Collingwood - us v them campaign

I'm not a fan of generalisations, they tend to just perpetuate ignorance.

Saying that, generalisations actually do exist in society. Whether you can segment the population by football team and draw any meaningful conclusions about those groups is pretty damn unlikely though.

However, IF the fans of a certain club are actually far more likely to be obnoxious, rude, cruel, abusive, offensive, etc then we should certainly be free to describe them that way, whether it's Collingwood or anyone else. The problem arises when people hear that Collingwood fans are ferals or whatever insult gets thrown, then sees a single example of it and decides that it's true of all.

The other thing to consider is that Collingwood have more supporters than most clubs. If every club has a 3% ******** contingent then Collingwood will have the most ********s supporting them. That's if you subscribe to the notion that there is no difference at all in the make up of supporter bases.

The problem that I see with the Us vs Them campaign is that it actually makes idiots proud to be disliked. This is really clever marketing if you think you have a lot of idiots supporting your club, because it really does take an idiot to enjoy being disliked. Furthermore, idiots of other teams buy into it - so you're not only marketing to your own idiots but all the idiots out there. "yeah those Collingwood fans are all scumbags - go to any Collingwood game, you'll see, everyone hates 'em, that's why".

Enjoy your campaign Collingwood, I just think it's low brow and unskilled.

Finally an intelligent post.. except for the last bit :p.

you say "this is really clever marketing" then say i think its unskilled... how more skilled can u get from one phrase?

but anyway... EVERYONE BACK TO THE NORTH IN 5 MILLION DEBT THREAD! :D

From the very beginning it has always been us vs the rest. I wouldn't want it any other way. It is the greatest compliment our club can be given. Why we want to be loved by opposition? Jack Dyer said it beautifully 'I hate them more than anything on Earth but by God I respect them'.
The Collingwood supporters that are concerned about it...........deal with it. It is not going to change. Always has been that way, always will be. The fact that most dislike us makes me even prouder of my football Club. Floreat Pica

Hatred doesn't equal respect btw, FWIW I don't hate Collingwood or any other team it's just football in the end.

I'm not a fan of generalisations, they tend to just perpetuate ignorance.

Saying that, generalisations actually do exist in society. Whether you can segment the population by football team and draw any meaningful conclusions about those groups is pretty damn unlikely though.

However, IF the fans of a certain club are actually far more likely to be obnoxious, rude, cruel, abusive, offensive, etc then we should certainly be free to describe them that way, whether it's Collingwood or anyone else. The problem arises when people hear that Collingwood fans are ferals or whatever insult gets thrown, then sees a single example of it and decides that it's true of all.

The other thing to consider is that Collingwood have more supporters than most clubs. If every club has a 3% ******** contingent then Collingwood will have the most ********s supporting them. That's if you subscribe to the notion that there is no difference at all in the make up of supporter bases.

The problem that I see with the Us vs Them campaign is that it actually makes idiots proud to be disliked. This is really clever marketing if you think you have a lot of idiots supporting your club, because it really does take an idiot to enjoy being disliked. Furthermore, idiots of other teams buy into it - so you're not only marketing to your own idiots but all the idiots out there. "yeah those Collingwood fans are all scumbags - go to any Collingwood game, you'll see, everyone hates 'em, that's why".

Enjoy your campaign Collingwood, I just think it's low brow and unskilled.

Bingo.

Hatred doesn't equal respect btw, FWIW I don't hate Collingwood or any other team it's just football in the end.

Most Collingwood threads i see around the main board or bay 13 i always see your name in them having a crack

Collingwood want to be the most hated its sickening. No other club or personality has talked more about Collingwood being hated by everyone than Collingwood themselves and Eddie McGuire. Its their own beatup and this membership drive proves it

I knew lots of people that wanted the Cats to lose on GF day, I was also one of them. I think a higher % wanted Collingwood to lose because lots of people believed they didnt handle themselves very well after winning it last year, and this Us vs Them mentality grew even more and we were tired of hearing it.

People like Geelong and they like seeing dynastys, Geelong winning again provided that

Had it been Collingwood v Carlton or Essendon or Hawks or Eagles the split would be appropriate to the current circumstances

2011 circumstances were Collingwood were pertrayed as arrogant and stuck their noses up at the rest of us, Geelong were on the brink of something rarely touched. Naturally people are going to suppourt Geelong more than the Pies in that instance

Personally though my opinion of Collingwood is very meh. I hate other clubs much much more.

I read the first few pages. Seems to be a few people saying it won't work. It's a membership drive. I wonder what number of memberships determines success? 50k? 70k? 100k?

It's about getting a message out for the eyes & ears of Collingwood supporters and getting some atention in general. It's already worked to a point. Given a new member will be unlikely to be able to access a GF ticket and there is no need for anyone to put money into the club, there is little reason on the face of tio to expect an increase in membership. If a flag increases membership then that impact happend last year.

We'll see how the numbers pan out but I'm willing to bet the promotion is a success that every other club will wish they could emulate.

