
Conceding double both the extras and missed chances is telling. The Baz ball cult plays golf & goes to the pub more than it trains. Everyone is friends with everyone, no telling them off for a front foot no ball.

The sheer volume of “this you?” examples that have cropped up over the last few days is striking. And hilarious.
It just shows that there's nothing extraordinary about what Carey did, it just rarely works because you're relying on the batsman being as dumb as Bairstow was.

With each game, I find myself wanting the aussies to win more than I did the previous game. Never wanted to win an ashes series so much. Those arrogant sanctimonious hypocrites need to be sat on their arse soooo badly it's unbelievable...
But it will be a moral arse sitting....

3rd Ashes Test England v Australia July 6-10 1930hrs @ Headingley