Autopsy AFL 2024 Second Qualifying Final - Port v Cats Thurs Sept 5th 7:40pm EST/7:10pm CST (AO) - Teams up

Who will win and by how much?

• Port by a goal or less

Votes: 5 2.7%
  • Cats by a goal or less

Votes: 4 2.1%
  • Port by 7 - 20

Votes: 79 42.0%
  • Cats by 7 - 20

Votes: 44 23.4%
  • Port by a lot

Votes: 49 26.1%
  • Cats by a lot

Votes: 5 2.7%
  • Draw

Votes: 2 1.1%

Credit to Geelong for their recent finals excellence but we don't get the genuine home ground advantage that Geelong gets.

We also haven't had the luck of getting great father son picks or getting players like Dangerfield and Cameron coming home.

Geelong are a well run club but don't act like you don't get some favours that other clubs don't get.

Yeah, and you get 4 more games there as compensation. For a long time you got 6 more. So deal with it.
We didn’t luck out by getting a number one pick like Nick Riewoldt: in fact we haven’t had a higher pick than 7 since the draft came into existence as far as I’m aware. You fielded two #1 picks in one grand final side against us for what, being shit? F**ken hell mate, father son picks, seriously? That’s your argument? You GET GREAT PLAYERS HANDED TO YOU FOR BEING BAD.

ERGO WHEN YOU ARE ALMOST NEVER BAD AND HAVE NEVER FINISHED LOWER THAN 12TH YOU DONT GET THAT LUXURY. What’s the difference between the good fortune of being handed good players for being bad, and being handed good players because they’re the sons of ex club veterans? Two of the three main ones weren’t even rated anyway, one just had a really famous name.

Your 2009 team was filled with high draft picks and still couldn’t win it even with that advantage …stop your sooking it’s embarrassing

Your 2009 Norm Smith medallist wouldn't have played if it wasn't for blood injection therapy which was then banned by WADA.

Here is a thread about it from your own board, from memory Stephen Dank was involved with Geelong back then too.

I wouldn't go talking about advantages if I were you.

Your 2009 Norm Smith medallist wouldn't have played if it wasn't for blood injection therapy which was then banned by WADA.

Here is a thread about it from your own board, from memory Stephen Dank was involved with Geelong back then.

Translation: Geelong player has procedure that was legal at the time.

Correction: Steven Dank never worked for Geelong, was interviewed by then GM of Footy Steve Hocking and not pursued. We once dealt with a company linked to Dank but disclosed all this to the AFL and ASADA during the Essendon saga and were found to have done nothing wrong.

Come on plug. Your argument is really F/S ( which all bar GCS/GWS have access to), home games (of which we get 2 less than all clubs) and using drugs legally...

Here is a thread about it from your own board, from memory Stephen Dank was involved with Geelong back then too.

Yea it’s amazing how some things that used to be legal no longer are.

Like how you got into the grand final before the concussion rules we have now, and probably had players in said grand final who should have been subbed out, etc etc. but they weren’t.

Because that was the rules.

You know what we should do, is go back through every game that’s ever been played and video taped, and get a current umpire, to re-officiate it based on current rules, and change the scores. Because that’s the rules.

F**k me dead you are by some distance the biggest excuse maker I have ever come across in any sphere of sport interaction

Translation: Geelong player has procedure that was legal.

Correction: Steven Dank never worked for Geelong, was interviewed by then GM of Footy Steve Hocking and not pursued. We once dealt with a company linked to Dank but disclosed all this to the AFL and ASADA during the Essendon saga and were found to have done nothing wrong.

Come on plug. Your argument is really F/S ( which all bar GCS/GWS have access to), home games (of which we get 2 less than all clubs) and using drugs legally...

I guess it's just a coincidence that Essendon employed Stephen Dank when an ex Geelong coach Bomber Thompson went there.

giphy.gif

Just on Dixon, not his fault as such but just about all the premiership winning teams have a forward who is kicking 50 plus, or a couple in the 40s, and then the smalls & mediums kicking their 20s & 30s. Port have never quite got that mix right with him there, either him not being fit to play a full season and not enough support to kick enough team snags. It might be an arbitrary number but he’s never kicked 50 goals in a year, for a guy his size that’s a bit of a failing. Port seem like they could have won a flag in this Hinkley era but the goal kicking numbers don’t stack up.

Without a Marshall or someone extra like that up forward I was very confident in our chances.

Port are almost wholly reliant on their midfield, with a bit of Houston and the half backs helping. Their forward line has always been terrible. It’s an indictment on the comp that they’ve consistently finished high.

I guess it's just a coincidence that Essendon employed Stephen Dank when an ex Geelong coach Bomber Thompson went there.

giphy.gif

Co-operated with AFL/ASADA and were cleared.
This isn't the bay. Facts do matter sometimes.

