Carlton Delistings

BlueWorld said:
Because Wiggins applies himself, Norman doesn't. Why do you think he spent most of the year in the VFL?

Read this: http://carltonfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=234011

“Brett and Digby have certainly made a significant contribution to the Carlton Football Club, both on and off the field, since joining Carlton in late 2003."

Interesting how Karl doesn't get included there!
Because the only thing Karl contributed to the club was a drug scandal. He's a tosser and a fool and we're well rid of him.

How old is Digby? He's had his chances at two clubs and he didn't take them. At his age you're either a consistent senior player or your gone. It's as simple as that. Time for Setanta, Hartlett and Deluca to shop us what they've got.

Brett's career has been finished by the good form of Bentick, and with Blackers and Murphy to come into the side it's time to say goodbye to Johnson.

The only disappointment I have is that Davies is still on the list for another year.

gandaal said:
Because the only thing Karl contributed to the club was a drug scandal. He's a tosser and a fool and we're well rid of him.

How old is Digby? He's had his chances at two clubs and he didn't take them. At his age you're either a consistent senior player or your gone. It's as simple as that. Time for Setanta, Hartlett and Deluca to shop us what they've got.

Brett's career has been finished by the good form of Bentick, and with Blackers and Murphy to come into the side it's time to say goodbye to Johnson.

The only disappointment I have is that Davies is still on the list for another year.

Theres still a chance for him to be delisted before the 2nd lodgement of the list though. My guess is that they haven't done their full delistings now because they're uncertain of the futures of Campo and Lappin.

Have respect for Morrell and Johnson but they had to go. They wouldn't get a game at most other clubs. All the best to them.

As for Carl Norman, sure he made some mistakes we all know about, but he's a kid from the country, 23 this year, closer to 20 when all the stuff with Angwin was going down. He has athleticism and knows how to play football, period. He's not running for Parliament..... He didn't get a chance this year or last year. With our depleted backline I'm disappointed he's going. I too am a little frustrated with Pagans box of favourites. I'd pick Norman over Prendagast, Teague and Deluca at CHB any day. he will come back to haunt us when he fills out into a 100kg 190cm backman. My tip is Essendon will pick him up and Sheedy will rub our noses in it.....

I say those three players delisted will probably offer more to you then some other players on your list.

D Morrell is a handy tall either forward or back and could be important if lance or fev got injured for you.
B Johnson I've watched him closely since leaving Hawks and he played a ripper against us when you knocked us off earlier in the season, surprised he got the chop.
K Normal very talented, but he doesn't put in, you've done all you could with him, it's his own fault.

Weird choices.

They where always going to be close but I thought they might keep Johnson just because of his age and ability to win the ball. The fact they got rid of him, goes to show Carlton feels that spot will be well enough filled with Bentick, Murphy and Blackwell.

Digby would be a good fit for the Bulldogs, even if he played most of the games at Werribee.

The Bannister thing is baffling. I guess he's Saddington insurance and Pro-Tagger material.

stokesy said:
I would have thought the likes of Bannister would be first to go before Morrell and Johnson... Maybe Pagan seen what Bannister did in the backline in the VFL final against Tassie :eek:

He was already contracted for next year.

I find it very amusing that the Carlton Footy club tries to show it's moral strength by delisting Norman and Angwin last year. From the top down they would have to be one of the weakest clubs for moral strength.

Our leaders are very emotionally weak and the culture of the club is shocking. They did very little for hard cases like Carl and Laurie but by sacking them try to give off a clean and strong stance. Real strength would have been to keep these guys and really put some work in to them. To not take the easy option.

They knew these guys had problems yet they took them on because they had superior talent to most others. However they hoped that God would wave a magic stick and cure them. This was never going to happen. If they wanted them to level out and become great players they needed to put the hard yards in with them.

