List Mgmt. Brady Rawlings | Head of Football Talent (Recruitment, LM & TPP)

Do we see Brady under threat here for his performance with this review? I genuinely don’t think he’s had enough time in any of his roles with the amount of movement and splitting of responsibilities he’s had to deal with the moment he got here, most recently after the list management trio walked, and prior to that he was performing two roles.

Not sure if there’s been enough time in any role to comfortably say how he’s performing so far.
Jack of all trades, so to speak, master of none, perhaps.

Brady came in and was handed the keys. Right now everything's been taken off him and he's left standing there holding a lollypop and his **** in the other hand.

Massive disappointment. Pick 19 to Richmond seals it for me.
Yeah I expected someone ruthless right now he like nobles looks a fraud out of his depth

Both in positions they are not qualified for

nobles would be best suited to Brady’s role and Brady should be either back to a dev coach or a recruiter

IDK how to decide where the failures lie. On the one hand he's been at the top of the chain so surely the majority of decisions have his sign off, but if he's been getting scouting advice from shithouse recruiters while trying to juggle too many responsibilities, due to not having enough staff (let alone experienced ones) during half his tenure then that's a whole other issue.

Would definitely be under the microscope either way.

Rawlings role has changed 3 times in less than 12 months. Some of it his fault some of it not.
Was brought in as footy boss to replace Joyces. Tick. Got rid of some dead weight in 2020. Tick.
Last year though it unraveled a bit. Got rid of Higgins the year prior which was debatable but then gave Ziebell a contract of 2 years when he was cooked and in the same time lowballed Tarrant who was very much a required player. In the same moment we gave up pick 19 for Calum Coleman-Jones which was way overs. This was a true test of his ability to orchestrate a good trade and now it looks like an unmitigated disaster. Makes no ****ing sense.
His recruitment team has now walked out on him for whatever reason and he and Amarfio are apparently spreading themselves thin and trying pick up the slack. Its completely unprofessional.

No wonder Stevo is ****ing worried. Its become an absolute circus.

Rawlings role has changed 3 times in less than 12 months. Some of it his fault some of it not.
Was brought in as footy boss to replace Joyces. Tick. Got rid of some dead weight in 2020. Tick.
Last year though it unraveled a bit. Got rid of Higgins the year prior which was debatable but then gave Ziebell a contract of 2 years when he was cooked and in the same time lowballed Tarrant who was very much a required player. In the same moment we gave up pick 19 for Calum Coleman-Jones which was way overs. This was a true test of his ability to orchestrate a good trade and now it looks like an unmitigated disaster. Makes no ******* sense.
His recruitment team has now walked out on him for whatever reason and he and Amarfio are apparently spreading themselves thin and trying pick up the slack. Its completely unprofessional.

No wonder Stevo is ******* worried. Its become an absolute circus.

The brown situation, the Tazz situation, the CCJ trade and the contract extensions of Ziebell & Turner don’t fill me with much confidence

but then gave Ziebell a contract of 2 years when he was cooked and in the same time lowballed Tarrant who was very much a required player.

It's worse than that. Tarrant was first, we rightfully offered him one year as we should with veterans (I'll argue he was required, I think he was equally as cooked as JZ) then we went back on it to failure when Tarrant turned it down. Jack should have had one year but because we offered two to Robbie of course Jack felt obliged to demand the same. The main problem was it was a bluff JZ had no right to make, no other team would take him on but of course we folded on it and still kept him on as captain. I love Jack (Robbie too) but that trade and FA window was the time to make a stand on some of these guys.

The brown situation, the Tazz situation, the CCJ trade and the contract extensions of Ziebell & Turner don’t fill me with much confidence
The Brown situation in hindsight is a tricky one. He wasnt worth the 4 years he asked but then he was never replaced either. Larkey needed ****ing help 18 months ago and we got nothing in. Not even Tom McDonald. Massive fail for him.
The rest as you mentioned are bloody alarm bells.

Ive just checked Bradys timeline. June 2019 leaves West Coast and starts work for us in November 2019 as Football boss.
Keeps that role until the end of 2021 until Dan McPherson comes in and Brady becomes GM of Football talent.
When Luff resigned he then became the official List Manager which means Amarfio is helping to pick up the slack on Bradys old role.

Its just a shitshow. Granted the clubs needs time to replace Luff, Birthisel and Finnigan but we need Walsh to find the right role for Brady and lock him in there. This shit is reminiscent of how EDFL clubs are run in C Grade.

The Brown situation in hindsight is a tricky one. He wasnt worth the 4 years he asked but then he was never replaced either. Larkey needed ******* help 18 months ago and we got nothing in. Not even Tom McDonald. Massive fail for him.
It was tricky but we managed it poorly. We essentially de-valued a consistent goal kicker which resulted in us not getting fair value for him. In two years he still hasn’t been replaced and we still have hardly any developing talls on the list. It’s a shambles.

