News Brad Crouch to Saints (STK make offer; Band 3, ADL to match?)

So basically either one or both clubs misread how much is required for band 1, and now possibly both clubs have been shafted

St Kilda either won't get their man or will have to pay picks
We don't get pick 2
Like I said earlier, if the 2 clubs misread the amount needed by a small margin then that is a massive level of incompetence. Like you can’t actually be serious levels of incompetence.
hell Adelaide would have even traded Pick 9 for Dunstan if it meant we got 2, so it would mean that both clubs have cost themselves massively.

AFL is bordering on WWE level of scripting these days. With AFC as the apparent villain.

Am not sure why corporates sponsor it to be frank.
Hahaha, I like the imagery. Unfortunately we can only strive to be on par with the villian characters in the WWE. They get the lion share of winning storylines given to them from Vince McMahon. Its good for business to have a strong bad guy!

Right now I fear the AFL see's us more like the Washington Generals...

We need to move away from the our default position of just trying to blame the AFL for everything that doesn't go our way.

If the deal was in the Band 1 category we would have received it, the reality is that it wasn't so we need to move on.

The outcome should be simple, we didn't get Pick 2 so we match and keep Brad.

If we let him walk for the compo then the club has failed and let us down, that won't be the AFL's fault it will be our fault.

We need to start putting pressure on the club and holding them to account for these types of things instead of trying to just pin the blame for everything on the AFL.

Because we are about to buckle yet AGAIN.

Prepare for:
1. Rowey to explode
2. Bicks to defend it
3. Silence OR excuses from Fagan to Roo to Kelly.

we’ll prob give up 20 for Hately too. We have ZERO mongrel in us.

We will likely accept the offer of 23 and then trade it with some steak knives for hately and try to sell it as a win because rebuild.

Nothing would be more afc

If Pick 23 is the compensation, how come we have not matched St Kilda's Offer yet? Just match the offer and force a trade/keep Brad..zzzz why is this taking so long..
Because we didn’t think we would be sitting here right now.
this was meant to be an overs deal that would get us pick 2 or an avg deal we just match no worries.
right now it’s a low base so band 3 but with very easy triggers it becomes a big money deal again.
We are screwed either way right now.

Rowey says this morning he’s spoken to Nicks yesterday and both parties are still happy with Crouch remaining at the Crows. Then you have articles like this suggesting the opposite. They’re all guessing or all getting fed different info.

Charlie also told Pyke he was prepared to stay according to Rowie.

LOL I'm very much ruling it in, isn't he also a mate of Andrew Dillon?

Isn't Dillon on the committee that decides the compo or am I mistaken?
Mutineer goes BANG:gun:

General Counsel, General Manager AFL Game Development: Andrew Dillon
Has a Bachelor of Commerce and a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Melbourne and a post-graduate diploma in Applied Finance and Investment from the Securities Institute of Australia. Undertook Articled Clerkship at Corrs Chambers Westgarth in 1994 and was subsequently employed as a solicitor in Corrs’ Commercial Division. From October 1997 to August 2000, worked as in-house legal counsel at Village Roadshow Limited. Joined the AFL in August 2000 as Legal Counsel and was appointed General Manager – Legal and Business Affairs in July 2004. In December 2011, was appointed as General Manager of National and International Development and General Counsel. Appointed General Counsel, General Manager, Legal, Integrity and Compliance in 2013. In March 2017, in addition to the role of General Counsel, General Manager of Integrity and Compliance, Dillon took on the responsibility of Game Development, which sees him responsible for all the community and state football leagues, community and state football facilities and infrastructure, the relationships with all AFL state bodies, women’s football, the multicultural, indigenous and diversity portfolio and the AFL’s international game development strategy and implementation.

Has his fingers in every pie at the AFL it seems and being general counsel and general manager, it would be hard to believe he has no role to play

I guess it’s up to us to make draft night a total shitfight then

bid on everyone

ruin it for everyone

burn it all down
What an immature post and sadly liked by 16 others.

17 clubs could have bid for Brad's services, I think at the end of the day maybe only two had any interest and only one put in a bid that was always likely to not be sufficient $ to trigger Band 1.

So the Saints offer is the best market value from 17 other clubs. It is what it is. Brad is no game breaking mid that would command a Band 1 contract over the 5 years he's seeking. He is asolid accumulating mid, it's been said on the Crows BF forums time and time again.

Saints are putting forward the best offer that acts in a responsible way towards their list management strategy. The fact that peak Crouch market value is not Band 1 worthy is just a fact of life no matter how much we wish it was otherwise. Saints aren't to blame, other clubs aren't to blame, AFL aren't to blame, it's market value pure and simple.

Petulant dummy spitting posts make us look so bad when other supporters read our board. Luckily the people in charge of trading and drafting are mature business people, they will make a decision one way or the other and move on. We have a great draft hand, let's enhance it by doing smart trades with other willing parties.

Adam Kelly looks tough, but is he? I love it when Rowe explodes - his brain completely leaves his body!!
You know that the situation is totally stuffed when Rowey is the voice of reason. I’m expecting Bicks to tow the line “I’m not sure what else the club can do, he has chosen St Kilda it’s best to put a line through it and move on”. I’m calling it.

This is the sort of stuff that just shows how inexperienced and bad we are a this game.

You put messages like this out there and other Teams are just going to take advantage of it.
Who knows if that is even true?

"Privately acknowledged" **** me

This is our problem. We think it is a win-win league, when in reality it is a 'screw you' league, but with a smile.
The other clubs are laughing their head off at us in private, while publicly talking about what a respected and professional club we are. We are naive morons.
Do you agree that when the draft happens Crows bid on all the top NGA's because this is a COMPETITION. It's like a match - you can be chummy after the game , but not before & during!!

no, if we match the option becomes one sided in Brouch’s favour

if he chooses to accept then the contract is automatic

only if he refuses do we get back any say in what happens next
We can also offer a contract to Brad that might suit us a bit more and close enough to what Brad wants.

