List Mgmt. Collingwood Trade Talk 2016 Part 3

People saying Marsh will play WAFL...wouldn't it be exactly the same situation as Cam McCarthy...won't be able to play for 12 months cause he has a contract with us.

Quite different scenarios.

GWS did not want McCarthy in WA, and did not want him to play WAFL - they tried to play hardball the whole time, and ended up paying for it on the trade table... Because they realised he was gone in a years time & they wouldn't want Freo to get a guys who's still been playing for the year.

With Marsh it depends on how we truly percieve where he is at. If we are pretty confident that we can get him to stay a Pie in 6-12 months time, then we would be pretty happy getting regular WAFL games into him.
If we are pretty sure he's not playing another game for the Pies - then we have no vested interest in having him play (in fact - we would have more interest in him Not playing, because it will hurt whichever opposition club gets him in 12 months time).

As for him being under contract, I don't see what would stop us from introducing a clause that allows him to play for a WAFL club, under specific circumstances, (as long as the WAFL agree)

GWS dude on trade radio asked about WHE. He said Collingwood as yet have not approached them about him as they have a their fingers deep in another pie at the moment so once they get through that he expects Coll to approach GWS re WHE. Wonder if its a the Rocky thing or maybe the Cloke thing?

Or another player at GWS thing. If we can get them to commit to us, then go to GWS with a deal for both.

Cornes pushing for 1st rounder. Craig Cameron, GWS list manager, says "err, we value our players a little different because we have access to some academy players that we can get cheaper etc." or words to that effect.

Translation - WHE is not worth a 1st rounder, Cornes you clown.

GWS dude on trade radio asked about WHE. He said Collingwood as yet have not approached them about him as they have a their fingers deep in another pie at the moment so once they get through that he expects Coll to approach GWS re WHE. Wonder if its a the Rocky thing or maybe the Cloke thing?

WHE has not even Officaly asked to be traded Yet

GTFO!!!

Surely that needs to be looked at FFS

Clarkson basically got one of the retirements he was after, that is the way they are looking at it, he would have traded Mitchell for a skinny Latte if he had the chance.
Now we need to pray to the footy gods that Hawthorn and WC play in a final next year and Mitchell is the difference and WC win, that would be epic and not out of the question either.

Cornes still trying to put WHE's value as a first round pick. Let it go you clown!

Your totally right mate. Steele has higher value and he went for a future second rounder i believe?
WHE fourth rounder if they package him with Stewart future 3rd.
If they package Stewart WHE and Corr future second rounder

Rumors also swirling that JOM may end up at Swans.

I'll seriously piss myself luffing if that happens. Clearing Mitchell for salary will be a big cockup

Your totally right mate. Steele has higher value and he went for a future second rounder i believe?
Which to me says we haven't offered our 2017 2nd rounder. They'd rate Steel higher than WHE. We may still offer it, but with something back. We wont know that until very late next week because GWS may be willing to throw out picks for this year that they have no intention of using, handy for the Father sons or another player from GWS to be included in the deal.

Marsh may have not thought this one through well enough.
Freo after Hamling
WCE have options aplenty
Now Marcus Adams wants to go to WA too.
Think that's a reflection of his state of mind - it isn't about footy. When you are in a dark place you make poor decisions. That's where he seems to be. Hopefully the club does the right thing by him. Rookie listing him may be the best alternative

Two things on Damo's article.

"IF Gubby keeps throwing up players as trade bait who others at the Pies don't want him to throw up ...

... THEN this will end in tears. Gubby floated Aish and Greenwood in a discussion with a club, which didn't want them."

Sounds like at best Gubby used their names in a conversation, not as trade bait or putting them on the table. Maybe gauging value at worst.

Give it a spell Damo, you're sounding spiteful and sooky.

However, on a different note:

"IF the Lions get offered any pick under 35 for Rocky ...

... they'll take it. As it stands, no club is prepared to do that. Says a fair bit about where he's at."

Gold Coast's second rounder is 30. Now if Damo is right on this (he eventually gets some right), the Suns offer that for Witts, and we think Rockliff is worth pursuing at the right price, would that indeed be the right price?

My feel is that Rockliff does leave Brisbane, late next week, and I reckon we'll make it happen should everything else pan out (Cloke, Witts, Williams, Marsh, etc.). We'd like him but its not a priority and there's a fair bit of water under the bridge where it's sensible to act.

It seems increasingly obvious that the AFL Trade Whisperer on Twitter is Pickers. Willing to talk about every single topic and yet reluctant to talk about GAJ, Tippett and so on.

He just said that Sydney and Gold Coast almost had a punch on because Gold Coast approached one of their contracted players. Can't imagine it's true (I don't usually take these Facebook or Twitter groups serious) but if it is, you'd have to assume it's Kurt Tippett.

In which case O'Meara for Tippett would make complete sense and the Hawks would be not only in damage control, but whatever the next stage is after that. Member seminars, etc.?

Two things on Damo's article.

"IF Gubby keeps throwing up players as trade bait who others at the Pies don't want him to throw up ...

... THEN this will end in tears. Gubby floated Aish and Greenwood in a discussion with a club, which didn't want them."

Sounds like at best Gubby used their names in a conversation, not as trade bait or putting them on the table. Maybe gauging value at worst.

Give it a spell Damo, you're sounding spiteful and sooky.

However, on a different note:

"IF the Lions get offered any pick under 35 for Rocky ...

... they'll take it. As it stands, no club is prepared to do that. Says a fair bit about where he's at."

Gold Coast's second rounder is 30. Now if Damo is right on this (he eventually gets some right), the Suns offer that for Witts, and we think Rockliff is worth pursuing at the right price, would that indeed be the right price?

My feel is that Rockliff does leave Brisbane, late next week, and I reckon we'll make it happen should everything else pan out (Cloke, Witts, Williams, Marsh, etc.). We'd like him but its not a priority and there's a fair bit of water under the bridge where it's sensible to act.

So Damo trying to create Division at Collingwood?