- Jul 19, 2010
- AFL Club
- Adelaide
I’m assuming there’s no legal implications around using a logo that’s not the official one to create merchandise?
I guess the club could sue you for making them look better than they are.
I’m assuming there’s no legal implications around using a logo that’s not the official one to create merchandise?
That's pretty interesting, but I still think after 97 98 seasons if we had still won those premierships the AFL would have been concerned with a dominant SA team and may have put in a secondary SA team anyway and such Port would still come in but perhaps a bit later.Just on that subject and to segue into something completely random.
I was actually talking with a mate a few weeks ago about whether the footy landscape would have been dramatically different had Jack Cahill gotten the Crows job and the early days of the club had been more Port centric.
I had only just become a teenager during this period, but can remember that there were a lot of Port supporters initially excited about the composite team, but one of the big catalysts for putting them offside was when Cornes got the job over Cahill (which never made sense). The whole thing felt like the club was an extension of Glenelg and Port were the red-headed stepchild, I think a lot of that stuff fueled the mindset with their supporters to want their own license.
Had Cahill been given the job and the whole thing felt a bit more Port friendly, I tend to think that the club would have been far more wildly accepted by Port supporters in the early days and there might not have been the undercurrent that saw them eventually get their own license.
Adelaide football club?As long as it doesn’t say ‘Adelaide Crows’ or ‘Crows’, I guess? They would be trademarked.
It’s an interesting thought.
Doubt they’d let you get away with it.Adelaide football club?
Likewise, if they wanted to, the AFC or the AFL could easily go after this stuff if they wanted to.
There are heaps of services like Spreadshirt that will take your image and put it on anything you like - no-one is getting involved if you put a logo that you made on a hoodie.Doubt they’d let you get away with it.
Likewise, if they wanted to, the AFC or the AFL could easily go after this stuff if they wanted to.
Maybe if the operation is small enough, they wouldn’t care?
XL navy hoodie thanks mateThere are heaps of services like Spreadshirt that will take your image and put it on anything you like - no-one is getting involved if you put a logo that you made on a hoodie.
Should make up some stickers and whack it over the old logo where ever we see it around town.XL navy hoodie thanks mate
YellowXL navy hoodie thanks mate
With logos it probably gets tricky if it looks similar because then they can argue you're misleading people into thinking it's the same brand.I’m assuming there’s no legal implications around using a logo that’s not the official one to create merchandise?
Or better yet, get them to swap it out with one of the good ones from this thread.I wonder if we can get in touch with anyone that works at O'neils..... offer them a bribe to leak it now
Would hide the spew from wearing itYellow
We did a supporters group shirt with our own logo up here (featuring a Claude Crow and a map of QLD type situation). Club saw it often and never said anything.As long as it doesn’t say ‘Adelaide Crows’ or ‘Crows’, I guess? They would be trademarked.
It’s an interesting thought.
Could also make a couple of sneaky $$$ on the side from folk in here….I'll just hold until I see how bad the official logo is ... but if it is awful, I'll be investigating the options more seriously!!
I’m more talking about if people produce and sell unofficial merchandise.We did a supporters group shirt with our own logo up here (featuring a Claude Crow and a map of QLD type situation). Club saw it often and never said anything.
The perfect logo was infront of us the whole time
Paging StickerManShould make up some stickers and whack it over the old logo where ever we see it around town.
Well that’s what we sort of did.I’m more talking about if people produce and sell unofficial merchandise.
Why you checking with me?Just checking that there definitely isn't any interest...View attachment 2136250View attachment 2136251View attachment 2136258
Did you have an online shop?Well that’s what we sort of did.