Changes vs gws

Neither Hansen or Grima has played for several weeks now, and they couldn't realistically be match fit next week. And those calling for Levi's inclusion obviously didn't watch Werribee's game yesterday. Warren was the only North-listed player to put his hand up for possible selection against GWS. I really hope that one or both of the Delaneys plays really well this afternoon, as we must get a bit more height into the defence.

If we are picking key forwards on the basis of their ability to swing in to the backline to cover for a lack of height overlooked at the selection table, then something very, very wrong is going on.

I want forwards picked on the basis that they can give us something forward. If we need height in defence, then we should be bloody well picking a tall defender.

POTY. :thumbsu:

INS: Grima, Hansen, Black, Greenwood
OUTS: Tarrant, Mullett, Campbell, Anthony

Give Black a game, let him feast on some of the GWS defenders. Could kick a bag.

We would all agree essendons strength is NOT their midfield, and we were smashed in there tonight.
Last year we were run over by the better teams aswell, which worries me the most.
i would have greenwood in for cunnington anyday of thd week... I know what I will get for both.
If cunnington was taken pick 80 in the draft there is no way he would get a game.

Out:
(1)Tarrant (inj), (2)Anthony, (3) ???

In:
(1)Black/Pedo, (2)Greenwood, (3) Milky(based on BF player reports)/Hero(preseason work).

Possibly one of Grima/Delaney/Delaney/Hansen, if fit and raring to go.

I like anthony but some of his efforts last night were woeful, standing within arms reach of NLM twice as he kicked at goal with no effort at spoiling/tackling/pressuring.

Tarrant has played 9-10 games?
Anyone remember how long it took Drew to develop confidence as a key forward? Around 100 games?
Surely we need to back Taz in and give him some confidence in his own game?
And yet 45 mins into the season he was down back again, because of an error at the selection table.
I'm not sure if Taz will make it, but it is in our own interests to give him a crack at it.
Thought it will probably be a few weeks off for him anyway due to the hammy.

One thing is for sure, Greenwood should not play based on what he dished up yesterday for Werribee. Anyone calling for his inclusion is off their rocker.

People calling for Atley, Cunnington, Mullet etc to be dropped.. How do you ever expect them to become great players? You cant keep playing a young guy in the VFL then expect him to come in and become a superstar straight away. MAJOR overreaction. Give the kids time to play together FFS, most of them have less than 20 AFL games.

Next week will be replacement for Tarrant and Hansen to come back in if he is ready.

We would all agree essendons strength is NOT their midfield, and we were smashed in there tonight.
Last year we were run over by the better teams aswell, which worries me the most.

Would we? I wouldnt. Essendon has a great grunt midfield, especially with Watson leading the way. They have now added the outside run and class.. but any side looks good when you're getting first use.

People calling for Atley, Cunnington, Mullet etc to be dropped.. How do you ever expect them to become great players? You cant keep playing a young guy in the VFL then expect him to come in and become a superstar straight away. MAJOR overreaction. Give the kids time to play together FFS, most of them have less than 20 AFL games..

Lance Piccione would right now offer us more than Cunnington. His first full preseason and wow.... he is still terrible.

Out:Tarrant Cunnington Macmillan

In: Corey Jones Lance Piccione Jess Sinclair or Black Gibson Warren

Lance Piccione would right now offer us more than Cunnington. His first full preseason and wow.... he is still terrible.

Out:Tarrant Cunnington Macmillan

In: Corey Jones Lance Piccione Jess Sinclair or Black Gibson Warren

Oh come on, ya can't bowl slow medium half trackers and expect me to let that go through to the keeper.

Didn't we trade.....

People calling for Atley, Cunnington, Mullet etc to be dropped.. How do you ever expect them to become great players? You cant keep playing a young guy in the VFL then expect him to come in and become a superstar straight away. MAJOR overreaction. Give the kids time to play together FFS, most of them have less than 20 AFL games.

Thank Christ! Some sanity. Can't believe the drop mullet calls I'm seeing.
For two years we've cried out for blokes who can kick the ball. Give the kid a break.
And clowns saying drop spud? Wtf? Without him we would've been towelled beyond belief. He was solid as last night.
Attley courageous, tried his guts out.
Cunners was ordinary, but he had zero help and did we get 1 tap to advantage last night?
2 rucks don't work, especially one playing FB.

