I: Turner Cunners Ziebell Greenwood
Sub: Bergman

Jackson - Ziebell
Treacy/Amiss - Corr
Fyfe - Bonar
Taberner - Logue

next week mckay in for ziebell, the following week TT in for greenwood

bergman stiff but a small defender to go out for corr

Can’t believe how many good players this team has for a side that has won 8 of its last 60 games.

Guys like Bonar, Stephenson, Turner are clearly not the players they are thought of here. They shouldn’t get “1 last chance”. There’s gotta be other avenues to explore. Surely we start exploring those avenues.
What turnovers did Bonar make?

Straight off the top of my head, Miller was the chief instigator of two of our goals. Why would we ever even consider dropping him? It’s so obvious that he is only going to get better - poise, skill and tenacity.

My suggestion wasnt anything against Bergman, i actually like him and liked his game, it was more bring Corr in for matchup purposes.
My thinking was either Bergman or Goater out for Corr.

I do enjoy when preconceived notions trump actual performance in the minds of some on here. Turner dropped and Simpkin moved out of the centre square. Good grief. To ignore the performances of some lads because you have an inherent bias against them is absolute bollocks. Do I rate Turner as a player? No. Do I nevertheless understand that he played the role he was assigned on the weekend extremely well, and as such, will rightfully stay in the team? Yes. Honestly, this isn't fantasy footy. This is a proper, gritty, get-your-hands-dirty team sport. There are innumerable vital roles that are unsuited to the shiny new toy types. Please extract your heads from your asses

out: xerri (inj), scott and bergman
in: Goldy, Phillips and Corr

B: Bonar Logue McDonald
HB: Goater Corr Sheezel
C: Shiels Simpkin Powell
HF: Sleevo Comben Taylor
F: Zurhaar Larkey Curtis
R: Goldy Phillips LDU

Jackson - Ziebell
Treacy/Amiss - Corr
Fyfe - Bonar
Taberner - Logue

Corr will come in for Bergman or Ziebs (only if they have a no old timer travel policy, smart) only change. Mckay a half in VFL if fit. Why take him all the way to Perth. Phillips sub again, best way to get him back AFL fit and sub for another young player if hopefully no injuries. In later weeks TT will go to HB and Sheezel back to mid/forward to begin to fullfill his destiny, it is written. Sorry Daicos he's joining the gun mid forward club before you, a god like rare footy brain this kid has.

playing our captain and back to back syd barker medallist and proven elite centre square mid is going to cost the team

just ******* lol. you're an absolute goose mate

and for the record i love Powelly and WilPhil and have said so many times, and I hope Wardlaw is a gun, but all of them have a very ******* long way to go until they're fit to tie Jyza's bootlaces let alone relegate him from a position where he has won back to back Syds

He’s not an elite center square mid.

Far from it.

LDU is elite and I think we can all agree it’s night and day between the two how they use the ball.

Cunners was an elite center square mid.

Winning two Syds in the worst North Melbourne side in its history doesn’t hold as much weight as it clearly does for you.

I never said I want him out of the side, I just want him out of the center square. I’d even like to see him as a deep forward.

He’s one of the worst field kicks in the comp, anyone who says otherwise is just biased…

I don't think it's crazy to say you'd rather see Tom Powell running out of the centre with ball in hand than Jy Simpkin after what we saw on Saturday.

I do enjoy when preconceived notions trump actual performance in the minds of some on here. Turner dropped and Simpkin moved out of the centre square. Good grief. To ignore the performances of some lads because you have an inherent bias against them is absolute bollocks. Do I rate Turner as a player? No. Do I nevertheless understand that he played the role he was assigned on the weekend extremely well, and as such, will rightfully stay in the team? Yes. Honestly, this isn't fantasy footy. This is a proper, gritty, get-your-hands-dirty team sport. There are innumerable vital roles that are unsuited to the shiny new toy types. Please extract your heads from your asses
I’m just grateful we have these headaches… I don’t want to go back to a short list of players who stay in and a long list who shouldn’t play

Reckon a lot of it comes down to the system. Any player can look decent in a good system, especially when their strengths are played to and their weaknesses covered by others. 8 disposals and however many defensive acts he had is an ideal statline for Turner's strengths and weaknesses, for example.

It won't be as easy this week and there'll be a lot more baying for players' blood on this board when Freo belt us (sorry, I know it's pessimistic but we suck badly at Optus), but hopefully we see some of the signs this week that held us in good stead for large parts of last week's game.

