Welcome BigFooty Saints Board Introductions - What's your background in following the Saints?

Just came on to update mine but can't find my post.

We just had our own father-son nomination so the St Kilda faithful (and membership) increased by 1 in September. We had girl names agreed but if a boy I was pushing to name him after a Saint, with Jarryn top of my list. Lenny doesnt go with the surname, and theres already a Nick, Jack and Josh in the family. In the end we settled for Brodie.

So whilst I've never been his biggest fan, I'm now hoping Brodie Murdoch works a steady AFL career so I have some highlights and a Wikipedia page to show my son in a few years time!
How about that? My second son was just born on Friday. Didn't name him after a saint but Nick Dal Santo copied me for my first son's name so lets see if he'll try the same trick again.

We just had our own father-son nomination so the St Kilda faithful (and membership) increased by 1 in September. We had girl names agreed but if a boy I was pushing to name him after a Saint, with Jarryn top of my list. Lenny doesnt go with the surname, and theres already a Nick, Jack and Josh in the family. In the end we settled for Brodie.

So whilst I've never been his biggest fan, I'm now hoping Brodie Murdoch works a steady AFL career so I have some highlights and a Wikipedia page to show my son in a few years time!

My kids named their cat Lenny. A friend named their boy Harvey to which he denies any footy reference when the wife is around.

32, male, born and raised in Scotland.
Started watching AFL as a kid (it was on TV Sunday mornings next to Kabbadi and Sumo wrestling), picked St Kilda based on there being an island here in Scotland of the same name. Constantly in the situation of people seeing my member scarf and thinking I'm a Southampton FC fan and I have to explain about AFL.

Run a business consultancy as a job but as a sport obsessive have dedicated spare time to playing then coaching and studying it without being quite smart enough to get as far as sports science.
Only ever been to Australia for a total of about 60 days; as a total footy geek I insisted on dragging my wife on a footy tour; Moorabbin, TBBO, Waverley, Docklands and MCG and we stopped into Casey too, then Claremont, Subi and East Freemantle in WA. The sum of footy I've seen in person is to have played one low-level game in WA, visited 5 clubs including 2 as a coaching observer, watched two VFL clubs train, an AFL semi final at MCG and a WAFL final.
Get up at 4am most weeks to watch Saints games.
Now run the AFL league here in Scotland, as part of AFL Europe.

Frustrating life when none of your co-workers or mates know who Robert Harvey or Gary Ablett are, let alone share a view on whether Tom Lee can be reborn as a fullback!

Is this the post you "lost"?

Hey guys.

41yo from St Kilda. Grew up in Boronia. Parents migrated from India. One day while we were shopping at Kmart Boronia there was this young Saints player signing autographs. My dad didn't know much (anything) about VFL/AFL and had no clue who this guy was. I was around 3 at the time. Anyway, this blonde hair guy picks me up and carries me around the shop for a bit. As you probably guessed, the guy was none other than Trevor Barker. Since that day, my dad and I have supported the Saints (and were big Bark's fans).

I wonder how many others were influenced by the great man's gestures and love for the club.

My kids named their cat Lenny. A friend named their boy Harvey to which he denies any footy reference when the wife is around.
My only child is called Harvey. The in-laws are all Richmond and they know exactly why he is called Harvey. Told the father in law prior to Harvey being born that if he had down syndrome we would call him Richo. Didn't go down well, but he never liked me so I couldn't care less. All 100% true

Ive posted on St Kilda forums before, but I thought Id add to this.

39 year old male, born in Noble Park and raised in Dingley, before moving to Mt Eliza in my teens. I'm the son of a Welsh born Port Adelaide supporter and an Aussie Dad that leaned towards Carlton. I was taken to games at near by Moorabin as a kid and after watching one of those amazing Saints v Collingwood draws in the 80's, deciding to support the Saints by the end of the game. Ive travelled the world, become a Doctor of Phil, but have always been a Saints fan. Now I'm living in Toronto with my Canadian wife and maintain a Overseas Saints Membership.

My fav Saints player of all time remains Rob Harvey, who's dad was my cricket couch at Frankston District Cricket club in my late teens and is an old family friend. I go to watch the boys play every time I return home and my wife finds my 2am or 5am weekend watching habits of saints games during our summer to be hilarious! Im a big fan of Lukey Dunstan and DMac at the moment... Ill leave it there...

43 Irish male - moved to Aus in 2011.

had the choice of any afl team but happy to have picked the saints.

living on the peninsula .
family saints member since 2013- really impressed with fan engagement.

Now totally engrossed in all things afl- would love to see the saints partnering with VIC gov to target newly arrived immigrants to get on the saints bandwagon.

