Prediction Best 22 for Round One, 2017

For the third tall, I would lean towards Moore. He's not the lumbering type and I thought he showed a little bit at the end of last year. Not sure if Bolton would be right to go straight away. I don't expect any of the first year kids to play early on the season, but I would like to see Rioli, Short, Markov, Menadue and probably Castagna all playing in the early part of the season. There's nothing to lose by playing these guys early. Playing all of Houli, B.Ellis, Edwards, Grigg, Lambert and Hampson every week isn't going to get us anywhere.

i see just you me and TI are prepared to join in in this.i was hoping enough people would say what they think needs fixing and then we could pick players who fill the need.
Ie we lack pace, tackling, defensive pressure in the fwd half i would have thought two who have the attributes to address this are Rioli and Bolton.If we are serious with Vickery gone we lack a third tall fwd but not another dinosaur like him rather a quick strong marking mobile third tall type to go with Riewoldt and Griffiths.
Really an opportunity to pick players to fit the need.A team made up from everyones thoughts what needs to be done.
What I liked with Beveridge at the Dogs was everybody basically had the same instructions which have been mentioned above drilled into them. They're so basic , but fundamental for belief in group unity and obviously for success. We try and over complicate things with different messages for individuals and with footballers or really any team sport it doesn't work.
Discipline then goes down hill due to players confused and the actual plan leads to player confidence diminishing.
Beveridge is no messiah , but like Clarko he has negotiables with NON negotiables as Stringer and Boyd found out when they were dropped. I believe just implementing those basics that those two blokes demand would improve us out of sight. People would argue they have a lot of A and B graders , but when I see all their late picks and rookies that played in their flag it contradicts this.

What I liked with Beveridge at the Dogs was everybody basically had the same instructions which have been mentioned above drilled into them. They're so basic , but fundamental for belief in group unity and obviously for success. We try and over complicate things with different messages for individuals and with footballers or really any team sport it doesn't work.
Discipline then goes down hill due to players confused and the actual plan leads to player confidence diminishing.
Beveridge is no messiah , but like Clarko he has negotiables with NON negotiables as Stringer and Boyd found out when they were dropped. I believe just implementing those basics that those two blokes demand would improve us out of sight. People would argue they have a lot of A and B graders , but when I see all their late picks and rookies that played in their flag it contradicts this.
Thats a great post / analysis i agree 100%

For the third tall, I would lean towards Moore. He's not the lumbering type and I thought he showed a little bit at the end of last year. Not sure if Bolton would be right to go straight away. I don't expect any of the first year kids to play early on the season, but I would like to see Rioli, Short, Markov, Menadue and probably Castagna all playing in the early part of the season. There's nothing to lose by playing these guys early. Playing all of Houli, B.Ellis, Edwards, Grigg, Lambert and Hampson every week isn't going to get us anywhere.
My mate loved Moore's attitude at Maroochydore as he was showing great leadership ,even to the point when Jack was dropping marks or fumbling he was telling him to lift his head up and get on with it as this is what Jack was telling him in his first season . He reckons he was double teaming and working well with him. I hope he gets a good run this year bc he's probably only got this year to do it. By the reports he's giving it a big go.

B: Dylan grimes, David Astbury,
Hb:Oleg Markov Alex rance Bacha houli
C: kamdyn mcintosh trent cotchin Brendon Ellis
Hf:Sam Lloyd Ben griffiths Dustin Martin
F: Shane Edwards jack reiwoldt Daniel rioli
R: Shaun hampson josh caddy dion prestia
Int: nick vlaustin Ben Lennon Anthony miles Corey Ellis
Emg Shaun grigg Reece conca Toby nankervis

B: Dylan Grimes, David Astbury, Jayden Short
HB: Bachar Houli, Alex Rance, Oleg Markov
C: Brandon Ellis, Nick Vlastuin, Trent Cotchin
HF: Josh Caddy, Ben Griffiths, Shane Edwards
F: Sam Lloyd, Jack Reiwoldt, Daniel Rioli
R: Shaun Hampson, Dustin Martin, Dion Prestia
I: Kamdyn McIntosh, Shaun Grigg, Anthony Miles, Corey Ellis

B: Nathan Broad, Ryan Garthwaite, Steven Morris
HB: Jake Batchelor, Mabior Chol, Taylor Hunt
C: Nathan Drummond, Kane Lambert, Connor Menadue
HF: Shai Bolton, Todd Elton, Jason Castagna
F: Tyson Stengle, Ivan Maric, Ben Lennon
R: Toby Nankervis, Reece Conca, Jack Graham
I: Dan Butler, Jacob Townsend, Callum Moore, Ivan Maric

