Bye Bye Nobles

Not if you accept they're undertaking a challenging phase of gameplan implementation regarding defencd with significant cognitive overload among an immature group. I.e. what has been alluded to in 4-5 press conference now.

Respectfully - no, I don't accept that explanation.

What do you mean by 'miraculous change of fortunes'?

There's a few who seem to suggest that some people are saying that sacking Noble makes us a top 8 team and that it's an immediate panacea. That's absolute bullshit. I don't think there are many, if any, even suggesting that. In fact, it's often used as an absurd argument to easily dismiss contrary opinions by people who are unwilling to countenance that he could or perhaps could go.

But if 'miraculous changes of fortune' includes actual and identifiable improvement, includes a better atmosphere among the players, includes structures that allow us to get the best out of our prodigiously talented young players, includes ball movement that is actually cohesive and purposeful, and includes actual consistent effort and application, then I don't think it's unreasonable to expect any of that at all
I've literally not seen a single person here critical of Noble who falls into the 'we would be top 8' category of wishful thinking. Constantly gets brought up as if they're the majority though.

my gut tells me Noble will stay - that Walsh will find that in an effort to reduce debt, 10 years of cut costs and running on fumes has meant that there isn't enough quality people in place and that we need to put our hands in our pockets to bring in some quality operators to turn things around. I also suspect that player dissatisfaction is less with the coach and more with the system - and that if we were to bring in some quality tacticians and development coaches, the team would be more competitive.

I also suspect that player dissatisfaction is less with the coach and more with the system - and that if we were to bring in some quality tacticians and development coaches, the team would be more competitive.
i highly doubt that such a dramatic regression in the space of 6 months, from when we were widely regarded as one of the best young lists in the league, will be found to be the fault of development coaches. do they really wield that much influence that they would so dramatically affect the players in the space of 12-15 games?

If Noble is vindicated in a Hardwick-esque fashion and as a result we purge a good number of other heads to surround him with the type of people he needs then he’s only going to be under more of a microscope then he already is, particularly on game day and on game day thats his weakest angle as a coach and if theres any disharmony amongst the playing group we risk some key players walking if they don’t want to be there when it could have been salvaged.

Will leave Walsh to do his thing, but there’s better coaches now available that I’d rather see in the box for North than keep persisting with someone who’s both unproven and his track record so far is an all time record for consistently shit performances getting pumped by 40+.

Its hard enough to watch North at the moment, the club screwing key decision making up at this juncture would put us into a rock bottom we haven’t begun to fathom.

and that if we were to bring in some quality tacticians and development coaches, the team would be more competitive.

We seem to be trying to cover for having only one KPD and one medium defender who can compete one on one by using Paul I'vewatchedNFL Roos' version of a cover two zone defense which our players are unfamiliar with and can't do anyway. They just end up looking stupid as they sprint over after an opponent has already marked the ball.

my gut tells me Noble will stay - that Walsh will find that in an effort to reduce debt, 10 years of cut costs and running on fumes has meant that there isn't enough quality people in place and that we need to put our hands in our pockets to bring in some quality operators to turn things around. I also suspect that player dissatisfaction is less with the coach and more with the system - and that if we were to bring in some quality tacticians and development coaches, the team would be more competitive.
Also starting to get this impression

i highly doubt that such a dramatic regression in the space of 6 months, from when we were widely regarded as one of the best young lists in the league, will be found to be the fault of development coaches. do they really wield that much influence that they would so dramatically affect the players in the space of 12-15 games?

I'm not saying that it's their fault for the drop off - I'm saying that we don't have enough quality in key roles to implement the system that the current coaching group are trying to implement.

Buggered if I know what will eventuate from Walsh reviewing the footy department but one thing I’d like to see immediately is Noble departing the bench and returning to the coaches box. When back there I hope to see his head swivelling constantly as assistant coaches feed him ideas and game day changes actioned on the run as a result.

