C Section 2009

Mazenod faced a simply amazing Caulfield last quarter. The Fields have not looked better in years! Prior to that Mazenod had been simply fantastic and if they can replicate that any side is beatable.

As for Monash, well I was wrong. I probably won't predict 5 right this week either. Anways here goes...

Beaumaris v Parkdale - The Sharks need this win to chase second spot. The Vultures are much improved, but they don't have the same motivation.
Ajax v BT - Always better at home and Ajax know how to punish a side. This could be very ugly. BT should pray for rain and lot's of it!
Caulfield v Old Geelong - Neither side has a heap to play for, but there was a bit of sting in the last game and I doubt either has forgotten. I would expect the Fields to rack up the score.
MHSOB v Monash - The Blues should join BT when praying for rain. This one has the potential to be the biggest winning margin of the year.
Oakleigh v Mazenod - A week ago I would have tipped the Krushers, but Mazenod showed enough last week to suggest they are not giving up on this season. I think it will be close and hard, but the Nodders will run it out better. Rutter will dominate and Bromley will kick goals, but it might not be enough.

PS. Good luck to GoG on the weekend!

didn't get on this time, maybe keep an eye next week, commentary preety good too from Jack 'The Voice'.

From sources he wasnt too happy bout the bad publicity in the record.

However hats off to the beaumaris fc for there good hospitality last nite by bringing out plates of finger food after the match. I think more clubs should do that. wouldnt you agree its a goal! as I thought the prawn skewers were very nice.

win lose or draw bazza supports your club

Baz

From sources he wasnt too happy bout the bad publicity in the record.
Baz

I think johnny aitkin needs to pull his head in, his recent observations have been rubbish, Having a crack at everybody involved in local footy seems to be his go, Just because he hasn't been involved in a REAL LOCAL FOOTY club just spending his time with the scholars at "the high school," he thinks he's all high and mighty his recent rant about canteen food proves what a moron he is maybe he should spend a day working in a canteen let alone everyweek, Also he should leave the menatals alone, commentating is his passion and i havent heard big Aitks on SEN, also the "wannabe Eddie McGuire" has been in talks with a high profile channel 10 celebrity so aitks can get a dog up him
Bring back Matty Cosgriff

What do you guys think? Informer?

I think johnny aitkin needs to pull his head in, his recent observations have been rubbish, Having a crack at everybody involved in local footy seems to be his go, Just because he hasn't been involved in a REAL LOCAL FOOTY club just spending his time with the scholars at "the high school," he thinks he's all high and mighty his recent rant about canteen food proves what a moron he is maybe he should spend a day working in a canteen let alone everyweek, Also he should leave the menatals alone, commentating is his passion and i havent heard big Aitks on SEN, also the "wannabe Eddie McGuire" has been in talks with a high profile channel 10 celebrity so aitks can get a dog up him

I've read your argument that Aitken has been somewhat dissappointing in your mind. I think that he has had a couple of slip ups through the year but overall he has been pretty good.

Saying he hasnt been in a "Real Local Footy" club and mixing with scholars makes him all high and mighty is a bit over the top.

Theres no doubt he's had a crack this year and tried to liven up the articles with a bit of left field stuff. Yeah he has gone a touch far at times but he has tried to change it up and make C grade reporting a little bit more exciting for the reader rather than boring cliches that have been written by some of the scribes (at times) in the past.

Drunkbeater - with all your concerned comments why dont you nominate to be the scribe for next year then? I'm thinking it would make for an interesting read.

A lot of people dish out a lot of critiscm to the scribes of every grade but very few put their hand up to commit to writing summaries week in week out for the record.

Results from the weekend......

Big win for Beauy in the local derby. Gower picking up 4 goals. Beuay had numerous goalkickers which is a great sign that they dont need to rely on Gower all the time. The Vultures were in it and played well up until 3/4 time but could not defend a 7 goal last term.
Beauy now turn to a monstrous clash this weekend against Caulfield.

Rumours flying around that the Jackers put up one of their worst performances in recent memory. Congrats to BT on a great win.
Jackers now completely gone and preparing for Mad Monday.

Caulfield must have broen the record books with a 40 goal display. I have not seen a score like that since the Robert Walls coached Brisbane lions played the pusscats inthe early 90s. Was OG out there or did they go to the wrong ground? I'm sure it will be a tougher match for them this week against Beauy.

MHSOB - One for the confidence the High put in a clinical display against MB who for me are completely gone. Although mathematically they can still make stay in C grade form tells us their no chance.

Oakleigh put the nail in the coffin for the Nodders charge to play potential finals. All but gone I would think. They're gone..... which is dissappointing after being 5-1 after 6 rounds they've won only 4 out of their last 10 matches which really isnt good enough.

Well 2 games to go and for me the ladder wont change too much. Top 4 will stay the same and the relegation teams wont change either.

Looking forward to the finals!