I live in Mount Isa and I was interviewing a Victorian bloke who was chasing a job as a tradesman working underground. As a part of the interview process the first question I asked him was who he supported. When he answered correctly, Saints, I informed him that the following questions were a formality.

G'day everyone, I'm 48yo, play in a band, live in Barkly Street StKilda and love the Saints. Moorabbin was the best time of all and was where I learnt all the bad habits neccessary for barracking for the Saints. Waverley was horrible at first but I grew to love it. Now as a Saints supporter at Docklands I just drink heaps and get fat on pies and chips. Favourite player was Rod Keogh for a while but I also liked Steve Baker, both toughnuts and mad as cut snakes. Pretty happy with the draft choices in the last few years and things are starting to build nicely with an awesome bunch of kids. The next few years should be good.

Born into it from my father. I have a Greek background and when he came to Australia in 1963 he liked the 'cross' in the Saints logo for religious reasons, although he wasn't very religious himself. Bit odd, but I thank him for it now! Surprised he didn't go for North (white+blue). He was 8 years old when we won our only flag, and attended the '71 GF. He would tell me about how him and my mother (at the time his girlfriend) would go to Moorabbin all throughout the 80's to watch us get belted but see Plugger kick a bag. I grew up watching guys like Frawley, Lockett, Winmar, Loewe, Muir, McAdam in the early 90's with him in the lounge room every weekend. I still have old videotapes of games he recorded all through the 90's. There's about 100 in storage boxes. I've been to every GF we've played in since I was born (97, 09, 10x2). He passed away in Feb last year and since his death I have grown to love the club even more if that is possible. The day we win a flag I'm going straight to the cemetery to celebrate with him, as that's all he ever wanted to see us do.

It's a very emotional connection to the club as you could probably tell! Haha

Born into it from my father. I have a Greek background and when he came to Australia in 1963 he liked the 'cross' in the Saints logo for religious reasons, although he wasn't very religious himself. Bit odd, but I thank him for it now! Surprised he didn't go for North (white+blue). He was 8 years old when we won our only flag, and attended the '71 GF. He would tell me about how him and my mother (at the time his girlfriend) would go to Moorabbin all throughout the 80's to watch us get belted but see Plugger kick a bag. I grew up watching guys like Frawley, Lockett, Winmar, Loewe, Muir, McAdam in the early 90's with him in the lounge room every weekend. I still have old videotapes of games he recorded all through the 90's. There's about 100 in storage boxes. I've been to every GF we've played in since I was born (97, 09, 10x2). He passed away in Feb last year and since his death I have grown to love the club even more if that is possible. The day we win a flag I'm going straight to the cemetery to celebrate with him, as that's all he ever wanted to see us do.

It's a very emotional connection to the club as you could probably tell! Haha

that will be a bloody special day!!!

25 year old from eastern suburbs of Melbourne. Originally followed Fitzroy because lions were my favourite animal but once they folded I needed a new team. I was watching a game in '97 and was captivated by big Spida Everitt's dread locks. I had the privilege of running onto the ground with the team as the mascot one day with no. 10 on my back and told Spida the story. He loved it and ended up speaking to me near the boundary throughout the whole on ground warm up. After the game he found me in the crowd behind the bench and thanked me for helping him dodge the running etc. One of my good mates currently plays for the Saints too. This thread is a great read!

I remember being 8 or 10 finishing a day at primary school and then spending time in a car going direct to Moorrabbin, some 90km away for training. Only thing I can remember from it is Spida being totally personable and brilliant with me and my friend. Blokes a legend in my eyes, and good to see I'm not the only youngster he impressed. :thumbsu:

56 year old footy tragic born in Adelaide and grew up supporting the Redlegs. Lived near their ground. Moved to Melbourne with work around 1985 and was at a loss without a team to follow. Ended up living in Port Melbourne and after flirting with being a Demon (same strip as the Norwood) decided to follow the Saints as that was the team who I felt most aligned with. Have never regretted it, and am too obsessed with the game and the team for it to be healthy. Always happy to see some SA players in the team, and think Dunstan will become a Saints legend. Been a long long term Saintsational poster but a certain poster there drove me a quite a few others to move to set up a BF account.
An engineer living and working in Singapore for last few years and prior to that the UK, so have to follow the game online, but I don't think I have missed a game in the last 10+ years. Remember being in an Aussie pub in London early morning watching the 2009 Grand Final surrounded by cats supporters only to have my hopes dashed in the final quarter. Still waving the Saints colours in every country I work in (which can be tricky in the Islamic countries with that cross on our logo) Haven't lost the faith yet that we will reach the holy grail. But feeling so much better with our current administration and head coach. Anyway here's hoping. Go Saints.

