2nds AFC 2021 SANFL Thread - We're baaaaaaaack (in the SANFL)

I was watching, he played 3rd tall for most of the match, Murray and Borlase were the KPD
Maybe you should be watching closer
So you weren't watching.

You probably need to

aaa
I was watching, he played 3rd tall for most of the match, Murray and Borlase were the KPD
Maybe you should be watching closer
Na mate McAsey was not the 3rd he just ran of his player more.
Also, you will notice that Murray has more belief in his body size and uses it to his advantage.
While McAsey is not as confident in his body and ability just yet, but he does read the play better than both Murray and Borlase,
If I was rating Football skills then it's McAsey, Borlase then Murray, But AFL ready today it almost reverses.
Next year I believe McAsey will overtake Murray,

Liked Borlase game

I've watch him twice now on the TV recently and both times I see flashes but he lacks leg speed. Reminds me of Ben Davis, shows you something and then makes mistakes that leave you wondering. Murray is the one showing something out of the 3 of him, McAsey and Borlase. McAsey needs a pre season or two, he gets outbodied so easily against the mature players he has had to stand to date.

Based on what? Questioning McAsey’s future? That it?

That’s not just it. It is your constant negativity about some players where you seem so prepared to sink the boots in and write people’s careers off. I don’t normally respond like this but the people you have strong opinions about are trying their best on the whole but to continue to label people as rubbish etc, and then to sink the boot in when they get something right with a backhanded complement is just really irking me. It doesn’t help these forums either. Just my opinion. I think you should tone it down and I reckon the moderators should ask you to do so too.

aaa

Na mate McAsey was not the 3rd he just ran of his player more.
Also, you will notice that Murray has more belief in his body size and uses it to his advantage.
While McAsey is not as confident in his body and ability just yet, but he does read the play better than both Murray and Borlase,
If I was rating Football skills then it's McAsey, Borlase then Murray, But AFL ready today it almost reverses.
Next year I believe McAsey will overtake Murray,
Yeah you gotta get the games into those guys against SANFL adults. It’s a tough comp in that respect

I was at work so missed the game but was there a bit of biffo in the game?
Yeah there was a bit of biffo, good to see young players not taking a backwards step. Pedlar especially was playing with an aggressive edge, a little over the top in some contests but I'm sure he and the team were just as frustrated with the umpiring decisions like the rest of us.

Like his occassional mark but gee he is so slow at times. McAsey who has been branded slow, is a greyhound in comparison. Like I said he's so much like Ben Davis, odd brilliance but not enough. IMO he won't make it, time will tell.
He’s gotta get to a point to be given a chance. He’s on a rookie list. Give him the time

There wi
So who makes way for him Laird, Seedsman, Keays, Sloane, Schoenberg or McHenry if he's to play midfield?
There will be an injury or 2. I think he could give Schoenberg or Sloane a spell right now. Both of them look a bit tired to me, the bye week maybe a good thing for them. Sloane had 1 good quarter against the Saints and Schoey isn't playing with the same dash lately.

I wandered down to the beautiful leafy suburb of Unley today. A few random thoughts;
- Did Abe Davis give birth to a baby hippo since the last time we played the Blues?
- Is Strachanie approaching ROB’s SANFL form prior to his promotion to the Ones. Almost a touch of the Rehns today.
- Pedlar’s disposal was a bit untidy but imho we are ready for “The Reunion of the Bash Brothers”.
- Cookie was delicious. He is starting to look more comfortable and has a lovely bag of tricks.
- Hately was solid and had better disposal today. Those writing him off may have to do a lap of the pool table.
- Tariek was barely sighted but still added three more entries to his highlight reel.
- McAsey and Murray had some good moments. Borlase is developing nicely.
- Parnell did some nice things but will be a longterm project imho.
- Ben Davis looks better in defence but I refuse to board the train again.
- ROC provided structure to our midfield, 9 tackles, 5 clearances but needs to find more uncontested ball.
- Billy is a monster at SANFL level and even kicks straight.
- Gollant has finally had an official game in Crow colours. Showed the odd flash but we need to be patient.

Yeah you gotta get the games into those guys against SANFL adults. It’s a tough comp in that respect
Yep and we have to remember some kids taken from the SANFL U18 comp still need good time to adapt to SANFL level as tgat next step in their transition to AFL. Like Newchurch for example..was a highly talented but sporadic player at U18 level last year and has had to adjust to playing v men at SANFL level. It will take some players more time to develop. Some like thilthorpe were able to take the step up to SANFL much earleir and are more physically ready for the rigours of AFL footy.

I look at braeden cook and see a highly talented kid that needs time to develop his body but when he does i have no doubt at all he will take to AFL like a duck to water

I wandered down to the beautiful leafy suburb of Unley today. A few random thoughts;
- Did Abe Davis give birth to a baby hippo since the last time we played the Blues?
- Is Strachanie approaching ROB’s SANFL form prior to his promotion to the Ones. Almost a touch of the Rehns today.
- Pedlar’s disposal was a bit untidy but imho we are ready for “The Reunion of the Bash Brothers”.
- Cookie was delicious. He is starting to look more comfortable and has a lovely bag of tricks.
- Hately was solid and had better disposal today. Those writing him off may have to do a lap of the pool table.
- Tariek was barely sighted but still added three more entries to his highlight reel.
- McAsey and Murray had some good moments. Borlase is developing nicely.
- Parnell did some nice things but will be a longterm project imho.
- Ben Davis looks better in defence but I refuse to board the train again.
- ROC provided structure to our midfield, 9 tackles, 5 clearances but needs to find more uncontested ball.
- Billy is a monster at SANFL level and even kicks straight.
- Gollant has finally had an official game in Crow colours. Showed the odd flash but we need to be patient.
Abe certainly has a different physique to his brother ben

this is the guy who we drafted same time as ROC and Schoey and Keayes and McAsey and Worrell, right?

was he worth the wait? Only one in his class that hasn’t played AFL, is he worth persevering with?