Bold are VFL guys I feel we could see hopefully making an impact in 2017 at AFL level given the opportunity

B: Grimes Astbury Short
HB: Houli Rance Markov
C: B Ellis Caddy Prestia
HF: Lennon Griffiths Edwards
FF: Rioli Riewoldt Lloyd

Rucks: Hampson Cotchin Martin
Int: McIntosh, Grigg, Miles, Conca

I think the above will be pretty close to our round one side. However I hope to see the following guys step up:

Menadue: I really rate this kid his foot skills are elite for mine and at speed. If he can take Griggs place in the 22 he will hurt teams a lot more. Third year and time for him to step up.

C Ellis: Think he has a lot of competition for spots now as one area we have a lot of quality is the midfield.

Shai Bolton- could easily make an impact first year with some gifting also.

Lennon - Got him in the 22 and I think the penny has dropped for Lennon. Fourth year of AFL and no one wanted him in trade week. Time for his words to be shown with actions. I really hope he does as he could be a very good AFL forward. Between the ears.

B Ellis: Have him on a wing but if he doesn't play better footy this year he could find himself playing VFL. We all know he is soft but with more talent in the middle he could get off the chain a bit now. Needs to get back to the form that saw him make the AA squad. Gut runner who gets it 30 plus times and can kick a goal. Not lost on Brandon yet.

All in all I actually think our best side shapes up well and better than some are suggesting.

This is how I would like to start the party this year. Of course some of these players will need to impress in the preseason or should be well and truly overlooked for younger players.

B: Grimes, Astbury, Batchelor
HB: McIntosh, Rance, Houli
C: B.Ellis, Cotchin, C.Ellis
HF: Lennon, S.Edwards, Griffiths
F: Rioli, Riewoldt, Martin
R: Hampson, Prestia, Caddy
Int: Miles, Conca, Vlastuin, Grigg

The younger players can then apply pressure to keep our senior players under pressure.
Needs more Markov

My mate loved Moore's attitude at Maroochydore as he was showing great leadership ,even to the point when Jack was dropping marks or fumbling he was telling him to lift his head up and get on with it as this is what Jack was telling him in his first season . He reckons he was double teaming and working well with him. I hope he gets a good run this year bc he's probably only got this year to do it. By the reports he's giving it a big go.

From what I've heard, Moore is a Round 1 smokey.

This is how I would like to start the party this year. Of course some of these players will need to impress in the preseason or should be well and truly overlooked for younger players.

B: Grimes, Astbury, Batchelor
HB: McIntosh, Rance, Houli
C: B.Ellis, Cotchin, C.Ellis
HF: Lennon, S.Edwards, Griffiths
F: Rioli, Riewoldt, Martin
R: Hampson, Prestia, Caddy
Int: Miles, Conca, Vlastuin, Grigg

The younger players can then apply pressure to keep our senior players under pressure.
Ellis/Ellis on the wings you reckon?

Grimes - Rance - Batchelor (Won the award for best player on preseason camp)
Houli - Astbury - Markov
B.Ellis - Cotchin - McIntosh
Caddy - Griffiths - Edwards
Rioli - Riewoldt - Lloyd
Hampson/Nankervis - Prestia - Martin
Miles - Grigg - Vlastuin - Conca

Nankervis is a far better player than Shaun Hampson guys. Has kicked 6 goals in NEAFL games and takes contested marks and kicks running goals.
Hampson can tap the ball but thats where it ends.

HB: Houli Rance Markov
C: B Ellis Caddy Prestia
HF: Lennon Griffiths Edwards
FF: Rioli Riewoldt Lloyd

Rucks: Hampson Cotchin Martin
Int: McIntosh, Grigg, Miles, Conca

I think the above will be pretty close to our round one side. However I hope to see the following guys step up:

Menadue: I really rate this kid his foot skills are elite for mine and at speed. If he can take Griggs place in the 22 he will hurt teams a lot more. Third year and time for him to step up.

C Ellis: Think he has a lot of competition for spots now as one area we have a lot of quality is the midfield.

Shai Bolton- could easily make an impact first year with some gifting also.

Lennon - Got him in the 22 and I think the penny has dropped for Lennon. Fourth year of AFL and no one wanted him in trade week. Time for his words to be shown with actions. I really hope he does as he could be a very good AFL forward. Between the ears.

