Aker Sacked

Yep, there's a line there even in a relatively free country like Australia. His comments on Braun were outrageous.

Yeah definitely outrageous. But I can't wait for Cuz' book to come out - how many other players at the WCE did he say were using? All depends on how much Cuz believes/honours his allegiances to former players and whether Cuz has the balls (proof for any libel claim). Will be dynamite book if he divulges all. Isn't his father writing/influencing alot of it - he is scaving of the WCE culture then.

Book won't come out til after Kuz quits footy.

"relatively free" manipulated bonded slaves paying for a debt accrued by the social elite who's constant fraud they legitimise in the voting process...If you vote you endorse sophisticated slavery...

Yeah the dogs are lame, too weak to hold up to media scrutiny absolutely pathetic giving in to medias socialist posings like so many congressmen...
Political correctness and line drawing is the stuff of nazi germany, you socialist jackasses. Your all so groomed to love being slaves... There is no set way to be, just because these clowns tell you something for long enough that you think it's your opinion doesn't mean it is...

What a player says has absolutely no bearing on anything whatsoever.
Most gutter scum yet mentally weak club going, I dunno why people would bandwagon them at all. Only reason probably has been when they come up against collingwood or that they are constantly not achieving.
What a joke all these teams acting like they are grooming schools for princesses.
If you can't handle what someone says, if your really that pathetic stipulate in their contract no media coverage of the player and take action against any media outlet that uses any of his intellectual property.

Never been into them, they've always been dogs.
Freo and the Tigers are the go for neutrals.

It's just been too long since Richmond have been up and about.

When their supporters are up and running, their neutral appeal disappears fast.

Eade and coy came across as angry if not hateful duirng their press conference. The emotional levels dont match what Aka has done (that is public knowledge). What is the leaked information that is so significant - none that I have heard is worth two bob.

the next few weeks may be interesting. I am sure Aka would not sign a confidentiality agreement.

He always had a BIG mouth and could never shut up. What goes around, comes around. Has no one to blame but himself.!!!
Bulldogs had no choice and did the right thing.

Was always going to happen. "Dribblergate" wasn't a smart thing to do when trying to get back into the team and I imagine that when Sam Newman made his comments the other night, it was reasonably obvious that he was going to be gawwwwn.

Conclusion: Aker's Media career was more important to him than his Footballing career otherwise he would of shut up for a month or so.

^^^^^ It's simple really, that's all it is.

Very synical move by the Bulldogs to eliminate a distraction. They have been jumping at shadows all year and this is another typical display of a club with an inferiority complex

They won't be the "feel good" team for the neutrals to support anymore in the finals

We'll miss you. :rolleyes:

his career was finished when he told gays to stay in the closet

you got your 'just deserts'!

Another one. 21 pages of posts, a large percentage of which completely ignore the facts. Don't you people read the information Bulldogs posters have supplied? Just read the OP and post an uninformed reaction.

What nonsense. Sacking him for suppoesdly telling Sam Newman something about something? Geez they're going to have to sack a lot of people then because every footy club has more than one person leaking stuff.

Besides which, they created the whole situation by being happy to pay him half as much to suit their cap, and allowing HS/MTR to effectively subsidise the rest for them. Should be taking responsibility for their decision instead of trying to wash their hands of it.

Pretty stupid too in terms of 'removing distractions' when they're going to have to spend the rest of the year talking about it now.

This is strange to me, Aker was brought to the Dogs for two reasons, 1. His footy ability and 2. His media profile.

His footy has been up and down but has showed at times he is in their best 22.
He has brought plenty of media attention to the dogs while some has been bad, no one thinks his articles and thoughts were anyone but his, no one thought the Dogs believed what he does.

My issue is Eade states he has a few boxes to tick but he already knew they were going to sack him.

I think they were going to leave him in the twos for the rest of the season but suddenly he was inform and pushing for selection, so to end media questions about why he is not getting a game they sacked him.

I bet he plays next year either for the Gold Coast or West Sydney

I respect that everybody has a right to their own opinion, but some of these posts are a little ridiculous.

This is the guy who got on the wrong side of the entire Brisbane team, a team he had huge success with, then was given a chance by a club needing a player with finals experience and his talent (for a cheap pick)...yet has learnt nothing.

When I think about David Smorgon, I think of someone who loves this club and has rebuilt it from a disaster to a thriving club. He deserves every Bulldogs supporters gratitude and respect. If he says Aker is no longer welcome, then in my opinion, he's no longer welcome. Rodney Eade has taken us from the bottom of the ladder and thereabouts, to 2 preliminary finals and after this year, 4/6 finals series, after not having made them since 2000. If he reckons Aker is bad for the club, then Aker is bad for the club. I don't think I'm placing blind faith in random people, I'm putting my faith in people who actually know what Akermanis did, not a bunch of people blinded by only what they saw him do on field. Yes, he was a great player, we all know that, but only the Western Bulldogs staff (and of course the Brisbane Lions staff with their reasons for sacking him) knew what he did and what he's really like.

I don't understand why people are so quick to go to Aker's aid, sure he speaks his mind and that's great for a read, but for a grown man he has no idea about how to work in a team. People saying you can't have a personality in footy are simply wrong, you see lots of players with great charisma...and some who lack it, but they all seem capable of not divulging team secrets or lying to their club about who wrote an article.

