Carlton Blues eyeing Andrejs Everitt in trade deal with Bulldogs

so there is a top 10 prospect that is going to be as good/better then Everitt?
Or do we get another midfielder/short forward.

Once you become consistently successful for a couple of seasons the lower clubs will naturally look at your 23-26th best and try to poach them, particularly as Everitt is both young, tall and has shown a bit.

It is important the club quickly sorts all this out and unites the group after such a solid season.

Hard decisions need to be made because we have a strong group of young kids who are now demanding games: Hill, Reid, Wood, Everitt and another crop who will also press next year: O'Keefe, Boumann, Grant, Cordy.

Unfortunately, I cannot see how we can retain Aker for a start. His performance during the finals was sub par and he is not going to get better. We have to also look at retiring Eagleton, and Welsh. the team needs fresh blood.

As for Everitt, unless we can manufacture a trade for someone like Bradshaw from Brisbane he must stay and he must be played next year.

Footy Classified (Hutchy) say he will go :(
To Carlton.
Might get a top 10 pick.
Where would the top 10 pick come from though?
Just sense this will come back and bite us on the arse one day if it occurs.

Hutchy also said Pendlebury would 100% be playing last night. I wouldn't take everything he says as gospel. We only finished our season 2 days ago so the club hasn't even officially sat down with Andrejs to see where he's at.

Putting Ray in the same category as McMahon is a bit rough.

Anyway, this story does have legs and actually has a more reliable source:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...-to-change-clubs/story-e6frf9n6-1225777244574

Mark Stevens is very reliable on bulldogs related stories so there must be truth in it.

I cannot understand the logic of it. There are four or more clubs chasing a contracted player, which leads me to believe that we are shopping him around.

So, why would we shop him around when we have just re signed him a few weeks ago? It doesn't make much sense. Except if we signed him only that we had control of where he went when we traded him out. Wouldn't be nice if that was the case.

We draft the guy at pick 11 and then we are looking to trade him for a high second round pick in a weak draft.

Like I said before, I cannot understand the logic of it. If I was Everitt, I wouldn't be too happy.

From the outside it seems there is no logic in this.

After Friday night Everitt was one player I identified that could go up another level and has the height to help this side.

Not sure why we would look to trade him maybe there is more to it?

Maybe I am looking too much into this but if they are looking for a high first round pick maybe they are trying to get 2 first round picks to offer for a forward.....not sure who though, I am sure bulldogs wouldn't mind offloading first round pick this year for the right trade since we are getting Wallis and Libba for bargains next year anyway.

I have no idea why this guy the dogs would want to trade this guy...he could possibly turn into a very handy tall forward option from what iv seen...If thats the case I would love to have him down at the dees for say pick 18?

Do you guys think he could potentially become a tall forward target?

I have no idea why this guy the dogs would want to trade this guy...he could possibly turn into a very handy tall forward option from what iv seen...If thats the case I would love to have him down at the dees for say pick 18?

Do you guys think he could potentially become a tall forward target?

No. He is more of a flanker/winger type.

I am sure bulldogs wouldn't mind offloading first round pick this year for the right trade since we are getting Wallis and Libba for bargains next year anyway.

It depends what we are trading it for. If it is for a gun forward then I am okay with that. But not for anything else. Your first round picks are in theory your 200 game players. They are valuable and should be traded off only if you can land something very special with it.

Personally, I don't buy the "well wallis and libba are coming next year, so what the hell, lets trade off our first round pick" argument. Father and sons shouldn't come into it, we need to get the best young players we can and your first round pick will help you do that.

So, if we can get a gun for our first pick then I don't mind, but for a so so or good player, no way IMO.

Don't know if any of this has been said before, but I think there are 4 possibilities here:

1. The club is "disappointed" with his attitude and is giving him a wake up call.

2. The club has a gun forward willing to come, but it needs to offer a 1st rounder to get it done. Swapping Everitt for a first round pick will solve that problem. To get something good, you have to give something good.
At the same time, they have their eye on a youngster and want to keep their own 1st round pick to get him.

3. Everitt wants out, and the club thinks he's expendable - at the right price.

4. It's all garbage. Even in GF week, they still need to work on something for next week, don't they?

If any of it is true, Everitt is newly re-contracted, so the Dogs hold the whip handle in any deal that might take place.

I am not in favour of this talked about trade, in my oppion it will have been a waist of 3 years of development. i remember his first game coming off the bench and running back straight into the pack with only eyes for the ball.

Give the kid his time he is contracted for. we will be sorry if we dont.:thumbsdown:

If we are trading off our tall development kids there is something wrong with our list management with talls? How come all these clubs want him and we seem to not have any room or time for him?

I still think Everitt would be a great addition to our side.

He moves like a Jarrod Waite type - and therefore may be groomed to take over his role in the future.

Pick #11 and Pick #27 for Everitt + #15

NB: Whatever happened to Jarrod Grant? - if he's deemed to be a "bad influence" why isnt he on the trade table?

I still think Everitt would be a great addition to our side.

He moves like a Jarrod Waite type - and therefore may be groomed to take over his role in the future.

