Changes vs Cats

I'd be calling for changes too but I think Laidley will be loathed to promote a few kids (Davies, Ross, Warren) without having played a game this weekend. Might opt for more senior options, so I'm almost expecting Brown back. Might risk Wells/Smith, but I hope we are cautious with their injuries.

Grant and Jones deserve to be dropped but will survive the axe due to our injuries and the fact we're playing Geelong. But they should be told.

I've calmed a little and realised Jones has got enough credits to get another chance at getting a kick. And I am sure he will be told.

This is likely to be Grant's last year, so I reckon we can carry him through a bad patch in the hope that he will quickly turn it around. He's earnt that. But both in form hurts, as they give nothing defensively and are slow across the ground.

FB: Pratt Gibson Rawlings
HB: Harding Watt Simpson
C: Riggio Harris Urquhart
HF: Campbell Petrie Lower
FF: McMahon Thompson Jones
R: McIntosh Firitto Harvey
I/C: Grant Power Davies Hale

Out: Thomas
In: Davies

Match-ups:

Harding on SteveJ
Brady on Gary jr
Simpson on Chapman
Harris v Jimmy
Ling will go to Harvey
Lower V Selwood
Riggio to learn from Corey and hopefully make him work the other way.
Urquhart to run with Enright and push forward
Campbell V Wojak
Gibbo on Tommahawk
Watt on Lonagan
Pratt on Stokes

And then the blokes who will be lucky to touch it again:

Thompson due to M. Scarlett
and Jones due to Harley.

No Egan and possibly no Cam Mooney again will help, Drew is really our only hope as i dont think they can cover him if he and Hale go forward.

We're a 15% chance at best without Wells and Smith IMO but who knows, if we tackle well and can be super efficient in front of goal maybe we can get our season back on track.

I was watching last nights game down at the pub and didnt notice he was actually playing until the 3rd quarter. BUT we should not drop him.

____, I thought Power was ok tonight. I don't know Watt played on, which is a good thing, as he wasn't playing loose man. Both of them can stay.

Jones was utter garbage. Out of form is one thing, playing like a greedy, lazy w***er is another. Non-handball to Grant in the first quarter was almost droppable by itself. Shitful.

Grant is close. Still getting by on his footy smarts, but 2008 will be his last year I reckon. Struggling, but I would give him another one.

Thomas needs a run in the two's. He still finds the footy well and I think he will be a very good player in time, but he can have a run in the two's.

Out: Jones, Thomas

In: No idea, Ben Ross
Give Jones one more chance brother, desrrves it.

I've never been shy on how I feel towards Shannon Watt, but tonight he was actually quite servicible. I thought when he moved onto Bradshaw in the last he actually did quite well. So I'll lay off him this week, doesn't mean I think he will come good, because I know he will be back to his usual crapness next week.

As for Power, can't believe he actually has people on here defending him? His disposal is not that great and he prefers to peel off for an easy hanball recieve, rather than putting a block on to give his mates some time and space. Just think we are going backwards with guys like this in the team.

As for our midfield tonight as mentioned earlier they were disgraceful. Not only did they contatntly turn the ball over (when they actually got it, which wasn't often), but they allowed the Brisbane midfield all the time and space in the world. Its hard enough stopping Brown and Bradshaw when there is midfield pressure, but if theres none forget about it!

I just hope there is a vast improvement this week or the season will be over very quickly.

liegh brown isnt that bad, hes just played in the wrong position all the time, although i do agree that he wont win a prem for us

Well what position do you play him in? He's been tried in almost every one. For years the media called him our stop gap Mr Fix it. I think the reason he was continually tried in different positions is because they couldn't find one he was best suited for. If a 194cm 100kg player can't kick goals, stop them, or mark over his head, he's on borrowed time at AFL level.

FB: Pratt Gibson Rawlings
HB: Harding Watt Simpson
C: Riggio Harris Urquhart
HF: Campbell Petrie Lower
FF: McMahon Thompson Jones
R: McIntosh Firitto Harvey
I/C: Grant Power Davies Hale

Out: Thomas
In: Davies

Match-ups:

Harding on SteveJ
Brady on Gary jr
Simpson on Chapman
Harris v Jimmy
Ling will go to Harvey
Lower V Selwood
Riggio to learn from Corey and hopefully make him work the other way.
Urquhart to run with Enright and push forward
Campbell V Wojak
Gibbo on Tommahawk
Watt on Lonagan
Pratt on Stokes

And then the blokes who will be lucky to touch it again:

Thompson due to M. Scarlett
and Jones due to Harley.

No Egan and possibly no Cam Mooney again will help, Drew is really our only hope as i dont think they can cover him if he and Hale go forward.

We're a 15% chance at best without Wells and Smith IMO but who knows, if we tackle well and can be super efficient in front of goal maybe we can get our season back on track.

Yep, good read on where we are at. Watt, Power, Jones, Grant lucky to keep their spots and will come under pressure once Smith, Wells & Hansen are fit. But for now, we need their experience.

Setanta Sports is showing the game.

Cheers mate. I dunno if he has Setanta in his cable package. He always talks about EPL and A-League games live on The Soccer Channel. I'll have to ask him.

That 5.30am.......is that Eastern US Time?

Thanks again.

T'toes

Just been recalling the season thus far and think that Thomas -though servicable and magic at times - should be dropped back to get some more form. I think that Ross should be put in his stead. Hopefully this can light a fire somewhere in Thomas' ass and he can realise that- even with our long injury list can not be complacent as a small roving forward.

A big game for a young kid with only a gme or two under his belt but he will be better for it.

Sorry guys I couldn't find a Dreamteam thread on here to ask, but is Urquhart likely to retain his spot in the side for most of the year? Or is he going to struggle?

He was one of our best against the lions. With Sinclair and Smith on the injury list I cant see him being dropped in the next couple of rounds. Watch out when those players are fit again though, our rookies dont last very long.

The ones who perform do.

Agreed. If he can keep that kind of standard up as his average performance he'll play quite a few more games this year. If anything I think our youngsters performing well while senior players are out injured is a much easier way of forcing some of the chaff from the team. When Wells etc come back and Urquhart is playing well I would suggest it means a player like Brown won't be getting a place as a 7 foot tall outside midfielder. (eg only!)

Out : Thomas needs to be dropped he reminds me of a smaller version of the North Daniel Motlop., Thompson inj, Grant needs a rest.

In: Davies, Brown, Josh Smith.

Jones needs to have the forward pressure off him. Play him on a HBF

Changes vs Cats