Wouldn't be too quick to write off Ajax, they have a soft run home and they must be getting a few back soon.

Gents apologies for continuous posts but just had to respond to this ridiculous comment above from Les Argen.

I'm glad I wrote them off and didnt listen to you. I heard they were absolutely terrible. And "getting a few back soon" - they'd want to make it quick...theres only 2 games to go!!!!!:eek:

Gents apologies for continuous posts but just had to respond to this ridiculous comment above from Les Argen.

I'm glad I wrote them off and didnt listen to you. I heard they were absolutely terrible. And "getting a few back soon" - they'd want to make it quick...theres only 2 games to go!!!!!:eek:

Fair enough Informer, you've got me on this one. Congratulations!! Can't wait for this crap season to end....

I've read your argument that Aitken has been somewhat dissappointing in your mind. I think that he has had a couple of slip ups through the year but overall he has been pretty good.

Saying he hasnt been in a "Real Local Footy" club and mixing with scholars makes him all high and mighty is a bit over the top.

Theres no doubt he's had a crack this year and tried to liven up the articles with a bit of left field stuff. Yeah he has gone a touch far at times but he has tried to change it up and make C grade reporting a little bit more exciting for the reader rather than boring cliches that have been written by some of the scribes (at times) in the past.

Drunkbeater - with all your concerned comments why dont you nominate to be the scribe for next year then? I'm thinking it would make for an interesting read.

A lot of people dish out a lot of critiscm to the scribes of every grade but very few put their hand up to commit to writing summaries week in week out for the record.

Very defensive there Informer, stick up for the scribes do you. Of course you think that informer, somone has to stick up for Johnny. Why not the man himself. i mean Informers posts = Johnny's reviews and very defensive on any Melb High negative comment, why keep denying it. The classic had to be the opening lines at the weekend. Stating the game was at Glenhuntly when it was at Mazenod, sums up the year for JA.

But do agree the scribe gig is not easy. However writing complete crap, when you should be writing at least something that is fact would be the way to go.

I do like the odds provided. Tell JA 2 weeks to go and then i collect.

Weekends results. Ajaz that is a disgrace. MHOSB & Beauy got the job done. Caul what an amazing score line. The big clash went the way of Oakliegh, the final finals spot is theirs to throw away now.

Lets get through the final week and get into the real stuff.

Not an easy task being scribe. Throughout the course of an 18 game plus finals season, there is bound to be times where the content printed will displease some and at the same time prove to be comical to others. Thats the way it goes. Aitken's left field approach to football enables his entries to avoid going the way of many other scribes whose articles (over the course of the season) seem to become repetitive and mundane.

good scribe vibe

Big clash this weekend between the sharks and caulfield grammar at glenhuntly oval should be a ripper of a game.

Havent heard anything from the shark camp as of yet.

Does anyone have any information on the caulfield camp like any big names going to miss? and players coming in as I heard from a mate of mine at zagames bistro last nite over a parma and house shiraz that Fraser Gehrig is going to play a sit would be good chance to put him through his paces against a quality opposition.

Win lose or draw barry supports your team

Bazza

Big clash this weekend between the sharks and caulfield grammar at glenhuntly oval should be a ripper of a game.

Does anyone have any information on the caulfield camp like any big names going to miss? and players coming in as I heard from a mate of mine at zagames bistro last nite over a parma and house shiraz that Fraser Gehrig is going to play a sit would be good chance to put him through his paces against a quality opposition.

Win lose or draw barry supports your team

Bazza

Let me get this straight, your from Beaumaris FC pretending that you have heard nothing there, but would like posters from Caulfield to spill you everything for the big game.

GOOD LUCK WITH THAT ONE BAZZA!

DH

Let me get this straight, your from Beaumaris FC pretending that you have heard nothing there, but would like posters from Caulfield to spill you everything for the big game.

GOOD LUCK WITH THAT ONE BAZZA!

DH

Long time no speak!
Im just curious to see how both teams are travelling in the lead up to the game. The reason being I havent heard much is I spoken to anyone from beauy yet and have a few friends that play for caulfield and we were discussing the match sherlock holmes.

So northy just lay off the bottle and crack and stop making ridiculous assumptions

win lose or draw barry supports your team

Baz

Long time no speak!
Im just curious to see how both teams are travelling in the lead up to the game. The reason being I havent heard much is I spoken to anyone from beauy yet and have a few friends that play for caulfield and we were discussing the match sherlock holmes.

So northy just lay off the bottle and crack and stop making ridiculous assumptions

win lose or draw barry supports your team

Baz

Spot on Baz...Gehrig is going to play his first game of the year at FF, Paul Salmon is coming out of retirement to play in the ruck and despite Steve Lawrence's misgiving his old man Barry will lead the on the ball department after Benito Carbone burnt his tongue on the Tuesday night chicken soup!

This game will be a ripper but I wouldn't be too suprised if both coaches left something up their sleeve for later. Saying that Mifsud needs the win to get the double chance.