People forget that you need to preach to the converted and the unconverted. Its a simple but effective message to the Collingwood supporters. In its publicly declaring the unwritten rule. As such it strengthens that belief (whether true or not will be up to the individual to decide) in Collingowood supporters, which in turn can strengthen there passion/position to the club.

In addittion its preaching tto the unconverted - the people who dont barrack for Collingwood, in that there loathing/hate/wanting to see them beaten of the team increases (Possibly).

That means unaligned supporters will take more interest in Collingwood games, thus increasing ratings for them, plus more supporters of the current club they are opposing will take a higher interest resulting to more bums on seats and eyes on screens for those games.

Which will then flow on as a higher demand from networks (and AFL) to schedule Collingwood games in more advantageous timeslots to even further maximising this.

It can be considered to simplicitic, but sometimes these types of messages are the ones that resonate best and for longest, thus having a greater impact.

Didn't work for St Kilda and it won't work for the Pies. Funny thing is the Collingwood supporters were the main culprits when it came to laughing at the Saints "us against the world" mentality.

Also, I think there are a lot of Pies fans who play up the "Us against them" crap, more so then there are opposition supporters who despise Collingwood that much. I've never seen a footy fan hate the Pies more than they love their own team, but Pies fans will tell you that's what everyone does. At the end of the day they're just another team. They have all the money in the world and plenty of supporters but they've barely fired a shot since WWII, so they're not even a powerhouse when it comes to what matters: results.

It's one reason why I admire Geelong so much. They just go out and win. They might consider it them against the world but they don't feel the need to tell everyone. They just go out, play footy, and get results. Maybe Collingwood should try the same.

I just love the Geelong comparison. I mean look at Geelong since WW2. Won 6 premierships to Collingwoods 4. If we have barely fired a shot then winning just 2 more flags in 66 years aint much better is it. if you want to talk results then again you are mis-informed. Collingwood has a winning % greater than any team. We have also won more games than any other team. These statistics would suggest we are a powerhouse but your obvious hatred for Collingwood blinds you from the truth. People bang on about Collingwoods losing Grand Finals and mock us about it. Geelong hardly sets the benchmark for winning Grand Finals. After they won the VFL flag back in 1963, they went on to lose their next 5 grand finals (67,89,92,94,95).

I am guessing you only have a memory of Geelong that goes back 10 years at best. While Geelong are no doubt a great side in this era of AFL they have achieved no more than Brisbane did. Geelong may well be competitive next year but we just dont know. Every team has a shelf life, a premiership window if you will, Brisbane were no different and neither is this great Geelong side. If Collingwood go on to achieve another 2 flags in the next 3-4 years, will you give Collingwood the same amount of respect that you have given Geelong? I very much doubt it

Most Collingwood threads i see around the main board or bay 13 i always see your name in them having a crack

Your point?

I don't hate your club or respect it... Just don't like some of your supporters who give your club a bad image.

Everyone entitled to their opions without having insults thrown at them.

Your point?

I don't hate your club or respect it... Just don't like some of your supporters who give your club a bad image.

Everyone entitled to their opions without having insults thrown at them.

Must be obessed then don't worry though your not alone

And clearly you can't respond to any of my post without making an insult.

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm, it wasn't actually an insult. I was quoting and referring to Jack Dyer and I simply responded to your hate/respect comment by stating the obvious fact that you are not Jack Dyer. Not actually sure how it can be considered an insult.

It worked for PA in the SANFL when it was true. Their world is bigger now and it's just PA v a small part of the world that the rest of the world doesn't care about.

It's a marketing slogan.

It also happens to be true, unlike Carlton's "no passengers".

In the week leading up to a Grand final, supporters of almost every other club align against Collingwood and spew vitriol against us.

And you know what? I love it.:cool:

I'm not going to try to argue against the stereotypes, every club has them and they're generally innacurate.

I just genuinely enjoy having so many people hoping we lose, it just makes winning all that sweeter. And when I gently ask someone who they support and point out where they finished on the ladder and how sad it is that they need to live vicariously through other clubs that they don't support, it generally finishes the discussion.:thumbsu:

Well, I guess the first thing you have to evaluate is who they are trying to talk to - and by my estimation that's the existing membership database and those they think they can convert into members. Their target audience are Collingwood people. And they're squarely identifying that audience in their campaign line, which is, no doubt, founded on a fairly solid insight/truth i.e. Collingwood people really do feel it's 'us vs the world'. That's a good start as far as I'm concerned.

I'd also say it's consistent with last year's positioning too - the whole tribal, Collingwood army thing. So putting aside whether I like it or not, because that's kind of irrelevant, I think it talks to the audience directly, dare I say in an emotional and relevant way. I also think, unlike many football club's marketing efforts, they have built on a strategy not just come up with a new execution.

Like it is a subjective thing. I hate the Coles' 'prices are down' campaign, but as effective marketing that's banking spectacular business results, it's outstanding communication.

