AFL club insider claims their side tanked...

Bah unfounded gossip/allegations without any tangible proof whatsoever.

Don't think the AFL will bother investigating this minor issue IMHO

Dick Pratt's lovechild. I'll only accept written apologies starting with a particulat MOD. Old Navy Blues?? The rest of you clowns can submit them in alphabetical order.

You dont think Libba took some cash?? Come on!

Of course he did... he is out of a job... this is the only way he can make a buck... I am surprised he didnt sell his story on his quick knee comeback and make some outragious comment about Malceski...

I could imagine the phone call:

hutchy: "Libba we need some dirt on Carlton tanking reckon you can string a sentance together?"
Libba: "yeah cash?"
Hutchy: "of course, but we need more than two words, how about $500"
Libba: "giddy up hutchy"

Did he say he instructed the players to played dead.....no! Just said changes were made o-field and at the selections table to ensure we were very unlikely to win. Nothing wrong with sending players for operations and playing kids with a view to the next year. Until the players are tyold not to try there's nothing in it. Everyone knew we tanked, as has every other club late in the year in the PP position. Get over it.

I agree, giving player operations is fine, blooding players is fine, not picking up TJ is dubious, and Fev on he bench is as well.

Overall, I think TAB will be the biggest organisation that will make the first move. And so they should.

He's dogging on his former colleagues. He was a part of whatever happened at Carlton whether he wants to admit it or not. If he was the honourable principled man he's trying to make himself out to be then he should have walked in protest last season. But he didn't.

Then Carlton tell him his services are no longer required and like the petty little sniper he's become he lashes out and betrays his former workmates.

There's nothing honourable in what Libba is doing. No good intentions behind his actions. Just a bitter little man being a spiteful, vindictive dog in the name of revenge.

MOTIVE??
Conscience, I think not!!

That was a poorly disguised attempt at forging a media career based on controversy. His behaviour in the past two weeks in relation to the Bulldogs, Smorgan and Rose finished any club association. These are the rantings of a desperate man.

All his comments were his supposition. To suggest a player had unnecessary surgery is extraodinary.
The tanking issue may finally be addressed by the Spew.
I will be interested in the legal ramifications of this allegation.

Not necassarily as they were betting on the spoon the whole week prior to the Richmond game.

You also had long range multiples going into the wooden spoon winner.

You spoke about the spoon being impacted by this game, and it wasnt! Regardless of what bets were on it, and anyway if I remember correctly all betting on the Carl Melb game was cancelled, I stand corrected if untrue! Bloody snipers on here, fair dinkum giving me the shits, what was said on TFS tonight isnt even a bloody story, because I am sure that this has been discussed a million times before...Hutchy figured given that Libba is prone to saying the odd stupid thing, that he might just get him to open his gob, if he was doing his job properly, he would have asked Libba about it at about round 20 of 2008!!!

MOTIVE??
Conscience, I think not!!

That was a poorly disguised attempt at forging a media career based on controversy. His behaviour in the past two weeks in relation to the Bulldogs, Smorgan and Rose finished any club association. These are the rantings of a desperate man.

All his comments were his supposition. To suggest a player had unnecessary surgery is extraodinary.
The tanking issue may finally be addressed by the Spew.
I will be interested in the legal ramifications of this allegation.

A major match fixing inquiry will be established genius.

Why is it alright for Taz, Shagga and Simmo to be booked in early for surgery (both clubs were in line for top 5 picks; in Collingwood's case, two of them) yet it isn't ok for Fev, Thornton to go in for surgery

The Jamison call was a pissa :D

Jamison will settle into the FB position this year; Hutchy, you need to do more research mate.

Why did Grant and Simpson miss those games late in the year? I wonder if the club decided to book them in for surgery.

People love Carlton bashing but this has been occurring for a number of years Carlton 2007 North Melbourne 2006 to acquire one of the big 4 (Gibbs, Gumby, Hansen, Leuy)

The kangaroos would not divulge the nature of the player's respective injuries? :D Many would have you think only Carlton put players in for surgery early.

I'm not having a crack at North Melbourne here by the way, just highlighting that Carlton aren't the only club to have done it.

While we ended 3rd last, we had won more games than the bottom two teams combined from memory. We didn't just send everyone off to get operated on, we had 6 odd players that required surgery that year and they only missed a number of games based on how long the recovery period was.

