Oct 28, 2002
Like Anyone Cares
Thursday, 2 October 2008
Craig Rowston for essendonfc.com.au
Page 1 of 1

Matthew Knights gave the Crichton Medal crowd an exclusive last night confirming that Jarrod Atkinson will be upgraded to the club’s senior list for the 2009 season.

Atkinson, who played five games with Essendon this year, was placed on the club’s rookie list after being taken in the 2007 rookie draft.

He made his AFL debut along with David Myers and Darcy Daniher against Port Adelaide and impressed the coaches and fans with his athleticism and attack on the ball.

The 23-year-old played under Matthew Knights at Bendigo in 2007 and is the fastest player at the club over 20m.

Knights said he received a text message from Atkinson saying ‘I won’t let you down’ after he was told of his elevation to the senior list.

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/news.asp?nid=6108

So what do people think. I don't mind him - I reckon he has quite good skills and is fairly composed under pressure. Knights is obviously a big fan. He won't be a star - but he could be more than handy.

Definitely want to see more of him rather than cutting him loose so good decsision for me.

Showed some promising from the 2nd half v Richmond in rond 16 to his last game against Melbourne.

Will make a good depth player.
Can't see him playing too many games unless we struggle with injuries, or if Knighter wants to develop him as a small defender.

I disagree. Has the potential to improve a heap more. He may be 23 or so, but he has only had 1 year in the top flite of football. If he has used this year as a learning curb, I can see much potential improvement.

congrats to Atkinson but it might be bad luck for Lovett murry.i hird that he may well be up for trade with his mate Lovett...

He'll spend a couple of years on the list, fill a space, play the odd good game, but never really improve enough and be gone.

Would have been better to look elsewhere.

I reckon he at least deserved a chance and it's good to see Knights is giving him one.

Thought he looked a bit out of his depth early but really came on towards the end of the season and showed that he can play at senior level and provide some good run and rebound off the half back line.

Here's hoping he can make an impact for us in 09 :thumbsu:

Happy with the decision.

Can see a lot of improvement in him and older rookie players often have more determination (not always I know).

At the very worst a serviceable depth player. :thumbsu:

good luck to him. He's improved a great deal in the past year or so, plenty of work still to be done however.

He'll spend a couple of years on the list, fill a space, play the odd good game, but never really improve enough and be gone.

Would have been better to look elsewhere.

I think he could be a regular in our best 22 and is a good promotion considering how young our list is. We need as many strong bodies as possible to protect our developing players.

I reckon he deserved another year.

He improved in almost every game he played. Whether he's got scope for enough improvement to be a really good player is another thing.

He's got a lot of attributes that make you think he can play a role at AFL level.

I'm a fan, he's got some reeal potential and he plays in a position where there is a huge gap in our side - good luck to him. Oh and lets hope NLM gets traded

Will make a good depth player.
Can't see him playing too many games unless we struggle with injuries, or if Knighter wants to develop him as a small defender.

He is pretty versatile and i think he will get maybe 10 games.
I think knights will use him in a NLM role

Was a lucky rookie selction in that his form never demanded a spot and this year he got senior games based on injuries. I dont think he can improve much more due to his lack of footy brain. We have chosen athlete over footballer.

Sorry i haven't read all the post's so somebody may have all ready mentioned this. But I like the addition of Atkinson to the senior list, we desperately need a quick defensive minded back pocket player(sounds strange I know as they are normally a dime a dozen). We normally get ripped a new one by the better small forwards in the league and if Gladstone Small can fill that role the team will be better for it.

He is the quickest player .
All he needs is more game time to see if he can play consistently at the AFL level.

At 192 cm and with speed i believe he will be great .
Speed and height are lacking in defence .

Atkinson promoted to senior list