B Ellis: Have him on a wing but if he doesn't play better footy this year he could find himself playing VFL. We all know he is soft but with more talent in the middle he could get off the chain a bit now. Needs to get back to the form that saw him make the AA squad. Gut runner who gets it 30 plus times and can kick a goal. Not lost on Brandon yet.

All in all I actually think our best side shapes up well and better than some are suggesting.

this is confirmed in the Prospectus, he just needs to get more of it.

Nankervis is a far better player than Shaun Hampson guys. Has kicked 6 goals in NEAFL games and takes contested marks and kicks running goals.
Nank in '16 = HOA rate of 38% - #1 of all ruckman. source - prospectus

so do we want a ruck or a fwd?
one has history as a ruck and one doesnt

That side will struggle to take us places. Not enough upside and too many blokes that have had up to three goes at it and failed.
We need new faces while Jack Tross Cotchin Prestia and Dusty are there otherwise time will expire for all.

Would say less Batchelor, Ellis, Lennon and more Nankervis, Short, Bolton, Lloyd, Graham

Grimes Rance Short
McIntosh Garthwaite Markov
C Ellis Prestia Menadue
Rioli Griffiths Martin
Caddy Riewoldt Bolton

Nankervis Cotchin Graham

Interchange ..
Miles Edwards Astbury B Ellis
Lloyd Lennon Grigg Conca Houli Hampson
Stengle Butler

This is not our best team by a long shot, however, is made up of the players I'd like to develop. Playing blokes like Batchelor, Conca, Grigg and even Houli is going to just get us more of the same. Mediocrity. We need to be brave and play kids whenever possible.

Gartwaite needs to be blooded ASAP. I left Astbury on the interchange as cover but we need to gift kids games to move forward. Both C Ellis and Menadue need games. Possibly B Ellis covers for these 2 if struggling. I'd like to see Graham in with Miles as a backup. Obviously Hampson is emergency for Nankervis if he fails to deliver in games with Griffiths the backup ruckman during a game. Griffiths unfortunately has shown himself to be as soft as butter and if he does not deliver we may be forced to play Nankervis forward. Hampson ruck.

Other players such as Conca, Lennon, Houli, Grigg and even Titch should only be played as support, however, only if their form is outstanding and consistent would I play them. I'll state it again we need change and most of all courage.

We need to look 2 or 3 years ahead and where we'll be. Priority next draft must be KPP types. Right now play the kids ready or not.

FB: short - Astbury - Grimes
HB: McIntosh - Rance - Houli
C: Grigg - Cotchin - CEllis
HF: Bellis - Griff- Lloyd
FF: Rioli - Riewoldt - Lennon
R: Hampson - Martin - Prestia
Int: Caddy - Vlas - Hunt - Miles markov Nankervisk.
Based on information out of the club...got to put Vlas on the ball, so Short to come into the side& got to start with Griffiths so Markov & Nank as emergency. Just looking at stats for C Ellis he was better than I'd remembered so maybe him starting ahead of Graham

HB: McIntosh Rance Markov
C: BEllis Miles Vlastuin
HF: Rioli Griffiths Cotchin
F: Martin Riewoldt Lloyd
R: Whoever Caddy Prestia
I: Grigg Menadue Edwards CEllis

Short, Markov & Rioli are the youngsters who most impressed last year, they deserve starting spots. Houli, Batchelor & to a lesser extent Broad, Castagna, Drummond, Hunt are replacements for back 6 if Short, Markov or McIntosh lose form as I almost anticipate 2nd year blues for at least one of them. If KPD goes down then either Garthwaite, Chol or move Griffiths with Elton, Nankervis, Moore, Garthwaite or Chol playing CHF.
Menadue & CEllis named on bench but can be replaced with others who have form.
Caddy wants to play midfield - I think play him there, back him in & build his confidence. I'm backing Caddy, Prestia, Miles & Vlastuin to hold down the midfield then Martin & Cotchin help add class to the forward line.
Ruck - ideally Maric isn't cooked and surprises us all, but really whoever has best form out of Maric, Hampson & Nankervis.

I'm still keen to have a good look at Elton if injury occurs to a tall. Moore, Chol & Garthwaite all need further development but are likely types.
As injuries & form slumps take their toll we also have Graham, Castagna, Drummond, Bolton, Stengle, Butler, Townsend - whoever shows some form, or Conca, Hunt (shudders), Morris if more experience is needed.
Lennon is still a big question mark to me. He could be really important structurally as a mid-sized forward, but I need him to not just put his hand up but smash the bloody door down before I select him. If he can do that I'll happily select him.

Prediction Best 22 for Round One, 2017