Preview AFL Round 11 - Carlton v Geelong, Etihad Stadium, 7:50PM Friday 8 June

Predict the winner and margin

Hi guys,

I'm a Melbourne home and away member and I'm trying to book level 3 general admission tickets for this Friday.
Every time I enter my barcode in the members tickets section of the ticketmaster website it brings up $25 reserved seating tickets.

Can someone help?

Hi guys,

I'm a Melbourne home and away member and I'm trying to book level 3 general admission tickets for this Friday.
Every time I enter my barcode in the members tickets section of the ticketmaster website it brings up $25 reserved seating tickets.

Can someone help?
What is the aisle/row for those seats?

my friend was having this problem. make sure you choose the cheapest ticket option (up to $20 something). then it should be fine. mind you, they still charge $10 for reserved seat fee and handling. what a rort.

A Carlton staff member has just tweeted "Apparently we're down to 22 fit men for Friday night."

We are getting Carlton at exactly the right time - no excuses if we lose.
They are getting us at a pretty good time too.

We're likely to be missing 5-6 of our best 22 (Hawkins, Kelly, Christensen, Varcoe, maybe Enright, maybe Wojcinski) which has pretty much been the case all season. They had eight best 22 players missing on the weekend, and Scotland makes it nine. Even if they regain a couple of players, they're likely to have more missing than us.

Anyway, the injury lists are irrelevant if we don't bring plenty of intensity to the game. As bad as Carlton have been for a month, I expect them to come out firing.

cheers....i usually stand even when it isnt ticketed so not a problem for me.

does anyone else hate this stadium (i use the term loosely)?

Yeah we do too when we go, if you get there early enough you can get a decent spot on the railing on level 1 in between a bar & a dunny :D

I dont mind docklands, but its all in where you get a seat. Up the back row of the top level at docklands is much better than up the back row top level at MCG - on top of the world :eek:

Still, cant beat footy at Kardinia Park!!

my friend was having this problem. make sure you choose the cheapest ticket option (up to $20 something). then it should be fine. mind you, they still charge $10 for reserved seat fee and handling. what a rort.

Thanks mate, that worked.
WTF is with ticketmaster slugging $10 though?
$4 booking fee and a $6 handling fee, what a joke that is

+1 Yep.

It'll come down to who wants it more. If the Cats want to repeat their Hawks win at some stage, this Friday would be it.

With the exception of the GC game, we play finals all the way home.
We can have NO days off from here on in but we can count ourselves VERY fortunate that a few results went our way on the weekend.
If Carlton beat us on Friday we don't deserve to be challenging.

Im a little hesitant about the game this week.
On one hand, it looks like Carton are in a bit of trouble and in a serious form slump so I am thinking if we bring our A game and use our usual setups - unlike the GWS game, we should account for them.

But on the other hand, Is this the thumping that Carlton needed and are they going to respond by getting up and giving us a belting?

Hopefully the former comes to fruition, Wojak needs to come back into the side - we need the speed to cope with carlton.
But our mids(depending on if Kelly gets weeks) should easily account for them with the injuries they have at the moment.

With the exception of the GC game, we play finals all the way home.
We can have NO days off from here on in but we can count ourselves VERY fortunate that a few results went our way on the weekend.
If Carlton beat us on Friday we don't deserve to be challenging.

On the upside to that, we face every team above us on the ladder so we can take wins off them - should we win - and make our path back into the top 4....

For those mentioning Simpkin... he can't play at the moment unless if he gets promoted again with Menzel back on the long term injury list?

Correct, which is what I assume they will do now the Menzel acl is confirmed.

We actually receive a 'free' elevation at round 12 so Scott said they were planning to use that to get him back up (this was obviously last week before Menz's awful misfortune).

Odds just tipped significantly in our favor with Kelly cleared!!

Bloody oath!
With their lack of depth in the midfield, we can focus on Hunt tagging Judd out of the game and just let Kelly, Corey, Bartel & of course Selwood go nuts.
Especially with Murphy out they wont be able to combat ours - and if we include Wojak for some outside run....... :D:D:D:D

Huge!!! MRP woke up on THAT side of the bed.....good for us!

Given the blues loss of quality mid's (and yes that includes Scotland), you would think that Kelly, Bartel, Selwood, Corey would simply have too much class for the Blues (not to mention Chappy, SJ, Hunt and Stringer). If we could add Bundy somehow, I would be ecstatic!

If we can get Hawkins up as well puts ourselves in a very strong position!

If we can get this on the park i would be very happy;

B: J. Hunt, T. Lonergan, M.Scarlett
HB: C. Enright, H.Taylor, A.Mackie
C: D. Wojinski, J.Kelly, J.Corey
HF: S.Johnson, T.Hawkins, P.Chapman
F: S.Motlop, J.Podsiadly, M.Stokes

R: T.West, J.Bartel, J.Selwood

Int: M.Duncan, O.Stephensen, T.Hunt, C.Guthrie (Sub)

I say we throw Wojack straight in; he is fit and ready to go and will give us much needed spread early on in game.....most likely candidate for sub as game wears on.

If Hawkins can't get up I'm tipping either Taylor to CHF or Josh Walker to be elevated.

If we can get this on the park i would be very happy;

B: J. Hunt, T. Lonergan, M.Scarlett
HB: C. Enright, H.Taylor, A.Mackie
C: D. Wojinski, J.Kelly, J.Corey
HF: S.Johnson, T.Hawkins, P.Chapman
F: S.Motlop, J.Podsiadly, M.Stokes

R: T.West, J.Bartel, J.Selwood

Int: M.Duncan, O.Stephensen, T.Hunt, C.Guthrie (Sub)

I say we throw Wojack straight in; he is fit and ready to go and will give us much needed spread early on in game.....most likely candidate for sub as game wears on.

If Hawkins can't get up I'm tipping either Taylor to CHF or Josh Walker to be elevated.

Would almost be our best team on paper for the year. I would love to see Walker elevated and Hawkins be given another week off - not sure whether we have the mechanism for it assuming that Simpkin takes the Menzel spot.

We actually receive a 'free' elevation at round 12 so Scott said they were planning to use that to get him back up (this was obviously last week before Menz's awful misfortune).

PO do you know how re promotion works? Given we paid for it just weeks ago, do we need to pay again given that he returned to the rookie list? If we do I assume they will just wait til after rd 12.

You don't pay for it.
The players income goes up.
It doesn't go up a second time.

Carlton are playing poor at the moment, the Cats, while not at their best, are building. I want to see the Cats go for the throats of the blues. Hammer them, give them nothing and humiliate this mob and break the spirit of the blues not only for this game but for the rest of the season.

Cats to breathe fire, Carlton to get burnt! Im pumped for this game....

I dont mind docklands, but its all in where you get a seat. Up the back row of the top level at docklands is much better than up the back row top level at MCG - on top of the world :eek:

we stand at the g as well, so no need for nose bleed section.

will he actually play with all the guys we have returning in the next 2-4 weeks?

i am not really fan and struggle to see how he will push any players out.

Would almost be our best team on paper for the year. I would love to see Walker elevated and Hawkins be given another week off - not sure whether we have the mechanism for it assuming that Simpkin takes the Menzel spot.

Depending on Hawkins availability i would imagine we may look towards Walker.

It seems we have a reasonable compliment of midfielders to choose from given that Kelly is now cleared, however if Hawkins is out further and considering Pods poor form, Walker maybe called upon to give us some extra grunt.

Balme mentioned that Enright is still a little doutbful and maybe Selwood as well...but i would expect given the importance of the game and the bye the following week, that both would be available. I just hope we bring Wojack straight back in.