Autopsy AFL 2021 First Semi Final - Lions v Bulldogs Sat September 4th 7:20 EST (Gabba)

Who will win and by how much?

• Lions by a goal or less

Votes: 3 2.7%
  • Dogs by a goal or less

Votes: 8 7.1%
  • Lions by 7 - 20

Votes: 30 26.5%
  • Dogs by 7 - 20

Votes: 46 40.7%
  • Lions by a lot

Votes: 12 10.6%
  • Dogs by a lot

Votes: 12 10.6%
  • Draw

Votes: 2 1.8%

Those two free kicks were there though.
Don’t do anything stupid like that by Cameron. Neale didn’t get close with his kick from a ‘deliberate’

At least the deliberate call was consistent with the McInerney deliberate. Other frees were pulled from nowhere

We all knew it would happen.

We all saw it happen.

We all know nothing will happen.

The compliant media will pretend it didn’t happen.

Business as usual.
Presume you're talking about Brisbane going out in straight sets?

You're right. We should start a campaign to make sure the media don't let this slide.

In the final wrap-up of the game, nobody mentioned the crucial one on one contest inside fifty between Charlie Cameron and Taylor Duryea.

They were all alone inside fifty, sprinting towards goal and onto a loose ball. It was a massive play. Looked for all money like Charlie would use his speed to weave his magic and maybe kick the winning goal (or at least scrub a behind and tie the game up)

Hell of a spot for Duryea to be in, but he did bloody well to somehow get it across the boundary line

With hindsight, that was the Lions' last real chance to win it.

Charlie was well blanketed by Duryea in the 2nd half. He fluffed that golden opportunity in the 3rd quarter… and that was basically it.

INTENT!!!! Look it up in the dictionary.
He was 10 metres inside the boundary and tried to kick the ball straight, are you saying every single kick that comes off the side of the boot is a lack of intent? Because that would increase the amount of frees by a lot I would imagine
So he kicked the ball by CHOICE

it went nowhere near a team mate and straight out of bounds.

It's a free every day under the rule as it stands and has been adjudicated all year.

Do I personally like the rule - NO - but the decision was right imho.

And fwiw I had the Lions running for a LOT$$$ to win tonight

The Bulldogs got to Brisbane on Thursday. They were allowed to train once, go for one walk, had to stay in their room at all times, only leave for meals, with one third of the team at a time. The only other time they met as a team was at the ground, before the game.

Insane for a Semi Final.

But umpires?

Thank you for a semblance of reason within this shithouse of a tinfoil-hat wearing thread.

They’ll be doing something similar next week when Port players wander around doing what they want. But if the dogs manage to win it’ll be umpires umpires umpires.

For those of you keeping count, that’s Tasmania and Queensland down. SA and WA to go.

Toby Green did exactly what every non Vic fan would love to do purely for what our clubs have to endure in this biased league..
The AFL called it a bad look and dont want it at grassroots level, the irony is that kids all around the country have to watch cheating scum umpires on national TV every weekend but not carry that with them into their arena's.
Getting worried?
Bonts goal disallowed was the worst decision, then Calebs deliberate out of bounds crap. And all the times the Lions threw the footy? So it evens itself out.

Just validates what some of the great Geelong teams of the late 80s through mid 90s showed - attractive, attacking footy with mediocre defence gets shown up at the pointy end of the year.

Brisbane have some good individual proper defenders, but the foot speed is bad with the talls plus Rich and Birchall. Their good midfielders favour pushing forward over helping down back.

Only one point in it tonight, but I reckon Brisbane need to sort those game plan and personnel problems to go that next step.

Yeah very aware of our slow backline. Birchall should be done, and hopefully Answerth can get back to developing. Coleman just had his best game running off the back flank too so that was promising.

I love it how Brisbane are given a free kick shot at goal to win the game after a ridiculous deliberate but he misses

Then The Brisbane ruckman blocks instead of competing for ruck at last contest...clear block...dumb sh*t

But its all the umpires

If lachie Neal kicks that goal and Brisbane win... no one is moaning about the umpires

That was a gutsy win by the Dogs.

the 2016 GF was complete corruption and a disgrace... people still have scars.

I love it how all year you flogs protest that theres no Vic/non Vic bias in the league yet when a fellow Vic team gets carried across the line you all come out from under your non finals playing rocks and prove otherwise.
Like night follows day.

The dumbest part of these conspiracies is that the AFL want nothing more than to see GWS be successful ( and to a lesser extent Brisbane). That's what would grow the game and improve the bottom line the most. The AFL gain nothing from the likes of Geelong being successful as they have fully capitalised that market already ( especially with Geelong and WB having both been recently successful whilst for Brisbane its been 2 decades and GWS never).
The afl absolutely does not require gws or other non-Vic teams to win premierships, especially not multiple times over a successful period.

All they require is access to those markets via playing games there to get a bigger broadcast deal and sponsor money.

neither of those things are at risk by brisbane or gws or whoever getting knocked out in finals

Neither seem to have enough KPP depth to beat us in a 50/50 game. You'd think they'd have to sh*t on us in the middle or we'd have to have a terrible night in front of goal.
Yeah, though it was a cracking game it was hard to pick one team more dominant than the other. Brisbane's injuries would have been significant next week and I guess we'll see who makes it through for the Dogs.

I was impressed by both teams ability to hold off a collapse and fight back against the momentum when they didn't have it. The Dogs fell 3 goals down in the third didn't they? I thought that could have been it but they showed serious resolve to get back in it.

Autopsy AFL 2021 First Semi Final - Lions v Bulldogs Sat September 4th 7:20 EST (Gabba)