Perceptions of depth can quickly be dispelled when you come up against superior opposition, so hopefully we don't lose sight of what different players can bring to the table, though no doubt the usual suspects on here will do exactly that

out: xerri (inj), scott and bergman
in: Goldy, Phillips and Corr

B: Bonar Logue McDonald
HB: Goater Corr Sheezel
C: Shiels Simpkin Powell
HF: Sleevo Comben Taylor
F: Zurhaar Larkey Curtis
R: Goldy Phillips LDU

Jackson - Ziebell
Treacy/Amiss - Corr
Fyfe - Bonar
Taberner - Logue

Mckay will be a good 4-5 weeks away

What turnovers did Bonar make?
RankPlayerTeamGamesTurnovers for Last GameTotal
13​
Luke McDonaldKangaroos
1​
7 v West Coast, Round 1
7​
154​
Bailey ScottKangaroos
1​
3 v West Coast, Round 1
3​
245​
Miller BergmanKangaroos
1​
2 v West Coast, Round 1
2​
245​
Griffin LogueKangaroos
1​
2 v West Coast, Round 1
2​
316​
Aiden BonarKangaroos
1​
1 v West Coast, Round 1
1​
316​
Kayne TurnerKangaroos
1​
1 v West Coast, Round 1
1​
7​
Tom BarrassEagles
1​
8 v North Melbourne, Round 1
8​
30​
Liam DugganEagles
1​
6 v North Melbourne, Round 1
6​
154​
Jayden HuntEagles
1​
3 v North Melbourne, Round 1
3​
154​
Shannon HurnEagles
1​
3​
154​
Jeremy McGovernEagles
1​
3​
245​
Campbell ChesserEagles
1​
2 v North Melbourne, Round 1
2​
245​
Reuben GinbeyEagles
1​
2​
245​
Jamaine JonesEagles
1​
2​
245​
Alex WitherdenEagles
1​
2​
316​
Tom ColeEagles
1​
1 v North Melbourne, Round 1
1​

RankPlayerTeamGamesTurnovers for Last GameTotal
13​
Luke McDonaldKangaroos
1​
7 v West Coast, Round 1
7​
154​
Bailey ScottKangaroos
1​
3 v West Coast, Round 1
3​
245​
Miller BergmanKangaroos
1​
2 v West Coast, Round 1
2​
245​
Griffin LogueKangaroos
1​
2 v West Coast, Round 1
2​
316​
Aiden BonarKangaroos
1​
1 v West Coast, Round 1
1​
316​
Kayne TurnerKangaroos
1​
1 v West Coast, Round 1
1​
7​
Tom BarrassEagles
1​
8 v North Melbourne, Round 1
8​
30​
Liam DugganEagles
1​
6 v North Melbourne, Round 1
6​
154​
Jayden HuntEagles
1​
3​
154​
Shannon HurnEagles
1​
3​
154​
Jeremy McGovernEagles
1​
3​
245​
Campbell ChesserEagles
1​
2​
245​
Reuben GinbeyEagles
1​
2​
245​
Jamaine JonesEagles
1​
2​
245​
Alex WitherdenEagles
1​
2​
316​
Tom ColeEagles
1​
1 v North Melbourne, Round 1
1​
1 turnover? Bahahaha is that it. What happened to turnovers. Biased confirmed.

My suggestion wasnt anything against Bergman, i actually like him and liked his game, it was more bring Corr in for matchup purposes.
My thinking was either Bergman or Goater out for Corr.

Understand that D2B. However, I just don’t concur with Bergman being the guy to make way. A fit Corr appears to have the ability to match Bonar’s output and more.

I'd like to see Bonar get a decent block of games to see if he's up to it or not so we can make a call on his future. Otherwise how are we gonna find out if he can be the next Gibson.

Brodie won't get 37 but their midfield will be a solid test for ours.

Plus Cox and Pearce would have to be up there in the best 3 or 4 KPD pairings across the comp.

And how we match up in defence will be interesting.

Maybe something like this?

Ziebs vs Fyfe - Bonar/Corr v Treacy/Amiss - Lmac v Schultz/Walters
Goater vs Switto - Logue vs Taberner - Sheezel on Frederick
My biggest concern is their mids. Those smaller zippy mid groups, that handball around and out of congestion are generally what kills us. It’s why Essendon/Dogs midfield always have a day out against us. They make us look slow & generally we get sucked in and they burn us when the ball is released.