This thread screams obsession. Anything collingwood people lose there shit LMFAO

Look how many replys the thread has had and it's still going strong people won't admit it but there are supporters on this site that are more passionate about hating Collingwood then they are about supporting there team

Not hard to see just have an eye out for the usual suspects in a Collingwood thread with one purpose to hate

It's a marketing slogan.

It also happens to be true, unlike Carlton's "no passengers".

In the week leading up to a Grand final, supporters of almost every other club align against Collingwood and spew vitriol against us.

And you know what? I love it.:cool:

I'm not going to try to argue against the stereotypes, every club has them and they're generally innacurate.

I just genuinely enjoy having so many people hoping we lose, it just makes winning all that sweeter. And when I gently ask someone who they support and point out where they finished on the ladder and how sad it is that they need to live vicariously through other clubs that they don't support, it generally finishes the discussion.:thumbsu:

The more successful clubs are the ones everyone loves to hate. Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon in Victoria, Port Adelaide in Adelaide, West Coast in WA.

Geelong is a nothing club for most supporters, no one really cares if they win the grand final, they might start to care for a few years because of recent success but it will fade again.

Don't pretend you would have the same sort of numbers against you if you were playing an Essendon or a Carlton, the hate would be spread pretty evenly in either case.

Anyone who lived in the week after this years’ Grand Final in Melbourne knows it is Us against Them.

Every other supporter from every other team wanted to give it to you.

As if they were the first ones to talk to you….

The us v them mentality is driven by the supporters of all other Clubs.

The next person who walks up to me and says Colingwood fans are feral as if I am hearing it for the first time and then laughs at their own joke, is going to find out all about..

Us v Them!

My boss is a Melbourne supporter. I reckon he goes to about 2 games a year maximum. But every meeting we have, he spends the first half hour on a diatribe of how much he hates Collingwood and Collingwood supporters. Every second day. Like it is original and no one has heard it before...and he thinks he is funny.

If African Americans or Chinese people coped that much abuse, they would call it racial vilification. Just look at the minimum stuff said about Tiger Woods by his former caddie and how the press is all over that.

Yet Collingwood and Collingwood supporters can be abused - left, right and centre...without any form of censure.

Sometimes we don't even get to the topic of the meeting..

Prime example of how this hatred, which I am not even sure where it comes from? The 1950s probably. Drives his every thought about football.

He doesn’t really support his own team, he watches the AFL to hate Collingwood.

if you try and have a civilised conversation with a non-Collingwood supporter, they will swear black and blue that all the abuse comes from Collingwood supporters and all the rest of the team’s supporters are as quite as church mice.

The big issue in the Us v Them tag is that it is really ALL OF THEM.

Richmond fans may hate Carlton, Hawthorn fans may hate Essendon, Sydney and West Coast may have a rivalry etc etc…

But we are EVERYBODYS’ arch enemy.

And the only way they see they can beat us; is to gang up on us!

Which they all do!

Hence the beauty of the US v THEM! Slogan.

It really is ALL of them..

Individually and collectively.

The point of the US v THEM slogan is:-

Look we know you have tried to be civil with other teams supporters, we know you have sat there and accepted their stupid jokes and abuse and you, as Collingwood supporters, have tried your hardest to be giving and happy and let other supporters have their way…

But fair dinkum, enough is enough.

I doubt there are any other group of supporters in the world who get abused as much as Collingwood supporters.

In America, most cities are one team towns. Boston supports the Celtics, Patriots, Red Sox and Bruins. 99.9% of people in the city live and breathe these teams in unison.

In New York, you have got the Jets and the Giants and Mets and Yankees but the rivalry is a bit watered down because they are in different divisions.

In England, you have Liverpool and Everton and Man City and Man United and in London you have Arsenal, Chelsea, Spurs and the Hammers.

But there is not the constant vile, pathetic, hatred from every other franchise in the league that Collingwood and Collingwood supporters get on a daily basis.

We are the most abused fans in the world.

So Us v Them doesn’t go far enough..

You are either Us or you are Them.

And "Them" hate everything about You.

You can't talk to other teams supporters because they are unreasonable.

So why bother...

Just turn up and enjoy your team because all other supporters will abuse you and call you ******* and ****** or nuff, nuff or no hoper just because you wear a Collingwood jumper.

We know what you are like, other team supporters.

You are abusive.Thus we can only rely on ourselves.

I don't hate 'you'. I hate the Hawks..they beat us in finals.

The more successful clubs are the ones everyone loves to hate. Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon in Victoria, Port Adelaide in Adelaide, West Coast in WA.

Geelong is a nothing club for most supporters, no one really cares if they win the grand final, they might start to care for a few years because of recent success but it will fade again.

Don't pretend you would have the same sort of numbers against you if you were playing an Essendon or a Carlton, the hate would be spread pretty evenly in either case.

Not in this century sir. You know, the one that we live in. Purchase yourself a calendar.

Collingwood - us v them campaign