Autopsy Autopsy Thread - Round 12 - Geelong v Hawthorn

Gutted again. Not because we lost as I feel we can and will win if we meet them again. It's more the fact of losing Roughy, he is nearly our most important player and had grown as a player this year. Really really depressed atm... Hope it will only be a month, got to be positive i guess. A couple of poor plays like the Shoey dropped mark, can be eradicated from our game and we can win. The problem is it may start to become a mental thing, but hopefully our boys realize just what we can achieve. Also I now have major doubts whether Shoey will be able to hold down a key back spot. He simply doesn't have a cool head and gets out marked too often. Heres hoping he proves me wrong but I see him as a major issue for us. I also feel for Gibbo as I think it was unfair for him to start on Pods as he is simply giving away to much weight and height. I think he has had an awesome season and I hope a match like that doesn't ruin his confidence. Just on Liam Shiels, i have to admit that I <3 the bloke. That contested grab he took going back into that pack was just brilliant, the courage he showed was incredible and must have really given a lift to the other boys. Sign him up and watch him play good consistent football for years to come, a masterclass selection :)
Fingers crossed for Roughy as one way or the other our season may hinge on his diagnosis...

You cannot quantify that. No doubt we were well beaten in the ruck. Remember Bailey is battling his way back from 3 knee recos and was bound to need a break at some point. Renouf wasn't great tonight, but he was serviceable, took a couple of nice grabs and thankfully kicked a goal.

To say his cost us the game is ridiculous.

Crap!! I would rather a 50% Bailey than Renouf. He has no idea!

Bad year?? after 4 rounds he shortened in to $26 for the Brownlow.....

Very very handy last week in the last qtr and set the wheels turning against the Swans 1st 5 mins of the 2nd half with 2 of the sweetest Goal assists you'll ever see.

No doubt his first 4 games were great, but he has been nothing short of ordinary ever since....a couple of cameo's aint worth a sh*t load of dollars, we need consistency from him and he's not delivering it.

There is a fair point to be made about Burgoyne tonight though. He did go missing, and against a side like Geelong, we desperately needed a player of his experience.

Chalk it up to a bad game, I really hope he brings in the back end of the season with some better form though.

I also think that Geelong will always get a few ducking free kicks and such. Just a sign of experienced trickery and nous. As I was drawing towards the end of my amateur footy career I also learn't how to get an extra free kick or two over an eager youngster.

Settle down T/master.

We were goalless in the last qtr - surely that tells you something.

We MUST attack - break the lines and score GOALS.

Frees come and go - we cannot rely on that.

Renouf and Hale will be playing a very important part in the next 3/4 months

Thats the funniest sh.t I have read! He is a joke! He adds nothing! Give me Bailey any day of the week.

Does anybody know why Young got the 50 meter penalty which brought him to the goal square?

The previous passage of play was Young kicked to Buddy who was infringed on and Buddy played it up. The commentators weren’t watching the game and kept bleating on about Buddy ham'n it up then they show Young in the goal square kicking one through. Neither Franklin or Young are credited with a free kick tonight. Did I miss something?

More gutted about Rough than losing the game. GF seems a bit of a pipe dream now. Still, we could have, should have beaten them tonight.

Bartel was standing the mark and moved off his line to cheapshot Buddy running inside 50. Fifty metre paid.

You are to precious about Renouf. Im telling you and I really dont give a sh.t about wat you think, He (Renouf) adds absolutley F..k all to the HFC. He is a joke. Why the F..k do we rest Bailey in such an important game....?????? Could we not have rested him next week Vs GC??

Bloody hell Clarkson, play any one else but f..ken Renouf. Yes what I am saying is playing Renouf cost us the game. Bailey is worth more than 5 points in our team.

Im bloody over losing to this mob. The umpires were bloody atrocious! They can pay bloody Selwood high tackles left, right and f..ken centre, but Bud is blantenly pushed in the back and its a geel free kick. Bloody joke!

And to top it all off, Rough gone for season. How many more season injuries do we want..? And not to score shit in the last, what the hell is going on. Im guttered.

And last thing, I am dead set sick of hearing Clarkson telling us that Geel are a great side i=and you have to put 4 good qtrs together to beat them.....Oh really sherlock? So the last 5 - 6 times we have not learnt anything.

