Bluemour Discussion Thread XV - Facts Not Welcome

Would like to see Barker as a senior coach with strong assistants somewhere else. I think it could be successful. Good motivatot, loved by the players who would buy in and play for him. From the outside he lacks the specific technical knowledge that top assistant coaches have but has all of the qualities the senior coach needs.

I saw this once in a high class restaurant- assistance chef couldn’t cook to save himself- but somehow when he came to run the kitchen as executive chef it ran like clockwork.

Would like to see Barker as a senior coach with strong assistants somewhere else. I think it could be successful. Good motivatot, loved by the players who would buy in and play for him. From the outside he lacks the specific technical knowledge that top assistant coaches have but has all of the qualities the senior coach needs.
He has the highest qualifications there is. AFL level iv..played AFL at finals level...assistant and caretaker coach for a long time....but no-one wants him

Assistant coach would be a way better job then head coach

250k vs 750k but there would be so little stress.

Get to cruise round training, kick a few footys around, jump in the gym if you want.

Get to talk footy all day and throw up ideas but no decision rests on you.

If things start turning bad get in the CEO and presidents ear with some game of thrones stabbing in the back action.

Assistant coach would be a way better job then head coach

250k vs 750k but there would be so little stress.

Get to cruise round training, kick a few footys around, jump in the gym if you want.

Get to talk footy all day and throw up ideas but no decision rests on you.

If things start turning bad get in the CEO and presidents ear with some game of thrones stabbing in the back action.

Is this a joke? I know an AFL assistant coach well. He works like an absolute dog - 72 hour weeks the absolute norm, neck is constantly on the block. It’s constant and unrelenting.

That was my understanding.

Assistants get flogged to death and there’s 30 more who can take their place tomorrow.

Regarding the Assistant Coach gig, you're excited about doing a massive body of work, receiving little to no credit, having no job security, having your livelihood beholden to the head coach who gets paid 3 times as much as you and constantly compromising your philosophies to fit in with his vision? Sounds like every office worker in Australia, but I have much sympathy for that job, even if they are working in an amazingly fun industry.

Opinions are like assholes, we all have one, i and a few others are one, but I’ll stick by my opinion. It ain’t working, it won’t work, we need a new system. Bolts IMO doesn’t have a Plan B.

And no, if we had beaten GCS, I’d be happy, but would still be calling for Bolton’s head. If you can’t see that our game plan is flawed, then I can’t help you. Again, it’s just my opinion. Some people should get one and voice it rather than sniping from behind a keyboard.

FWIW, I’ve met both MLG (my work function as a speaker) and SOS (Noosaville), and they’re the right people to have in place at our club.

Sam Walsh has progressed to French Vanilla by the way, but he’s still a bit vanilla.

LOB is my new target. Is he a wasted pick? - help me love the lad. I’m struggling.
I don't want a plan b. That's for losers who can't make Plan A work. Make Plan A work! Get better at it! These close losses will be wins when we clean up our play so I think our plan A is good just need to be a bit better at it.
Regards. O'Brien he is a good skillful player that gets to the right spots (has no trouble finding it) but for some reason our whole team can't kick right now, not just him. Watch his early games he's hitting 40m passes to advantage no worries.
Need to get the chewing gum off our boots

Opinions are like assholes, we all have one, i and a few others are one, but I’ll stick by my opinion. It ain’t working, it won’t work, we need a new system. Bolts IMO doesn’t have a Plan B.

And no, if we had beaten GCS, I’d be happy, but would still be calling for Bolton’s head. If you can’t see that our game plan is flawed, then I can’t help you. Again, it’s just my opinion. Some people should get one and voice it rather than sniping from behind a keyboard.

FWIW, I’ve met both MLG (my work function as a speaker) and SOS (Noosaville), and they’re the right people to have in place at our club.

Sam Walsh has progressed to French Vanilla by the way, but he’s still a bit vanilla.

LOB is my new target. Is he a wasted pick? - help me love the lad. I’m struggling.
I’ll help you. Some thoughts:

1. He’s a nice size and WILL fill out. He’s a second year player. You need to see him as a 5th year player. Strong in the body and not flopping in the tackle.
2. He’s a confidence player. Time will get the most out of him.
3. His basics are good. He doesn’t fumble and he’s a lovely kick.
4. His elite attribute is his running. He hasn’t had a full preseason and I was surprised to see him struggling midfield in around Feb. He should be running with Sam and the Curnows but wasn’t. That will come back.

He has options of where he can play. Now it’s wing. Long term may also include back.

He will make it. Just may take a while. Chill.

I’ll help you. Some thoughts:

1. He’s a nice size and WILL fill out. He’s a second year player. You need to see him as a 5th year player. Strong in the body and not flopping in the tackle.
2. He’s a confidence player. Time will get the most out of him.
3. His basics are good. He doesn’t fumble and he’s a lovely kick.
4. His elite attribute is his running. He hasn’t had a full preseason and I was surprised to see him struggling midfield in around Feb. He should be running with Sam and the Curnows but wasn’t. That will come back.

He has options of where he can play. Now it’s wing. Long term may also include back.

He will make it. Just may take a while. Chill.

LOB is an insanely good kick. What really sets him apart in my book is that he has the speed of Walker, but walkers kicking let him down at top speed - LOB can run absolutely flat out and still kick almost perfectly (on his preferred).

LOB is going to deliver inside 50 for us.

I have more questions over Kennedy, Kerr, JSOS and Setterfield than LOB.

Why tied to this board? There are heaps more entitled boards

I can’t belive I type a message that legible at 10.18pm last night. It’s a miracle.

In any case, there doesn’t seem to be any stand out replacement coach, apart from Ratten but can we go to that well again?

if I never hear or read "no sympathy" again I'll be a jollier jumbuck........
If you can’t handle a simple phrase, then I have no sympathy for you

LOB is an insanely good kick. What really sets him apart in my book is that he has the speed of Walker, but walkers kicking let him down at top speed - LOB can run absolutely flat out and still kick almost perfectly (on his preferred).

LOB is going to deliver inside 50 for us.

I have more questions over Kennedy, Kerr, JSOS and Setterfield than LOB.
Setterfield??? Wtf. Kid is a gun.

If Barker was actually rated as a senior coach, he would have been taken by one of the other clubs who have had to replace their senior coach since we sacked Malthouse. The fact that no other club has seriously considered him for the top role should be sounding the warning bells to all and sundry. He had a bit of a dead cat bounce in the few games he was in charge for, but by the end of the season things were back to normal.

3 wins, 11 losses.

Might as well bring back Ratts.

Just because someone looks good on paper, doesn’t mean they actually are any good.

My previous boss is a fine example of this.