List Mgmt. Carlton's 2019 Draft Thread

"In one foul swoop, the Blues added significant depth and quality in all areas of the ground: and that was just with two picks."

"......one foul swoop........
"...........who writes this stuff?

Neither you nor I, that's for damn sure!!

"In one foul swoop, the Blues added significant depth and quality in all areas of the ground: and that was just with two picks."

It wasn’t like this actually at all...

Reckon SOS got the man he wanted and not the one others may have, quite as much.
Good on him to do what he did and how he did it.

I see SOS wanting to trade back into this draft with the future second. Not the first, unless a quality first may be coming back. i.e GC's #11
He's not done yet.

Kemp looks like Mike Patton.

We get a Mike Patton lookalike and Faith No More announce a return to the stage, all within the space of 24hrs!! Happy Days!!

.. well a young Mike Patton .. his appearance has changed quite a lot recently. Has been feeding in a good paddock and currently dons a platted ponytail 😂 love the man.

Reckon SOS got the man he wanted and not the one others may have, quite as much.
Good on him to do what he did and how he did it.

I see SOS wanting to trade back into this draft with the future second. Not the first, unless a quality first may be coming back. i.e GC's #11
He's not done yet.
In hindsight I do wonder if we’d been better off holding the #22 and not trading up the two spots. Might have been some very good offers coming in overnight (likely future picks). Then we could trade back in a bit later (possibly by combining future second/third).

It probably doesn’t matter in the end but it will be interesting to see what happens with this first pick tonight.

Could have been even worse, they could have written it as 'fowl' but I guess they thought fowls don't swoop very well.

In hindsight I do wonder if we’d been better off holding the #22 and not trading up the two spots. Might have been some very good offers coming in overnight (likely future picks). Then we could trade back in a bit later (possibly by combining future second/third).

It probably doesn’t matter in the end but it will be interesting to see what happens with this first pick tonight.

It was an interesting trade up for 2 picks. But one thing about SOS is that he’s very definite and determined in whom he wants. Not persuaded by popular vote.

If you compare our list from 2014 to now, you’d back him in everyday.

It was an interesting trade up for 2 picks. But one thing about SOS is that he’s very definite and determined in whom he wants. Not persuaded by popular vote.

If you compare our list from 2014 to now, you’d back him in everyday.

Agreed, at least with SOS you know he has explored every possibility given his creative approach to pick swaps etc.

Failed bids!

When Richmond did it they were "testing the waters".....

Richmond tested the waters before landing their big catch at the AFL draft.

They used pick number to recruit small forward Daniel Rioli, the great nephew of Tigers legend Maurice and the nephew of Hawthorn star Cyril.

Last edited by a moderator:

fell, freaking fell or is it fowl

Yep. This phrase stood out screaming at me too. It's definitely meant to be "fell". It's hard to imagine that there was anything "foul" about our drafting activities. Let's not be too hard on Cristian Filippo for making this mistake (which I'm guessing isn't uncommon, though more likely to be spelt out as" fowl"). I can't say the same for Carlton Media's editing department - this should have been picked up before publication.

P.S. Off my hi hoarse now

P.P.S. You little ripper SOS! You're even more of a legend today in my eyes

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Just another thought bubble (apologies if someone else has already posted similar - haven't had time to read the whole thread).....SOS trading up with Port means we've taken 2 first round picks in 2019. We now have the latitude to trade out of the first round for the next 3 years and not be in breach of AFL rules.

If we'd kept our original pick (or picks 17 and 22), we'd only have taken one 1st rounder, so still need to take a 1st over the next few years which restricts trading options. Moving 22 to 20 means we can now trade firsts for 3 years without any restrictions.

Not sure if this was intentional, but a handy by-product of the deals.

