Review AFL Round 8 autopsy - Collingwood defeats Geelong by 6 points

Amen to that mate, feel as flat as a tack this morning. Usual routine would be to slip a DVD into the machine and record the match, read the papers or watch a footy show or two, that's all gone out the window now though. :(

Not the end of the world though, thought losing SJ was the tipping point, was always going to be a close match even before that, but losing 25/30 generally constructive possessions for fifteen largely ineffective ones hurt us badly and was probably the difference in the end.

Also thought Ling's remark about the kids needing to step up was spot on, don't think he was saying they need to be the engine that drives the machine, rather that they need to contribute more, if a few of them, heck even one, had produced something a bit special and actually influenced the game the result may have been different, instead they were mostly among our bottom six of so players, which leaves to much to the senior brigade, who still almost managed to drag us over the line yet again.

Too True -its amazing what football does to you -the difference between a narrow loss and a narrow win

If we continue to have such terrible starts, I hope we continue to lose, otherwise delusion by players and supporters will continue. You might say the players aren't deluded. Aren't they? Wasn't too long ago many from 2008 GF since retired admitted that they simply assumed they'd get over the line in the end. Well we know how that worked out don't we. If it happens once, it can happen again.
Our coach made it clear once more last night that great sides don't play the way we've been playing. Drive and belief is great, but it doesn't always work, and last night was an example. Realistically it shouldn't have worked against North neither. There we got lucky.

The first half we played against Sydney was the most beautiful football we've played all year. We stuck with them, and refused to let them dictate the terms. Truly a heavyweight battle of teams. If the boys can focus on that for the remaining season then we shall see the Geelong we all know and love, and the other 17 teams will fear us for it.

The decision to award Krakouer that head high tackle was bad enough but to allow him to play on over the mark was clearly a sign of either corruption or simple lack of knowledge of the rules, either way that clown should be fired or held accountable. In my opinion that decision cost us the game last night after a great come back from our depleted warrior side that were having an off night.

Collingwood had a stack of decisions go against them. There were at least 3 times where it was an obvious holding the ball decision and they didn't pay it.

We copped the same stuff too.

Overall they were just crap. But for both sides.

The decision to award Krakouer that head high tackle was bad enough but to allow him to play on over the mark was clearly a sign of either corruption or simple lack of knowledge of the rules, either way that clown should be fired or held accountable. In my opinion that decision cost us the game last night after a great come back from our depleted warrior side that were having an off night.
I refuse to let this board become a haven of umpire-bashing. Almost always they have no impact on the result of the game. Last night we had a great run in the third quarter which helped us get back in it.

The umpires did not "cost us the game".

I refuse to let this board become a haven of umpire-bashing. Almost always they have no impact on the result of the game. Last night we had a great run in the third quarter which helped us get back in it.

Yep that is correct they didnt completely cost us the game, but geez that one incident that umpire made two errors that clearly displayed his lack knowledge and its just frustrating to see a bunch of blokes busting their gut for there jumper week in and week out pay or it.

Yep. Maybe a mistake or three.

What about the hundreds of mistakes that Geelong made?

umpires have been bloody deplorable all season long.
You can blame them for the obvious ones which seem to be occurring at greater regularity these days but most of the others are due to the muppets who run the AFL changing rules and leaving the umpires with no choice but to do what their bosses demand.

Game is so different to when we won the flag in 2007 :(

I cannot stand watching tough contested ball winners come running in at full pace and then proceed to pull up and awkwardly tippy toe their way around an opposition player just so they do not give away a bullshit free kick....pathetic what the game has come to

and also, that Jolly bump was bloody fair and should certainly not get suspended or even reported for it!

Any football lover will agree on that one, if that is taken away from the game, the bump and physicality is essentially all but finished so hopefully the MRP flogs will throw it out.

I cannot stand watching tough contested ball winners come running in at full pace and then proceed to pull up and awkwardly tippy toe their way around an opposition player just so they do not give away a bullshit free kick....pathetic what the game has come to
haha yes I know it's just becoming silly now, I mean how far will they go with these rules.

There was a classic one last night that made me think the game in now not a contest between men.

Hear hear, I could not agree with this more. I was sitting with a Collingwood friend last night and we both thought that the umpiring was pretty good, that to me is the mark of a well-umpired contest.

I thought the Krak umpiring error turned the momentum their way at a crucial time.Having said that, it's not why we lost, we can blame our slow start for that. It's been a pattern for weeks that we need to change. While I admire the heart and courage of our team with it's comebacks, we can't keep expecting to reel in big half time deficits every week.
Yeah I absolutely agree with this. No it is not an excuse, The Colliwobs deserved the win but I was ropeable with that decision, not only the ball not being a score, but the ump getting between Krak and Taylor (?) on the mark. Infuriating ump errors all game both ways, the latter being another case of the umpire stepping into the game zone too much. Watching with friends we were mystified at times.

Perhaps a good time for a loss, and a wake up call. Nothing much has changed from the ups of the last few weeks - we can still win this, most of the kids coming through the factory are great, we are still the best when we are on, we still are not on enough.

The player that concerns me the most is Duncan, he just hasnt stepped up this year the way I hoped he would, and sometimes seems to be relying too much on his natural talent and not enough on hard work in the game. I hope this is enough of a wake up call for him, and the others, to not rest on their laurels but put in four-quarter efforts.

Brilliantly said. The word intensity is not in his vocabulary right now.

Something I've noticed over the past 8 games is an inability to release a decent handball from a tackle. Pendlebury is a master at it; keeps the ball out in front and his arms free when tackled so he can release to a free player. Most of the Pies seem competent in this area. We seem rather poor at it. Lonergan and Mackie in particular are very unbalanced in tackles and usually have the ball stripped or smothered from their hands. So often last night we lay a succession of tackles but each Pie tackled would flick it out to the next until they found space. A Cat would be tackled and the ball would spill free to no-one in particular.

A lot of our tackles in this regard appear to be ineffective, while we struggle to effectively dispose of the ball in a tackle. This might be a result of many young players with lighter frames who find it more difficult to hold their composure and position in a tackle and lack the strength to lay a solid tackle themselves.

Anyway, it's terribly frustrating to watch when every tackle simply sees the ball popped out to another opposition player until they break while we are mobbed repeatedly. Even Selwood was stripped of it a few times last night and he's one of the better ones at handballing it out of a tackle.. It made the Pies tacklers look much better than they were. Watching Melbourne and Richmond now and even Melbourne are quite capable at it. Ablett Jr is the best I've ever seen at it.

Don't be surprised. The SundayHSun Sports Editor, and bloke who wrote that article, Glenn MacFarlane, is a Pies tragic. Its a bit too much to expect someone to be objective and professional. That would require doing one's job properly. Quite a contrast from last Sunday, when I had to scour the HSun for the 1/2 page report on the Pies loss to Freo. Thankfully, the paper makes quite good kitty litter when ripped to pieces.

Like most Murdoch rags

Definitely not in this game. Our clearing kicks were shithouse. I was sitting up the top level of the 'G with a few magpie mates and saw the setup al over the ground. Can't believe how crap our delivery was at times - 'jumper clash' became a running joke and even random Pies around us were jeering 'jumper clash!' whenever we passed straight to a Pie on his own. Funny shit.

What the hell happened to Stevie J anyway?

Review AFL Round 8 autopsy - Collingwood defeats Geelong by 6 points