The sight of him sitting sullenly on his lonesome on the bench as we’re bent over and rogered again and again sans lube is doing my head in.
Correct me if I'm wrong.

But wasn't he in the box at the start of the season and it felt like there was some SEMBLANCE of a plan and changes being made.

His move to the bench since about round 4/5 has resulted in a lot of chooks with heads cut off and few moves.

I'm not saying that it's their fault for the drop off - I'm saying that we don't have enough quality in key roles to implement the system that the current coaching group are trying to implement.
but we did in the 2nd half of last year, where we had a clear system that you could see being implemented and a cogent insight into what it could look like when the players develop. We also saw outstanding progression from guys in that period who have alarmingly regressed this year.

What changed to cause such an alarming regression?

The more you analyse it, the more it seems like the post-Brisbane incident was the flashpoint and then everything has snowballed from there

but we did in the 2nd half of last year, where we had a clear system that you could see being implemented and a cogent insight into what it could look like when the players develop. We also saw outstanding progression from guys in that period who have alarmingly regressed this year.

The more you analyse it, the more it seems like the post-Brisbane incident was the flashpoint and then everything has snowballed from there
I reckon Brisbane was the straw that broke the camels back for the players. Just look how bad the preseason was, and it lead into the season with the players having not bought in. The Brisbane spray just shut them right off.

it may be that players have lost motivation and can't understand the changes in game plan - one that our assistants are struggling to teach.
It may be that be that we lost key on-field leadership that is needed to implement the current game plan (Tarrant/Cunnington).
It may be that player support programs have changed or that has been neglected so long that the hens are coming home to roost.
It may be that our player led leadership team are not supported and struggling to motivate the huge amount of young players.

There are so many factors at play is my point

Agreed, this is a high likelihood.

IMO the warning signs were there in round 23 last year.

That game showed that despite some good performances in the back end of the year, that we were still miles off.

How come? Genuinely curious as no one replied to me when I raised this multiple times.

Listen to the GWS post match press conference closely, including the questions asked.

Fair question. I think the results are alarming even when weighted for gameplan teething issues and rebuilding factors. These are historically bad outcomes and our benchmarking against teams that have been floating around at a similar development stage looks very ugly right now.

So I think there will be definite issues to address out of this review, ie this slump isn't just some inevitable blip on the way to success. Whether these issues point at Noble himself, other factors or a combination - that's the hard part to determine looking from the outside in.

I'll raise you the Melb pre-season game after our are very impressive "intra-clubs"
Tbh I thought the intra-club was a very poor display of football, did not make me optimistic at all and I took stats down and ended up watching it twice.

Can anyone remember if it was the presser after the Brisbane loss that Noble mentioned there would be consequences for that performance ?

There was the belated apology after his post match spray weeks later, but only 3 forced changes for the Sydney game the next week, (Powell and Polec both inj. and Ford HS Protocols), it seems things took a bit of a nosedive after that, any theories ?

How come? Genuinely curious as no one replied to me when I raised this multiple times.

Listen to the GWS post match press conference closely, including the questions asked.

The same GWS match where we recorded the 11th lowest pressure rating of all time after a fortnight of being bashed from pillar to post in the media, and a week after playing one of the worst quarters of all time against Gold Coast?

Can anyone remember if it was the presser after the Brisbane loss that Noble mentioned there would be consequences for that performance ?

There was the belated apology after his post match spray weeks later, but only 3 forced changes for the Sydney game the next week, (Powell and Polec both inj. and Ford HS Protocols), it seems things took a bit of a nosedive after that, any theories ?
I think people like to point to one defining moment which changed the course.

As mentioned, there were multiple warning signs prior to the Brisbane game. That games sticks out because of the subsequent story that came about about the Noble "spray". We barely beat a WAFL side the week before.

I remember being upset that in the West Coast game I couldn't figure out wtf our gameplan was.

The 108 pt losing margin is still stuck in my memory bank.

Bye Bye Nobles