Need to win clearances and contested ball.

Jy or Shiels to run with Brayshaw.

Clarkson will have a plan to mitigate Pearce/Cox (we won’t be able to completely) intercepting everything.

I'd like to see Bonar get a decent block of games to see if he's up to it or not so we can make a call on his future. Otherwise how are we gonna find out if he can be the next Gibson.

I just don’t think we’re at the stage where we can gift these kind of games when we actually have key defenders on the list.

If we wish to persist with Bonar as a key defender - and I don’t mean key position defender in the sense of marking the 195cm types, but rather a specialist stopper - then get him to absolutely destroy VFL level type lads before making another appearance at AFL.

Josh Gibson was a natural defender and had proven his chops through solid performances in reserves… I really don’t see any comparison to him at all.

I just don’t think we’re at the stage where we can gift these kind of games when we actually have key defenders on the list.

If we wish to persist with Bonar as a key defender - and I don’t mean key position defender in the sense of marking the 195cm types, but rather a specialist stopper - then get him to absolutely destroy VFL level type lads before making another appearance at AFL.

Josh Gibson was a natural defender and had proven his chops through solid performances in reserves… I really don’t see any comparison to him at all.
It ain’t gifting games when said player has earned their spot, which Bonar has.

You don’t rate him. Clarkson clearly does.

Just weaving together a few threads here after rewatching the game for the second time. (bloody hell its addictive!)

So Stephenson had the least TOG% of any North player against the Eagles: 66%. And honestly, after watching his game both at the ground and televised, I think its fair to say he contributed less than anyone on the squad. And that comes after a pretty lackluster set of practice games.

But lets park that for a moment.

Now conversely Simpkin had the equal highest percentage of centre bounce attendances against the Eagles - 79% - while Powell only had 18%.

I wouldn't consider it the end of the world if Simpkin's onball time was reduced by say 20% against the Dockers, so he could pinch hit at HFF, and we could pump up Powell's onball time accordingly. Powell deserves the confidence after a couple of great games.

If Clarko did that, and got Sheezel to pinch hit in his old position every now and again, I think it'd free up the forward mix enough to drop Stephenson back to 2s to regain some mojo.

That'd free up a spot for Corr, whose presence is surely required to deal with the not insignificant issue of how bloody tall Freo's forward line is.

Just weaving together a few threads here after rewatching the game for the second time. (bloody hell its addictive!)

So Stephenson had the least TOG% of any North player against the Eagles: 66%. And honestly, after watching his game both at the ground and televised, I think its fair to say he contributed less than anyone on the squad. And that comes after a pretty lackluster set of practice games.

Now conversely Simpkin had the equal highest percentage of centre bounce attendances against the Eagles - 79% - while Powell only had 18%.

I wouldn't consider it the end of the world if Simpkin's onball time was reduced by say 20% against the Dockers, so he could pinch hit at HFF, and we could pump up Powell's onball time accordingly. Powell deserves the confidence after a couple of great games.

If Clarko did that, and got Sheezel to pinch hit in his old position every now and again, I think it'd free up the forward mix enough to drop Stephenson back to 2s to regain some mojo.

That'd free up a spot for Corr, whose presence is surely required to deal with the not insignificant issue of how bloody tall Freo's forward line is.
Where did Powell usually start centre bounces?

Only issue with this is how easily Powell and Phillips were pushed around by mature Dogs mids during that practise game. Jy's becoming a solid, hard player now, maybe an extra 10% so 69% and 28% for powell would work and not leave us to get smashed around the contest.

Is 18% CBA an issue? Powell was everywhere while we were on top. I've often thought to myself that he's a weird hybrid type of midfielder. Not that quick, but definitely doesn't belong on the bottom of packs feeding the ball out. He's the guy you want in the middle of the chain. I reckon it's likely that Clarko and co. have found their ideal setup for Powell so that he gets plenty of involvement but at the same time doesn't waste his talents as an inside feeder. Also reckon Jy offers more of a defensive presence in the middle, a trait of his which goes unnoticed at times on here.

I like the idea, but I reckon you're overstating the importance of the CBA stat. Anyway, we'll see. Freo's midfield are an entirely different proposition to Kelly, Shuey and a blond 18 year old

Unofficial Preview Changes for next week vs @Freo