Reckon we knew (or at least very strongly suspected) that Geelong were taking De Koning. Makes a tonne of sense given he was rated thereabouts, and they were keen to trade up for McAsey but missed out. Alternatively, there were two players still available at that point in time that we were happy to take, and weren't fussed which. Ie. Carlton happy to take Philp (preferred) or Dow. Trade up to 20 while 19 is still pending, knowing that we'd get one of the two.

So the suggestions earlier in the thread that we wanted De Koning and made a basic error in trading too early don't hold water for me. Only have to look at the footage from last year's draft when Adelaide were trying to get us to commit to the pick swap early and SOS laughed them off, saying we'd only do the trade if our player was on the board at that pick - SOS knows what he's doing with this stuff.

Also saw some comments about how SOS was on the phone while we were deliberating about Pick 20, and that people interpreted that as him missing SDK and having to revise plans. Not sure why people assume that if SOS is on the phone it's because he's chasing a trade with someone....other clubs were able to call us. Might have even been Richmond saying "Don't you ****ing dare".

I was dissappointed we didn't have a second round pick this year, turns out what we ended up having was better. Really good stuff getting a potential star where we did plus another player with bucket loads of potential and Stocker last year for one first round pick.

Really like live trading, I think the clubs would as well, I think there are a lot of situations where some clubs want a really high pick to use (because they are chasing key players) and others want a couple of highish picks to pick (because they want to fillin the gaps with good talent). Helping clubs get what they need.

This probably spells bad news for at least one of our guys training with us such as Webb and DeLuca.

I think we are one of many clubs who will be happy walking away with a result that is a good one for the club. Get Martin into the club we're going to be really high on the list of teams with first round draft picks on the list now!

I'm more interested in your thoughts on Philp, I obviously did not get to watch a lot of him, but his testing results were impressive. The finish to the season looked promising, so certainly is an upside pick. I don't mind players that improve in their draft year, always a nice forward projection.
Another annoying selection as I had him rated at exactly 20 in early November and changed my mind a bit lol

So he is one I liked from last year and it was as that inside mid, to me he look liked Tom Green lite with his ability to win clearances and release to his teammates. He is a player I thought was very stiff not to make Metro selection at the time much like Ross was last year and just re affirmed to me I should really stick to my guns sometimes.

His skills can be lacking at times especially by foot but he really does excel at winning clearances and bursting from stoppages, tackles well and can even go forward and take a mark.

The thing that really impressed me was in his last game in the first final, there was a boundary throw in inside 50 and the Knights best forward is D’Intinosante but he is a rookie prospect at best and you would think in a situation inside 50 that the more highly touted Philp would be wanting to win the clearance and kick the goal but what he did was identify his teammate as the most dangerous option and payed a fantastic block which you guessed it led to a goal to D’Intinosante.

So this showed not only his footy smarts but also his ability to play team footy and despite having the skill set and many players in his position wanting to show off and kick a goal he did the team thing that turned out for the best in that situation.

Robertson has me stumped, I see him as a Neale clone

Rivers is another, kid that can play all over the park, with the way he reads the play/pill and elite by foot. Still see him as a top 10 prospect

Taylor on talent alone is also a 1st rounder, if he gets his head straight, motivated and committed, could become the most dynamic/dangerous player of this draft

Get the feeling we will use next year's pick/s to trade back into this draft

Agreed - got a feeling we want one more pick inside 30. Pending other trades, I think we might have North Melbourne on speed dial tonight, looking to snaffle one of 28, 29 or 32. They have an extra 1st and 4th rounder next year (both tied to Melbourne), but nothing in the second and third round. Future third and 43 for 32, or maybe our future second and 43 for 29 and 48.

Robertson has me stumped, I see him as a Neale clone

Rivers is another, kid that can play all over the park, with the way he reads the play/pill and elite by foot. Still see him as a top 10 prospect

Taylor on talent alone is also a 1st rounder, if he gets his head straight, motivated and committed, could become the most dynamic/dangerous player of this draft

Lachie Neale went at 58 in his draft, so you could be on to something ;)

List Mgmt. Carlton's 2019 Draft Thread