The Carlton footy club will not reach it's potential until the leaders stop looking for scapegoats and have a long hard look at themselves. At least it looks like one of the weakest is leaving in Campo.

pumped said:
They knew these guys had problems yet they took them on because they had superior talent to most others. However they hoped that God would wave a magic stick and cure them. This was never going to happen. If they wanted them to level out and become great players they needed to put the hard yards in with them.
Okay, is anybody here close enough to the club to know exactly what work was done with them? I know Angwin had somebody guiding him almost exclusively but it didn't work. Col Kinnear I think it was. Norman stayed on for two seasons longer so I don't think he was completely left to his own devices.

The club are hardly going to tell the football public is they have a player undergoing counselling and are contacting him regularly to see how he is travelling in his spare time. What are these hard yards the club should have put in and how much is the player responsible for the choices he makes?

I didn't realise the Carlton Football Club was a branch of the Salvation Army there comes a time when enough is enough it was time for Karl to go.

I seriously doubt Karl,Digby or Brett will be picked up by other clubs a combined 26 games in the bottom club.

Digby & Brett already discarded by Hawks & Kangaroos & Karl too many off field troubles.

We need to rebuild with youth.

i really wanted to see karl norman succeed. but his football went completely backwards this year and the fact he couldn't even crack a game in our pi.ss poor defence showed he was in for the chop. alot of people say he has the talent but to me he just an average player with an ordinary attitude.

digby for a big bloke was unfortunately way too soft and inconsistent. i only really ever saw him play one decent game for us and that was against the bombers last year towards the end of the year when he played a roaming roll across the centre. i'm glad he has gone.

b.johnson was a dead set goer and appeared to be a hell of a nice fellow but hardly the type to build a team around.

as for bannister he was saved by some outstanding games he played in key defensive roles in the vfl during the finals. he really was good and showed there could be hope for him next year down back. he has the strength and pace to play on the third tall? in fact he could be a better option than teague who i believe was lucky not to be given his marching orders.

deluxeman said:
http://carltonfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=234011

Becker and Pleming also cut from rookie list.

With addition of Setanta, Saddo, Pick 1, 4, 20, 36 and PSD 1 (maybe also Pick 68), Carlton will beed to Cut at least 3-4 more players. I think they will probably be Bannister, Davies, Wiggins and Campo depending on who we pick up in the draft.

A couple of our hacks could be saved though with the walking out of Campo and potentially LAppin.
how did you come to 3 or 4 more delistings?

we have already let go
clarke = o'halpin
bowyer = saddington
norman = psd pick 1
johnson = pick 1
morell = pick 4
campo = pick 20

this would leave 1 pick for selection 36
and maybe a 2nd player for pick 68, but with people saying its a shallow draft its unlikely we will use pick 68

You dont know what goes on in the inner sanctums of a footy Club.....most blokes got a good chance towards the end of they year, though Norman got nothing. Obviously he wasnt in the good books.

Fair to say that no matter who we cut out of davies sporn wiggins banister clarke prenda digby johnson there would be a few people who like one and hate the others. Thing is it had to be done and no doubt the coaches would have sat down with and made up a team or squad and these were the blokes who couldnt quite fit in.

Carlton have too many border line players and I'll be happy with whoever goes aslong as they ARE border line players!

bibi01 said:
how did you come to 3 or 4 more delistings?

we have already let go
clarke = o'halpin
bowyer = saddington
norman = psd pick 1
johnson = pick 1
morell = pick 4
campo = pick 20

this would leave 1 pick for selection 36
and maybe a 2nd player for pick 68, but with people saying its a shallow draft its unlikely we will use pick 68

Because in my opinion, Carlton should delist hacks like Wiggins, Bannister and PRenda and take a punt on youth with Pick 36, 68 and maybe even a second Pick in the PSD. I just don't see the point in keeping hacks that cannot crack a game in the worst side in the competition.

Also maybe Jesse Smith could get a promotion which I wouldn't mind to see.

deluxeman said:
Because in my opinion, Carlton should delist hacks like Wiggins, Bannister and PRenda and take a punt on youth with Pick 36, 68 and maybe even a second Pick in the PSD. I just don't see the point in keeping hacks that cannot crack a game in the worst side in the competition.

Also maybe Jesse Smith could get a promotion which I wouldn't mind to see.

