List Mgmt. Christmas comes early (Nov 28 - 19 sleeps) - Draftee discussion

To me it's a no brainer. Ginbey, McKenzie, Hotton, can be part of a good midfield. Where as a few others can be the best player in your midfield and also have goal kicking ability.

Phillipou- Fyfe like. SA's best midfielder and also elite overhead. A handful when playing fwd.
Humphrey- Petracca like. Powerful unit, kicks goals, great one on one, haphazard disposal but is often under pressure.
Clark- Selwood like, not too many frills but gets the job done violently.

Busslinger- Barrass Mk-2. Intercepts everything, good disposal. Just needs to tighten up his lockdown skills which aren't terrible.
----------------------------------------------
Ginbey- SPP like. Poor disposal even in open space :( , quick and strong. Might only get 16 disposals but will bust through a few tackles and make something out of nothing.
Mackenzie- Tidy disposal balanced mid and has no major weaknesses but is just not dominant in any areas.
Szybkowski - Composed and makes really good decisions with the footy. Just doesn't get it enough or do a lot else.
The longer this thread goes on the less and less I like that we gave up 2. The fact that no-one can settle on who we should select BC they all have some questions says to me that we could've had wardlaw or sheezal.....both of which will play 22 games next year and in the running for rising star. Bonafide mid and forward gone begging for HBF with midfield potential.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

The longer this thread goes on the less and less I like that we gave up 2. The fact that no-one can settle on who we should select BC they all have some questions says to me that we could've had wardlaw or sheezal.....both of which will play 22 games next year and in the running for rising star. Bonafide mid and forward gone begging for HBF with midfield potential.
Sheezel is by no means the complete player. He is the one with questionable midfield capabilities and is often very quiet in games for long periods. Has upside but could end up like Billings who is a dangerous fwd but average as a wing/mid.
I like Rachele over Sheezel, and he went at #7 last year for comparison.

Similarly Wardlaw without a proper season behind him has upside (of a clear run at things) but could have done a lot more. However is about on par with Davies-Uniacke #4 in 2017. (That was a weak draft year at the top end as well)

So in comparison to an average top 10 they would generally both be 6-10 picks. I'm just sad to miss out on Cadman at #2 but it looks like GWS will take him at #1.

God I hope not.
Imagine finishing 2nd last with 2 wins and not picking until 13 in the draft
Bahaha

My god I was thinking of this joke

Hmm we got pick 1

I know

Pick 1 --> Pick 8 + 13 GENIUS
Pick 8 + 13 --> Pick 16 + Pick 18 + 2023 F2 GENIUS

Pick 16 + 18 --> Pick 20 + Pick 21 + Pick 23 + Pick 2023 F3

WE WIN BOZ

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app
If we still had pick 2, people would be arguing about whether Wardlaw’s hammies were worth the risk, or if Sheezel was worth using pick 2 on a half forward or if Tsatas was too outside with poor disposal etc

And whether any of them would stay

Or should we trade down

It was exactly what was being posted prior to the trade

Part of the reason why no one can settle on who with we take with pick 8 is that the players likely to be available are relatively even but each with different attributes that will be valued at varying degrees by individual posters

And we get two rolls of the dice rather than one

Totally disagree on your analysis of sheezal. This sounds a shite load better than any WA prospect we're looking at.

Rare air: The top-10 draft hopeful with MASSIVE numbers - Rare air: The top-10 draft hopeful with MASSIVE numbers
He did beat up mid year against a few weaker teams. Only played mid season in the midfield for majority minutes. Looked genuinely able to make #1 spot his. But then at the champs was often unsighted as mostly a pure forward. Though when he got near it was one touch and generally dangerous which is why he is so highly rated.

#ClubPlayerFinished(Ladder)OppositionRoundGoalsDispKickHandMarksTacklesHOIN 50RE 50
16Sandringham DragonsHarry SheezelAverages->2.619.311.87.53.63.30.12.90.9
5thOakleigh Chargers111614233041
10thCalder Cannons221661031120
GWS341814453030
2ndTasmania Devils4628141455041
3rdDandenong Stingrays81189913012
13thNorthern Knights9037241397075
11thWestern Jets10333181564042
6thGeelong Falcons1342015521041
7thEastern Ranges151159604020
5thOakleigh Chargers1642214867010
9thMurray BushrangersWCR1138531040
10thCalder CannonsFW1253212020
1stGippsland PowerFW23167933010
3rdDandenong StingraysGF41310332010

Wait, i just googled Ginbey's stats.

