B Section - 2011

Another great win by the Fields today against a pretty ordinary Hampton, loving B Grade this time up.

What a great day for Footy today, the grounds are lush and the scoring high. CC, did you make out to Caulfield? Murph, where Blacks that good or Bernies decimated with injuries still? Max, how do Beauy look? Good win down there, well done.

Beauys ground was near perfect, with a 2 goal breeze assisting the pine tree end. They will be OK, and they will trouble teams with their constant switching. They need a little more height. Maybe a little light. Try to play De La style football, and on there day when they get it right they will trouble most teams.

A little surprised at the lack of love for OI. Played finals in 2010, and beat a A Grade team last week. Not saying we are favorites, far from it. But well over 50% picked against us, based on Beauy beating Oak in a shoot out by 3 goals.

Break has come at the right time for all teams to reassess their game and hopefully get some players back (especially for St.Bernards).

Max out

Just been looking through the top teams lists in A and B and looking at who fronted up today. It seems as though Caulfiled are at their strongest and up and about early. They would beat us (OH) at the moment, as I just posted on the A thread, we are in strife.

Uni Blacks look the goods, with one of their big name recruits kicking 10 and the likes of Bolton etc playing, so they look reasonably strong.

St Bernards look like they have a truckload out, which may explain things to us all, as do SKOB, which makes me wonder about where Marcellin are at with their ressies getting done by the best part of 14 goals, are they the new OEG?

OI look pretty strong and OB seemed to have most of their resources listed as playing today, it seems to me that Hampton, Marcellin and Oakleigh may struggle, and I expect St Bernards to string a few together once they have their cattle back in, maybe even starting against SKOB,who they have a good record against, next round.

Yes. On road to coona/robe for cray & wine week. Will try put up full match / club report next day or 2. Do they have wifi in robe? Fat fingers to do on this bloomin thing

Noticed in the Amateur Footballer last week of the announcement that a VAFA rep side made of players from the rep matches in the VAFA-VCFL game later this year will be going to...Ireland, to play against 3 strong Irish county sides.

While I don't mind the rep matches against the VCFL and also the Under 23 State of Origin Amateur Carnival to be held in Adelaide as part of the SA Amateur's centenary celebration, surely sending a VAFA rep team to Ireland is stretching things a bit far, especially when some of the clubs are trying to meet their financial commitments with their local council and the VAFA, and also the fact that sending their star players to Ireland could run the risk of an injury on the Irish tour which could hampen not just the player's chances but also that of the club who are pinning their hopes of a succesful 2012 season.

speaking with bernies assistant coach at the local watering hole last night. wasn't making excuses told me his team were poor (not his words) again but also have 8 definite starters out. but can 1/3rd of a team make that much difference?

also good to see gia back amoungst the goals this week, SKOB could have used him nicely last year!

He was right. They were very poor.

8 definite starters out is a lot but most sides have at least 3 or 4 quality players out.

Ok so D Byrne is out. No Merrington but he is a veteran, Madden? Who are the others.

big struggle for us at the moment, but I can tell you its more than 8 or 9 on the side. The kids were competitive for a quarter, but it went a bit GC17 after that.

expect big improvements however in the next few weeks...we would want to anyway.

Im still backing us to make the 4.

I'm a little bemused how SKOBS are considered to be miles ahead of HR after the weekend. 7 days ago we'd just played in a draw now people are suggesting we could be in big trouble already and that SKOBS are a top 4 side. We had some key players missing on the weekend, but make no mistake, Caulfield are the competition yardstick.

I'm a little bemused how SKOBS are considered to be miles ahead of HR after the weekend. 7 days ago we played out a draw now people are suggesting we could be in big trouble already and that SKOBS are a top 4 side. We had some key players missing on the weekend, but make no mistake, Caulfield are the competition yardstick.

As a usually passive observer of the boards, I find it 'bemusing' how quickly we've all jumped off the 'arrogant', 'c-grade chokers' band wagon when describing caulfield and are now refering to them as the yardstick! my, two weeks is a long time in football!

I'm a little bemused how SKOBS are considered to be miles ahead of HR after the weekend. 7 days ago we'd just played in a draw now people are suggesting we could be in big trouble already and that SKOBS are a top 4 side. We had some key players missing on the weekend, but make no mistake, Caulfield are the competition yardstick.
Come on Mick, why are you in denial about the fact that you kicked with a 5-6 goal breeze in 3 of the 4 quarters against SKOB? Who's to say that you would'nt have drawn anyway even if SKOB had kicked with the breeze in the last, as another of your allies says, GET OVER IT.
Re HR v SKOB, maybe the fact that you lost by 150 points on the weekend has some people questioning your staying power week in week out.
As far as SKOB being a top 4 side, whoever said that? Let's wait until round 9 or 10.
Note: They were in the top 2 for 17 of 18 rounds last year until the Rovers bumped them out...

Re Caulfied, time to play 18 behind the nut in the first quarter?

Chinese Tim - I'm the only one who is suggesting CG are the comp yardstick and I haven't made any statement in the past about CG being arrogant or chokers. One person doesn't constitute "we've all" jumped off the bandwagon.... not that I was ever on this bandwagon you speak of.

And quit with the BS, BS! I'm not talking about wind conditions. That game has happened. I was referring to a couple of posts since Saturday afternoon where the suggestion is that SKOBS are one of the teams to beat or are finals contenders coupled with some that were suggesting we might already be gone or are one of the weaker sides in it. I would have though that given the drawn result last weekend it would seem there's not a huge difference between SKOBS & HR. Reading some of these posts indicates a belief among some that is contrary to my opinion. I was merely making the point that this bemuses me on the back of one poor performance.
Play on....

Can only see one post Mick that suggest SKOB may play finals, and may I add that post was by Occy, who seriously knows his VAFA footy.
Perhaps the fact that SKOB, with a lot of our 'first picked' out, smashed Marcellin who only just lost to Blacks who inflicted a heavy loss on a severly undermanned Bernies, is the reason that some may think SKOB, along with their record last year, may sneak into 4th spot.
If Hampton had gone out and inflicted a loss on the unbeatables on the weekend, or at least been closer than the large loss, then I'm sure that HR would be spoken of in different terms. FWIW, I rate Hampton and their core of top players, if you were without them on the weekend then it could be saisd that this was a reason for your loss...either that or CG are just an awesome unit. You aint Robinson C my friend when it comes to a 100 point loss to Caulfield.
I would be concentrating on next rounds opponent, not worrying what has happened in the past.

You speak as if UM is consumed by this, BS?! Far from it champ. As previously stated, merely pointing out what has been posted. For the record, Keano15 reiterated the point of the cephalopod and SKOB being top 4 contenders.
Not here to dwelll on the ifs of footy either. Or who beat who last week and this week for that matter. Focus is on turning around an insipid display and that'll start tomorrow night on the track.

Enjoying a nice balnaves cab sav. Give the fat digits a run. Hate kicking guys when down but the $$ & Robbins scenario have ripped through HR. Seeing mid range 2nds guys as main players shows this, & barneys chat at the breaks. If only they looked at Robbins nocturnal habits b4 appointment, just all to hasty & those guys should look at damage. 2-3 years to clean the mess up I reckon. Hope they can stay up, who knows.

After reading the latest the edition of the ammo footballer I would like to congratulate one of my good friends andy goldberg on reciveving trainier of the week. Good work mate!! surely must be frontrunner to take out end year award. Also I would like to wish my best friend Alex "splinter" bennett all the best in his injury rehab and that we see the big and bustling number 15 from the beauy sharks out there asap.

all the best
baz