I can only hope that this strengthens the team and we prove that we're not 'soft as butter' on Sunday, but I don't think that a loss would be a reflection of the Aker situation, more that Fremantle are 4th for a reason. He was a good pick up for the first 3 years, but if he was more interested in a premiership/grand final/playing football in general then his 'media career', we wouldn't be having this problem.

Yeah the dogs are lame, too weak to hold up to media scrutiny absolutely pathetic giving in to medias socialist posings like so many congressmen...
Political correctness and line drawing is the stuff of nazi germany, you socialist jackasses. Your all so groomed to love being slaves... There is no set way to be, just because these clowns tell you something for long enough that you think it's your opinion doesn't mean it is...

Yeah I get it. These straightforward excuses for his sacking are founded on unquestioned beliefs that holding and expressing an opinion that is counter to the flock's is a bad thing. There was nothing wrong with the gay article so he shouldn't have found himself in the awkward position of having to mount a defence for it. He shouldn't have to have his media work vetoed by the club. There is another parallel universe where such an AFL exists, and the players get on the field and kick goals as a team regardless, but no one can see it because they've had all this "team, individual, distraction" rubbish drummed into them. (or just look at other team sports - soccer)

Do you reckon Acker was ever a player that needed a psychologist to instruct him on proper mating etiquette? You know, to avoid those embarassing court appearances and cover ups, as they do now. No wonder he doesn't fit in he isn't the neanderthal that many of them are.

Smorgan said:
What we can't tolerate is unique individuals that don't play by team rules

Are GWS looking for a loud mouth tool ?
Wait,Sheedy already has that role

They could alternate running pics of them on the back page of the Sun. Probably wearing a stupid hat too. Can't see Aker being picked up by anyone.

Yeah definitely outrageous. But I can't wait for Cuz' book to come out - how many other players at the WCE did he say were using? All depends on how much Cuz believes/honours his allegiances to former players and whether Cuz has the balls (proof for any libel claim). Will be dynamite book if he divulges all. Isn't his father writing/influencing alot of it - he is scaving of the WCE culture then.

Speaking of books...

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...kermanis-sacking/story-e6frf9jf-1225895311211

Acker looking after his future.

Acker is a champion footballer . Clubs are getting too precious.
The AFL talk about players, and life after football.
Well Acker set himself up as a media person , good for him.
Football is entertainment , who gives a stuff about clubs saying
nothing about anything. Its not the friggin CIA. Secrets are bullshit.
You don't treat champions like fools by putting them infront of their peer group and making them answer questions like school children, by players, some of whom weren't and aren't fit to tie his boot laces at his peak, and maybe even now, though he's slower.
His comments about gay footballers was not a slight on gay footballers, it was a comment on the fact that some individuals in AFL circles may have difficulties dealing with a team mate comming out.
Now beleive it or not bigotry is alive and well in some peoples minds.
It would seem that all Acker was saying, was, that it may be easier to leave it alone while playing because there are some pea brains in the
AFL that wouldn't handle it. He's said nothing wrong. He is in the media
his job is commenting, so what, Footscray aren't going to invade Iraq
are they? It's goddamned football for christ sake it circus, its entertainment,people want to see the best playing, we pay for it.
Good on you Acker, go well mate, and the W DOGS will rue the day.
GF dead and buried.

Hey catdog how many West Coast players have drug charges against them. Answer we have none. How many Drug charges does your loyt have. Answer two , who has the drug problem lol . At least you beat us in something.

Well I have read enough of this crap, so let me get this straight: SOME SUPPORTERS from other clubs have had a go at us for:

• North Melbourne - want to have a go at Scotty West, - the same club that produced a team mate's best friend Wayne Carey:rolleyes:
  • Aker is apparently going to be the difference in the Bulldogs winning a premiership - funny but he disappeared in the prelim finals of 2008 and 2009:eek:
  • Collingwood supporters are being righteous about us taking action against undisciplined players by sacking him, so what happened to Shaw - didn't you get rid of him to Sydney?
  • West Coast thinks we should harden the f%$# up - yeah and end up having the AFL breathing down our necks and demanding and checking our every action - funny but you are now down the bottom of the ladder since they have been doing that:rolleyes:
  • And Richmond will hey, hard to take you seriously anyway.:D
What the Western Bulldogs have done, has taken decisive action against a 33yo who is not playing very well, and is causing trouble at our club, that has a long record of not having trouble. I am sad to see Aker go, but I support the Western Bulldogs - the club on their decision.

Very strange timing by the Dogs ...why didn't they just banish him to the VFL for the remainder of the year and deal with him then ?

Now it will just be one huge distraction for a club attempting to win their first flag since Adam was a boy .

Just very weird timing IMO :confused:

Very strange timing by the Dogs ...why didn't they just banish him to the VFL for the remainder of the year and deal with him then ?

Now it will just be one huge distraction for a club attempting to win their first flag since Adam was a boy .

Just very weird timing IMO :confused:

Playing him in the VFL was already proving a massive distraction. At least this way the hubub will die down in a couple of weeks and the club can move on

If you believe this you either:
a) have no idea how the media works
b) have no idea how a person tends to behave when he/she perceives they have been wronged or
c) you are genuinely delusional

Whether the decision to sack him was right or not, the players, coaches and admin at the dogs will have to deal with this for the rest of the year. There is absolutely NO way it will die. Bookmark it.

Aker Sacked