Then this year we go to the draft with pick 1 and not another pick until 50 odd….how are you meant to properly rebuild with a hand like that?

It's worse than that. Tarrant was first, we rightfully offered him one year as we should with veterans (I'll argue he was required, I think he was equally as cooked as JZ) then we went back on it to failure when Tarrant turned it down. Jack should have had one year but because we offered two to Robbie of course Jack felt obliged to demand the same. The main problem was it was a bluff JZ had no right to make, no other team would take him on but of course we folded on it and still kept him on as captain. I love Jack (Robbie too) but that trade and FA window was the time to make a stand on some of these guys.
My thoughts on Tarrant are the club was in no position to be offering Tarrant a 1 year deal considering the state of the list and lack of Key Position players available. You can play hardball with Goldi, Hall and Jack but Tazz actually filled a role and a need that if McKay was to go down we'd be f*cked.
A low was playing Walker and Bonar on McKay and Curnow earlier this year. It was an embarrassing night for the club. McKay, Walker and McGuinness as our key position defenders is just a sackable offence.
Tarrant form has been indifferent but he just kept Hawkins goalless so Id argue hes still got a little bit left in him.

I dont know what to do with Jack. 18 months left on a contract. What a ******* disaster this is. It makes me feel uneasy Jack held the club to ransom on a 2 year deal and we folded. Yes he just got married and yes he just had a little girl but we now have to dodge and sway and maneuver our way through the remainder of his deal.

My thoughts on Tarrant are the club was in no position to be offering Tarrant a 1 year deal considering the state of the list and lack of Key Position players available. You can play hardball with Goldi, Hall and Jack but Tazz actually filled a role and a need that if McKay was to go down we'd be f*cked.
A low was playing Walker and Bonar on McKay and Curnow earlier this year. It was an embarrassing night for the club. McKay, Walker and McGuinness as our key position defenders is just a sackable offence.
Tarrant form has been indifferent but he just kept Hawkins goalless so Id argue hes still got a little bit left in him.

I dont know what to do with Jack. 18 months left on a contract. What a ******* disaster this is. It makes me feel uneasy Jack held the club to ransom on a 2 year deal and we folded. Yes he just got married and yes he just had a little girl but we now have to dodge and sway and maneuver our way through the remainder of his deal.

I dunno, I think you've got to eventually draw the line in the sand once blokes get to a certain age and say it's 1 year or bust... the state of the list is pretty moot as it was pre-trade week. It's not hardball, it's sensible list management and common list management. The issue with our list isn't that Tarrant left, it's that we didn't replace him in the trade week, or the draft, or the rookie draft. I think we can be honest on Robbie, he had his head turned, we could have offered three and it would have made no difference. The problem is we didn't read that scenario and it meant we shifted for our captain because we simply couldn't say no after we'd played our hand with Tarrant.

The Brown situation in hindsight is a tricky one. He wasnt worth the 4 years he asked but then he was never replaced either. Larkey needed ******* help 18 months ago and we got nothing in. Not even Tom McDonald. Massive fail for him.

Ive just checked Bradys timeline. June 2019 leaves West Coast and starts work for us in November 2019 as Football boss.
Keeps that role until the end of 2021 until Dan McPherson comes in and Brady becomes GM of Football talent.
When Luff resigned he then became the official List Manager which means Amarfio is helping to pick up the slack on Bradys old role.

Its just a shitshow. Granted the clubs needs time to replace Luff, Birthisel and Finnigan but we need Walsh to find the right role for Brady and lock him in there. This s**t is reminiscent of how EDFL clubs are run in C Grade.
Not sure why Walsh would be finding a role suitable for Brady... He's done nothing to earn a future gig imo.

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Not sure why Walsh would be finding a role suitable for Brady... He's done nothing to earn a future gig imo.

He has a skillset, is already employed, has shown a willingness to change roles, and is loyal to the club. Even if he has made mistakes in the past, if there is a role we could place him in which matches his strengths it would be best to do that. While we need to overhaul a bunch of things there is still the issue of finding new employees to replace those that leave (or get shown the door).

Do we see Brady under threat here for his performance with this review? I genuinely don’t think he’s had enough time in any of his roles with the amount of movement and splitting of responsibilities he’s had to deal with the moment he got here, most recently after the list management trio walked, and prior to that he was performing two roles.

Not sure if there’s been enough time in any role to comfortably say how he’s performing so far.
Brady has only been at North a short time but it feels like a lot of the people he's worked with - whether it be players in negotiations, or the recruitment staff - have left on weird terms. Could just be correlation.