Grant missed the last 4 rounds. I think he was the only player that missed the most footy, the club wanted everyone to be fit and ready for the pre-season, however, the club had made the decision by round 11. Grant only missed from round 18 due to the length of his recovery period and he had an absolutely shitful year up until that point anyway because of his injury, we didn't take away a someone vying for the coleman medal.

Simpson missed 3 games, needed a groin operation and would have limited his ability to do the early conditioning work if he was operated after the season had finished.

From the point where we decided to plan for 2007 we beat Essendon, beat Carlton, were defeated in the dying seconds by the Lions who played a magical last quarter, lost to the Crows at AAMI, beat Geelong, beat Port Adelaide, lost to Eagles at Subi, lost to Melbourne, lost to Hawks in Tassie and lost to Geelong.

The teams that beat us were finalists that year with the exception of Hawthorn.

Our season was stuffed not because of the last 11 odd rounds, it was the first 11 rounds where we lost 10 odd games. We should have put the cue in the rack from round 1 because our win loss ratio improved out of sight since planning for the following season.

By the end of round 18 we were ahead of Hawthorn, Port and were only percentage behind Brisbane. Hawks and Port ended the season strongly, we had to go to Subi, and play 3 finalists in the last 4 rounds. Hawks was the only "dubious" loss only because the game was riddled with errors but Hawks were only marginally better than us and they had no reason to throw the game.

You spoke about the spoon being impacted by this game, and it wasnt! Regardless of what bets were on it, and anyway if I remember correctly all betting on the Carl Melb game was cancelled, I stand corrected if untrue! Bloody snipers on here, fair dinkum giving me the shits, what was said on TFS tonight isnt even a bloody story, because I am sure that this has been discussed a million times before...Hutchy figured given that Libba is prone to saying the odd stupid thing, that he might just get him to open his gob, if he was doing his job properly, he would have asked Libba about it at about round 20 of 2008!!!

I can 100% guarantee we were betting on that game as were most (if not all) of Australia's leading betting agencies as was Betfair.

Will the punters who won on Melbourne that day be giving their money back ?

I don't think so.

Dick Pratt's lovechild. I'll only accept written apologies starting with a particular MOD. Old Navy Blues?? The rest of you clowns can submit them in alphabetical order.

At last! An apology is as good as an admission of guilt - make sure you forward copies to Demitriou and The Herald-Sun, please.

Thanks.

Didn't Carlton finish on the bottom of the ladder in 05??? I'm just gunna say they tanked that year as well.

We on the other hand (And this is the 4th of 5th time Ive had to say that for you Carlton supporters who have trouble reading sentences) were decimated by injuries and struggled to field a side.

We also didn't cheer for the opposition. DISGRACE DISGRACE DISGRACE!!!

BTW Why aren't any Carlton supporters replying to my statements about their opposition cheering.

So what you are saying is that it is ok to do it one year but not two? Ridiculous!!!

I have never cheered for any opposition!

Mate go back in history, we have been crap since 2002. Won 10 games in 2004 with an extremely weak side, when we were hit by the cap breaches in 2002 our list was old...damn this has been rehashed so many bloody times it is bloody ridiculous!!!

And mate my reading is fine, you just dont make any sense...

If Carlton are smart, right now they'll be ringing any other former assistants or employees they might of sacked over the off-season and be finding out what they'll say should this gather momentumn and the AFL investigate.

I can 100% guarantee we were betting on that game as were most (if not all) of Australia's leading betting agencies as was Betfair.

Will the punters who won on Carlton that day be giving their money back ?

I don't think so.

All punters who bet on Carlton that game really should think about taking up another past time!!! Because clearly if they keep going down the gambling road, they will end up bankrupt!!

It was interesting that the Footy Show approached Liberatore about the story

Eddie wouldn't want to get some controversy going would he, Swann crafted the tank perfectly at Collingwood in 2005 and then at Carlton in 2007; but unfortunately for Eddie and Collingwood Swann also got JUDD ;)

This has been an issue since 1999

Strip Fremantle of Pavlich and Hasleby IMMEDIATELY :D

http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2003/06/03/1054406188896.html

It is round 22, 1999 and Fremantle has won just five games for the season. It faced Geelong at Kardinia Park in its final game and, under AFL rules, teams that win five games or fewer for the season, get a priority draft pick.

