Carlton in the Media (articles, podcasts etc) - Part 2 (cont. in Part 3)

Looking forward to the Lloyd article in tomorrow's HS...!

Came across his article earlier today.

Some parts of it really made sense such as who the blues should persist with moving forward (Not Thomas, Casboult, White, etc.). But it also told me how far he has his head up the arse of Champion Data.

'This player is slightly below average, therefore he isn't a good player and this player is above average, so he is a good player'.

Regardless my disliking of him remains. His anti-Carlton behaviour still hides within his work (I just know it).

**** him. have a look at your own club to see how far they have fallen. filthy drug cheats who at least had the AFL on their side. Not crucified like we were

Fair whack that

I agree the pre season games have been concerning but to me that's more because we haven't appeared to have much system which is more coach driven than just saying our list is poo

But outside of that I think it's disappointing he didn't mention that maybe just maybe the recruitment of older types like Silvagni is due to a need to protect the kids. We have one of the youngest lists now, he didn't mention that either

Thomas was not under BB or SSs watch

Plowman has been OK not under average

Lamb, Gorringe were superfluous pick ups and we didn't spend much to get them

Phillips looked more than OK last year IMO

Palmer we got with pick 1,034,080 so no kid taken there would likely offer much and again we need to protect the kids

Smedts looks more than OK

The other thing is kids like Smedts, Sumner and Pickett have talent but have been injured, but ML makes no reference to the strategy of paying relatively low for potential goldmines, which extends to the GWS pick ups

Matt should focus less on stats and more on potential. We've got a lot of good kids at the club, more than at anytime in our recent history - it's about latent potential, so it's a shame ML doesn't paint his article that way, and by not doing that he ignores SOS' list strategy

He just focusses negatively on the fact that as we are young we have few elite players, like duh Matt!!

I mean seriously, Pickett and Marchbank look like serious talents and we got them cheap as a bundle

And SPS and Charlie should be great pick ups

We've added some seriously good young talent to the list in two years under SOS

But No we have few stars and we've got too many rehashed duds so it's all doom

Lloyd just wants to kick Carlton when we are down. Article is bias. Obviously there some truths in what he said but he wrote this stir people up and get attention before round one.

B Plowman, Macreadie, Docherty
HB Byrne, Marchbank, Buckley
C Smedts, Cripps, SPS
R Phillips, C.Curnow , Cuningham
HF Polson, McKay, Sumner
F Silvagni, Weitering, Pickett

INT Fisher,

All above are what you'd call young

We've already got a starting 18

Yeah it's all doom Matthew you Essendon flog

You can add LeBois Williamson (maybe G-mac & Kerr) to that list as well. Add another 12-15 kids and some good FA's to that list over the next 2 seasons. Looks very good to me and that's not including Murphy Gibbs Wright Kruezer & Simpson who have a few years in them yet

The problem with CD is that it tells you where you have been, not where you are going.

I would like some genius in the media to explain why Carlton will be a worse team this year compared to last year. May not win as many games but I don't think we will be worse.

Edit Didn't he tip us to finish 18 last year?

You can add LeBois Williamson (maybe G-mac & Kerr) to that list as well. Add another 12-15 kids and some good FA's to that list over the next 2 seasons. Looks very good to me and that's not including Murphy Gibbs Wright Kruezer & Simpson who have a few years in them yet

I am mostly only citing kids I have seen play. Yes Lebois and Williamson have played a game, and Macreadie has also played and I named him, but I just saw something in the latter, whereas the other two to my eye are more speculative.

I'm just highlighting how narrow minded an article the Lloyd one is. Macreadie will be an absolute star. Looks like last year was just an unhappy kid in Sydney and will realise the potential he had showed earlier. SPS will be a star as will Marchbank, Pickett, Charlie, McKay & Silvagni. There is genuine potential in the others and we aren't just talking about 1 or 2 we have multiple options.

It is a rebuild and it has been as good a start as anyone could hope for.

Perhaps I could ask Lloyd for his counterfactual?

Which players that we delisted in the last two years would he have kept?

Are the Kerridge vs Menzel, Yarran vs 19 trades looking terrible?

Touhy is the only player to have left that makes the team worse. What was the alternative to this trade that Lloyd would have made.

Who were his other alternative trades? Gibbs we need this year due to lack of midfield depth.

We are where we are due to decisions being made prior to SOS and Bolton.

I would have liked Steele, WHE and Hvorat to get to Carlton but those trades were not to be.

That being said Weitering is not who I want to see playing forward and without acquiring a decent forward next year I will begin to lose faith in the rebuild. I struggle to see if finishing in the bottom two this year

The only reason the Herald Sun would ask Matthew Lloyd to write an article about Carlton is to wind Carlton people up and pander to those that hate us.