Pick #11 and Pick #27 for Everitt + #15

NB: Whatever happened to Jarrod Grant? - if he's deemed to be a "bad influence" why isnt he on the trade table?

Wow that would be a shocking trade for the Dogs. Just horrible.

Grant isn't considered to be a bad influence. He doesn't have anywhere near the stamina to play AFL and was poor in the last 3 weeks in the VFL before getting dropped.

Sounds like a rubbish trade, but I have a feeling that Eade is willing to give up a lot to get a good KP forward.

A player like Everitt will get us a pick we would need to make a big trade happen, A very big risk though, as he's been considered our future CHB.

Sounds like a rubbish trade, but I have a feeling that Eade is willing to give up a lot to get a good KP forward.

A player like Everitt will get us a pick we would need to make a big trade happen, A very big risk though, as he's been considered our future CHB.

No he hasn't. That guys name is Tom Williams.

Everitt isn't a KPP.

Sorry, I'm in Istanbul and haven't got time to read this thread so ignore my comment. **** off Carlton grow your own talent you vulturious ****s.

Hey Butane, better get off that home grown in Istanbul. Wicked stuff they tell me.
Maybe a stint through the Blue Mosque will calm you down a bit.

Why wouldn't you trade if the fit is there?
Everitt doesn't want to be there. Why not have someone who does.
You guys could do very well from this scenario.

As for the guy who suggested a trade for Kreuzer: What can you say?

It depends what we are trading it for. If it is for a gun forward then I am okay with that. But not for anything else. Your first round picks are in theory your 200 game players. They are valuable and should be traded off only if you can land something very special with it.

Personally, I don't buy the "well wallis and libba are coming next year, so what the hell, lets trade off our first round pick" argument. Father and sons shouldn't come into it, we need to get the best young players we can and your first round pick will help you do that.

So, if we can get a gun for our first pick then I don't mind, but for a so so or good player, no way IMO.

Yes that's what I was getting at, trading for a gun forward or back with 5+ years left in them. Anything else would be a waste and silly. If it was for a Thorp or the like I wil spew.

Hey Butane, better get off that home grown in Istanbul. Wicked stuff they tell me.

As for the guy who suggested a trade for Kreuzer: What can you say?[/quote]

What you can say is that he was coming up with a reverse trade equal to some of the loony trade ideas a few Carlton dudes have come up with.

Seems to me you guys can come up with some of the craziest trade deals and think they're fair...
ie, Everitt for Fisher? Everitt for pick 27?
And you reckon I was off the mark!
Maybe I should have been a little more "Carlton realistic" and said Everitt for Gibbs + 2nd rounder...

What can you say?
I was just balancing the ledger.

You may not be aware of this, but Carlton doesn't have a divine right to get anything it wants. Sorry to shock you...

Feels good being trashed, doesn't it?

As for the guy who suggested a trade for Kreuzer: What can you say?[/quote]

What you can say is that he was coming up with a reverse trade equal to some of the loony trade ideas a few Carlton dudes have come up with.

Seems to me you guys can come up with some of the craziest trade deals and think they're fair...
ie, Everitt for Fisher? Everitt for pick 27?
And you reckon I was off the mark!
Maybe I should have been a little more "Carlton realistic" and said Everitt for Gibbs + 2nd rounder...

What can you say?
I was just balancing the ledger.

You may not be aware of this, but Carlton doesn't have a divine right to get anything it wants. Sorry to shock you...

Feels good being trashed, doesn't it?

No shock in these waters and no feeling of divinity either.

At the end of it, we are just debating hypotheticals.

If you think that an offer of pick 27 and a player that may add value to your squad is so far out of whack, fair enough, but
do you seriously think that a 20 year old no. 1 ruckman showing tons of poise and star qualities to be a fair trade for someone
who can't get a game in your best 22 a fair trade?

You don't really, do you?

N.B. Do you think you've thrashed my debate?
Is that what you mean?

If you think that an offer of pick 27 and a player that may add value to your squad is so far out of whack, fair enough, but
do you seriously think that a 20 year old no. 1 ruckman showing tons of poise and star qualities to be a fair trade for someone

Is that what you mean?

Who is this player? and please don't suggest Fisher or Cloke.

I don't know Chef.
To be honest I hope we are not putting the likes of Grigg or Browne on the table.
Those names may not mean too much to you now, but both are very good young players.
Some talk of Jacobs as well, but can't see that happening.

Facts are: Everitt wants out. Carlton is one of several clubs that are very keen.
What will ensue? I don't know.

We thought we had R.O'Keefe over the line last year. Deal wasn't done.

I'm not privvy to all the info and even for those who are there are no iron clad guarantees of something to happen until pen to paper occurs.

Is that what you mean?

Firstly, anyone reading that post properly realised I was being sarcastic. I even said so in my last thread!! (sigh...). Which galaxy are you flying through ATM?

Secondly, the way you've described Everitt, why do you guys want him? Why would anyone want him? You make him sound like a serious loser? So, do you still want him - really? I thought the Pagan era was over!

As for a thrashing, mate go back to that post and get it right! Boy, the stuff we have to put up with on this board!:D

Carlton Blues eyeing Andrejs Everitt in trade deal with Bulldogs