Damian Drum, in his first year as Dockers coach, knew if his team won, he would not get the chance to recruit Paul Hasleby.

If the Dockers lost to Geelong, they would secure both Hasleby and Pavlich with picks No. 2 and No. 4 in the draft. But if they won, they would move above Melbourne on the ladder and could miss out on both the gun kids. Collingwood had already won the wooden spoon and had decided to take Josh Fraser with its priority pick.

Drum played a young line-up. Seven of his team had played less than 15 games.

One person who was in the Fremantle coach's box that day, refused to comment. But that refusal, the fact he referred to it as "the Hasleby game" and a third viewing of Geelong's 11-goal-in-a-row finish, does make a person wonder.

Come on you opposition supporters! Where is the call for the AFL to strip Fremantle of Pav and Hasleby!

Yeah Libba was soooo against it and felt sick about it all that he was one of the people that applied for the job of Carlton coach.

Libba look me in the eye and tell me if it was you and not Ratten that was appointed coach prior to that last game... what would you have done?

During the last round was he upset because he knew we weren't going to renew his contract (because he was a useless coach) and had lost the respect of the board, coaches, players and supporters.

ps: In terms of betting/punting and the footy show comments of that putting the game into disrepute.... ummm G.Lyon if you were stupid enough to put money on us for any of our last 3 games when we were blooding kids you're an idiot. Most bookies would of probably not taken bets or had 1.0 for our opponents.

If Carlton are smart, right now they'll be ringing any other former assistants or employees they might of sacked over the off-season and be finding out what they'll say should this gather momentumn and the AFL investigate.

I don't think that will happen.

"Liberatore said the coaching staff had never talked about tanking, he believed the players were always trying to win and he was not aware of any directive from Blues executives to lose matches."

"I never heard (a directive to lose), but I could feel it, if that makes sense," Liberatore said.

Nothing has changed since before the interview happened. It's all the same suspicion, and assumption. Of course, when you take into account Libba's sacking and the fallout he had with the club, it looks closer to him having an axe to grind.

I think Libba is a spiteful little ****, hiding behind the old alibi of just expressin his opinion but now we are gonna have to hear all about the issue of tankin all over again, and the season hasnt even started .

And he said that he didnt feel that it was his place to say to the coach he had an issue about the players they were picking and the clubs real desire to win. He was an assistant coach for shits sake , if it wasnt for him to say anything who else would?

Sounds like an angry little midget who's got an axe to grind to me.

This is huge news and just adds to the perpetual stench of cheating and corruption spewing forth from Princes Park. If it isn't Elliott, it is SC cheating, Pratt and his business practices, now the corruption has filtered down to the coaching staff.

The place is rotten to the core from top to bottom, from go to whoa, from Board right down to coaching staff.

Really is their any club in the AFL with any lower integrity than this pathetic rabble of cheats?

The AFL has to investigate this allegations and if applicable charges have to be laid. If proven true Ratten should be thrown out of the AFL.

I find this whole episode so disgusting, but so, so predictable of this wretched club and its turgid culture and attitude.

Disgrace.

I don't think that will happen.

Nothing has changed since before the interview happened. It's all the same suspicion, and assumption. Of course, when you take into account Libba's sacking and the fallout he had with the club, it looks closer to him having an axe to grind.

This has got Dale Lewis written all over it again.

A guy comes out and speaks the truth and what do people do - attack that person.

Nothing will happen unless one of the major betting agencies instigates legal action and puts all the Carlton people involved on the stand.

This is huge news and just adds to the perpetual stench of cheating and corruption spewing forth from Princes Park. If it isn't Elliott, it is SC cheating, Pratt and his business practices, now the corruption has filtered down to the coaching staff.

The place is rotten to the core from top to bottom, from go to whoa, from Board right down to coaching staff.

Really is their any club in the AFL with any lower integrity than this pathetic rabble of cheats?

The AFL has to investigate this allegations and if applicable charges have to be laid. If proven true Ratten should be thrown out of the AFL.

I find this whole episode so disgusting, but so, so predictable of this wretched club and its turgid culture and attitude.

Disgrace.

Salary cap cheating? Surely not! When did this happen!!! :rolleyes:

AFL club insider claims their side tanked...