Training Axeman’s training reports and discussion thread

I absolutely agree with the positive comments regarding CJ. His performances in the Box Hill finals were sensational. His ability to read the ball and his judgement and sheer speed to chase down to intercept and tackle was brilliant.

No other Hawthorn player, in my view, showed such rapid improvement during the course of the 2018 season. He went from being a bit player to an integral part of the best 18.

Remember in the Box Hill grand final when he was running forward with the ball at a crucial moment. With his other hand he waved to his team mate to make position to his right to receive his hand ball (which was duly dispatched). Coming from a 19 year old who's basically just played a year of footy, that was really something.

I think CJ's upside is enormous.
Yup, CJ as a first year player was telling Willsmore (5th year?) what to do.

Not sure if that says more about Dallas though.

HBF'er, Mississippi?
What position do you see him taking up, at AFL level?

*noted, that he was 3rd from memory in the 2km Time Trial at Draft Camo, about 3 secs behind Dylan Moore.

Good question. I reckon he's potentially fairly versatile - you'd think the coaches would be likely to slot him on a back flank or use his pace on the wing. But would think he's too green to play in the ones this year - he's probably still a work in progress unless his rate of development continues as it did last season.

Will be interested to see what the track watchers say about him in February and March.

I absolutely agree with the positive comments regarding CJ. His performances in the Box Hill finals were sensational. His ability to read the ball and his judgement and sheer speed to chase down to intercept and tackle was brilliant.

No other Hawthorn player, in my view, showed such rapid improvement during the course of the 2018 season. He went from being a bit player to an integral part of the best 18.

Remember in the Box Hill grand final when he was running forward with the ball at a crucial moment. With his other hand he waved to his team mate to make position to his right to receive his hand ball (which was duly dispatched). Coming from a 19 year old who's basically just played a year of footy, that was really something.

I think CJ's upside is enormous.
That is the type of information I love this board for. As someone who isn't able to get to any BHH games, specific knowledge for ITK posters with insight is really appreciated.
Will hopefully get to see a few games this year that aren't in Adelaide and trying to follow CJ's progress.

That is the type of information I love this board for. As someone who isn't able to get to any BHH games, specific knowledge for ITK posters with insight is really appreciated.
Will hopefully get to see a few games this year that aren't in Adelaide and trying to follow CJ's progress.

Thanks J in J.
Do yourself a favour and watch the Box Hill final series on YouTube !!
Particularly the last 30 seconds of of the BH v Port Melb final (before extra time) / the first session of extra time / and the 2nd half of the GF against Casey.

Wonderful stuff.

I also highly recommend the women’s grand final - disappointing they didn’t make the cut for the AFLW because they play far better football than a lot of the sides currently in the Comp

Yeah it was a good game live

Headed out to Waverley this morning. Conditions were warm and sunny with a light cool breeze. Most of the players were out on the ground when I arrived.

Today’s sessions was a lot of different drills and simulations interspersed with short but sharp hard running sessions.

The first drill that caught my eye was Sam Mitchell on the boundary line throwing in to Ceglar with Howe, Morrison & Cousins competing for the clearance. This would seem to be the candidates for replacing Tom in the middle. Harry may not have the size of the other two but his footy brain and evasiveness shone through. Cousins was very impressive with his body work and ability to get to the ball first.

A bit further along the boundary Chris Newman was doing the same drill but to the more conventional mid group of Shiels, J’OM, Smith & Worpel with Big Boy doing the tap work.

Observations from various match style drills and simulations including one played on a square AFL X style ground with two 5 minute halves:

Jarman Impey was dominating both with the ball and with his tackling and defensive pressure. He is the standout on the track so far for me and will be a force in 2019. In one piece of play he was one on with Bruest with an incoming long kick. He managed to out manoeuvre Bruest and get to the ball first, then evaded the tackle, dished off the hand ball, got up and ran to receive, dished off again, kept running, received again, then took the shot. It was sublime play from Jars.

Will Golds has me excited. He is super clean with pickups at full pace and nails his kicks which are generally low and fast. He is a great height and with some extra kg’s he could be a real weapon.

Jaegar was going full tilt at everything and as usual was all class. At one stage he was taken away from the main group by S Mitchell for some one on one tutelage that appeared to revolve around improving his kicking at different angles, off the outside of the boot etc. Sam was making him do it again and again until he got it right. Mitch is very blunt but very constructive in his teaching. Jaegar did all of the drills plus additional hard running between drills. Feels like they are ramping up his loads to really test him out.

Harry Jones is beginning to stand out more during drills. Took a great run down the wing with a bounce before delivering perfectly to the forward line. Took a nice contested grab as well.

Cousins was having a big impact all over the ground and is very prominent in all of the drills and match sims. Looking like a massive year for him.

Similarly, Worpel is in amongst everything and looks to be loving it. His kicking and decision making were excellent today.

Scrimshaw is looking more and more comfortable each session and will end up a bargain. Still can’t believe how much of a Birchall clone he is.

Chad = pure class. Still have to pinch myself that he is playing for the Hawks. He looks so laidback and almost like he isn’t trying but is so skillful. He just makes hard things look easy.

Sicily is another one that makes hard things look easy and always delivers.

Poppy was on fire today and has stood out at all sessions so far. I think we can expect a big year from him.

Isaac Smith very vocal with instructions to younger players.

I liked the efforts of C Glass today. Using his pace well off half back and delivering with accuracy to the forwards.

Was great to see Birch kicking the ball into the tall forwards for contested marking practise.

Pitto in rehab, running laps, lots and lots of laps.

Hardwick back with the main group.

Scully out there doing some running and handball drills.

I’ll add anything else that I remember. Should have another report on Friday.