Rules:
17.5 Movement of Restricted Free Agents
(j) Nothing in this Rule 17.5 prevents a Restricted Free Agent’s Current Club
making an offer, or a Restricted Free Agent accepting an offer from his Current
Club, in relation to a Player’s services on different terms to the Offer within three
days of the Current Club receiving the Offer from the AFL.

We absolutely have to match. It doesn't hurt us in the least. We are a minimum of 5 years away from being a genuine contender. I dont mean making the 8, but I mean a genuine chance of winning the flag. Not counting unscripted flags like the umpiring assisted flag the WB got. Its devastating to be in that position, but the absolute beauty of it is we can burn our TPP in the short term. It really doesn't matter if we match Brad and that money goes to waste. If we do keep him, Saints have given us a godsend by putting games played triggers into it, given the risk.

We have options
1. Play Brad and Sloane as our development mids that help us bring on our younger mids. Trade out Matt, either this year or next year.
2. Hope that Brad gets back to career-best. Next year, we trade him out. He has motivation to move with an improved contract too because he can put guarantees into the next contract that he isn't getting now.

The only way we lose out of the current situation is if we dont match and if we accept anything less than a pick that we think we can reasonably get for Matt this year, or either Matt or Brad next year.

We will likely accept the offer of 23 and then trade it with some steak knives for hately and try to sell it as a win because rebuild.

Nothing would be more afc
Or we accept 23 and push out the “we believe we have enough organic growth in the squad to cover”.

Charlie also told Pyke he was prepared to stay according to Rowie.
"Prepared to stay" is code for "to make this deal go through smoothly with adequate compensation, I'm giving the leaving club leverage"

We don't know whether Brad actually wants to stay when they say that

You know that the situation is totally stuffed when Rowey is the voice of reason. I’m expecting Bicks to tow the line “I’m not sure what else the club can do, he has chosen St Kilda it’s best to put a line through it and move on”. I’m calling it.

Nah. Bick would probably be like:

"Brad Crouch is a DRUG ADDICT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! and the crows should be happy that they're getting pick 23 instead of Brad being degistered.

did I mention he's a DRUG ADDICT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I reckon, no way Eddie cops this. He's out there defending his club trying to get the best possible outcome
Eddie isn't the CEO.

Of course, we have a retiree as ours, so ...

When you have a reputation of bluffing and folding, then shit like this will continue to happen to you.

We should have sent Keath to the PSD, we got screwed on that trade no matter the level of mental gymnastics trying to justify the value we received.

We said only last week that we wouldn’t accept anything bar pick 2 and would match and force a trade. Well that’s out there, fold now without matching and you might as well purchase shares in a lube company for come trade time.

If Pick 23 is the compensation, how come we have not matched St Kilda's Offer yet? Just match the offer and force a trade/keep Brad..zzzz why is this taking so long..
Because we don't want to pay $700k over 5.

We know Brad will accept and stay and we don't want to make that level of commitment.

Rowey says this morning he’s spoken to Nicks yesterday and both parties are still happy with Crouch remaining at the Crows. Then you have articles like this suggesting the opposite. They’re all guessing or all getting fed different info.

Don't believe anything Rowe says. We should match otherwise we look weak. Brad sounds like he is off regardless so therefore we force a trade with Saints. If they really want him they will cave with pick 15. Otherwise we trade Brad to another club and pay 150K of his wage to get a better pick. Pick 5 from gold coast to us for Brad (including the crows paying 150k of his wage). Means gold coast will only need to pay around 450k a year for Brad. Big win for gc, win for us.

What an immature post and sadly liked by 16 others.

17 clubs could have bid for Brad's services, I think at the end of the day maybe only two had any interest and only one put in a bid that was always likely to not be suffient $ to trigger Band 1.

So the Saints offer is the best market value from 17 other clubs. It is what it is. Brad is no game breaking mid that would command a Band 1 contract over the 5 years he's seeking. He is asolid accumulating mid, it's been said on the Crows BF forums time and time again.

Saints are putting forward the best offer that acts in a responsible way towards their list management strategy. The fact that peak Crouch market value is not Band 1 worthy is just a fact of life no matter how much we wish it was otherwise. Saints aren't to blame, other clubs aren't to blame, AFL aren't to blame, it's market value pure and simple.

Petulant dummy spitting posts make us look so bad when other supporters read our board. Luckily the people in charge of trading and drafting are mature business people, they will make a decision one way or the other and move on. We have a great draft hand, let's enhance it by doing smart trades with other willing parties.

are you high?

Probably because they never intended to match, but now they feel obliged to to save face.

Probably because they let it be known that Crouch had played his last game.

Probably because they told Crouch hed played his last game.

Now they realise how bad they are at this game.
Of those probablys, we know that Kelly said last week that one of the options was Brad staying.

So we've said nothing to confirm that he's leaving. This isn't Ben Brown territory.

When you have a reputation of bluffing and folding, then sh*t like this will continue to happen to you.

We should have sent Keath to the PSD, we got screwed on that trade no matter the level of mental gymnastics trying to justify the value we received.

We said only last week that we wouldn’t accept anything bar pick 2 and would match and force a trade. Well that’s out there, fold now without matching and you might as well purchase shares in a lube company for come trade time.

There is actually looking tough, and then there is being stupid whilst thinking you look tough.

PSD only works as a threat or even a "looks tough" option if you can guarantee the player will not be selected by the club who wants him. Otherwise you've wasted your time and wasted an asset for no gain whatsoever.