Il wait and see how NB go before being clear cut on who should or shouldnt come in.
But for those wanting Levi or Pedo back- you obviously didnt see their performance against Port yesterday.
Was shocking. Pathetic to say the least. No one from Weribee should be called up this week.

Going by that can only see a Hansen for Tarrant straight swap.

Bastinac and Cunnington get another go till Geelong.

My overwhelming reaction is 'it's only Rd 1, have a little patience'.

With the level of inexperience of many, for the most part, we need to keep persevering. For me, that means I'm happy to see the likes of Macmillan, Mullet, Tarrant, and Bastinac continue to get games.

And, just to be inconsistent, I have less patience with Cunnington, although I realise that technically, he's in the same camp as those above. Yes, it's his first full preseason, blah, blah, blah, but I just haven't seen enough signs to me to suggest he'll be at the levels many are hoping for. I hope I'm wrong. I had fallen for the positive comments about LA's preseason, and I might need to revert to my bleak view of him. Lazy defensively, not enough impact offensively.

And, perhaps it will be the case for Levi and Cunners, but for those who think the only way players will develop or take the next step is to keep playing them in the seniors, remember the journey of the current captain who went back, worked on his game and came back stronger. For some players this might be the way to do it (depending on their personalities, I suspect).

I tend to agree with the views re two rucks, or at least these two rucks. McIntosh needs to be more mobile for this to work. Ultimately, it would be great if Daw realised his potential, because his mobility and aggression would work better for us. It's okay for Goldy to go back and fill a hole, but not to effectively replace a backman. Regardless of whether there is one or two ruckman, he needs to take most of the taps.

We need Narni or Lachie back in down back for structure.

Out: Liam Anthony, Liam Anthony, Liam Anthony and Liam Anthony

In: Anyone that can kick the f***ing footy.

Yeah he was very ordinary at times, but the worst was when he got beaten in the marking contest and jogged next to (Dempsey?) as he slotted one from 50mtrs.All that was missing was the bum slap and "good goal mate".

I wouldn't be playing him again any time soon.

As someone would say

LA = woman.

Yeah he was very ordinary at times, but the worst was when he got beaten in the marking contest and jogged next to (Dempsey?) as he slotted one from 50mtrs.All that was missing was the bum slap and "good goal mate".

I wouldn't be playing him again any time soon.

As someone would say

LA = woman.
Remember on at least two occasions he let a contested mark situation turn into an uncontested marking situation. He's absolutely gutless, but unlike other's in the league, doesn't make up for it with any other skill.

I'd be a very happy man if I never see him in the blue and white again.

Remember on at least two occasions he let a contested mark situation turn into an uncontested marking situation. He's absolutely gutless, but unlike other's in the league, doesn't make up for it with any other skill.

I heard during the pre-season that he had worked on his defensive game but last night there were so many times I wondered what the hell he was doing. He seemed to just drift around and when he did arrive at a contest it was always when we'd already finished working it out. Not to mention he seemed to constantly lose sight of his opponents. I kept thinking "Turn around!" but what can you do....

He doesn't seem to have enough desire to really impact the contest, but it's early and I'm happy for him to have a few more chances.

For me

In: Grima, Hansen, Warren (fitness depending on first 2)

Out: Mcintosh (maybe sub), Tarrant ( if injured), Anthony.

Judging by the fact Drew and Edwards had to push up the field too much in my opinion means we need one more push up marking forward, Exactly what Warren offers. Allow one of Petrie or Azza to stay closer to goal. I think Mcintosh is a great player but he is our second best ruck and thee Goldstein/Mcintosh combination isn't mobile enough. The
LAck of mobility hurt us when he was a forward. It's a shame cos I'm a big Mcintosh fan.

If fit I'd bring in Grima and Hansen, without putting down GWS it could be an opportunity to build match fitness.

In bringing in Grima and Hansen we can allow Thompson to play the rebounding role. I even considerd saying Firrito out, not that he did anything wrong but more of a balance thing. however, my disappointment in Anthony's efforts when defending NLMs goals means I'd want him dropped.

Ah, panic post loss changes thread, how I have missed ye.

Taz will miss and I reckon Wrighty will get a week too.

Thing is though, who exactly do GWS in terms of a power forward? certainly nobody like Hurley.

Cunnington is doing exactly what he needs to at the stoppages.

What he needs is his mate JZ back.

Changes vs gws