I struggle to see us make the top 4 now with Rough gone. So disapointed.

Jesus, how old are you - two

Bailey copped a corkie and a kick to the jewels so yes he was sore and on top of that is coming back to AFL after an extremely long lay off.

I'm not going to deny that Renouf is not in the same league as other ruckmen but I doubt he ever aspired to be the number one ruckman in a side it just came to be and whether you like it or not he gives 100% every game and would die trying. So you bad mouth away and you forget the other VERY senior players tonight who were off their game and could of made the difference at the end.

To not kick even a point in the last quarter cannot possibly be attributed to Renouf but you go ahead and keep the rants going. You blame the umps and yes the count was extremely lopsided and pathetic in the first quarter but the hawks cop this shit week in week out - my god Freo even won the free kick against us last week and they never win so quite frankly the umpiring isn't an excuse they should be used to it.

Geelong are a very good side as evidenced by where they are on the ladder and when it comes down to the close ones the players that need to stand up for them do and they do it consistently and thats what our boys have to take a look at in this game and that is that selwood, bartel, corey - every last one of them stood up in the last quarter when the game was on the line and our senior players failed to do so.

The other fact whether you like it or not is that the hawks have failed to play consistent four quarter football in 11 rounds and until they stop having these slow starts, brain freezes and runs from behind then we are always going to fall short when the finishing line is close - it's impossible to keep playing catch up and expect to win.

Christ I'm tired of all these back-seat coaches.

We've just come off a five match winning streak and were comfortably in charge of the unbeaten Cats - despite a 20 point headstart thanks to a 12-1 freekick count and Pods having a game of his life - until a series of momentum changing incidents in the last quarter. Down three players (5 if you count Hodge and Burgers)

And even then we could have snatched it in the last minute.

Think the ****ing game plan's going okay - as are the coaching staff - thank you very much.

How many times in tonight's game did you us go foward to only stop and kick side ways or backward??? We chip it around with short kicks rather than moving it forward quickly, sure this game style works against teams below us but against the Cats it will never work because they make you pay when you turn it over!!
We are the only team in the comp that plays this game style and I'm just not sold on it...

Great game tonight. Needed a couple of goals in the last to get us over the line but could not manage it due to going to defensive in structure.
Pods was the diffference not the umpires (who did not help)
Should have played lisle to play back in hind sight, but Gibbo has taken all before him this year.
roughy will be a huge loss not only this year but possibly most of next year.

Hopefully Hale and lisle can come in and have an impact.

Really pissed off at losing to those HEADDUCKING PRICKS again..

Does anybody know why Young got the 50 meter penalty which brought him to the goal square?

The previous passage of play was Young kicked to Buddy who was infringed on and Buddy played it up. The commentators weren’t watching the game and kept bleating on about Buddy ham'n it up then they show Young in the goal square kicking one through. Neither Franklin or Young are credited with a free kick tonight. Did I miss something?

More gutted about Rough than losing the game. GF seems a bit of a pipe dream now. Still, we could have, should have beaten them tonight.

The way I saw it, as Young was lining up to kick, Buddy ran closely past the man on the mark, who then took a step in Buddy's way and put him down. Of course Buddy dropped to ground and earned the 50. Yes it was soft, but warranted I believe.

How many times in tonight's game did you us go foward to only stop and kick side ways or backward??? We chip it around with short kicks rather than moving it forward quickly, sure this game style works against teams below us but against the Cats it will never work because they make you pay when you turn it over!!
We are the only team in the comp that plays this game style and I'm just not sold on it...

Sorry did I miss something? We lost by five points. Not five goals. Young, Rough, Renouf, Hodge and Guerra were all witches hats by half way through the last. That's why we lost. Not the ****ing game plan.

Jesus...

Great game tonight. Needed a couple of goals in the last to get us over the line but could not manage it due to going to defensive in structure.
Pods was the diffference not the umpires (who did not help)
Should have played lisle to play back in hind sight, but Gibbo has taken all before him this year.
roughy will be a huge loss not only this year but possibly most of next year.

Hopefully Hale and lisle can come in and have an impact.

Really pissed off at losing to those HEADDUCKING PRICKS again..

Heard on MMM its 3 to 4 months......hope that's true so he can participate in pre-season. Just have to wait and see.

I hope Selwood wins the Brownlow and the Goo suspension makes him ineligible.