Since 2013 There has only been 4 80+ point losses Geelong where part of 3 of them 2 wins 1 loss (Melbourne).The other was Richmond’s grand final slaughter of GWS.

Port are almost wholly reliant on their midfield, with a bit of Houston and the half backs helping. Their forward line has always been terrible. It’s an indictment on the comp that they’ve consistently finished high.

And yet, rewind to 6 hours ago and most of the footy public (70%) were discussing Port Adelaide by how much.

I didn't/don't see Port as a real premiership contender, but I really thought this was as winnable a final as they could ask for. I was surprised how little the media/footy public was bringing up the recent finals history, it seemed like people had forgotten or maybe they were thinking this was a different Port.

There was one coach with a gameplan, preperation and execution vs a coach who does not know how to adjust in high pressure situations. Chris Scott even talked out loud about what the plan was and the players executed it from the first moment.

Either way, was genuinely shocked with how they Port started the second half, because even though they should have been down more, I thought they had large moments of the first half where the game was on their terms. But they came out with zero intensity, zero belief, zero fight. They rolled over and gave up so fast. I think if it's another straight sets there's no way Hinkley can stay, if he has any integrity/self awareness he has to resign.

giphy.gif

You idiot. Thompson had already been at Essendon for a year before the Bombers employed Dean Robinson, who had been employed by the Suns in their first season. Robinson had previously worked under Thompson at the Cats.

It was Robinson who then sought out the services of Stephen Dank a year later which kickstarted the WADA affair.

This is literally Geelong’s ‘link’ to Stephen Dank, for the 50000th time:

We sought one supplement - and didn’t get it, called Activegin, to help treat Max Rooke, which was a legal supplement. We tried to obtain it from a company, which was believed to have links to Stephen Dank.

When the investigation into Stephen Dank was announced, we alerted the AFL to this.

Isn’t your CHB from 09 in jail for 5 years for drugs?

And their star small forward as well as a two time all Australian midfielder from that grand final both perhaps fortunate to have not been in deeper water around that time after being put on the stand following a trial for a more serious matter.

Co-operated with AFL/ASADA and were cleared.
This isn't the bay. Facts do matter sometimes.

Cleared by the AFL lol, an organisation that are renowned for sweeping any controversial stuff under the rug.

They would have swept the Essendon drug cheating saga under the rug too but that was too big for them to fit under the rug.

Anyway at least Geelong are squeaky clean now, the only advantage they got tonight was playing chokers Port in a home final.

Cleared by the AFL lol, an organisation that are renowned for sweeping any controversial stuff under the rug.

They would have swept the Essendon drug cheating saga under the rug too but that was too big for them to fit under the rug.

Anyway at least Geelong are squeaky clean now, the only advantage they got tonight was playing chokers Port in a home final.
Missed this bit I take it?

The Cats said the AFL and ASADA had investigated the club thoroughly after the Essendon supplements scandal broke two years ago and there was no case to answer.
After Robinson left Geelong, he went to Essendon in a similar role and was there when Dank ran the controversial supplements regime at the club.
In 2007, Geelong used a company with links to Dank to source the substance Actovegin, saying it was a one-off order.
German specialist Dr Hans-Wilhelm Muller-Wohlfarth used Actovegin to help Cats player Max Rooke overcome a serious hamstring injury that year.
"The club sourced Actovegin from a company that was connected to Dank," the Cats said in a statement.
"These facts were all made known to the AFL and ASADA in 2013 during their investigation.

And their star small forward as well as a two time all Australian midfielder from that grand final both perhaps fortunate to have not been in deeper water around that time after being put on the stand following a trial for a more serious matter.
Add in Gardiner as well no wonder Gram didn’t hang around long….

Isn’t your CHB from 09 in jail for 5 years for drugs?

That was after he retired from playing AFL and they weren't performance enhancing drugs that he was involved with.

I wouldn't be throwing stones in that department either, your coach from 2009 didn't even try to hide it On the Couch.

That was after he retired from playing AFL and they weren't performance enhancing drugs that he was involved with.

I wouldn't be throwing stones in that department either, your coach from 2009 didn't even try to hide it On the Couch.

Hahaha yes well i was just responding to you criticizing him so I was aware of it. You are making a fool of yourself btw.
We just won a final by 84 points and are into a prelim final after being written off by many for about the 3rd time in the last 5 years, so yeah I'm feeling pretty good. Your clubs biggest achievement in the last 60 years is having Eric Bana as a fan.

Geelong supporters are a lot more cocky now than they were after St Kilda humbled them a few weeks ago.

Lucky for them they played Port tonight and not the Saints.
Another moral Premiership for the Mighty Sainters coming up.

You're truly blessed to witness so many of them in your lifetime.

Autopsy AFL 2024 Second Qualifying Final - Port v Cats Thurs Sept 5th 7:40pm EST/7:10pm CST (AO) - Teams up