Some of the guff that has been posted here is laughable. Angwin needed help and so did Karl and Carlton did nothing? Perhaps we should be the Salvation Army or Red Cross. Run a soup kitchen or build a church or something.
They are here to play football. Angwin is a criminal and a liar and whatever else you care to name. He had his chances in Adelaide and at Carlton.
Karl did not have the desire to improve himslelf. It was a risk and it did not work.

It seems some people here have no idea about how list mangement works.
If you delist all the duds this year you will achieve the following things.

- Contracts will have to be paid out to quite a few players. Money is very tight. Why do you think new facilities, assistant coaches and the like are not being brought in?
You want the club to go to the AFL and ask for money? Lose Big 4 Status, blockbusters, become at risk for reloaction etc....Ron Evans and Vlad would just love that. To turn the screws a little more.

- Draftees get a 2 year contract. So that means if we delist every single fringe player and replace them with a draftee what are we going to do next year in the superdraft?
We wont be able to fill our list then in the better draft. Also have to pay out more contracts next year to craete spaces.

So according to some people here Carlton should become the

- Salvation Army
- Bankrupt and insolvent.

Nice work.

What sort of player do you think we will get with our 2nd pick in the PSD a decent player I think not.

The Mighty Bombers are talking about Chris Heffernan please.

Better to keep Wiggo at least he has a go.

mojo31 said:
It seems some people here have no idea about how list mangement works.
If you delist all the duds this year you will achieve the following things.

- Contracts will have to be paid out to quite a few players. Money is very tight. Why do you think new facilities, assistant coaches and the like are not being brought in?
You want the club to go to the AFL and ask for money? Lose Big 4 Status, blockbusters, become at risk for reloaction etc....Ron Evans and Vlad would just love that. To turn the screws a little more.

- Draftees get a 2 year contract. So that means if we delist every single fringe player and replace them with a draftee what are we going to do next year in the superdraft?
We wont be able to fill our list then in the better draft. Also have to pay out more contracts next year to craete spaces.

I am not saying delist all our duds this year but frankly Carlton have so far only delisted 5 players and if the only player to go is Campo, then Carlton simply are not doing enough.

If we delisted three more duds this year there would still be plenty to delist by the end of the next year. Surely the following players would not be around by the end of 2006 barring a huge change of form: Prenda, Bannister, DAvies, Wiggins, Longmuir, Chambers, Campo. Then there are also players such as Sporn and Livo who are on their last chances next year and also it could well be Kouta's last year.

Delisting a further 2-3 players this year leaves us with at least 5-6 players to go next year which is more than enough for the draft.

Can someone explain to me how our current list comes under the 35 players lodgement rule, on Oct 31? Do International Rookies not count? And if so I thought Setanta was going to the Senior List. With the 38 player senior list restriction (If Second/Third Year International Rookies don't count,) that means either Setanta is staying as a rookie, Lappin is gone or we're passing on Pick 36. The other option is they may have to cut another senior player if Lappin re-signs.

Please help :confused:

1. Jordan Bannister
2. Adam Bentick
3. Eddie Betts
4. Luke Blackwell
5. Chris Bryan
6. Andrew Carrazzo
7. Callum Chambers
8. Justin Davies
9. Adrian DeLuca
10. Brendan Fevola
11. Brad Fisher
12. Barnaby French
13. Adam Hartlett
14. Ryan Houlihan
15. Anthony Koutoufides
16. Matthew Lappin (?)
17. Luke Livingston
18. Troy Longmuir
19. Cory McGrath
20. Setanta O'hAilpin (?)
21. Ian Prendergast
22. Anthony Raso
23. Jordan Russell
24. Jason Saddington
25. Heath Scotland
26. Kade Simpson
27. Trent Sporn
28. Nick Stevens
29. David Teague
30. Bret Thornton
31. Jarrad Waite
32. Andrew Walker
33. Lance Whitnall
34. Simon Wiggins

Rookie List
35. Daniel Batson
36. Jesse .D. Smith
37. Aisake O'hAilpin

deluxeman said:
I am not saying delist all our duds this year but frankly Carlton have so far only delisted 5 players and if the only player to go is Campo, then Carlton simply are not doing enough.

