Australian XII for the Boxing Day Test (Official Ins: Watson, Hauritz, Hilfenhaus, Out: Krejza)

Well yeah maybe we should select guys like this for the ODI team first. Less rick.

:confused: ;)

rickastley.jpg

I worry that we're reacting to the media hysteria of losing McGrath and Warne and overlooking perfectly acceptable candidates like Brett Dorey or maybe I dunno Magoffin, they're both about 30 or just over 30, out of fashion age maybe? I dunno I'm just throwing these names out there.

I do agree that it is important not to go too far in filling the team with future prospects, and I think in hindsight we did that in the last test.

But the thing is, we don’t want ‘perfectly acceptable’ bowlers. We want champion bowlers.

We could get by pretty well for a while with good honest state performers in the side. But we will never be the same team again if we don’t unearth a couple of truly great bowlers.

If the selectors see a kid who they think could really be something they will do whatever it takes to bring them on. Both McGrath and Warne were fast tracked in the same way.

We are very vulnerable because Bing and Clark will probably only have a couple of years left in them and great bowlers don’t just fall out of the sky.

I think it's a bit ridiculous really, I wouldn't say he has so many champion qualities, I'm not sure where all this talk comes from

If we had someone like a Morkel height who has the beautiful action and looks the part, you know like in Footy when you see first see a Franklin and realise the upside.

Siddle 187cm, just having watched him bowl now in a few games. I don't think there's much champion potential, I think we're obsessed with age, being young doesn't make someone a future gun.

The whole thing reminds me of Collingwood supporters and Travis Cloke:eek:

I'm guessing you've only seen the two Tests he's played in, hence why you have formed this opinion.

The selectors have seen much more of his cricket at domestic level, even when he was dominating last season and would have a fair idea of his ability.

Re: Australian XII for the Boxing Day Test

I know that the squad suggestions are over with the actual squad announcement but thought there was a glowing ommission in the past 30 pages of the below squad being entered for the BD test....
1. C.Rodgers
2. N.Jewell
3. B.Hodge
4. D.Hussey
5. C.White
6. R.Quiney
7. A.McDonald
8. M.Wade
9. D.Wright
10. C.McKay
11. D.Nannes

Well it might be Geeves, it might be Nannes, it might be MacGoffin, it might be Bollinger... we don't know. And the selectors don't know. Because we haven't seen any of them bowl at the highest level.
quote]

And if this is referring to bowling 125kmh I think Dirk is a bit quicker than that, am sure Bandy would say so anyway.

He's a ripper. Hope the selectors persist.

Does nothing with the ball. I'd rather a genuine swing bowler- Hilfenhaus or Bollinger would be fine. Siddle is too similar to Lee, he just skids the ball onto the bat with little movement.

He'll learn his trade around the National Side like Mitchell Johnson did I reckon. He's been dubbed as the up and comer. In for the long haul. Mightn't have performed well in the last Test but is very talented and his performance was not an indication of what he is really capable of.

Mark Waugh must know nothing about Cricket then? :eek::cool:
A look at their Test records and I think that question is easily answered. Including current form. Be as dumb as dogsh1t to do otherwise.

I know that the squad suggestions are over with the actual squad announcement but thought there was a glowing ommission in the past 30 pages of the below squad being entered for the BD test....
1. C.Rodgers
2. N.Jewell
3. B.Hodge
4. D.Hussey
5. C.White
6. R.Quiney
7. A.McDonald
8. M.Wade
9. D.Wright
10. C.McKay
11. D.Nannes

Well it might be Geeves, it might be Nannes, it might be MacGoffin, it might be Bollinger... we don't know. And the selectors don't know. Because we haven't seen any of them bowl at the highest level.
quote]

And if this is referring to bowling 125kmh I think Dirk is a bit quicker than that, am sure Bandy would say so anyway.

I feel seriously ill from looking at that side...
But seriously, the only good Vic players who deserved test cricket in recent times are Dean Jones, Firearm, Warne & Simon O'Donnell. NSW has always had the best players, we should just send the entire squad over to do the job right.