Dog of a bloke.

This shits just pathetic. Dog of a bloke? Pfft. He isn't doing anything illegal, blame the umps for paying then rather than selwood himself. If he can do it and get frees, good on him. Umps shouldnt pay them, blames on them.

Rough is the worst part of the game. Young was poor. Once the cats got a run on after the bruest miss, I knew it was done

Hodge- soo bloody disappointing from our captain, he gave nothing against Ling, Ling towelled him for the 6th time in a row.

Burgyone- Jesus, he is an unbelievable player but he is just so frustrating. It is like he has does not give a shit for about 9/10 of the game.

Surely you realise that Bailey has to be managed throughout the year:thumbsu:

I understand this X, but why rest him in such an important game..?? Rest him next week Vs GC. I dont rate Renouf, I dont care if he gives 100%, because his 100% is no where near what is expected at AFL level.

Lets be frank here.

I was running to the MCG to make it by 3 quarter time after taking my girl to Ezards for dinner for her birthday.

I was saying we would probably lose by a kick because the personality of this team is one that just keeps that extra bit of energy for September.

Surprise, surprise McBurney cheats us out of a win. But when all is said and done this is the best possible result for Hawthorn. The Cats played at 100% and I reckon we played at about 80%.

This is no different to 2008, we can beat them when it counts. I have this tiny, incy, minascule little feeling that we will pay them in the first qualifying final and if we do and somehow beat them, you know what it means.

A qualifying final between Collingwood and Geelong to meet us in the Grand Final.

Sounds pretty good to me.

Roughy you are a champion. Go grab Stratts and Gilham and get fit for next year...

If the Hawks ever had a reason to completely flip it, do it for your fallen comrades in Gilham, Stratton andnow Roughy. :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Sorry did I miss something? We lost by five points. Not five goals. Young, Rough, Renouf, Hodge and Guerra were all witches hats by half way through the last. That's why we lost. Not the ****ing game plan.

Jesus...[/

If we had a target up foward when it mattered we would of won, same old story we came close but the Cats were better. We should of won simple as that and some of that blame is because of our chipping it around the backline and not getting it into our forward 50 quick enough...

Reading through this thread just highlights how devastating the loss was. We deserved to win tonight, simple as that. Luck and injury prevented it from happening.

Geelong did not score a goal in the third. For all of you who are quick to bag our players about being mentally weak, please show me how many times this has happened in the past 5 years. Yes we didn't score in the last but it was that sort of night. Ebbs and flows. And umpires.

Can someone try and get the free kick stats for each of the Haw/Geel games from 2008 onwards please. I am sure I am not dreaming that we get bent almost every time we play them.:thumbsdown:

I understand this X, but why rest him in such an important game..?? Rest him next week Vs GC. I dont rate Renouf, I dont care if he gives 100%, because his 100% is no where near what is expected at AFL level.

I dont think you understand it at all - HFC have to manage Big Max whenever necessary - not when it fits in the fixture.

Did #34 play in the 2008 GF???????????????

This shits just pathetic. Dog of a bloke? Pfft. He isn't doing anything illegal, blame the umps for paying then rather than selwood himself. If he can do it and get frees, good on him. Umps shouldnt pay them, blames on them.

Rough is the worst part of the game. Young was poor. Once the cats got a run on after the bruest miss, I knew it was done

He is cheating mate. He knows there is minimal or no contact and his actions are encouraging the umpires to pay a free kick. Just like Chapman and Johnson. Just like Lloyd. All good enough players that they don't need to do it. But for some reason, the knees collapse in a tackle or the head and arms get thrown back.

Willo use to do it. Bateman still does on occasions. Cheating is cheating. There is nothing clever about deceiving the umpires. Just like when Tom Hawkins hit the post in the 2009 GF and the only bloke that didn't see it was the goal umpire. I'd rather lose than win via conning/convincing/playing/fooling/staging umpires.

Selwood is a cheat. FACT RAFA!!

Crap!! I would rather a 50% Bailey than Renouf. He has no idea!

Renouf, was pretty good out there tonight. Took a brilliant mark in the backline and really pushed hard to help them out. I think this criticism is not entirely warranted. Also you know with Renouf he gives his all week in week out

Autopsy Autopsy Thread - Round 12 - Geelong v Hawthorn