Collingwood apologise for booing

Hmm….so a coach is asked ‘What did you think about the boo’ing of Buddy’

Whats he supposed to say, ‘Who’s Buddy?’.😆😆

Man, Id hate to see you if he really cut loose and pointed the finger….you’d go blue! 😆😆😆

Nah…I refer back to my earlier post….you’re distinctly paranoid.

Me and the rest of society but not you it seems.

Whole Collingwood hierarchy captain coach, media, 90% of the social boards all got the inference.
But nah not you. You know he was just saying why boo bud for no reason.

Does anyone remember the media "outrage" when there was a photo of Buddy with bullets over his shoulder when visiting a shooting range in the US ? I have the same photo when I visited (not sure it got quite the same level of media outrage though).
Anyway, I was trying to find this photo to send to a Collingwood supporter mate, but can't find it anywhere. Has it been so censored by the AFL that it now doesn't exist ?

You can be a passionate fan without booing.
O rly? :eek:

Thanks for pointing that out. I had no idea...

But the thing is, some people like to boo players from the opposition.

As a footy fan, I quite like it because I think it all adds to the theatre and gets people in the crowd more involved in the game.

What I really want to know is why do people get so upset about it?
When you hear the Collingwood fans booing, how exactly do you interpret it?
What bad thoughts goes through your mind? What exactly do you hear?

You don't think it's a pattern with Goodes, JHF and Franklin? Are there any white guys being booed en masse like that?
Taylor Walker, Toby Greene and Joel Selwood are a few that come to mind.

Is it worth naming the 100+ indigenous players that have played over the past decade that haven't been booed?

If you boo you are a moron.

I can understand if a player knocks someone out or does something dirty they are going to get a hard time. Fine. Buddy did not do that.

But booing because it is “entertainment” for you makes you an idiot.

It is just dumb.
You are also an idiot if you boo because you are asked not to, or if you boo because everyone else is, or if you boo when you have no good reason for, or no idea why, you are booing, or if you boo because of your perception of a player......and so on.

Booing a player who has changed clubs is a bit difficult, I can get why there is lingering hostility there, although players change clubs regularly these days and those booing a former player are more than happy to welcome players from other clubs.......

And like you said, booing a player (or umpire) on the day is understandable. I was there the day Lockett ironed out Caven for instance (although the hostility backfired on the crowd big time that day).

But overall I find it to be juvenile and unnecessary.

O rly? :eek:

Thanks for pointing that out. I had no idea...

But the thing is, some people like to boo players from the opposition.

As a footy fan, I quite like it because I think it all adds to the theatre and gets people in the crowd more involved in the game.

What I really want to know is why do people get so upset about it?
When you hear the Collingwood fans booing, how exactly do you interpret it?
What bad thoughts goes through your mind? What exactly do you hear?
Yes, really. Linking booing with passion is tenuous at best.

Isn't this just poetic? The two career """sports journalists""" Caroline Wilson and Craig Hutchinson piling on the hyperbole with words like "disgusting", "disgraceful", "abhorrent", yet unable to actually explain themselves in any detail beyond " well, Adam Goodes was booed and he didn't like it, therefore anyone who boos an indigenous player is disgraceful".

Meanwhile Matthew Lloyd, a guy who actually played the game and understands the nature of the spectacle, rightly makes the point that you can't be too soft, and that booing is part of the atmosphere.

I wonder who has more credibility: Matthew Lloyd, an actual champion of the game, or the media trifecta of Caroline Wilson, Craig Hutchinson and Tony Jones.

Especially when those 2 are likely to do the below

Craig Hutchinson - "And to wrap up this segment the answer is clear. Do not boo, do not bully. Lets head to a commericial break, after the break we will ask. Is Trent Cotchin finished and did he selfishly go on one year too many. More Footy Classified after the break"

The club did apologise for the ginnivan one....
And I rekn I seen and heard more about the ginni incident during grand final week than the grand final itself.
And the JHF one was Backpage news for the first 6 rounds unless you've been living under a bridge.

Try again😂
Gees your memory must be cooked. The ginnivan one was round 22. Never mentioned in GF week from what I recollect. Try again 🤣🤣

The club did apologise for the ginnivan one....
And I rekn I seen and heard more about the ginni incident during grand final week than the grand final itself.
And the JHF one was Backpage news for the first 6 rounds unless you've been living under a bridge.

Try again😂
Why the **** would you hear about Ginnivan in GF week last year. The incident was 6 weeks earlier. Was it still making headlines? Wow Pies are big news everywhere. :)

Which comes with the side-effect of being more boring, sterile, corporate-friendly, devoid of character. Like yourself.

