AFL Autopsy 4 point loss to the powa

Good and entertaining game overall. Loomed a bit ugly but we managed to settle, helped by them missing a few.
Despite being smaller than them I really like our attack at the contest. It did fall away at times but we stuck with it.

Did enough to win, but we just make too many mistakes at the worst times. And what's more annoying is that most of them are repeat mistakes that we should be learning from.

Merett, Hobbs and Caldwell were all very good. Probably Phillips best game. Langford very good as well although I'll never understand why he didn't go back a take a shot from about 50 in the 3rd. The option he chose was never on.

Outside of Langford the forward line is struggling. Wright and Weid don't work well together it seems and struggle to mark or bring the ball to ground. Weid's second efforts on a few occasions were lacking as well. 3rd or 4th week in a row where our lack of a genuinely quick small forward who can help apply pressure and lock thr ball in was really felt.
We had 3 more i50 marks and won x score by 12-13 points

Besides kicking poorly the forward line was fine

AFL isnt easy, you cant just clunk everything like big monsters can do in under 16s

Regarding Parish I'd imagine if we had won and/or he kicked 2+ goals everyone's tune would be pretty different. Sure he had some questionable kicks/decisions but I still think he was in the top handful of players tonight.

Only player who deserve a bit of a whip tonight IMO would be Weid (Which ironically was probably his best game in a while). People will probably lay into Martin a bit too for the same reason they lay into Parish, They know how good his best is and aren't willing to accept anything that's not within that ballpark.

He constantly botched moves forward, and missed 4 very easy shots at goal.

Look throughout this thread. Plenty agree with me. Not just "people who have an irrational hatred for him". Only someone who wants to defend him at every post would disagree.
No, there are plenty of posters saying he botched chances and kicked poorly. Of which I stated already.
And look back at the game day thread, I certainly wasn't defending him after the first half (cause you know, I can actually be objective)

No one other than you has said his entire game was shit. You would have to irrationally hate him to say that.

Regarding Parish I'd imagine if we had won and/or he kicked 2+ goals everyone's tune would be pretty different. Sure he had some questionable kicks/decisions but I still think he was in the top handful of players tonight.

Only player who deserve a bit of a whip tonight IMO would be Weid. People will probably lay into Martin a bit too for the same reason they lay into Parish, They know how good his best is and aren't willing to accept anything that's not within that ballpark.
Martin took the game on. He's still learning too, but the fact he hasn't had 2nd year blues is a good sign

He has more steps to take.
Still nice to have someone that silky with a great kick in the side

Good and entertaining game overall. Loomed a bit ugly but we managed to settle, helped by them missing a few.
Despite being smaller than them I really like our attack at the contest. It did fall away at times but we stuck with it.

Did enough to win, but we just make too many mistakes at the worst times. And what's more annoying is that most of them are repeat mistakes that we should be learning from.

Merett, Hobbs and Caldwell were all very good. Probably Phillips best game. Langford very good as well although I'll never understand why he didn't go back a take a shot from about 50 in the 3rd. The option he chose was never on.

Outside of Langford the forward line is struggling. Wright and Weid don't work well together it seems and struggle to mark or bring the ball to ground. Weid's second efforts on a few occasions were lacking as well. 3rd or 4th week in a row where our lack of a genuinely quick small forward who can help apply pressure and lock thr ball in was really felt.
Agree. When Wright kicked 5 against Carlton it was because Langford was the foil. If you do that though, you sacrifice Langford's goals. We need goals from both Langford and Wright, and a better option than Weideman. Maybe Nik Cox.

Martin took the game on. He's still learning too, but the fact he hasn't had 2nd year blues is a good sign

He has more steps to take.
Still nice to have someone that silky with a great kick in the side
absolutely I still enjoyed his game tonight, he got caught a few times trying to do some silky things, But that's bound to happen from time to time.

No, there are plenty of posters saying he botched chances and kicked poorly. Of which I stated already.
And look back at the game day thread, I certainly wasn't defending him after the first half (cause you know, I can actually be objective)

No one other than you has said his entire game was s**t. You would have to irrationally hate him to say that.
I went too far with that last comment.

As far as his score involvements go, he had one GA and 4 behinds. He got clearances but wasn't damaging at all.

Agree. When Wright kicked 5 against Carlton it was because Langford was the foil. If you do that though, you sacrifice Langford's goals. We need goals from both Langford and Wright, and a better option than Weideman. Maybe Nik Cox.
Cox should be trialled.
Reid too.

Baldwin, zerk, lav, Hayes and if we go after McKay, that's your backline height.

God I miss the Lucas/Lloyd days

Sorry but where are all those people who had a go at me for saying Voss should come in for Weideman. And where are the Parish worshipers ??

Cox should be trialled.
Reid too.

Baldwin, zerk, lav, Hayes and if we go after McKay, that's your backline height.

God I miss the Lucas/Lloyd days
Agree. Cox has better hands than Weideman, is more skilled with the ball and has a better tank. Leading up from a HF to a wing and back for me.

Reid is a dream. Just needs to get on the park.

The one where he consistently turned the ball over and kicked 4 behinds.

As far keeping us in it? Merrett, Caldwell, Hobbs kept us in it. He was s**t.
Mate don’t bother. These people have no idea. They look at disposal stats

Sorry but where are all those people who had a go at me for saying Voss should come in for Weideman. And where are the Parish worshipers ??
Voss needs another few weeks of VFL footy IMO

Scott has undoubtedly improved us but his selections cost us 4 points. That he didn't select Menzie in the starting line up last week then subbed him out in this one even though he is important for our structure and team balance is a cause for concern. Some of the small guys prone to fumbles and Shiel added to that.

Hobbs and Caldwell made of the right stuff going forward. Parish you just knew was going to miss that - I hope we don't offer the farm for him but unfortunately am confident we will overpay . Also as much as you knew Parish would miss that you knew the opposition player was going to flush it from 55 out after the final siren.

Weid and Wright are a total liability together when not kicking goals. Wright was in a sense umpired out of it. Do other teams start doing that, just grab the jumper, chop the arms etc after witnessing tonight? If so we need to mitigate this. But Wright offers no physical presence - it was only one game against the Saints a couple of years back where he was crashing packs and had guys rolling around in pain, someone must have angered the big guy.

I know Weid showed a bit of endeavour at times but like you knew Parish was going to miss you knew he would be lucky to make the distance from 20 and not put it out on the full with his confidence levels. Baldwin is a no brainer - has a much stronger mentality which is what this club needs, unless we destroy the guy he has a bit of the previous no 26 about him.

Could we have defended the kick out after Parish’s miss better? They went long down the middle which was predictable but it got out the back from the pack/contest and eventually into their forward line.

McKenzies cannon carried perfectly

Chaos ball in wet conditions are hard to defend

Even the kick from defence, what can you do

I think we got burned by the Pies finish last year.

It was like Brad could flick a switch and make Port bad.

It is staggering that we can be so insipid around the ball and still almost win.

Reckon we lose by 10 goals if a fit Lycett played.

AFL Autopsy 4 point loss to the powa