56 year old footy tragic born in Adelaide and grew up supporting the Redlegs. Lived near their ground. Moved to Melbourne with work around 1985 and was at a loss without a team to follow. Ended up living in Port Melbourne and after flirting with being a Demon (same strip as the Norwood) decided to follow the Saints as that was the team who I felt most aligned with. Have never regretted it, and am too obsessed with the game and the team for it to be healthy. Always happy to see some SA players in the team, and think Dunstan will become a Saints legend. Been a long long term Saintsational poster but a certain poster there drove me a quite a few others to move to set up a BF account.
An engineer living and working in Singapore for last few years and prior to that the UK, so have to follow the game online, but I don't think I have missed a game in the last 10+ years. Remember being in an Aussie pub in London early morning watching the 2009 Grand Final surrounded by cats supporters only to have my hopes dashed in the final quarter. Still waving the Saints colours in every country I work in (which can be tricky in the Islamic countries with that cross on our logo) Haven't lost the faith yet that we will reach the holy grail. But feeling so much better with our current administration and head coach. Anyway here's hoping. Go Saints.

Welcome (back) to the board sasaint! :)

I'm a huge Saints fan, as my username implies. Female ( so no age supplied ) and therefore in the minority here, I'm certain.
My family and I emigrated to Australia from another sports-mad country in the southern hemisphere around 20 years ago.
Why a Saints fan?
My son tells the story that when he started school, just after we arrived, he was threatened by his rather large Prep teacher that she would eat him if he didn't support the Saints! The scare tactic worked and we fell in love with AFL and have been Saints supporters (and members) ever since. An interesting aside is that after all these years we still occasionally bump into said teacher (who turned out to be a marshmallow) on the train going to Etihad stadium!
This is my first post, although I have been a long time reader and have enjoyed "getting to know" the various personalities on the page.
I'm optimistic by nature, which definitely helps when supporting the Saints. :)

- Male
- Bentleigh East, less than 10 minutes away from Moorabbin Oval
- My friend in kindergarten followed the Saints so I decided to as well. My parents are Collingwood supporters and my sister Geelong, so 2009-2010 was not a fun time. Another downer was that I started following football in 1997.
- Favourite players are/were Aussie Jones, Brendon Goddard :)() and Jack Newnes.
- Used to stalk Robert Harvey when he was the manager of the AFL Shop in Chadstone.

-Male
-Serbian background/moved to Aus in 96
-Adelaide based
-Followed the Saints since 2000
-Fav past player G-Train
-Fav current Sinclair/McCartin

Been reading this board for the last 10 years but never really signed up as i was using saintsational and the username was S.A. Saint.

Grew up in Sandringham. My parents were Melbourne supporters.

In 1969/70 when i was about 9, me and a couple of friends used to go to a group of public tennis courts around the corner from our place. We would run around playing in the grounds surrounding the courts. Every Sunday morning, a group of Saints players would play tennis - usually Cowboy Neale, Alan Davis, Garry Colling, Stuart Trott and Ross Smith. A few others would drift in and out. Anyway, when balls were hit over the fence we would run and get them. Over time we started being their ball boys, running all over the court to get balls for them. It became our regular Sunday thing. From then on I was a Saints supporter.

-At two days old dad wrapped me in a St Kilda scarf and beanie as i was taken home from the hospital because the Saints got up over Essendon the day i was born
-Began Drinking heavily with dad the following weekend as the Bears pumped us
-Been drinking heavily with dad ever since

Hi guys, just completed a heated post on another thread, so I thought I'd come here and formally introduce myself.

My story with meeting the Saints is pretty weird to be completely honest. When my family first moved here, I had never heard of AFL. It looked like rugby and didn't interest me. It would have stayed that way too if it wasn't for group icebreaker activities at my new high school. Everyone had to take a survey on a topic that interested them. One of the groups approached me and asked me who I thought would win the AFL grand final that year (2010). I said Sydney in panic as I thought it would be safe to assume Australia's biggest city would have a team. Turns out the majority of people picked either St Kilda or Geelong, which in hindsight was no surprise. That very night, we went to the local Charcoal Chicken for a dinner and the NAB Cup grand final for 2010 was. I recognised St Kilda from earlier and thought Western Bulldogs must have been some Western Australian team (they ought to change that name). Even though the Bulldogs triumphed, I then chose to support St Kilda purely because I liked thought of them taking revenge during the year (Prelim XD) .

As the year progressed, I got more and more into AFL. I watched a few Carlton matches with a cousin before my first St Kilda game about halfway through the year. It was a St Kilda vs Richmond game and I was finally sold when Rooey kicked this amazing snap goal. The female commentator kept raving about the "superstar" and I was hooked. At first, most of my friends gave me a hard-ish time for supporting the Saints. But they're all Essendon supporters so I've got them back more than enough haha.

Welcome BigFooty Saints Board Introductions - What's your background in following the Saints?