B Section 2010 - Part 1

yeah went and had a look, pretty boring spectacle, Vics were far superior. Not sure who won the medal, but i thought Williams (SKOBS) was very good, as was Agius (Old Xavs), Dowd, (SKOBS) Boundy (Old Parade) & Flaherty (Old Essendon) all showed plenty, also i think Wintle down back was very good.

I still can't understand how the home of the Ammos can be presented in such a ordinary state, it was a bog in the middle and the wings and flanks resembled a cow paddock.

It was 2 and a bit hours i wont get back!

Flaherty won the medal.

yeah went and had a look, pretty boring spectacle, Vics were far superior. Not sure who won the medal, but i thought Williams (SKOBS) was very good, as was Agius (Old Xavs), Dowd, (SKOBS) Boundy (Old Parade) & Flaherty (Old Essendon) all showed plenty, also i think Wintle down back was very good.

I still can't understand how the home of the Ammos can be presented in such a ordinary state, it was a bog in the middle and the wings and flanks resembled a cow paddock.

It was 2 and a bit hours i wont get back!

Any blokes whose game could push them onto an AFL club radar a la Barlow and to a lesser extent the POD (only bc he was already working at Geelong)??

I know these blokes plus Silivani all got picked up out of the VFL but just wondering if there was interest at all at the VAFA level given the focus on mature age recruits at the moment?

Wonder if the VAFA would have served the status of our comp better by picking the 2 guys that got all the press (Noonen and the other bloke who burnt "Turbo" according to Daffy - can't think of his name) by playing them in the senior game as a way of showcasing the best talent we have on offer? Thoughts? Reasons why they were picked in the Unders game?

Without having any real knowledge of the situation I'd say it's possible they were overlooked in favour of allowing them to play the Unders game, knowing they'll probably get an opportunity to play in the Senior side in the future. I would suspect the Rep selectors aren't as inclined to blood youngsters as you would at club level. However, if they're in the best Senior 22, then they should be picked accordingly.You make a good point though. With the AFL now starting to think/look outside the box as a result of the new teams and their concessions, there's potential for "kids" to get pulled out of the higher level footy on the local scene - particularly those who impress at Representative level.

I think IMO the VAFA need to look at resting the ground for a while (1-2 months of no footy at Sportscover Arena), so it can be in good order for the VAFA finals in August/September. The last thing we want to see at VAFA Premier B Grand Final Day is Sportscover Arena (the surface of the ground) looking in less than perfect order. At the moment, in racing language, Sportscover Arena is a Heavy10 rating.

the ground gave phil stevens nightmares that's how far back the problems go. it's about time the council quit stop gap fixes and addressed the problems with a major reco.

My tips:

panthers
rovers - toughie as o.i are the best outfit i've seen this year.
krushers
bloods
skobs

Any blokes whose game could push them onto an AFL club radar a la Barlow and to a lesser extent the POD (only bc he was already working at Geelong)??

I know these blokes plus Silivani all got picked up out of the VFL but just wondering if there was interest at all at the VAFA level given the focus on mature age recruits at the moment?

Wonder if the VAFA would have served the status of our comp better by picking the 2 guys that got all the press (Noonen and the other bloke who burnt "Turbo" according to Daffy - can't think of his name) by playing them in the senior game as a way of showcasing the best talent we have on offer? Thoughts? Reasons why they were picked in the Unders game?

The problem for selectors for the AFL watching was the good majority were from 24 - 29 for the Vics - Williams is a good example; he was very good on Sunday and for SKOBS, however when he had his shot with Melbourne he was a long way off. Could see any that could be influential like the Pod!

From looking at the record a number of the NSW boys were quite young as i would assume they didn't have any unders games on the same weekend, i think i counted about 10 players under 22 for them - i don't think we had any due to the other rep teams.

I fear for any CHB in D2 or 3 who comes up against Boundy, that guy is a fair gun!

Williams played 51 senior games with Melbourne, I wouldn't say that he was a long way off at all, that shows a distinct lack of knowledge of what it takes to play even one game of senior AFL.

Someone will get a gig this draft, more than likely Noonan and Nicholson.

Williams played 51 senior games with Melbourne, I wouldn't say that he was a long way off at all, that shows a distinct lack of knowledge of what it takes to play even one game of senior AFL.

Someone will get a gig this draft, more than likely Noonan and Nicholson.

I stand corrected, wasn't aware he played that many games, in saying that i wouldn't have said he was a regular AFL player - pretty nice attack BS - "Distinct lack of knowledge".

Anyhow it is called an opinion, i have mine and you have yours.:thumbsu:

It's not an attack LF, you need to chill out, my point is 51 games is a decent career and anyone who has played at that level should not be belittled, even the great VAFA player Murray Pitts who played one game.

