List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Edition

What should we do with our 1st round draft pick?

• Finn O’Sullivan

Votes: 57 19.0%
  • Sid Draper

Votes: 86 28.7%
  • Josh Smillie

Votes: 22 7.3%
  • Jagga Smith

Votes: 34 11.3%
  • Split for best mid and Tobie Travaglia

Votes: 46 15.3%
  • Split for best mid and Liam Baker

Votes: 20 6.7%
  • Split for best mid and best KPD

Votes: 4 1.3%
  • Split for best two mids

Votes: 9 3.0%
  • Other

Votes: 13 4.3%
  • Sam Lalor

Votes: 9 3.0%

• This poll will close: .

Quick links:
Player contract status
Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)
AFL retirements and delistings

Latest news and rumours:

Last edited by a moderator:
Yeah me too looking forward to Flynn

but I still think English is firmly in the eagles sights....and yeah million dollars is over the top ..maybe we can get a reduced offer thats up to the list managers and the recruiters...and the talk lately about English has been a bit average...maybe that will reduce his price

wait and see I suppose

It was discussed I think on Gettable and the way it was put was interesting.

Basically the Eagles had cooled on English compared to the previous two trade periods where they were very interested. A final comment was any move needed to be totally the Eagles way, or something to that effect.

To me that means no they wont be paying silly dollars and also it would need to be as a free agent costing no picks.

His concussion history, preseason training and form are factors and it seems the club has reassessed.

Whilst he may only be one piece, I'm still confident Bazzo will be a good player for us in the future. He looked far too classy in his first season to be a bust in my opinion. Injury and personal tragedy have crueled him lately, but there's definitely a player there.

My worry with Hough's growth and Bazzo not really playing taller than he is that there may not be a spot in the best 22 for both of them long term.

I feel like they would be alright in the same team. Hough has generally been taking the most dangerous small so far this year, so if he continues to do so there's space for Bazzo as the third tall in the Jamo/Rotham role. We do definitely need to find some true KPDs soon though.

I think Hough is definitely solidifying his spot in the 22 for the long term.. terrific shutdown roles already this year with Toby Greene and Walters.

Reminds me of Shep a lot the way he goes about it obviously he’s still growing in what his 3rd year of footy but the size he’s been able to put on has already paid off. Bazzo definitely lil more work and is a wait and see but I can see potential if he can work on craft + size KPP always take little longer so fingers crossed he can make that next step throughout the season

The issue for Burgiel is that he was probably next up to replace Witherden, but now that Ryan is playing HBF, he may be further down the totem pole.

Witherden has been pretty solid these past few weeks. Rotham too. They’re the guys whose spot he needs to try take.

I hope we keep pumping games into BBW.

He's an athletic machine. He's doing it all on his own pretty much.

Sure He's not Dean Cox but he's busting his ass and competing.

Stay out of the fwd line Bailey float between the arcs

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

So we can extend Harley Reid now. What would you say to a 7 year extension at $1.5 mln a year. This would take him thru to 2033 and the cap will grow in the latter years.

Keys - can we get a poll up?
The media have been throwing around a 5 year extension which will bring him into FA.

Whateley said 5 years for 8 million.
Apparently Leigh Matthews said 10 million for 5 years.

As a club we have always been very good at both being fair with contracts AND doing what is best for the club and list.
Even at our worst with the TK deal and Gaff deal they were never that outlandish in comparison to some of the rot that gets swung around by other clubs.

I'd expect the Reid deal to be on the more substantial end of things but not to the crazy excesses the media are throwing out there.

So we can extend Harley Reid now. What would you say to a 7 year extension at $1.5 mln a year. This would take him thru to 2033 and the cap will grow in the latter years.

Keys - can we get a poll up?
I wouldn’t be advising him to sign that.

We can only guess he will sign upto Free Agency and see what is offered from there.

If you want to dance, you have to pay the band. It gives Eagles enough to build a team around him and hopefully by then a nucleus to make it hard for him to leave Perth.

I think he genuinely loves the game and it’s not all about money by the club and the players that surround him. So it’s important we get talent in quickly imo….

Harley seems like a smart guy and he has smart people around him. He would know that you wouldn’t want to cripple any club you play for with ridiculous salary demands like 2m a year, if he wants to stay he would sign a modest deal until free agency and I’d assume it’d be around the million dollar mark even if he is worth more

Did Simmo let slide on Channel 7 tonight that Houghy got a contract extension that has not yet been announced by the club? Or was he referring to a previous deal?
Very possibly, I saw Hough at a café recently with what I believe was his manager explaining to him how the indexed salaries work vs those not auto indexed. There were some moments where Hough looked a little sheepish/was congratulated and call it a vibe but it seemed like he had received a decent offer.

I hope we keep pumping games into BBW.

He's an athletic machine. He's doing it all on his own pretty much.

Sure He's not Dean Cox but he's busting his ass and competing.

Stay out of the fwd line Bailey float between the arcs

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
Should've got mark of the week, was a ripper from a bloke that size.

Harley seems like a smart guy and he has smart people around him. He would know that you wouldn’t want to cripple any club you play for with ridiculous salary demands like 2m a year, if he wants to stay he would sign a modest deal until free agency and I’d assume it’d be around the million dollar mark even if he is worth more
Yeah don't know about any manager recommending a modest deal, the guy will have money and years being offered from every club.
If we want to keep the bloke it's going to cost serious coin IMO.

Yeah don't know about any manager recommending a modest deal, the guy will have money and years being offered from every club.
If we want to keep the bloke it's going to cost serious coin IMO.
A million a year is serious coin for a 19 year old, I’m not sure any other first year player has signed for that much before.

I think Hough is definitely solidifying his spot in the 22 for the long term.. terrific shutdown roles already this year with Toby Greene and Walters.

Reminds me of Shep a lot the way he goes about it obviously he’s still growing in what his 3rd year of footy but the size he’s been able to put on has already paid off. Bazzo definitely lil more work and is a wait and see but I can see potential if he can work on craft + size KPP always take little longer so fingers crossed he can make that next step throughout the season
He completely shut out papely also !

A million a year is serious coin for a 19 year old, I’m not sure any other first year player has signed for that much before.
Pretty sure his first 2 years are locked in on rookie wages .

Its the new 3rd year that can be negotiated?
Be nice if they added 3 more years until he is a pre agent and past the tassie team coming in

Pretty sure his first 2 years are locked in on rookie wages .

Its the new 3rd year that can be negotiated?
Be nice if they added 3 more years until he is a pre agent and past the tassie team coming in

You want the contract to reach RFA. So he is under contract as a pre agent. Then we hold the whip if a team wants him a year before free agency.