Great report, thanks.

It will be very hard to overcome the flatness of this pre-season but reading about Jaeger and Wingard looking in good nick is something. They both need to play All Australian caliber seasons for us to be competitive this year.

Get the feeling Scrimshaw will be a nice steal.

Headed out to Waverley this morning. Conditions were warm and sunny with a light cool breeze. Most of the players were out on the ground when I arrived.

Today’s sessions was a lot of different drills and simulations interspersed with short but sharp hard running sessions.

The first drill that caught my eye was Sam Mitchell on the boundary line throwing in to Ceglar with Howe, Morrison & Cousins competing for the clearance. This would seem to be the candidates for replacing Tom in the middle. Harry may not have the size of the other two but his footy brain and evasiveness shone through. Cousins was very impressive with his body work and ability to get to the ball first.

A bit further along the boundary Chris Newman was doing the same drill but to the more conventional mid group of Shiels, J’OM, Smith & Worpel with Big Boy doing the tap work.

Observations from various match style drills and simulations including one played on a square AFL X style ground with two 5 minute halves:

Jarman Impey was dominating both with the ball and with his tackling and defensive pressure. He is the standout on the track so far for me and will be a force in 2019. In one piece of play he was one on with Bruest with an incoming long kick. He managed to out manoeuvre Bruest and get to the ball first, then evaded the tackle, dished off the hand ball, got up and ran to receive, dished off again, kept running, received again, then took the shot. It was sublime play from Jars.

Will Golds has me excited. He is super clean with pickups at full pace and nails his kicks which are generally low and fast. He is a great height and with some extra kg’s he could be a real weapon.

Jaegar was going full tilt at everything and as usual was all class. At one stage he was taken away from the main group by S Mitchell for some one on one tutelage that appeared to revolve around improving his kicking at different angles, off the outside of the boot etc. Sam was making him do it again and again until he got it right. Mitch is very blunt but very constructive in his teaching. Jaegar did all of the drills plus additional hard running between drills. Feels like they are ramping up his loads to really test him out.

Harry Jones is beginning to stand out more during drills. Took a great run down the wing with a bounce before delivering perfectly to the forward line. Took a nice contested grab as well.

Cousins was having a big impact all over the ground and is very prominent in all of the drills and match sims. Looking like a massive year for him.

Similarly, Worpel is in amongst everything and looks to be loving it. His kicking and decision making were excellent today.

Scrimshaw is looking more and more comfortable each session and will end up a bargain. Still can’t believe how much of a Birchall clone he is.

Chad = pure class. Still have to pinch myself that he is playing for the Hawks. He looks so laidback and almost like he isn’t trying but is so skillful. He just makes hard things look easy.

Poppy was on fire today and has stood out at all sessions so far. I think we can expect a big year from him.

I liked the efforts of C Glass today. Using his pace well off half back and delivering with accuracy to the forwards.

Was great to see Birch kicking the ball into the tall forwards for contested marking practise.

Thanks Axeman. Did you notice Lewis at all?

This can't be overstated, it's really like he is Birchall's younger brother.

Picture Birch at his best, dishing off in traffic and then with that hunched over running action he bursts clear of congestion to receive the handball back and then pin points a pass downfield. You're wrong, it was Scrimshaw. ;)

Thanks Axeman

Apart from all the other positives, what's really coming across in your excellent report at this early stage of season 2019, is the huge influence that Sam is going to have on our midfield this year.

For a slow bugger who was ignored by all clubs in the 2000 draft (after wining the B&F for Eastern Ranges in 1999 and 2000), and who we drafted with the modest pick of 36 (after drafting Daniel Elstone earlier) - Sam's having quite an impact at our club, me thinks.

Thanks Axeman. Did you notice Lewis at all?
Yep. He was out there doing all the drills including the contested marking stuff with Rough, Nash, Ceglar. Didn't see him at close range today. I am keen to monitor his progress as well so will keep an eye out for him in future sessions.

Cheers Axe.
Anything of note from Kosi?
Really interested to see how he develops this year given how much size he already has
Likewise. But he is one that I have had a bit of trouble spotting in amongst the action. May need houdinihuddo with binoculars to help out on tyat one. But I will be sure to keep an eye out for him.

Thanks Axe. Great to hear about Cuz. Hoping he has a break out year in 2019.
Well now is his chance with Tom going down. I think back to the first game against Essendon in 2018 where Cousins kept Zach Merrett completely out of the game when he was called up to play with one hours notice.

Thanks Axeman, Wonderful reading.
You mentioned Isaac with the young guys, but on voice out there so far, do you have feeling on who might be captain yet?
My gut feel is Smith or Shiels, leaning towards Smith at the moment. His voice is prominent out there, always giving instructions, feedback, encouragement.

Thanks Axeman

Apart from all the other positives, what's really coming across in your excellent report at this early stage of season 2019, is the huge influence that Sam is going to have on our midfield this year.

For a slow bugger who was ignored by all clubs in the 2000 draft (after wining the B&F for Eastern Ranges in 1999 and 2000), and who we drafted with the modest pick of 36 (after drafting Daniel Elstone earlier) - Sam's having quite an impact at our club, me thinks.
I think Sam will be our recruit of the year. His arrival could not have been better timed with Tom's injury. Our younger players Worpel, Cousins, Morrison, Howe and Jones will all benefit greatly and will provide good support for O'Meara, Shiels, Bruest, Puopolo and Burgoyne who all will spend time in the midfield. Smith, Impey and Scully will provide very good outside run. In the long run we will be stronger as a team because we will not rely of Tom's dominance.

Sensational report thanks Mr Axeman.

Great report. Thanks Axe.

Training Axeman’s training reports and discussion thread