Preview Changes & Preview Thread for Round 4, 2025 vs St Kilda @ Adelaide Oval - Play at Your Own Risk

Marshall, Georgiades, Jonas, Clurey, Lobbe, Westhoff, Carlile, Howard, Trengove. That’s 9 solid players, maybe not of the same calibre as those at Geelong but played a good number of afl games. Pettigrew, Chaplin, Brogan all finished up in 2011/12 - also notched over 100 games each. Ladhams was given a solid crack before moving on - but I suppose port damaged him so badly that not even Sydney could get him to be a good player…

We’ve also had Alir, Ryder, Hombsch, Schulz, Dixon - all pay better footy at Port with 4 of them reaching AA squad or the team.

Geelong, in the same period, Hawkins, Neale, Ratugolea, Stewart, Kolodjashnij, Henry, O’Connor, Blicavs, SDK, Podsiadly - that’s 10 solid, reliable or much better players. Stewart and Pods being mature agers. They also traded in plenty, some good (Cameron) and some bad (Clarke) and drafted in plenty who didn’t work out.

Point is we have done alright without being elite. Port should be elite and could be better, but the suggestion we don’t develop talls is wrong.

But if you want to complain about the fairly standard and even handed treatment of a late pick KPF, feel free.
I would agree with the players you mentioned, with a couple of exceptions and one notable absentee from your list is Thurstans. But I also agree with the OP as for every success there have been several failures, especially in the early years.

Marshall, Georgiades, Jonas, Clurey, Lobbe, Westhoff, Carlile, Howard, Trengove. That’s 9 solid players, maybe not of the same calibre as those at Geelong but played a good number of afl games. Pettigrew, Chaplin, Brogan all finished up in 2011/12 - also notched over 100 games each. Ladhams was given a solid crack before moving on - but I suppose port damaged him so badly that not even Sydney could get him to be a good player…

We’ve also had Alir, Ryder, Hombsch, Schulz, Dixon - all pay better footy at Port with 4 of them reaching AA squad or the team.

Geelong, in the same period, Hawkins, Neale, Ratugolea, Stewart, Kolodjashnij, Henry, O’Connor, Blicavs, SDK, Podsiadly - that’s 10 solid, reliable or much better players. Stewart and Pods being mature agers. They also traded in plenty, some good (Cameron) and some bad (Clarke) and drafted in plenty who didn’t work out.

Point is we have done alright without being elite. Port should be elite and could be better, but the suggestion we don’t develop talls is wrong.

But if you want to complain about the fairly standard and even handed treatment of a late pick KPF, feel free.

To Clarify, Hinkley can’t or won’t develop talls and I’m not talking about mature ages, but kids.

To further clarify, none of Bassett, Brosnan, White, Morgan, Salter, Butcher, Redden to name but a few had their development stunted by Hinkley. Lack of development of talls goes way back to the very early days.

Getting Zac Butters back is such an enormous boost. He is our best player by such a massive margin. Not only is he a top 5 player in the entire comp, he takes so much of the focus from the oppo's defensive mids away from Rozee and JHF.

Slashed ticket price sales.
Bring a mate for free promo.
Still pushing the Gather Round game 1 week out.
Reducing operating hours of The Precinct.

I reckon our 60k+ membership number is going to come under some serious scrutiny in the back half of this year.

It's all smoke and mirrors.

Ok which kids hasn’t he developed?

By my reckoning Jonas, Clurey, Howard, Marshall, Geordiades - all were drafted during or immediately prior to Hinkley.

Trengove, Carlile held down key back posts for the first 5-6 years meaning it’s hard for a junior to get a gig ahead of them. Lobbe likewise in the ruck and Schulz the same up front.

Ladhams, Dante, Butcher and Lord have all gotten games too. Maybe not as many as people would have liked.

I would actually say Hinkley’s strength is his ability to speak to and engage with younger players, whilst his weakness is his ability to get older players to continue to follow him.

[emoji6][emoji6][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]" data-quote="Lighthouse End" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
To further clarify, none of Bassett, Brosnan, White, Morgan, Salter, Butcher, Redden to name but a few had their development stunted by Hinkley. Lack of development of talls goes way back to the very early days.

Butcher was killed by Hinkley, Redden was ok until his injury. Bassett , Brosnan , wrong team mate, as I do not know these names. Bassett played for the crows. White, Morgan and Salter were scrubbers and they weren’t on Hinkleys watch.

Ok which kids hasn’t he developed?

By my reckoning Jonas, Clurey, Howard, Marshall, Geordiades - all were drafted during or immediately prior to Hinkley.

Trengove, Carlile held down key back posts for the first 5-6 years meaning it’s hard for a junior to get a gig ahead of them. Lobbe likewise in the ruck and Schulz the same up front.

Ladhams, Dante, Butcher and Lord have all gotten games too. Maybe not as many as people would have liked.

I would actually say Hinkley’s strength is his ability to speak to and engage with younger players, whilst his weakness is his ability to get older players to continue to follow him.

Shulz turned into a gun, was already mature age. Trengove and Carlisle were on Williams and Primus’s watch. And Lobbe too if I remember correctly. Ladhams didn’t love daddy so he bailed. I’m glad Hinkley won’t stall Whitlock or Lords career. I’ll always remember Hinkley for trying to develop Sam Gray into a tall.

Butcher was killed by Hinkley, Redden was ok until his injury. Bassett , Brosnan , wrong team mate, as I do not know these names. Bassett played for the crows. White, Morgan and Salter were scrubbers and they weren’t on Hinkleys watch.

Scott Bassett, you ain’t a Port Supporter if you have never seen Scott Bassett sit on the bench for his entire debut game. Also, similar time Steve Brosnan played Half Back? I can’t recall him being overly tall? But played One game from memory and felt like he fell off the radar completely within 18 months?

]" data-quote="RangaInTeal" data-source="post: 0" class="bbCodeBlock bbCodeBlock--expandable bbCodeBlock--quote js-expandWatch">
Scott Bassett, you ain’t a Port Supporter if you have never seen Scott Bassett sit on the bench for his entire debut game. Also, similar time Steve Brosnan played Half Back? I can’t recall him being overly tall? But played One game from memory and felt like he fell off the radar completely within [emoji[emoji6]] months?

I’m sure they went on to play [emoji[emoji6][emoji6]][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]] games for Mt Barker.

Preview Changes & Preview Thread for Round 4, 2025 vs St Kilda @ Adelaide Oval - Play at Your Own Risk

Write your reply...