It's written for those with knives sharpened who don't want to hear of any ideas that conflict with their view of us. Ie: they drafted poorly, they have too many on the board blah, blah, blah. Just regurgitated/re-heated nonsense to be lapped up by the masses.

It's written for those who want their opinion that we're shit and will be shit forever to be 'confirmed.'

Why on earth anyone would expect any optimism, reason or impartiality from Lloyd when it comes to Carlton i don't know.

His opinion is completely irrelevant and his argument poorly articulated to account for growth and improvement. No one in the media can see more than 5 seconds ahead or behind what has just happened, so it should come as no surprise that Matthew Lloyd can't possibly fathom the size of the task confronting the club and what Silvagni and Bolton have to do to make us right. We're not a shake and bake Club, "Lordo," there isn't a quick fix...

You know what would've been a better article? Not 'why Carlton are shit Ha Ha Ha!' but rather, 'why Carlton has pause for optimism.'

It's that idea of modern cynicism, isn't it? Why is a click bait article promising "the 10 most overrated..." better than one giving us "the 10 most underrated..."?

Because Lloydy and the imbeciles who lap this shit up aren't interested in the long term, they all suffer from chronic shortsightedness and an inability to perceive of, let alone see, the bigger picture.

I just read the Lloyd article and some of the points made are valid. Nothing offensive in my opinion and certainly no need to get offended.

We all know it's a long road back and Carlton won't be competitive until skills improve right across the board, more talent is injected into the list, list cloggers are removed and the high draft picks from the last 2 years get 50+ games under their belt.

There is nothing mysterious about it.

I just read the Lloyd article and some of the points made are valid. Nothing offensive in my opinion and certainly no need to get offended.

We all know it's a long road back and Carlton won't be competitive until skills improve right across the board, more talent is injected into the list, list cloggers are removed and the high draft picks from the last 2 years get 50+ games under their belt.

The whole premise of the article is that we haven't rebuilt properly and brought in too many list clogging players, citing some from when Malthouse was in charge and SOS wasn't list manager.

Therefore, the whole foundation of his argument is incorrect. Our list rebuild started when we brought in a new coach and list manager who set about shaping the team from scratch. You can't argue a team hadn't embraced a proper rebuild when they have turned over almost 30 players in two years. You similarly can't fault them for bringing recycled players in when they change that many; the only other option is picking almost ten players in each ND which i would argue is the opposite to taking a rebuild seriously and just grasping at straws.

I remember when Matty Lloyd used to come into South Melb Coles when I was store manager back then ... he was that illiterate we coughed up a staff member to shop with him. True ****ing story.

The other thing is kids like Smedts, Sumner and Pickett have talent but have been injured, but ML makes no reference to the strategy of paying relatively low for potential goldmines, which extends to the GWS pick ups
Loving your work lately, 81. Think we may have danced early in your career but you tell it like it is which makes for good reading. Just go easy on the 'kids' usage I reckon. These blokes are grown men. I understand you are referring to their youthfulness with regard to games played etc but misusing this terminology is one reason sports people - particularly men - justify misdemeanors and poor behaviour. Grown men make choices they are quite capable of making. Keep up the good work - agreeing with me is always the best way to do that. :thumbsu:

I remember when Matty Lloyd used to come into South Melb Coles when I was store manager back then ... he was that illiterate we coughed up a staff member to shop with him. True ******* story.
that's garbage you idiot.......

too much sense is barely enough, bronzewailer........

I agree there was a lot he said that was correct by did laugh at how he cited Brisbane doing the right thing in blooding Scache and Hipwood but then said we aren't playing the youngsters- even though we debuted Weitering , Curnow , Silvagni and Cunningham last year.

I think he has some valid points but his opinion on Plowman is a bit baffling, he showed enough last year to suggest he will be a long term player. He needs to proof read his work a bit better. According to Loyd the scrutiny will be on SOS if his obsession with fringe GWS players such as Plowman, Pickett, Phillips or Sumner DOES find a 150 game player among them. So finding a 150 game player is a bad thing? Or does he mean does not find one?

Loving your work lately, 81. Think we may have danced early in your career but you tell it like it is which makes for good reading. Just go easy on the 'kids' usage I reckon. These blokes are grown men. I understand you are referring to their youthfulness with regard to games played etc but misusing this terminology is one reason sports people - particularly men - justify misdemeanors and poor behaviour. Grown men make choices they are quite capable of making. Keep up the good work - agreeing with me is always the best way to do that. :thumbsu:

You're a weirdo mate, and I mean that from the bottom of my heart