Preview Changes V Port Adelaide (team in OP, no change, Grundy, BK and Schazza emergencies)

Broomhead on the weekend got absolutely outclassed by the hawthorn midfielders. The amount of times in the first half that he got out muscled by them was very disappointing. I feel like no ones really talking about him because he's "in our best 22", but in my opinion he should go for greenwood this week.

If greenwood isn't available bring in BK- and give him a full game.

Broomhead on the weekend got absolutely outclassed by the hawthorn midfielders. The amount of times in the first half that he got out muscled by them was very disappointing. I feel like no ones really talking about him because he's "in our best 22", but in my opinion he should go for greenwood this week.

Broomy definitely needs to put on size and he even knows that, but to be fair a lot of players get out muscled by Hawthorns mids, Broomy has shown what he is capable of a couple of times this year so we need to persist with him at this stage i reckon

Broomhead shouldn't be starting in the centre circle in the first place. He plays his best as a high half forward at this stage of his career

This makes zero sense to me.
You are 5th, we are 12th.
Our last win against anyone good was in round 5. We are on a 3 game losing streak.
Home ground advantage has disappeared. We've lost 4 games at the so called "Portress".
You guys just pushed Freo away and Hawthorn.
Our players have forgotten how to kick, run, handball.
To be honest Schulz not getting rubbed out is a win for Collingwood. Jesse White is playing better at the moment.
We lost to Brisbane and Carlton FFS.

You will win. Load up.

I'd agree with you if we had beat one of Freo or Hawthorn.

My concern is we threw absolutely everything at Freo and HAwthorn and came up empty, so we may have nothing left for you guys.

The issue with this is that if you replace Broomhead because he is being out muscled, you can't really justify bringing in Kennedy for him. My main issue with Kennedy is that he is just too small and is pushed off the ball too easily.

But how long do we persist for? I actually wouldn't mind him playing on the wing, instead of the Middle. He's a good kick, and has a decent tank. I know it's gonna take us till probably the end of next year before we start seriously performing, but we definitely do lack a few mature bodies in the middle.

The issue with this is that if you replace Broomhead because he is being out muscled, you can't really justify bringing in Kennedy for him. My main issue with Kennedy is that he is just too small and is pushed off the ball too easily.

Too small? I get that he's not of the caliber of boomer Harvey, but we've barely seen a good 5-10 match streak from him. Height helps, but is not the be all and end all.
I just think Bk is much more hungrier for the footy than Broomhead.

Broomy definitely needs to put on size and he even knows that, but to be fair a lot of players get out muscled by Hawthorns mids, Broomy has shown what he is capable of a couple of times this year so we need to persist with him at this stage i reckon

Broomhead is still comes in and out of Games. He might do something great then go Missing for quite some time.

But how long do we persist for? I actually wouldn't mind him playing on the wing, instead of the Middle. He's a good kick, and has a decent tank. I know it's gonna take us till probably the end of next year before we start seriously performing, but we definitely do lack a few mature bodies in the middle.

He predominantly does play on a flank/wing. He is pretty good in the clearances too and his contested possession and tackle numbers are up this year. He's similar to Sidebottom in that he is best suited to an outside role but can go inside from time to time and have an impact.

Too small? I get that he's not of the caliber of boomer Harvey, but we've barely seen a good 5-10 match streak from him. Height helps, but is not the be all and end all.

Not just his height though, he is still quite thin and does get pushed around a bit.

Broomhead and BK are different players. BK is better in clearance situations but Broomhead is similar to Sidebottom... better on the outside.

That's simply not true, he played one full game against the lions and a half against the crows, Toovey was clearly the best against the lions
I regard Toovey as medium, despite his ability to play small if required.

Outclassed and outmuscled are too different things.
He has the skill/class, just needs to bulk up.

I know I change my mind a lot but thats okay. Just finished watching it again (god knows why, it was depressing enough being there on Friday) but I didn't mind what Maynard offered debuting against the reigning premiers on second viewing.

Out: Moore, Oxley
In: Grundy, Scharenberg (granted havent watched the VFL yet, thats next on my list for my day off)

Sub: Shaz.

Wouldn't mind being adventurous and maybe adding out Broomhead (although I don't want too) and in Greenwood moving Crisp onto the wing and Swan spending more minutes down forward, hes just so dangerous down there. Otherwise without dropping Broomy just swapping Oxley for Greenwood and moving Crisp onto the wing.

It's easy to say that someone wants the ball more when they are playing week to week at a much lower standard. The last time Broomhead got dropped he got 40 kicks and 3 goals. It's no good comparing disposal counts b/w VFL and AFL players because the standard is drastically different and they also play different roles which affects their average disposals - i.e in the VFL Broomhead plays most of the game in middle whereas in the seniors he does not play in their all that much.

What is clear though is that on exposed form across their short careers, Broomhead has been a lot better at senior level than BK.

I don't think Greenwood is even a remote chance of senior selection this week.
Has hardly played any VFL games & missed last week with soreness. He will need more time before being ready for AFL.
If there is something our selection comittee has been consistent with, it is getting blocks of VFL footy back into injured players before promoting them.
Kennedy is good to go & so is Shaz if called upon.

Broomhead shouldn't be starting in the centre circle in the first place. He plays his best as a high half forward at this stage of his career

Certainly has some size issues but I actually think he plays his best footy in the midfield. I agree wing and HFF time at senior level in his interests at this stage in his development but I thought that's where he'd being playing most of his footy with just an occasional run in the guts.

Broomhead got out muscled and your solution is BK who is smaller? Makes no sense

I think Grundy has to come back, it is certainly time to reward Ben kennedy and I think Scharenberg. The ones in the mix for me to come out would be DeGoey, Moore, Maynard, Broomhead, Oxley.

Toovey is far more versatile so will always play ahead of Sinkers. When you've got Langdon and Williams who offer as much in defence as they do in attack its hard to see where Sinclair can fit in. We know Goldsack will come in and then Brown/Frost on the talls. Again Oxley is a better option as he can play the sweeper role and push up to a wing. He's marking ability is a big strength.

I'm not a Sinclair hater but just find it hard to see where he fits in to this side with the other options that we have. It seems like the longer he is out the better player he becomes in some people's minds.

For mine I'd rather see Greenwood, Kennedy, Scharenberg and an in form Seedsman back in the side before Sinclair. It's not a knock on the bloke it's just where I rate him on our list.

Toovey can play on a larger range of opponents, but Sinclair can actuall rebound from defence. Considering this year Toovey has only really manned up on small forwards we won't be losing much by playing Sinclair.

I'm happy to answer any questions you people may have about Thursday/Adelaide.

The game day village is run by Port, and offers beer (and food) at cheaper prices than the Adelaide Oval rort. Its open waaay before the first bounce, during the game and after the game. All are welcome, and its down in the tennis courts, just to the left at the exit of the riverbank bridge. (Buyer beware of the fans bar up the top of the stairs, its an Adelaide Oval sma rort)

Well now that Varcoe is safe for this game.

In. Scharenberg

Out. Moore

I would have considered dropping Witts for Grundy but no way. The last two weeks against the best two teams he has been outstanding and so have we. If Greenwood is fit enough he comes in, he has played more than enough VFL games for someone of his quality.