Autopsy AFL 2021 First Semi Final - Lions v Bulldogs Sat September 4th 7:20 EST (Gabba)

Who will win and by how much?

• Lions by a goal or less

Votes: 3 2.7%
  • Dogs by a goal or less

Votes: 8 7.1%
  • Lions by 7 - 20

Votes: 30 26.5%
  • Dogs by 7 - 20

Votes: 46 40.7%
  • Lions by a lot

Votes: 12 10.6%
  • Dogs by a lot

Votes: 12 10.6%
  • Draw

Votes: 2 1.8%

To be fair Port subbed Fantasia off when he wasn't really injured. I'm sure he's back training fine inside the 12 days. The whole 12 days rule is the worst in football.

If Brisbane had Mcstay tonight, WB wouldn't have to worry about who is available for them next week. Fantasia's injury is so fake, he's missed a third of the season with it.

The dumbest part of these conspiracies is that the AFL want nothing more than to see GWS be successful ( and to a lesser extent Brisbane). That's what would grow the game and improve the bottom line the most. The AFL gain nothing from the likes of Geelong being successful as they have fully capitalised that market already ( especially with Geelong and WB having both been recently successful whilst for Brisbane its been 2 decades and GWS never).

Brisbane only finished 4th - at the expense of the Bulldogs - due to some very dubious umpiring against us in Rd 23.

Seems odd that the AFL would manufacture Brisbane getting the double chance at the expense of the Dogs to then manufacture a Dogs win over Brisbane...

Toby Green did exactly what every non Vic fan would love to do purely for what our clubs have to endure in this biased league..
The AFL called it a bad look and dont want it at grassroots level, the irony is that kids all around the country have to watch cheating scum umpires on national TV every weekend but not carry that with them into their arena's.
The kids I know don't think that way. No apostrophe needed for plurals either.

The reality is you weren't a dominant top 4 side. Had runs of losses a couple of times, and only 1 AFL std KPF fit (with 2 out). I said to my wife when Mcstay went down that you would go out in straight sets. Unfortunately, proved to be true. Not sure what your salary cap is like, but you need to find a quality forward small/medium/ KPF doesn't matter. You have too many Sam Gray types. Try their hearts out and put on pressure, but guys like Fantasia make us look a completely different side, Fritsch is kicking almost as many as Tomahawk, etc. Outworking the oppo hasn't been enough for us 2013-2020.

McStay loss was massive yeah. Career best form, very important to our structure and nothing left on the shelf as backup. Losing Payne early and Berry too ****ed our structure and then ****ed our rotations.

Wasn’t meant to be but still, 1-6 isn’t a good record for finals. I can make similar excuses for a lot of those finals too but it’s just not good enough for it to keep happening.

So he kicked the ball by CHOICE

it went nowhere near a team mate and straight out of bounds.

It's a free every day under the rule as it stands and has been adjudicated all year.

Do I personally like the rule - NO - but the decision was right imho.

And fwiw I had the Lions running for a LOT$$$ to win tonight
INTENT!!!! Look it up in the dictionary. Shocking decision.

Missing there CHF in Hipwood and then lost McStay. Easy to pot team structure when injuries have ruined it.

Having Hipwood and McStay may have got them over the line tonight, but that’s the point. A disrupted forward structure shouldn’t be the thing that kills you.

If Brisbane were missing their key backs, maybe that’s an excuse.

Brisbane weren’t missing midfielders, they had their best mids in there and they were pressing forward.

I think they have some fundamental personnel and game style things to correct.

Melbourne 2018, free wheeling and comfortably the highest scoring team, but suspect backline and some putrid leg speed across the ground with Lewis, Jetta, Tyson and Jones.

Maybe they will lose to Geelong next week, but aside from the talls there’s no putrid leg speed (maybe Brayshaw and he just focuses on defensive wing positioning), plus the talls in the backline are completely different and far superior to the 2018 ones.

Who do the umps usually support in Bulldogs vs Melbourne matches? Probably two of the most protected teams in the league.
Why are you so obsessed with Melbourne?
We definitely don’t get a great run with the umpires in general, however to answer your question:

Attachments

• 3B1B9A1D-68D1-470C-9615-0681E5F641AE.jpeg
    3B1B9A1D-68D1-470C-9615-0681E5F641AE.jpeg
    119 KB · Views: 42
The Bulldogs got to Brisbane on Thursday. They were allowed to train once, go for one walk, had to stay in their room at all times, only leave for meals, with one third of the team at a time. The only other time they met as a team was at the ground, before the game.

Insane for a Semi Final.
Was but they knew they need not worry as they had 3 secret weapons.

In the final wrap-up of the game, nobody mentioned the crucial one on one contest inside fifty between Charlie Cameron and Taylor Duryea.

They were all alone inside fifty, sprinting towards goal and onto a loose ball. It was a massive play. Looked for all money like Charlie would use his speed to weave his magic and maybe kick the winning goal (or at least scrub a behind and tie the game up)

Hell of a spot for Duryea to be in, but he did bloody well to somehow get it across the boundary line

With hindsight, that was the Lions last real chance to win it.

Charlie was well blanketed by Duryea in the 2nd half. He fluffed that golden opportunity in the 3rd quarter… and that was basically it.
Duryea was immense.

Nope, I’m a Vic and you are an inbred from a pissy little irrelevant state. Inferior
Perhaps the AvFL can hold an inquest into why they need cheating scum to drag your inbred states teams over the line every year, while they're at it you could get them to see what the **** is wrong with your shit club thats been shit since before my adult children were conceived.

What a pathetic excuse for another lions finals failure. Just accept you lost and went out straight sets again.

Thank god for Richmond, or it would have been a three peat.

On a side, these media flogs are trying to get Weightman into the prelim. Would be an absolute rort if they got away with it.
Media flogs should be more concerned with a young player's health. Its only ****ing football FFS, have they not got it through their neanderthal heads that concussion is a serious injury.

Autopsy AFL 2021 First Semi Final - Lions v Bulldogs Sat September 4th 7:20 EST (Gabba)