List Mgmt. Carlton's 2020 Draft Thread

Carroll is a great pick, Durdin was way too early for my liking

Club suggested it wanted a developing KPD, a midfielder and a small forward

Club selected 2 midfielders

Rest of the off season will be interesting
Tipping Durdin to play 10 or so games next year and quell his doubters. There's things he isn't great at as there is any player but there are things he is great at, and those things are the reason we picked him up. He's no Troy Menzel.

Have Betts, Fisher, Gibbons and Fogarty fighting for spots as it is. Will be doing well just to get a game I'd have thought.

We only have one list spot left.

So it's either a DFA/SSP selection before the year starts, or we hold the spot open, save some dollars, and take a pick in the mid-season draft.

I'm hoping that the recruitment of Parks might put a line through Moore as a short-term stopgap.

Doc, Jones, Plowman
Saad, Weitering, Williamson
Walsh, Setterfield, Newnes
TDK, Cripps, Williams
Martin, Curnow, Fisher
Betts, McKay, McGovern
I/C: Curnow, Murphy, Silvagni, SPS

Newman, Parks, Ramsay
Cottrell, Marchbank, Kemp
Gibbons, Stocker, O'Brien
Pittonet, Dow, Philp
Cuningham, Kennedy, Fogarty
Durdin, Casboult, Honey
I/C: Carroll

Looking at it though - a mature depth tall who can play at either end may still be a need. Not for senior games, but so we can maintain a proper structure if Pittonet, Casboult or Marchy get the call up. May depend on who we sign for our reserves side.

Sign Moore and/or Marsh to the reserves squad, and dangle the mid-season draft carrot.

Yeah just like Port Adelaide's defenders are undersized... yawn.

Two to three centimetres of heigh means nothing.
He looks like he has the athletic traits to allow him to play taller whether he can stand a KP forward I guess we will have to wait and see, at worst we have a good Marchy replacement if he can’t get his body right and with a disp eff of 83% which is very good and seems to have good penetration going by that last kick in his highlights.

He's a KPD not a medium defender.
Websites below have him listed as 189cm, unless he has grown Crippa style since?

Anyways welcome aboard Luke (Looks like he can play, just an area of least need), hope this allows Williamson to play off a wing and SPS Forward/ Mid

Websites below have him listed as 189cm, unless he has grown Crippa style since?

Anyways welcome aboard Luke (Looks like he can play, just an area of least need), hope this allows Williamson to play off a wing and SPS Forward/ Mid
1 cm taller than Tom Jonas, All Australian 40m squad key defender Tom Jonas. Not to mention our site has him at 192, 4 cm's taller than Jonas

I think Durdin will have a decent career, I just would have selected differently

On the bright side of things for Essendon, at least they'll have the second best basketball team in the league. First would be Collingwood with Scott Pendlebury. Did you know he used to play basketball? Blew my mind when I found out.

On with the show.

Hawthorn: B+
The entire recruiting team will be drunk for a week after Grainger-Barras fell into their laps. Yes, they got him because they're a terrible, terrible team with absolutely no young talent whatsoever. And yes that's entirely their fault. And yes if Grainger-Barras doesn't end up the star he probably should be they'll probably all get sacked by Kennett sooner rather than later. And yes, their club has zero chance of receiving State Government support for at least the next 20 years. But right now they've got Grainger-Barras so things are looking fantastic.

Melbourne: B
They did OK but I did a better job in the phantom. I'd ask them to give me a job but, you know, it's Melbourne and they don't pay their employees.

North Melbourne: B+
Firstly, I like Will. He'll be a very good player. Secondly kicking North while their down is a bit like celebrating another Collingwood grand final loss. We all knew it was going to happen. You tell every Collingwood supporter you knew that Collingwood we're going to choke in a massive spectacular fashion. You create memes and spread them across Facebook and post them on your work notice board. You create T-Shirts with a cartoon image of myself choking a magpie while drinking a VB.

Wait... what was I doing again?

Port Adelaide: A
So the minor premier got a player who should have been a top 10 draft pick who'll quickly slide right into their best 22. Great.

Richmond: D
Another draft, another Rioli. When was last time one of these guys was a dud and how do we get one? Juddy time to dump crazy Bek and move to the NT.

St Kilda: D
This club doesn't care about the draft anymore. This is the recruiting team who looked at Wayne Hughes' efforts at Carlton and thought "Geez, he could really pick out some absolute gems for us in the draft." Clearly drafting or identifying talent isn't their specialty.

More to come.
Oh thank you so much for that review it made me spit my coffee all over the dog, who doesn’t look impressed, you made my day great work.

Good luck to Durdin getting games ahead of Fogarty.
There's no need for doubters, because not every player can simply be a walk-up start, but the ones we recruit......mostly have the better chance.

We have a whole pre-season to play out though and anything can happen....and in our case, it often does....with injuries.
Durdin will have opportunity open to him though, as we don't have a lot of his type.

Sure. But those four have all been slated as small forwards next year so Durdin, Honey, Owies or whoever will have to overtake at least one just to be an emergency.

Even with Betts likely to play less games, I don't see Fish, Fogarty or Gibbons spending extended time in reserves behind them. Good luck to them though if they can force their way in.

There's no need for doubters, because not every player can simply be a walk-up start, but the ones we recruit......mostly have the better chance.

We have a whole pre-season to play out though and anything can happen....and in our case, it often does....with injuries.
Durdin will have opportunity open to him though, as we don't have a lot of his type.

We are starting to get that competitiveness for spots now Harks. Young, hungry, like for like players that need to impress to get the nod. This is a great place to be in.

Love how you are anointing Fogarty, ahead of other proven players, yet putting a cap on draftees

There’s obviously a reason Carroll slid to 41 but looking at his highlights package and reading the draft watcher reviews it has nothing to do with his footy.

How many times in his chat with Teague, did he thank Carlton for selecting him? I reckon he's been brought up pretty well.

One man's 'bit strange' is another's utterly ******* ridiculous...

But yes, agree. As I think I say every year, I temper all expectations with a recollection of how happy I was on that fateful night in 2010. I can recall Buckenara writing articles about how unbelievable it was that LeBois slipped to us in the rookie draft, others waxing lyrical about Clem Smith. I can recall a certain ESPN analyst deriding our selection of DeKoning in multiple posts.

Ultimately each club has selected from a bucket of nuggets. Some will grasp gold, others turds. Possibly some chicken...but the analogy loses value from that point on.

It's all cheese n biscuits after Boekhorst in the 1st Round.

My best mate still laughs about my reaction when he rang me after that draft to chat about it lol. Only time he's ever heard me wound up.

List Mgmt. Carlton's 2020 Draft Thread