Keano what do you mean by this...

Both coaches will be hiding something up their sleeve for later???
What would they be hiding? Surely with impending finals action both teams will want to make a statement. And as you said a top 2 chance for Beauy surely will mean they will be playing the best footy they can.

Bazza

quality...how was it?

In ranking order of 1 through to 10 - what do you consider the order for Grounds and Facilities in C grade this year?

Two seperate rankings here with ground and facilities being different:
Grounds:
1. Mazenod
2. Monash
3. Beaumaris
4. Parkdale
5. Caulfield
6. Old Geelong
7. Oakleigh
8. MHSOB
9. Ajax
10. Bulleen Temp

Facilities: - district clubs seem to have more of a 'club' vibe
1. Parkdale
2. Beaumaris (love the open fire place)
3. Mazenod
4. Oakleigh
5. Caulfield
6. MHSOB
7. Bulleen Temp
8. Old Geelong
9. Ajax
10. Monash

Grounds
  1. Mazenod
  2. Monash
  3. Old Geelong
  4. Oakleigh
  5. Parkdale
  6. Caulfield
  7. Bulleen-Templestowe
  8. Beaumaris
  9. MHSOB
  10. Ajax - worst ground in the VAFA along with Sth Melb Districts
Facilities
  1. Parkdale
  2. MHSOB
  3. Caulfield
  4. Beaumaris
  5. Mazenod
  6. Monash
  7. Bulleen-Templestowe
  8. Oakleigh
  9. Old Geelong
  10. Ajax - tin can change rooms

Grounds
  1. Mazenod
  2. Monash
  3. Old Geelong
  4. Oakleigh
  5. Parkdale
  6. Caulfield
  7. Bulleen-Templestowe
  8. Beaumaris
  9. MHSOB
  10. Ajax - worst ground in the VAFA along with Sth Melb Districts
Facilities
  1. Parkdale
  2. MHSOB
  3. Caulfield
  4. Beaumaris
  5. Mazenod
  6. Monash
  7. Bulleen-Templestowe
  8. Oakleigh
  9. Old Geelong
  10. Ajax - tin can change rooms

1. Mazenod - awesome ground. Big and spacious
  2. Beaumaris - another huge ground. If they can only get a bit of grass on it then it would be number one.
  3. Caulfield - another big ground however always windy when we play.
  4. Old Geelong - great ground but gets a little heavy in winter.
  5. Oakleigh - good ground. Certainly an advantage to the homeside.
  6. Parkdale - A pretty good ground but can get somewhat heavy during winter.
  7. MHSOB - great setting but ground is a big issue. Need to get the drainage right
  8. Bulleen-Templestowe - run down. Needs a makeover.
  9. Monash Ajax - shocking ground. No life there. One thing would be to put a fence around it. Much req'd.
Facilities
  1. Mazenod - big spacious and seperate changerooms
  2. Parkdale - Quite a good size changerooms
  3. MHSOB - fairly good size changerooms. Shower section needs improvement.
  4. Caulfield - fair size changerooms. The drinks upstairs lacks culture
  5. Beaumaris - changerooms a touch small but the social rooms are magnificent
  6. Bulleen-Templestowe - ok setup but nothing to rave about.
  7. Oakleigh - changerooms are small. Social rooms arent too bad
  8. Monash - fair size changerooms however their social rooms are the worst in the comp if not the whole league...an absolute shocker.
  9. Old Geelong - changerooms tight. Social rooms ok. Belters serving are the saving grace.
  10. Ajax - Stinker everywhere. Rubbish changerooms and social rooms.

Keano what do you mean by this...

Both coaches will be hiding something up their sleeve for later???
What would they be hiding? Surely with impending finals action both teams will want to make a statement. And as you said a top 2 chance for Beauy surely will mean they will be playing the best footy they can.

From the Caulfield persepctive:

They will want to win and yes send a message. However they can't lose top spot and if they had blokes who needed a break, they may decide to rest them. Not sure what Lawrence will do as he is still new to the coaching game. Knowing that they may face Beamauris later in the finals, Caulfield could chose a different forward or middle set up than they might use when it really counts.

From the Sharks persepctive:

They need the win to stay in the hunt for second spot. They are less likely to rest players for this reason, but saying that if Ensor or Gower were very tight would you risk them? Probably not as you need them for the big games in a few weeks. As for set ups, Mifsud is most likely going to stick with what has got them this far, but could experiment with match ups and structure to see what works best against the competition leaders.

Clear enough?

Keano, good assessment that makes perfect sense. However, dont forget that Misfud is a self-proclaimed next great leader of the country (a massive concern no doubt) and therefore his mind may be operating on a different level to ours. We may see structures, rotations, computations that the mere football follower has never even considered let alone witnessed. An exciting proposition for us all.

The whisper is that Lawrence has consulted Dean Bailey this week for positional advice...

C Section 2009