Adelaide's decline

Port in 2011 won three games. Crows in 2020 will be lucky to win one. They've already played and lost to the rest of the bottom 4.
True enough. Crazy to think we actually won games during that season. In the same vein, Adelaide will probably scrounge a win or three somewhere, even in a shortened season. They've been abhorrent mostly, but also competitive at times (e.g. v St Kilda and Essendon). Inconsistency is the hallmark of any worthy spoon contender, yet the very nature of inconsistency implies glimpses of aptitude - many teams facing winless seasons over the last decade have gone on to win multiple games.

YearTeamLosses before first winWins
2011Brisbane84
2012Gold Coast153
2013GWS171
2016Fremantle104
2018Carlton72
2020Adelaide≥90

It's hard to see where, but somewhere along the line, the opposition will have a shocker and Adelaide will pounce. Their best chance right now is probably against Melbourne next week.

They are worse then Port 2011. We have never seen a team at this low a level in modern AFL. THe real issue they have is the young players they are having are dreadful. They have the worst list of young players ive ever seen. IF we are doing a 25 and under team I think they have 3 or 4 spots filled at best

Youll learn soon, every AFL club has a down period, what counts if you can add to the premiership tally when you are up and about. And Richmond certainly have, you blokes? History of choking in the big leagues.

Odd comment, considering Richmond had plenty of false dawns and squandered potential during their barren years. They sure as hell didn't "make anything" of the mid 90s, early 2000s, or 2013-15.

2013-2015 is 75% the same list as 2017.

Mid 90s too many clubs like Carlton, Hawthorn, Kangaroos, Essendon were cheating the cap to win premierships. Geelong the biggest sufferer of that blatant cheating.

We did have a good team in the mid 90s, but way below the great Geelong, North, Carlton teams of that time.

The 2018 draft was a absolutely killer for Adelaide

National 9 Chayce Jones - Averaging 8 disposals a game. How he is playing is beyond me. Looks slow, weak, poor disposer. Wont make it
National 16 Ned McHenry - Ditto the above except change the 8 to 10. Wknt make it
National 30 Will Hamill - Showed a few signs but goes missing alot and disposal is questionable. Wouldnt necessarily say he deserves a game atm
National 64 Lachlan Sholl - Yet to debut
Rookie 7 Kieran Strachan - Played first game yesterday and looked out of his depth
Rookie 24 Paul Hunter - Yet to play
Rookie 39 Jordon Butts - Yet to play

A ton of picks and really only 1 player id expect to be on the list in 3 years time in Will Hammill. It was a draft they had to hit and they missed it in every way possible

Port avoided the spoon in 2011 by default with Gold Coast starting that year - They were bottom Rounds 17-23 and climbed off the bottom on the Sunday of Rnd 24

Adelaide don't have that luxury this season

Only just hit me how bad the 2016/17 drafts were for Adelaide too btw

2016 draft

Jordan Galluci - Delistable for sure. Shown nothing
Myles Poholkle - Shown a tiny but but not enough
Elliot Himmelberg - Shown very little. Not too sure why Frampton and Fogarty arnt ahead myself
Matthew Signorello - Never played a game
Ben Davis - 2 games in 4 years. Delisted at years end?
Sam Shaw - Delisted already
Ben Jarman - Delisted already

2017 AFl draft

Darcy Fogarty - Injury prone and only shown some glimpses
Andrew McPherson - Ditto the above.
Patrick Wilson - 2 games only
Cam Ellis Yolmen - No longer on the list
Lachlan Murphy - 39 games is okay for a rookie, a decent battler but wouldnt want him in my team or a AFL list. Their version of Ashton Hams
Jackson Edwards - Delisted without a game

From 3 drafts id say Will Hammill is the most promisiong player they got and IMO ionly 3 players worthy of a AFL list so far in Hammill/Fogarty/McPherson and they are more of the battlers/flakey types too

Port avoided the spoon in 2011 by default with Gold Coast starting that year - They were bottom Rounds 17-23 and climbed off the bottom on the Sunday of Rnd 24

Adelaide don't have that luxury this season
We helped them avoid it by rolling over in the first Showdown that year. As Craig put it, "we were bulldozed by a powerful side".

Always believed the horror of a year shows in a clubs percentage and not just the win loss column

Adelaide sitting at 56.7% and if we are being honest they may get below that Gold Coast 56.3% especially when fitness and effort appears a issue. Thats hardly a part of the game that will get better for them as the season goes on.

Fitzroy in 96' didnt even have a set of plastic goal posts.

