AFL Autopsy 4 point loss to Hawthorn

Amazing game. That was how all matches should be. Can’t help the result, but wow. So much respect for the hawks for running out a high intensity game on a 6 day turnaround from Perth. I know it’s not a popular opinion around here, but I think they’re as good a chance as any to take it out.

I think we’ve found a sustainable game plan. Just need a fit Joey and Marty back in, plus one more solid mid and we should be in contention.

Thanks for the game lads. Lived up to the hype. You guys played well, got us on a down day and nearly snatched it. Well played!

Think that was our down day and probably your peak. Well played nonetheless

They are a strange supporter group indeed - on big footy, and to a lesser extent in real life. It may be that they have come to football late or that they have seen a lot of success, but in stark contrast to other supporter groups most of them seem incapable of acknowledging anything outside Hawthorn. They seem to spend a lot of their time doing their best to denigrate great players from other clubs (Ablett Selwood ect.). From what I read on their board it seems that the majority of them don't actually like or appreciate the game of football. Strange bunch.

Cmon dude, that's a horrid response. If you knew our board you'd know we have a huge chunk of "older" supporters, I'm 50+, guys that have seen rivalries transcend from glenferrie/windy hill brawls in front of 15k to stoushes in GF's and punch ups in front of 70-100k.

Our board is a pure piss take, most posters overstate things and love the banter but like all supporter groups there's a bunch of nuffies. Geelong and Essendon are the 2 clubs we really get savage for, the rivalry is genuine and has a real cultural and tribal feel.

Anyway, I think yesterday showed how much get up you blokes have, how many times did you think Hawthorn had the game for you blokes to just dig in and keep coming? It's a sign of a team with genuine spirit, it also said to me that you're bloody close to winning finals.

Yesterday provided without doubt the most entertaining and high level game of the year, it was a bloody ripper and one that almost everyone can appreciate.

He destroyed us, mainly because we kept blind-bombing it to him. Take him out and we would have won comfortably.

Spot on.. Stratts was the biggest reason we held on, I think he almost had double digit intercept marks, I know he was close to the record.

Normally he plays a lock down role on Stringer but we rolled the dice allowing him to peel off with no Sicily. Bloody hell did Jake look good though, this bloke is starting to find his groove, going to be scary in 19

Spot on.. Stratts was the biggest reason we held on, I think he almost had double digit intercept marks, I know he was close to the record.

Normally he plays a lock down role on Stringer but we rolled the dice allowing him to peel off with no Sicily. Bloody hell did Jake look good though, this bloke is starting to find his groove, going to be scary in 19
Yep, just need to keep him off the pies and teenagers, and he’ll be amazing.

Stratton was immense, and ultimately the difference.

Thanks for the game lads. Lived up to the hype. You guys played well, got us on a down day and nearly snatched it. Well played!

And Exhibit A of the obnoxiously horrid Hawk fans I was referring too in my previous post.

“You guys played well, got us on a down day and nearly snatched it” ... oh so gracious to infer we were only going to win on a Hawthorn ‘down’ day. We didn’t play well in parts of that game at all and led to our own demise with errors galore.

I agree this year isn't a waste, we saw a bit from young guys like Guefli, Ridley, Beguly and Clarke, successfully brought in three big names in Smith, Stringer and Saad as well we have put another into the likes of Langford, Parish, McGrath so it hasn't been a waste, sure I wanted finals but I feel if that doesn't happen next year then we will have bigger questions.

Yes they have to get it all together next year. I am still doubtful we are a genuine premiership chance but if they fail to play the type of footy we have played in the last 10 weeks then it will be an issue.

Hawks nothing special got belted twice by Brisbane and fell over the line against us Hawks will get found out in finals
Hawks are building like us but have more guys with big game experience.

They got to within 2 goals of Tigers and could have won that game. We got thrashed by them. They beat Cats, Power, Melbourne (by 70 points), Collingwood (by 40 points).

Sides that we lost to including Bulldogs, Carlton, Fremantle ... they consistently beat by between 60-80 points.

They are where we need to be next year.

The game yesterday was like a final. It showed me that we are not too far off.

Would not be surprised if Hawks play very well in the finals. They have an abundance of players that know how to win big games like this one and some good kids coming through.

And Exhibit A of the obnoxiously horrid Hawk fans I was referring too in my previous post.

“You guys played well, got us on a down day and nearly snatched it” ... oh so gracious to infer we were only going to win on a Hawthorn ‘down’ day. We didn’t play well in parts of that game at all and led to our own demise with errors galore.

Ok.

What do you want me to say? We played our absolute best despite missing 2 of our most important players and playing in patches throughout the game?

Some of you need to chill a tad, far too easily triggered.
Ok.

