AFL club insider claims their side tanked...

How does dobbing in a club that is tanking make him honourless? I would argue just the opposite.

He's dogging on his former colleagues. He was a part of whatever happened at Carlton whether he wants to admit it or not. If he was the honourable principled man he's trying to make himself out to be then he should have walked in protest last season. But he didn't.

Then Carlton tell him his services are no longer required and like the petty little sniper he's become he lashes out and betrays his former workmates.

There's nothing honourable in what Libba is doing. No good intentions behind his actions. Just a bitter little man being a spiteful, vindictive dog in the name of revenge.

I guess there is no point in us trying to win a 17th premiership then. The hollow feeling inside will just spoil it. Not having the respect of some of the scribes on BigFooty, will make winning premierships pointless. :rolleyes:

Why stop at Carlton?

Surely if Collingwood, The Eagles (drug cheats? and tanked in 2001) the bulldogs, North (tanked 2006), Hawthorn 2004 etc etc all tanked in various ways they should also feel "hollow" if they win the premiership cup.

You sit through 90 plus losses dude within 5 years and then come back to me.

Were Melbourne trying to lose to? Scotland only had one touch less. THey both got the top votes in the brownlow medal too.

i'd rather have Trav Johnstone getting 40 touches for my team than Heath Scotland. For melbourne to match up on Scotland, would've had to move Johnsone, which would've been to our disadvantage.

I work for a sports bookie and we did our arse on that game. Unfortunately we didn't have the option of just shutting up shop.

And the TAB were betting on that game. They were also betting on the wooden spoon winner which that last game directly affected as well as all sorts of multiple bets.

The wooden spoon was not impacted by this game mate, Richmond had that sewn upthe day before..youre cred is dwindling rapidly!

I don't think resting players or booking them in early for surgery, not playing your best team is tanking I don't have a problem with that bit.

Were Liverpool & Chelsea tanking when they rested players and lost the FA cup to a Championship team? No, they were just preparing for the future.

The Jokes "Tanks very much" and not picking up Travis Johnstone were tanking though IMO.

Have to agree with every word.

Carlton should be scrapped more first rounders for this i reckon, with already losing McLean, Wells, and Goddard for cheating, hopefully we can see them miss out on more.

Although I must say we threw that game against the tigers in 2005, we don't have a former insider at our club with these claims.;)

Stupid way to "blow the whistle", assuming that was his purpose. Surely pursuing though official channels first would have lent him a little more credibility. After his recent dummy spit with the Dogs, he could have done with some.

Consider the recent response to Paul Roos, surely the AFL will be under pressure to investigate, if only to be seen to address the issue. While most of Libba's story was circumstance and personal suspicion (not much different to the wider tanking debate really) the fact he was there when it allegedly happened can't be ignored.

Why the hell is everyone getting angry at Libba when Carlton are filthy scum cheaters!!!

If Roos got in this much shit for one comment then why the hell aren't the AFL investigating Carlton.

Disgrace of a club!!!!

Your club did exactly the same thing to get Thomas and Pendlebury you knob!

Wouldnt it be funny if Swann came out and told everyone that!

people will probably boycott the grand final if you're ever in it, pack of filthy cheating scum

Just as a point of interest, tell me what Carlton have done that your own team haven't also done. Not for a moment am I defending Carlton's salary cap breaches, but Melbourne supporters are not really in a position to cast aspersions.

Your club did exactly the same thing to get Thomas and Pendlebury you knob!

Wouldnt it be funny if Swann came out and told everyone that!

Oh God... read the whole bloody thread before you come in and say the same shit!!!

How am I a hypocrite?? :confused:

Because your mob have done the same thing mate. You can argue all you like but the fact is that the Pies tanked, if that is the word you want to use, to get the PP in the Pendlebury Thomas draft. Unless you have your head firmly stuck in the sand mate, surely you realise this!

The wooden spoon was not impacted by this game mate, Richmond had that sewn upthe day before..youre cred is dwindling rapidly!

Not necassarily as they were betting on the spoon the whole week prior to the Richmond game.

You also had long range multiples going into the wooden spoon winner.

You don't think the whole footy world knew we were tanking. Anyone who backed Carlton,, under those circumstances, is an idiot.

And what about those bookmakers who were forced to accept bets on Melbourne on a match that was basically rigged.

You're looking at match fixing from a punters angle - not the other side.

This was Libba's personal suspicion... but did he ever actually admit in that interview that the club actually tanked? No. However, he did indicate that it was possible - and that's what worries me the most.

He was sacked and the man has an axe to grind... so did he do this to "get back at us" or was he really genuine? Hell, he even admitted himself that in-club he heard of no such instructions to purposely throw away games.

Have to agree with every word.

Carlton should be scrapped more first rounders for this i reckon, with already losing McLean, Wells, and Goddard for cheating, hopefully we can see them miss out on more.

Although I must say we threw that game against the tigers in 2005, we don't have a former insider at our club with these claims.;)
Did he say he instructed the players to played dead.....no! Just said changes were made o-field and at the selections table to ensure we were very unlikely to win. Nothing wrong with sending players for operations and playing kids with a view to the next year. Until the players are tyold not to try there's nothing in it. Everyone knew we tanked, as has every other club late in the year in the PP position. Get over it.

Because your mob have done the same thing mate. You can argue all you like but the fact is that the Pies tanked, if that is the word you want to use, to get the PP in the Pendlebury Thomas draft. Unless you have your head firmly stuck in the sand mate, surely you realise this!

Didn't Carlton finish on the bottom of the ladder in 05??? I'm just gunna say they tanked that year as well.

We on the other hand (And this is the 4th of 5th time Ive had to say that for you Carlton supporters who have trouble reading sentences) were decimated by injuries and struggled to field a side.

We also didn't cheer for the opposition. DISGRACE DISGRACE DISGRACE!!!

BTW Why aren't any Carlton supporters replying to my statements about their opposition cheering.

I'm glad you said 'in this regard'

Yep CFC did rort the salary cap, having said that, we copped our whack, and then get criticsed for manipulating the rules so that we can get back to being a strong club again! BTW, we certainly aren't the only club that rorted the cap, but that is for another time and thread!

This was Libba's personal suspicion... but did he ever actually admit in that interview that the club actually tanked? No. However, he did indicate that it was possible - and that's what worries me the most.

He was sacked and the man has an axe to grind... so did he do this to "get back at us" or was he really genuine? Hell, he even admitted himself that in-club he heard of no such instructions to purposely throw away games.

Yes but logic often doesnt prevail on this forum Thrawn! It is a shame so many turn a blind eye and don't think about things in depth before they shoot their mouth off!

AFL club insider claims their side tanked...