List Mgmt. COLLINGWOOD Trade and F/A Discussion 2023

There is still some talk about Max Homes who we have been linked to.
Mitch Georgiades has also been linked to us but more so to West Coast.

Bailey Smith = Stay/Geelong

Clubs rumoured to be looking at our guys:
Trent Bianco = ???
Finlay Macrae = Essendon and Richmond
Arlo Draper = Port
Reef Mcinnes = St Kilda
Jack Ginnivan = North
Josh Carmichael = North
These could be serious or just monitoring for DFA like Poulter?
Ginnivan does not belong there, as he is not a fringe player and is contracted

Gouki88 this is not a list of fringe players or uncontracted players.
My DFA note may be confusing, this was in reference to Bianco, Carmichael and Draper.

Macrae, Mcinnes and Ginnivan are contracted but there have been rumours of other clubs targeting them.

Mitchell aside, I reckon Parish would comfortably be the least valuable of that lot both in terms of trade value and hurt factor. Throw in the fact you probably have to trade with Essendon to land Parish and I'd be wary.

I've been hearing for 18 months from what I consider a decent source that he was keen to come to the Pies but unless he comes without having to trade I don't see how it could be done. Also, that was under the previous coach so his ambitions may have changed.

I'd rather us throw a good/middle-range offer to a young mid starved of opportunities somewhere.
The change in coach and review at Essendon seems to have worked wonders for them. Unsurprising really, as Brad Scott has always been a good coach that's capable of getting the best out of his playing group (i.e. his time at North).

Essendon's on-field performances have also been affected heavily by their off-field issues and the various power struggles that enveloped the club. The review seems to have fixed most of this.

My DFA note may be confusing, this was in reference to Bianco, Carmichael and Draper.

Macrae, Mcinnes and Ginnivan are contracted but there have been rumours of other clubs targeting them.
According to cal twomey, its just the 4.
Macrae. Bianco. Reef. Carmichael.
Ginnivan is no longer of interest (off the table)

Out of the four, I can see merit for Macrae/Carmichael/Bianco for opportunity wise.
But how far down the pecking order of interest to clubs is another question.

I know, I just think it's meaningless that another club is targeting Ginnivan. Other clubs may also be interested in other guys who are locks to stay too

Reef is in the Daicos (Josh) category for me at this stage of his career. The talent is there but he has significant limitations due to his fitness. If he can get that right, as Josh did (asthma management in his case) I think we’ll see how good he can really be.

That’s not to say he’s guaranteed to get to Josh’s heights or even make it, but some players take a little more time than others, and if they’ve got “it” sometimes you just have to be patient.
Game sense is the big question mark I have.

I think he'll end up being able to play a role but I'm not convinced he knows what's going on around him well enough to be more than a role player - despite the attributes.

I'm not seeing an AFL mid.

Game sense is the big question mark I have.

I think he'll end up being able to play a role but I'm not convinced he knows what's going on around him well enough to be more than a role player - despite the attributes.

I'm not seeing an AFL mid.
It looks like confidence more than goal sense to my untrained eye

Agree, and I think that the coaches seem to as well. I think what makes him hard to get a read on is the different roles he's played in (and looked good in!) thus far. Has shown flashes as a lead-up forward, as well as in the midfield. He should spend some time shadowing one of our distance runners and soak up as much as he can.

He is still just 20! Heaps of time
He needs to spend the preseason with Nick tbh. Nobody better to shadow in terms of running capacity.

According to cal twomey, its just the 4.
Macrae. Bianco. Reef. Carmichael.
Ginnivan is no longer of interest (off the table)

Out of the four, I can see merit for Macrae/Carmichael/Bianco for opportunity wise.
But how far down the pecking order of interest to clubs is another question.
Reef is going nowhere .. continuing on his development path and will play more than 12 AFL games next year

I’ll settle for one of the 4! Ultimately we might already have two of them on the list in Allan and McReery. It’s also worth noting that our two best small forwards this year are 30+ in 2024 (Adams and Elliott) so that area is also a watch. I think that leads into the push to give Harrison senior minutes.
Like the look of Archer Reid as tall forward, who has played back in the past too.
Hoping we can lure Jhye Clark from Geelong, as rumoured.
Agree that Harrison needs games - especially if McCreery is going to transition to the mids.

He needs to spend the preseason with Nick tbh. Nobody better to shadow in terms of running capacity.
Or he could shadow Shannon Cox and use his gravitational pull to slingshot across the field. There are no bad ideas.

Agree, and I think that the coaches seem to as well. I think what makes him hard to get a read on is the different roles he's played in (and looked good in!) thus far. Has shown flashes as a lead-up forward, as well as in the midfield. He should spend some time shadowing one of our distance runners and soak up as much as he can.

He is still just 20! Heaps of time
He has shown flashes that give hope but also looks a bit lost at times and may not have enough game sense to make the grade. I have some hope for hm but hope he doesnt share the sentiment he has plenty of time. 3rd year mid size players who are not getting regular AFL games are on the clock. Next year is probably do or die for him. He needs to make big inroads into AFL games if he wants to be a good chance to keep his spot. Fin even more so. There will be 3 seasons of younger players behind them next year all understanding the kids who make a good career tend to play early and they will be gunning for spots in the same 23. Reef cant be thinking he has much time.

What would be our 3 most pressing list needs for next year & onwards, do you reckon?

I think number one by a fair margin is a clearance midfielder with pace. The last month we have been smacked in the centre and leg speed is the killer. It won't be popular to say but Mitchell (who I was a big fan of recruitung) and Pendles are killing us in there. We need players with the pace and nous to get to the ball or failing that effectively applying defensive pressure.

Based on how well he was going at senior level earlier?

Well given he’s barely played any footy at the level that’s a bit unfair. But he has been performing the role above the level at VFL.

As a third tall, now that McStay is in the team, and he would be asked to play as a key forward, he could be a real X factor.

It’s not exactly like Howe has been performing well forward.

Well given he’s barely played any footy at the level that’s a bit unfair. But he has been performing the role above the level at VFL.

As a third tall, now that McStay in the team he could be a real X factor.

It’s not exactly like Howe has been performing well forward.
I think Reef would have performed a shit load worse. Brisbane's intercept game would have been much more influential. I think Ruscoe probably deserved the call up ahead of Ryan in hindsight

I liked Deven Robertson, thought he looked good 22 years old and out of contract.