I feel seriously ill from looking at that side...
But seriously, the only good Vic players who deserved test cricket in recent times are Dean Jones, Firearm, Warne & Simon O'Donnell. NSW has always had the best players, we should just send the entire squad over to do the job right.
Merv Hughes? Paul Reiffel?

He is an honest toiler, no better.

If you can't swing the ball you shouldn't be getting a game.
Glenn McGrath on line 1.

It isn't.

At all.

I think the side should be:

Katich
Hayden
Ponting
Hussey
Clarke
Symonds
Watson
+Haddin
Johnson
Hilfenhaus
Tait

Wishful thinking on Tait perhaps, but reckon he'd be a better shot than Lee these days.

Katich to bowl the bulk of the spin - he's a very decent spinner and far more accurate than Krejza. Why Ponting bowls Clarke ahead of him I really don't know. Ponting's captaincy leaves a lot to be desired.

I think the side should be:

Katich
Hayden
Ponting
Hussey
Clarke
Symonds
Watson
+Haddin
Johnson
Hilfenhaus
Tait

Wishful thinking on Tait perhaps, but reckon he'd be a better shot than Lee these days.

Katich to bowl the bulk of the spin - he's a very decent spinner and far more accurate than Krejza. Why Ponting bowls Clarke ahead of him I really don't know. Ponting's captaincy leaves a lot to be desired.

I'd love to see Tait in the side, unfortunately he doesn't even want to play 4 day cricket let alone a Test match.

Yeah I don't mind Katich as a spinner, don’t think you could use him as a front liner though, his value is in shock value as a part timer I think. If you bowled him a lot blokes would figure him out, and turning the ball into the right hander as a wrist spinner can be tough. Plus you couldn’t expect him to open the batting after bowling 30 overs on a turning pitch.

I’m not a huge fan of Ponting’s captaincy either, I think he tends to be a bit reactive, and tactically he’s not up to scratch IMO, Hussey would probably be a better bet, won’t happen though.

Gunnar and others just love to ramble repeat the word 'drop' with emotional effect. It wouldn't really be dropping him, more like rotating while our best quick is out for the next two matches.
This is complete BS.

It's got nothing to do with "emotional effect", and I don't think you can really accuse me of "rambling".

If an established player is left out of the side, he is dropped.

That's what it's called. It has nothing to do with "emotional effect".

If anything, I'd argue that you're using absurd euphemisms for the purposes of spin: "Oh, we didn't drop him - we rotated him."

I worry that we're reacting to the media hysteria of losing McGrath and Warne and overlooking perfectly acceptable candidates like Brett Dorey or maybe I dunno Magoffin, they're both about 30 or just over 30, out of fashion age maybe? I dunno I'm just throwing these names out there.
Ah, of course.

It's the media's faults. As usual.

Those manipulative bastards - pulling the strings of our selection policy.

You accuse me of using the phrase dropped for "emotional effect" - which is already an absurd claim.

But here you are talking about the "media hysteria". Hyperbole, much? I'm not aware of any hysterical journalists forcing selectors to pick younger players.

Ah, of course.

It's the media's faults. As usual.

Those manipulative bastards - pulling the strings of our selection policy.

You accuse me of using the phrase dropped for "emotional effect" - which is already an absurd claim.

But here you are talking about the "media hysteria". Hyperbole, much? I'm not aware of any hysterical journalists forcing selectors to pick younger players.

You do have a tendency to use what some people would perceive as loaded phrasing. Whether that is the case or not is up to the individual.

However to suggest using the word 'dropped' is over the top is just not true.

I think the media plays a part in selection. Not a huge part, but with the amount of media coverage around in all sports now, it's hard for anyone not to be swayed by weight of opinion, including team selectors. I know thats not supposed to happen, but I reckon it does.

You do have a tendency to use what some people would perceive as loaded phrasing. Whether that is the case or not is up to the individual.
You've made the statement.

Don't back away from it by saying "whether that is the case or not yada yada..."

Give an example of my "loaded phrasing".

Australian XII for the Boxing Day Test (Official Ins: Watson, Hauritz, Hilfenhaus, Out: Krejza)