Thankfully most people in this country still have some backbone and aren't going to let their behavior be dictated to by corporate interests and morons like Tony Jones. :)
Passion for a football fan comes in many forms, you can be passionate without (a) booing and (b) without becoming "more boring, sterile, corporate-friendly, devoid of character".

I hope we get to a point where we can all go to the footy, sit there in abject silence with the same gobshite look on our faces and show no outward emotion whatsoever. Leigh Matthews was well ahead of his time

images

Which comes with the side-effect of being more boring, sterile, corporate-friendly, devoid of character. Like yourself.

Thankfully most people in this country still have some backbone and aren't going to let their behavior be dictated to by corporate interests and morons like Tony Jones. :)
How you think juvenile sounds go hand in hand in a fight with some sort of dictatorship theory is moronic.

Why the * would you hear about Ginnivan in GF week last year. The incident was 6 weeks earlier. Was it still making headlines? Wow Pies are big news everywhere. :)
Yeah see. Thats how big of a deal it was😂 He even crept into my dreams. I even had an ear worm of Kane cornes's voice talking about it in my head ever since.

Snowflake society. Everything will start being cancelled as everything offends one person or another. We will soon be sitting in silence watching the footy. Absolute joke.

Yes, really. Linking booing with passion is tenuous at best.
Rubbish. People boo because they are emotionally invested. If you don't understand this, then you probably never go to the game and never sit amongst the nuffies who boo the opposition. You're probably one of those folks who watches every AFL game on your telly.

You didn't answer my question: Why do you object to footy fans booing? Why do you or others get upset by it?
When you hear the boos, what thoughts float through your mind? What do you hear in the booing ?

Me personally, I quite like hearing boos because I think it all adds to the theatre and gets people in the crowd more involved in the game.

What exactly is so bad about it?

Rubbish. People boo because they are emotionally invested. If you don't understand this, then you probably never go to the game and sit amongst the nuffies who boo the opposition. You're probably one of those folks who watches every AFL game on your telly.

You didn't answer my question: Why do you object to footy fans booing? Why do you or others get upset by it?
When you hear the boos, what thoughts float through your mind? What do you hear in the booing ?

Me personally, I quite like hearing boos because I think it all adds to the theatre and gets people in the crowd more involved in the game.
These nuffies you talk of.. Can see the lack of intelligence by the look of their heads. And you want to join em? You should come up with Hawthorns version of the kanga kanga kanga roo roo roo chant.

Tbh the reason why I find booing cringeworthy is because I know the sound is coming out of a low IQ and average looking head, mostly tacky AFL nuffies.

And I'm actually dead set serious that's the main reason it makes me cringe not a word of a lie.

Because of nuffies I also find AFL merch outside of a game extremely tacky. Thats why you never see sexy intelligent people wearing AFL merch outside on a non GameDay. And they definitely don't boo.

Well it meant that a dual brownlow Medallist, dual premiership player (arguably the greatest indigenous player ever etc etc) couldn't enjoy his retirement year, didn't get chaired off in his last game, couldn't do the lap of the mcg grand final celebration of retiring players, had to tell the AFL to G&GF when they came to induct him into the HoF

But it's okay because some weirdo bogans got to harass him every time he tried to do what he loved, entertain by playing footy.

These nuffies you talk of.. Can see the lack of intelligence by the look of their heads. And you want to join em? You should come up with Hawthorns version of the kanga kanga kanga roo roo roo chant.

Tbh the reason why I find booing cringeworthy is because I know the sound is coming out of a low IQ and average looking head, mostly tacky AFL nuffies.

And I'm actually dead set serious that's the main reason it makes me cringe not a word of a lie.
Thats why i dont boo. :cool:

Rubbish. People boo because they are emotionally invested. If you don't understand this, then you probably never go to the game and never sit amongst the nuffies who boo the opposition. You're probably one of those folks who watches every AFL game on your telly.

Ah, the second person who has chosen to profile me based on a post or two about booing. Well done you.

I don't object to it as such, I just find it generally to be juvenile. It's not like I get triggered by it.

Although I get why it happens in certain instances, see my post above for greater explanation.

Well it meant that a dual brownlow Medallist, dual premiership player (arguably the greatest indigenous player ever etc etc) couldn't enjoy his retirement year, didn't get chaired off in his last game, couldn't do the lap of the mcg grand final celebration of retiring players, had to tell the AFL to G&GF when they came to induct him into the HoF

But it's okay because some weirdo bogans got to harass him every time he tried to do what he loved, entertain by playing footy.
Let's hope that history doesn't repeat itself for Franklin. The way Goodes was treated was shameful.

Collingwood apologise for booing