If we delisted three more duds this year there would still be plenty to delist by the end of the next year. Surely the following players would not be around by the end of 2006 barring a huge change of form: Prenda, Bannister, DAvies, Wiggins, Longmuir, Chambers, Campo. Then there are also players such as Sporn and Livo who are on their last chances next year and also it could well be Kouta's last year.

Delisting a further 2-3 players this year leaves us with at least 5-6 players to go next year which is more than enough for the draft.

Next year's draft is expected to be a lot beter than this year's so it's more likely there'll be more delistings next year. As noted above, if we draft too many this year they will have to remain on the list for 2 years & we won't be able to draft as many next year. I'd add Fev & maybe Whitnall as on their last chance & possibly to be traded for draft picks next year.

BlueWorld said:
Because Wiggins applies himself, Norman doesn't. Why do you think he spent most of the year in the VFL?

Read this: http://carltonfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=234011

“Brett and Digby have certainly made a significant contribution to the Carlton Football Club, both on and off the field, since joining Carlton in late 2003."

Interesting how Karl doesn't get included there!

Doesnt matter how much he applies himself. A dud is a dud.

blues4flag said:
Would have liked to keep Johnson, dont think Morrel is a required player and Norman just doesn't try.

Good riddance to Johnson as well. He can certainly find the ball, but what's he ever done with it... Carlton needs to make the tough calls and get rid of the dead wood. Remember how many players Parko got rid of when he cam on board in 91? It was a mass cleanout and we won a flag within 4 years!

Verbeek said:
Good riddance to Johnson as well. He can certainly find the ball, but what's he ever done with it... Carlton needs to make the tough calls and get rid of the dead wood. Remember how many players Parko got rid of when he cam on board in 91? It was a mass cleanout and we won a flag within 4 years!

Yes but Parkin had a spine containing Kernahan and Silvagni.....and a chequebook to go recruit diesel. you can hardly compare the two situations

Bluemike said:
Yes but Parkin had a spine containing Kernahan and Silvagni.....and a chequebook to go recruit diesel. you can hardly compare the two situations

That is fair enough but what I'm getting at is that a major clean-up should make us more competitive, without us relying on the scraps of other clubs. There was a time not too long ago when Carlton was the team everyone wanted to play for... Now were a laughing stock because of the hacks we pick up!

OZBomb said:
Can someone explain to me how our current list comes under the 35 players lodgement rule, on Oct 31? Do International Rookies not count? And if so I thought Setanta was going to the Senior List. With the 38 player senior list restriction (If Second/Third Year International Rookies don't count,) that means either Setanta is staying as a rookie, Lappin is gone or we're passing on Pick 36. The other option is they may have to cut another senior player if Lappin re-signs.

Please help :confused:

1. Jordan Bannister
2. Adam Bentick
3. Eddie Betts
4. Luke Blackwell
5. Chris Bryan
6. Andrew Carrazzo
7. Callum Chambers
8. Justin Davies
9. Adrian DeLuca
10. Brendan Fevola
11. Brad Fisher
12. Barnaby French
13. Adam Hartlett
14. Ryan Houlihan
15. Anthony Koutoufides
16. Matthew Lappin (?)
17. Luke Livingston
18. Troy Longmuir
19. Cory McGrath
20. Setanta O'hAilpin (?)
21. Ian Prendergast
22. Anthony Raso
23. Jordan Russell
24. Jason Saddington
25. Heath Scotland
26. Kade Simpson
27. Trent Sporn
28. Nick Stevens
29. David Teague
30. Bret Thornton
31. Jarrad Waite
32. Andrew Walker
33. Lance Whitnall
34. Simon Wiggins

Rookie List
35. Daniel Batson
36. Jesse .D. Smith
37. Aisake O'hAilpin

all depends on lappin-
lappin stays we delist 1
lappin goes we delist 0
most likely we will only use picks: 1-4-20-36-PSD

we have till mid Nov to convince lappin to stay- Uncontracted listed players nominate by 2pm Tuesday, November 29

rookies do not count in the 35 player rule unless they have been promoted

Carlton Delistings