The kind of wealth adelaide has, the opportunities theyve had, the decisions the footy dept have made, far surpass the ineptness of Fitzroy. Roy boys didn't have a chance. Adelaide have the resources and opportunity that afford the wealthiest of clubs in the competition.
What is quite staggering is that Adelaide were the best team in the competition only 3 years ago, albeit forgot to turn up on GF day like we did against Hawthorn back in 2015 so s**t happens! And the question has to be asked why so many players have wanted out since then. The question has to be asked also as to what has gone wrong in only 3 years as usually a decline is a gradual thing but to go from riches to rags in such a short time is mind boggling. What they need is to manage a win somehow to lift their morale. There's obviously a lot more wrong than just having a rookie coach and I'm not sure the coach is the real problem here.

Always believed the horror of a year shows in a clubs percentage and not just the win loss column

Adelaide sitting at 56.7% and if we are being honest they may get below that Gold Coast 56.3% especially when fitness and effort appears a issue. Thats hardly a part of the game that will get better for them as the season goes on.

mate we just brought back Gibbs and Knight in for their first games, get Mackay back in for experience next week and she'll be right

:thumbsu::thumbsu:

:drunk::(:drunk:

There's obviously a lot more wrong than just having a rookie coach and I'm not sure the coach is the real problem here.

Ricciuto / Chapman

We already know the problem

Under Ricciuto the Crows brought in Burton and Haas who were in charge of Brisbane Lion's fitness during their golden era - How they got jobs after the mess they left Brisbane in (and oh look, haven't they done well since) is astounding

They’ve been a remarkably competitive side since they came into the league. They’ll bounce back soon enough and perhaps be better for it having made necessary cultural changes. Surely there’s an off field clean out coming at the end of the season?
Once they are in a better position off field you would have to think they will have cap space to recruit well.

What is quite staggering is that Adelaide were the best team in the competition only 3 years ago, albeit forgot to turn up on GF day like we did against Hawthorn back in 2015 so s**t happens! And the question has to be asked why so many players have wanted out since then. The question has to be asked also as to what has gone wrong in only 3 years as usually a decline is a gradual thing but to go from riches to rags in such a short time is mind boggling. What they need is to manage a win somehow to lift their morale. There's obviously a lot more wrong than just having a rookie coach and I'm not sure the coach is the real problem here.

I remember Simpson saying that in 2015, he learnt we were miles off from being able to win a flag and he learnt he needed to change our game plan to win one. He came out of that game wanting to re invent ourselves thinking we didnt have what it takes

In 2016 when Adelaide made the Grand Final, they thought they were 1cm away from winning and needed to only top up to get there. They put this mindset ahead of everything else. Every resource they had went into improving their current day team. Whether it was with trading for Bryce Gibbs, overpaying players to stay (Sloane, Betts, Jenkins, Lynch), weird ass training camps, very very poor contract negotations for players across the board which led a player exodus, insane faith in ageing players who received longer then normal contracts and I think it even extended down to their drafting policy also when they seemed to decide that every player who left can be replaced by a random draft pick which completely contradicted their list policy of chasing a flag.

The problems for Adelaide, start, end and stop with issues well outside Matthew Nicks control and you feel that if Nicks goes this year, every single person involved from 2016 to today needs to follow suit. You cant throw a man onto a sinking ship and blame him for not getting it to port and wipe your hands clean. You sunk the ship, you need to go down with it

Fitzroy in 96' didnt even have a set of plastic goal posts.

The kind of wealth adelaide has, the opportunities theyve had, the decisions the footy dept have made, far surpass the ineptness of Fitzroy. Roy boys didn't have a chance. Adelaide have the resources and opportunity that afford the wealthiest of clubs in the competition.

You’re exactly right - This is far more significant than bad choices on draft day etc, which can happen to every team at some stage.

AFC don’t want for anything in a business sense, which it could be argued has contributed to the self-satisfied/lack of killer instinct attitude in the club hierarchy.

The 2018 draft was a absolutely killer for Adelaide

National 9 Chayce Jones - Averaging 8 disposals a game. How he is playing is beyond me. Looks slow, weak, poor disposer. Wont make it
National 16 Ned McHenry - Ditto the above except change the 8 to 10. Wknt make it
National 30 Will Hamill - Showed a few signs but goes missing alot and disposal is questionable. Wouldnt necessarily say he deserves a game atm
National 64 Lachlan Sholl - Yet to debut
Rookie 7 Kieran Strachan - Played first game yesterday and looked out of his depth
Rookie 24 Paul Hunter - Yet to play
Rookie 39 Jordon Butts - Yet to play

A ton of picks and really only 1 player id expect to be on the list in 3 years time in Will Hammill. It was a draft they had to hit and they missed it in every way possible

It was a hard draft to **** up as well as pretty much every other player inside the top 10 has shown quite a bit in terms of ability and quite a lot of players in the teens and twenties have shown a lot as well. It was a great draft and it would have almost been hard to only get one okay player with 7 selections. Even hitting Cal Twomeys phantom draft with a dart to determine your selections would have yielded better results that year.

Adelaide's decline