Is he seriously a proposed midfielder based on the following stats? If you can't find the ball consistently pre-draft, you're not going to all of a sudden become a prolific ball winner at AFL level. Unless i'm missing some games where racked it up this is absolutely yuck, do not want, no matter what his athletic profile is.

View attachment 1540390
Starcevich 2.0.

Of the players talked of being available at our pick I think Clark and Mackenzie, maybe Hollands also, are the genuine mids. Clark and Mackenzie are likely to go before 8 with Hollands a chance to be taken by Gold Coast

Now if it falls that way the choices other than Ginbey are :
• Humphrey - more a high half forward and has questions on his disposal
• Busslinger - KPD
• Phillipou - more a mid than Ginbey but I’ve still read doubts on whether he’s a mid or a forward

Ginbey is a risk in that he hasn’t proven a capacity to be a high production mid but he does have a big body and pace. Handy attributes that we lack. Also seems to have a genuine competitive streak/bit of campaigner to him as well
So if there aren't top level genuine mids available at 8 why on earth did we trade out pick 2

Bahaha

My god I was thinking of this joke

Hmm we got pick 1

I know

Pick 1 --> Pick 8 + 13 GENIUS
Pick 8 + 13 --> Pick 16 + Pick 18 + 2023 F2 GENIUS

Pick 16 + 18 --> Pick 20 + Pick 21 + Pick 23 + Pick 2023 F3

WE WIN BOZ
pock 20+21+23 = pick 30-36

Just keep trading up...

We might end up with 40 through to 60!

Starcevich 2.0.
On Starcevich 1.0 - do you think he will transition into your midfield at some point soon?

In 2017 he was my favourite leading into the draft. In my mind then he would follow the same path Yeo did- down back to begin with & then transition into midfield minutes as he hit his prime. I haven’t changed that thought I think he’s got a lot of potential.

This board is sounding like it is getting ahead of itself and moaning about our slide. There are genuine mids all the way through to 15 and we are splitting hairs based on pretty ill-informed assumptions.

What we have is a selection of mids with different attributes.

Put yourself in the Piemans shoes, he has Culley, Chesser and Hough from 2022. He also has Bazzo that looks a winner. We need heavy hauls this draft and next year then we will be on our way.

From experience, the Pieman rarely follows my preferred path but we don’t see the stuff in interviews etc. They have more input so can make better decisions.

One of our regular WAFL East Perth colts followers believes Ginbey is a great pick. Strong links to the Suns and rising up Twomey’s ranking meaning a few clubs think alike. Not my preferred choice but when does ROB ever ask me?

What 8 and 12 does is allow a bit of best available and needs. We can always balance off with 20 and 26.

Are the interstate clubs sending AFL a message that we can’t go for many Vic Metro cry babies? Are we behind the scenes working with Freo to get some sort of zone? Last year combined was very WA leaning.

Relax, chill out and don’t sweat the small stuff

On Starcevich 1.0 - do you think he will transition into your midfield at some point soon?

In 2017 he was my favourite leading into the draft. In my mind then he would follow the same path Yeo did- down back to begin with & then transition into midfield minutes as he hit his prime. I haven’t changed that thought I think he’s got a lot of potential.
It doesn’t look likely at this stage.

He did beat up mid year against a few weaker teams. Only played mid season in the midfield for majority minutes. Looked genuinely able to make #1 spot his. But then at the champs was often unsighted as mostly a pure forward. Though when he got near it was one touch and generally dangerous which is why he is so highly rated.

#ClubPlayerFinished(Ladder)OppositionRoundGoalsDispKickHandMarksTacklesHOIN 50RE 50
16Sandringham DragonsHarry SheezelAverages->2.619.311.87.53.63.30.12.90.9
5thOakleigh Chargers111614233041
10thCalder Cannons221661031120
GWS341814453030
2ndTasmania Devils4628141455041
3rdDandenong Stingrays81189913012
13thNorthern Knights9037241397075
11thWestern Jets10333181564042
6thGeelong Falcons1342015521041
7thEastern Ranges151159604020
5thOakleigh Chargers1642214867010
9thMurray BushrangersWCR1138531040
10thCalder CannonsFW1253212020
1stGippsland PowerFW23167933010
3rdDandenong StingraysGF41310332010
show me the stats ANY mid/forw in the draft that has at NAB league an average 2.6 goals per game, 20 touches 3.3 tackles 8 score involvements and at the national champs not much less. kids a gun.

