A Section Amateur Football (Part 2)

UH

Brett Sinclair Vice Captain ??

yeah I'm sure it might look like an odd decision from the outside, but the kid is all class, very knowledgeable and goes about his footy the way you want leaders to. And he can play a little bit too!

And JH, I have 1 prediction for the year, Lord Ainley to win division B&F and also OB's B&F.. *assuming he stays on the park all year. He is in for a big one.. Amongst others down at OB of course..

yeah I'm sure it might look like an odd decision from the outside, but the kid is all class, very knowledgeable and goes about his footy the way you want leaders to. And he can play a little bit too!

And JH, I have 1 prediction for the year, Lord Ainley to win division B&F and also OB's B&F.. *assuming he stays on the park all year. He is in for a big one.. Amongst others down at OB of course..

that adds fuel to the fire that the old vice captain is moving across to st bogans doesn't it?

Is the old VC luke Mann?
I heard he was off to brindisi st.
Makes sense, its going to be hard for him to be getting a game with sinclair and the g train up there. He will be a bloody handy 2's player if he stays!

righto the season is nearly upon us - lets have a look at the teams in no particular order:

Old Brighton - have recruited very well and should be favourites to win it all - if they could develop a harder core to further compliment their skillful types they would be nigh on unstoppable. Will finsih near the top and falter come finals time. Not enough guys who will stand up under pressure.

Old Xavs - will be there abouts again - they always are. Handley back is huge plus - shouldn't have played in the prelim - poor fella was seriously underdone. Still have plenty of quality and will play finals. Once they are there.......

Old Scotch - best thing they have done is move on Lawerence. (what are Caulfield thinking ?) Young and talented and should have played off in the prelim - The most experienced coach in the VAFA and they are finals cetainties. May just have the best list in the section.

St Bedes - will the departure of Beveridge have an influence? Are they still hungry after the last 3 years? Looks like they have kept the majority of the premiership side together and they were very young. Have also won 3 u/19 flags on the trot. What we do know is they won't die wondering and will have an almighty crack.

Ivanhoe - rattled home last year after a poor start. Big fowards and strong around the ball. As always the wide expanses of elsternwick are a concern. If they start well, look out - they are my smoky to be real contenders.

Old Essendon - got themselves to A section without the flag they so desire. Still huge doubts about thier ability in the big ones. Talented playing group, strong on ball and some quality talls.

Marcellin - pulled off a ripper in the B section Grand Final last year. Young developing list that may prove to be inconsistent. Need early wins to cement their place in A section again.

De La - I like De La but I think this is the year they will go back down to B Grade. Their top liners are a year older and they can't keep pulling off miracles to stay up. Again they are young so going down may not be the worst thing for them

Uni Blues - spruiked a number of interstate recruits alst year that didn't appear. depature of Jack Watts is a huge loss. Always hard to judge early and will again pick up a gem from the bush that we know nothing about. Lowcock the key to this side. Middle of the road

Collegians - will be savage on last year. Fergus is a big a loss as Jack - 90 odd goals is hard to replace. If only only Johno could kick em as well as he cathes em. Adkins and Robbins big losses but stone has stayed which is a bonus. New coaching team (not sure about the dual coach thing) after missing out on the guy they wanted. Need to lay the ghosts of last year to rest, don't think they can.

Collegians got up over De La in a very scrappy match. De La were unable to kick straight which probably cost them the game. But dont read too much into it a very poor performance from Collegians.

Reasonably high standard game oeg v os.
Essendon won by 3 odd goals. Os had a couple of serious injuries.

Turnovers a'plenty from both teams. Not a great spectacle.

The famous Sheik has stuck his neck out once more.

A pretty safe line up. But I can't believe Ben Corin didn't get a look in. (lol)

Rank Player Club Last Year
1 Chris Blumfield COL 2
2 Peter McGettigan SBM 11
3 Matthew Gadsden BRI 8
4 Hayden Heta IVA 14
5 Luke Wintle SBM 3
6 Leigh Hendra BRI 26
7 Andy Bowen XAV 19
8 Richard Eva SCO 9
9 Sam Anstey SBM 6
10 Adam Houlihan SCO -
11 Andrew Scafidi SBM 7
12 Jared Carlson MAR -
13 Nick Ries COL 17
14 Cam McLaren MAR -
15 Nick Stone COL 4
16 Andrew Lowcock UBL 21
17 Simon Frangiacomo IVA -
18 Biggs Bros. ESS -
19 Matthew Handley XAV -
20 Aaron Shields DLS 12
21 Mark Paterson BLU 10
22 Jon Perrett BRI 13
23 Mark Ainley BRI -
24 Scott Curatolo IVA 16
25 Nick Serafini XAV 27
26 Matt Smith BRI 18
27 Robert Baddeley ESS -
28 David Lowe DLS 20
29 Nick Roach COL 28
30 Angus Gray SCO 29

How bout some of these:
Nathan Brown (Scotch)
James Byrne (Scotch)
Damian Adkins (Collegians)
Nick Ries (Collegians)
Tim Fleming (Xavs)
Adam Chatfield (Xavs)
Luke Brennan (Scotch)
David Spriggs (Brighton) ?