What do you want me to say? We played our absolute best despite missing 2 of our most important players and playing in patches throughout the game?
I would think neither team played at their absolute best and neither team were at full strength. Both of us are missing important players.

Ok.

Just say the way that you see it mate. I reckon we were 20% off our best as well. Is that the pressure from the opposition or just an off day. I suggest the former, but maybe a combo of both. The tackling was full on in this game, like a final.

We had a few missing as well including last years B&F (Daniher) ... in fact we have twice the injuries that the Hawks have.

Ok.

You can say whatever you like elsewhere but look what board you’re on.

Yeah, you missed some important players... but we also had our fair share out. Neither side played their best football and you deserved to win - but you and your fellow supporters shouldn’t put provocative statements like that here looking for a response. I’ll be the ‘salty’/‘triggered’ one this time for pointing it out, yes, but provocative statements like that are done for one purpose only.

Some of you need to chill a tad, far too easily triggered.
I would think neither team played at their absolute best and neither team were at full strength. Both of us are missing important players.

Measured response. Not sure what is so provocative about suggesting we weren’t at our best.

“Lost” yesterday due to:

• Margetts…why do we always get these freak? The frees to them vs the non-payment of similar things killed us at crucial times
  • ALL their experienced guys had season best games at the same time. Surely they have to start losing some of these guys. Half of them should be on the Pension.
  • Outcoached. They clagged up the centre corridor forcing us to go long. Where is Plan B.
  • I was 15 rows back in the Members and our guys looked stuffed coming off and on. Maybe the strain is catching up. Hurls looked unwell and was on the Ventolin. Heaps playing hurt. Skipper…you couldn’t hit the side of a barn. Kick it long.
  • Selection Table. Stewart MUST come in as our last remaining tall forward. Poor Jake is our key forward and he plays ruck? FMD. Or Hartley comes into FB and Hooksey goes forward.
  • Two late changes - again - a season destroyed by Injuries. How many Clubs have 5 Out for Seasons including their Ferrari? Collingwood maybe?
  • Who are out sports medicine people? Our season was cruelled during pre-season with so many going down with avoidable soft tissue injuries. Unacceptable and questions have to be asked.
  • The bloody bounce of that bloody oval ball - just wasn't our day in that respect.
Despite all the above and probably more, only lost by 4 points, so…… 2019?
wink.png

You can say whatever you like elsewhere but look what board you’re on.

Yeah, you missed some important players... but we also had our fair share out. Neither side played their best football and you deserved to win - but you and your fellow supporters shouldn’t put provocative statements like that here looking for a response. I’ll be the ‘salty’/‘triggered’ one this time for pointing it out, yes, but provocative statements like that are done for one purpose only.

Not provocative, just a different perspective. But a bubble is no fun when it’s burst.

I’ll head back to the hawks board now where different perspectives are appreciated (not really, all supporter boards are the same).

To those who wanted hooker moved fwd earlier is it lost on you that he kept us in it with mark after intercept mark in defence?

Everyone lauding Statts game, hooker was doing the same at the other end but had another string to his how late.

Hooker moved at the right time I think.
Moving Hooker forward earlier would have curbed Stratton's influence on the game and given us a better chance of keeping the ball in our forward half for longer.

As mentioned, Goddard is a liability now. He was horrible with his defensive efforts.

Gleeson aside, Redman and Ridley have to be preferred options. I loved Redman’ game against Bris, shattered he got that season ending injury - he looked and played so good.

As mentioned, Goddard is a liability now. He was horrible with his defensive efforts.

Gleeson aside, Redman and Ridley have to be preferred options. I loved Redman’ game against Bris, shattered he got that season ending injury - he looked and played so good.
Watched the replay... Goddard still does a lot of good things but has slowed down and is not as flexible. He is supposed to be a senior player giving guidance to the young guys, but he is the one making the critical mistakes. Wouid be great to keep him at the club in a similar role to Kelly.

True he still does a lot of good things, but defensively he is woeful. I’d rather Redman or Ridley in his role. Kelly was a lot better defender than Goddard.

I don’t see Goddard in Ess best 22 next season.

Stratton had no player to be accountable for. Joe, Smack, or an in-form Stewart there would mean he couldn’t just float across HB as he wished.

At the other end, and one that is being overlooked, our best match-up for Gunston was missing, Ambrose. Ambrose is a perfect balance of endurance, speed, and pure lock-down mentality. I can assure you that Gunston would only have kicked 2-3 at most on him yesterday.

These KP tall players are critical in the scheme of things.

In the end, your mob are just so bloody confident that your system will get you there in the end and if opposition teams can’t play on their own terms against you then you will wear them down. We had over half our team play well well below recent form which meant that we played on our terms only in bursts.

AFL Autopsy 4 point loss to Hawthorn