I think IMO the VAFA need to look at resting the ground for a while (1-2 months of no footy at Sportscover Arena), so it can be in good order for the VAFA finals in August/September. The last thing we want to see at VAFA Premier B Grand Final Day is Sportscover Arena (the surface of the ground) looking in less than perfect order. At the moment, in racing language, Sportscover Arena is a Heavy10 rating.
The ground is in better nick than this time last year.
Watched the U/19 game which was a terrific game of footy as it had it all, early in the first the country boys looked like they would win by 100 points but to the Ammo's credit they just kept at it and hit the lead in the third Q. Was very impressed by coach Murray Browne's three quarter time address, was straight to the point and never went over the top and made all the players feel good about themselves. It worked as the boys after being behind again just kept at it and had a very good win. Hard to pick the best as it was a team effort, but some of those lads will play higher, thats for sure.

I stand corrected, wasn't aware he played that many games, in saying that i wouldn't have said he was a regular AFL player - pretty nice attack BS - "Distinct lack of knowledge".

Anyhow it is called an opinion, i have mine and you have yours.:thumbsu:

Obviously everyone loves their own LF and I'm no different!!!! FYI (and not having a crack) Williams played in a pretty good Melbourne team that made finals in many of the years he played (including a GF) so he had to work pretty hard to get his 51 games. Also won 3 flags with Sandy while he was with Melbourne so he can go.

But you point is well taken - he would be the first to tell you he isn't on the radar for higher honours and so if he was close to the best then it probably indicates that there aren't any hidden AFL gems running around for us or the opposition!!

Would have loved to see how the 2 young fellas went at the top grade - the difference with them of course is that being so young their potential upside is massive compared to Williams at 30 years of age. Still, didn't know is a 23 yr old would tickle anyones fancy

No can do Nick.

GWH was Craig Little, our past president/chairman who stood down at the start of the season due to work commitments.

No point digging mate - obviously the nerve I struck is raw but as you know there's only been 2, Concrete Boots and brain drain, and I told you that 3 years ago.

Cheers

Frase
Fraser, missed this post, there is also one other alias that you have that you have not mentioned, I pm'd you re this a couple of months ago and you admitted it was you...so that's 4 that I know of...two more than me!!! I will not reveal on here in the public domain though.
My real concern though is that between you and I we have 6, and Uncle Mick has 25 according to Carl, so the real number of posters on here must only be about 8 people!

Fraser, missed this post, there is also one other alias that you have that you have not mentioned, I pm'd you re this a couple of months ago and you admitted it was you...so that's 4 that I know of...two more than me!!! I will not reveal on here in the public domain though.
My real concern though is that between you and I we have 6, and Uncle Mick has 25 according to Carl, so the real number of posters on here must only be about 8 people!

Nick,

1. you reminded me in April that when I first joined BF, it was as "Funky Colin" (which was me in 2003/04). Even I forgot I even had that username it was so long ago.

2. since I started posting in 2005 as Scribe, there've only been 2 aliases. You have tried to pin me as Monkeyboy, GWH and lord knows who else, but there have only been two.

3. Frankly, you are really starting to bore me with this incessant pre-occupation, I don't know where you find the time, let alone the inclination, to chase down posts and try to join non-existent dots.

4. If I'm bored, I venture the rest of the Premier B regulars are/were sound asleep over this issue about 7 days ago.

5. Apparently there are 5 games of Premier B footy being played this weekend. Wow wee!!

Frase

Bored or not Fraser, I was responding to your post so you didn't think I was rude. I'm not preoccupied with you, after all it was you who stated that I was Sausage Roll when you know that I am not. It just brings people up to speed on the history of big footy and what you have been and said so that when you point barbs at someone else like you clearly were with me they can know that you aren't the clean skin you profess to be as far as BF goes.
However, having said that, don't take it personally, I like you and reckon you are a good fellow in real life, it's all good and fun in the cyber world!

To this weeks games as you so kindly reminded me, there are some rip snorters!

Old Carey by 25 points against an inform Flaherty
Hampton by 10 points in an upset. Pinto O/S for the rest of the year.
Oakleigh by 43 points without their World Cup lads.
Blacks by 15 points in a must win at the Uni.
SKOB by 5 points in a close, hard fought game. Murph and the gang clearly dont rate SKOB judging by their weekly tipping.

Where there any players from the AFL Sydney team that caught your attention as a possible recruit for a VAFA club to look at in the future?

Bored or not Fraser, I was responding to your post so you didn't think I was rude. I'm not preoccupied with you, after all it was you who stated that I was Sausage Roll when you know that I am not. It just brings people up to speed on the history of big footy and what you have been and said so that when you point barbs at someone else like you clearly were with me they can know that you aren't the clean skin you profess to be as far as BF goes.
However, having said that, don't take it personally, I like you and reckon you are a good fellow in real life, it's all good and fun in the cyber world!

To this weeks games as you so kindly reminded me, there are some rip snorters!

Old Carey by 25 points against an inform Flaherty
Hampton by 10 points in an upset. Pinto O/S for the rest of the year.
Oakleigh by 43 points without their World Cup lads.
Blacks by 15 points in a must win at the Uni.
SKOB by 5 points in a close, hard fought game. Murph and the gang clearly dont rate SKOB judging by their weekly tipping.
who is Pinto?