Who!!!

Adkins and Chatfield have left the VAFA.
Brown, Bryne, Brennan and Spriggs haven't played a game in the VAFA.
Ries and Fleming go OK.

Who!!!

Adkins and Chatfield have left the VAFA.
Brown, Bryne, Brennan and Spriggs haven't played a game in the VAFA.
Ries and Fleming go OK.

ok...is it based on last year...or the season coming?

If it's the season coming, i'd be looking at Byrne (gun) and Spriggs to be top 30 easy.

Reasonably high standard game oeg v os.
Essendon won by 3 odd goals. Os had a couple of serious injuries.
Called in and watched the second half OEG side looks completely different from last season . Can yourself or Merton give us some clues as to where your club is at the moment as the normal throng of OEG posters have been extremely quiet in the lead up to the start of the season .

Firstly poor old Merton is now following Strathmore, did not feel he would be accepted in A section.
I only watched the first half of the game against OS.I asked the coach of OEG who was out but in his usual arrogant self, he just refused to give any details.
However Skurrie.Condos,Forest and some ex afl player did not play.

Dont no about OEG though, they are hot and cold but dont discard them.

How are your beloved ST bs going.Heard one night they only had 15 at training???

Firstly poor old Merton is now following Strathmore, did not feel he would be accepted in A section.
I only watched the first half of the game against OS.I asked the coach of OEG who was out but in his usual arrogant self, he just refused to give any details.
However Skurrie.Condos,Forest and some ex afl player did not play.

Dont no about OEG though, they are hot and cold but dont discard them.

How are your beloved ST bs going.Heard one night they only had 15 at training???

Isnt arrogance a requirement for getting a coaching job in A section ?
As for poor old Merton cant the retirement village shuttle bus ferry him to and from the games .
As for the Bernies we are in a bad way but im not allowed to say anything .We have lost 150 goals from our forward line , our back half last year leaked goals like a sieve and we have lost players from that line up .The only positive for us at the moment is that our coaching staff has had over the years an abundance of experience coaching lowly teams which will come in handy this season .But ive been told to remain positive .

Yes people, that time of year again. Get your tips in for Round 1, I'll accept them up until gametime but if you're like me and haven't done them by Friday night you'll forget entirely. No prizes but there is an awful lot of prestige on the line.

OB vs OS - going to be a belter, picking the home advantage
SBMT vs OE - going to be a big night at the tribunal
Marcellin vs OI - a close one this I think
Blues vs Coll - in a canter
OX vs DLS - Xavs always start slow, but De La are gawn.

Five home teams, not like me to pick them that way, but thats how I reckon it'll pan out!

Tigernuts in Singapore

Yes people, that time of year again. Get your tips in for Round 1, I'll accept them up until gametime but if you're like me and haven't done them by Friday night you'll forget entirely. No prizes but there is an awful lot of prestige on the line.

Five home teams, not like me to pick them that way, but thats how I reckon it'll pan out!

Tigernuts in Singapore

NUTS.Stop trying to beat up a extremely rough game Oeg v St Bs on sat.
Every game is hard game for OEG!!
It appears that st bs dont like oeg.A colleague of mine who attended the vafa dinner last week told me how the wonder coach, bagged oeg and was amused that the draw had thrown up a first round clash.

Tigernuts in Singapore

Tips for round 1

OB vs OS
SBMT vs OE
Marcellin vs OI
Blues vs Coll
OX vs DLS

NUTS.Stop trying to beat up a extremely rough game Oeg v St Bs on sat.
Every game is hard game for OEG!!
It appears that st bs dont like oeg.A colleague of mine who attended the vafa dinner last week told me how the wonder coach, bagged oeg and was amused that the draw had thrown up a first round clash.

was there Boga, he didn't bag them, he explained how in the last game of the year the bogans got relagated, they were given abit of grief by OEG and that they used that as motivation. 'wonder coach' actually spoke very well, better than buckley.