Doesnt matter how good the Cheezel is. He was going home right after his first contract ends. We could never pick him.

This board is sounding like it is getting ahead of itself and moaning about our slide. There are genuine mids all the way through to 15 and we are splitting hairs based on pretty ill-informed assumptions.

What we have is a selection of mids with different attributes.

Put yourself in the Piemans shoes, he has Culley, Chesser and Hough from 2022. He also has Bazzo that looks a winner. We need heavy hauls this draft and next year then we will be on our way.

From experience, the Pieman rarely follows my preferred path but we don’t see the stuff in interviews etc. They have more input so can make better decisions.

One of our regular WAFL East Perth colts followers believes Ginbey is a great pick. Strong links to the Suns and rising up Twomey’s ranking meaning a few clubs think alike. Not my preferred choice but when does ROB ever ask me?

What 8 and 12 does is allow a bit of best available and needs. We can always balance off with 20 and 26.

Are the interstate clubs sending AFL a message that we can’t go for many Vic Metro cry babies? Are we behind the scenes working with Freo to get some sort of zone? Last year combined was very WA leaning.

Relax, chill out and don’t sweat the small stuff
disagree. we shouldve kept 2, taken wardlaw or sheezal and if they sook and want home in a yr or 2 we get 2 first rounders for the trade. back ourselves in as the biggest club in the country to convince these kids to stay longer.

what everyone needs to cool off about is when these kids get injured in yr 11 or 12. their bodies are still growing and shit happens. wardlaw is no risk with his hammys any more than whoever has had a knee reco, shoulder reco, ankle reco. Youd be surprised what injuries most of the draftees have had in the last 2 yrs. Things are kept on the quiet bc of forums like this that speculate so and so hammy are an issue. the fact that wardlaw missed most of this yr and is still touted at going at 2 says how highly everyone rates him. he couldve been an eagle, but we got spooked.

AFL will address this after this yrs draft. My money is on 1st round draftees made to see out 3-4yr contracts (2+2 incentivized/negotiated)

Doesnt matter how good the Cheezel is. He was going home right after his first contract ends. We could never pick him.
Ok so he goes home. we get 2 early first rounders in the 2025 draft. sound good to me considering the draft will compromised from 2026 on for the tassie team.

He's still trying to find Shai Bolton and remove him from his pocket from that first final

Petracca. Pick 2 2014.

Did his ACL in first preseason training and took another 4yrs of playing forward/mid before he shifted more Mid/forward. Stop stressing over injury. If anything early injury teaches the kids the professionalism to rehab properly bc their incentive to be drafted is so high. the same cant be said for the 150 game 27yo player who does his ACL, history shows us they rarely return to form, or are constantly injured....nicnat. Judd dropped to 3 bc he had bad shoulders - never had a dislocation once drafted.

2020Melbourne86.20.923.53.43.23.911.911.60
2019Melbourne75.8118.7432.39.690.2
2018Melbourne79.40.820.3432.611.29.10.2
2017Melbourne711.218.83.32.52.58.210.60
2016Melbourne67.90.717.42.53.328.58.90.2
2015Melbourne000000000

Starcevich 2.0.
Starcevich could never find the ball even playing on ball.

Rueben has a different athletic profile, in that he's more agile and doesn't seem to wooden hands in close.

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk

Starcevich was always allergic to the football. Unlike Ginbey he played most of his time as a junior on ball.

Looks like they're on opposite trajectory.

Sent from my Pixel 6 using Tapatalk

Ok so he goes home. we get 2 early first rounders in the 2025 draft. sound good to me considering the draft will compromised from 2026 on for the tassie team.

What if he never settles plays poorly and we only pick 10 or whatever that club has. JHF was a generational talent and got a massive trade deal.

What's the point in having him for 2 years and then we are back to square one. It just prolongs our build and helps another team.