Its just a shitshow. Granted the clubs needs time to replace Luff, Birthisel and Finnigan but we need Walsh to find the right role for Brady and lock him in there. This s**t is reminiscent of how EDFL clubs are run in C Grade.
On the Brown situation, it's still sat pretty bad with me that we pulled all offers and told him to find a new home when he wanted to re-open negotiations after his down patch (presumably knowing he'd get a lesser deal, not expecting he'd be pushed out the door). We then kinda made it out as if he and his manager tried to bend us over and he walked on us.

Then the following year the club allowed it to be felt that Taz walked when timing suggests he'd already accepted Richmond's offer by the time we offered two (was it an offer we knew he couldn't accept so as to make out like a fan favourite walked rather than being nudged out?)

The Higgins stuff seemed amicable on the face of things, but again, pretty ruthless of us towards one of our best off field leaders.

It feels like his tenure has coincided not just with some questionable list decisions, but a bit of OTT ruthlessness. I warned at the time that if we go 100% business 0% sentimentality, players will treat us the same and our awesome player retention might fade, but personally I think what appear to be some of our tactics have been designed to preserve reputation...and I find it questionable. We also seem to be throwing big offers at ordinary non North blokes (Corr, CJ) but then tight wadding and in some cases not even offering contracts to better North players. I've worked at a few places where this became commonplace, and while football obviously a different world, the result of that attitude from management was a discernible shift in culture for the worse and the exodus of good people. It's hard to describe.

It's a hard gig in footy to balance sentimentality and the best interests of the club, so I don't envy Brady's position, but I reckon we tipped the scales too far one way, only to realise it too late and throw contracts at older blokes who actually weren't deserving of it.

North supporters keep watching Tarrant with a magnifying glass and highlighting every mistake he makes. I can tell people for a fact that Richmond rate him and what he brings internally, quite a bit. And to be frank they're lightyears better than us.

Shit like this makes me sick and I despise him for leaving (still do) but somehow I support him playing good footy for the tigers because that’s what he can produce. Busted hand and all. That’s a shinboner.
Hurts that he finishes his career there mean whilst Taylor Walker kicks 6 against us the same weekend.

He has a skillset, is already employed, has shown a willingness to change roles, and is loyal to the club. Even if he has made mistakes in the past, if there is a role we could place him in which matches his strengths it would be best to do that. While we need to overhaul a bunch of things there is still the issue of finding new employees to replace those that leave (or get shown the door).
What skill set?

He came on board as a list manager and so far you'd have to rate that move as a fail. Our list is unbalanced, lacking senior talent and leadership with a plethora of mids that can't get time in their preferred position.

Willingness to change roles? That's like moving Timmeh around the office until he finds the copy room.

Loyal to the club. I'm not looking for loyalty, I'm looking for excellence in paid positions. Brady isn't at the club on a volunteer basis.

Stevo obviously hasn't liked what he is seeing since joining the club...

s**t like this makes me sick and I despise him for leaving (still do) but somehow I support him playing good footy for the tigers because that’s what he can produce. Busted hand and all. That’s a shinboner.
Hurts that he finishes his career there mean whilst Taylor Walker kicks 6 against us the same weekend.

remembering back to the last game last year against the Crows and he had well and truly checked out, and he wasn't alone. At the time I put it down to being the last game for the year, away from home and they had all checked out . In hindsight, the rot with the coach had well and truly set in before this year.

Tarrant had come back underdone, from a serious injury, to a Ziebell led backline. He was in no way cooked.
He looked great playing the key defensive role for Richmond last match.

Tarrant had come back underdone, from a serious injury, to a Ziebell led backline. He was in no way cooked.
He looked great playing the key defensive role for Richmond last match.

My comments are strictly limited to the time of negotiation.

Looking forward to heading change of Brady Rawlings “This was my club”

s**t like this makes me sick and I despise him for leaving (still do) but somehow I support him playing good footy for the tigers because that’s what he can produce. Busted hand and all. That’s a shinboner.

Irony. Justification. Madness.

We undercut Robbie for Josh Walkers.

Hell even McKay kept him to a goal in each game in 2021 and we started HIM forward on Saturday night.

Irony. Justification. Madness.

We undercut Robbie for Josh Walkers.

Hell even McKay kept him to a goal in each game in 2021 and we started HIM forward on Saturday night.

We eventually gave Ziebell 2 years and didn't offer it to Tarrant (until it was too late)

Tarrant i'd welcome back right now as an absolute gun, despite others saying he is finished.

Yes mate, what an absolute joke of a decision.

List Mgmt. Brady Rawlings | Head of Football Talent (Recruitment, LM & TPP)