List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Edition

What should we do with our 1st round draft pick?

• Finn O’Sullivan

Votes: 57 19.0%
  • Sid Draper

Votes: 86 28.7%
  • Josh Smillie

Votes: 22 7.3%
  • Jagga Smith

Votes: 34 11.3%
  • Split for best mid and Tobie Travaglia

Votes: 46 15.3%
  • Split for best mid and Liam Baker

Votes: 20 6.7%
  • Split for best mid and best KPD

Votes: 4 1.3%
  • Split for best two mids

Votes: 9 3.0%
  • Other

Votes: 13 4.3%
  • Sam Lalor

Votes: 9 3.0%

Quick links:
Player contract status
Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)
AFL retirements and delistings

Latest news and rumours:

Last edited by a moderator:
Things can change in several years time, you strike when you can. The question would be, what are the odds pick 3 ends up better than Chad Warner? The answer is probably, not likely. If you get a chance to grab someone of his quality and his age profile, you take it with both hands.your logic but
I see your logic but respectfully disagree. No way I’m paying a top 5 pick in our situation for a player who is available for free two years later. Before free agency being introduced I agree you would have had to strike while the iron is hot and you make the call but not in this situation.

Jarrod Berry - Restricted Free Agent

Thanks for the thoughts below from HB Myers at "The Mongrel Punt"

If we jump back to the 2018 and 2019 seasons, Jarrod Berry looked as though he was going to be one of the hard nut mids of the competition. He averaged 18-19 touches per contest, loved the heavy stuff, and won plenty of his own football.
And then, others began to go past him.
First, it was Lachie Neale arriving at the club and establishing himself as the premier midfielder in the team. Then Jarryd Lyons bumped him down the order. Then Will Ashcroft and Josh Dunkley muddied the waters. And finally, Zac Bailey was a preferred option over him to pinch hit in the middle.
Hell, even Cam Rayner got more chances in the guts than Berry did in 2023.
What has gone wrong?
It seems to me that Berry is in the team because he is a very good player, but there are just so many other very good-to-excellent players in the Brisbane side, that he is forced to play on the wing, or on a flank, just to remain in the team.
The problem is, he is not playing those positions well.
Berry is a legitimate target for teams looking for an in-and-under midfielder. He can do the job – we’ve seen it, and he can also play the role of stopper. It’s become apparent that the Lions have others they prefer in the roles that Berry plays his best footy. The choice will be his, but I reckon he almost has to make the move away from Brisbane to a team that will allow him to play to his strengths.

Would people be happy with what Berry could add for midfield (Just turned 26), could see him adding value in the midfield by playing the Stenglien/Redden role short (Kelly/Yeo) and long term (Hewitt/Reid/Ginbey), whilst also providing coverage for Yeo/Kelly injuries in the short term.

Could offer length of contract, and more dollars then I expect Brisbane would offer, and midfield minutes. Low risk/low cost
Would Brisbane match? Worth a throw at the stumps? Moneyball option?

If we jump back to the 2018 and 2019 seasons, Jarrod Berry looked as though he was going to be one of the hard nut mids of the competition. He averaged 18-19 touches per contest, loved the heavy stuff, and won plenty of his own football.
First, it was Lachie Neale arriving at the club and establishing himself as the premier midfielder in the team. Then Jarryd Lyons bumped him down the order. Then Will Ashcroft and Josh Dunkley muddied the waters. And finally, Zac Bailey was a preferred option over him to pinch hit in the middle.
What has gone wrong?
It seems to me that Berry is in the team because he is a very good player, but there are just so many other very good-to-excellent players in the Brisbane side, that he is forced to play on the wing, or on a flank, just to remain in the team.
Berry is a legitimate target for teams looking for an in-and-under midfielder. He can do the job – we’ve seen it, and he can also play the role of stopper. It’s become apparent that the Lions have others they prefer in the roles that Berry plays his best footy. The choice will be his, but I reckon he almost has to make the move away from Brisbane to a team that will allow him to play to his strengths.

Would people be happy with what Berry could add for midfield (Just turned 26), could see him adding value in the midfield by playing the Stenglien/Redden role short (Kelly/Yeo) and long term (Hewitt/Reid/Ginbey), whilst also providing coverage for Yeo/Kelly injuries in the short term.

Could offer length of contract, and more dollars then I expect Brisbane would offer, and midfield minutes. Low risk/low cost
Appears the author of the article isn't aware of the fact that Berry has pre-draft Judd-like shoulders - they're stuffed. This is why he doesn't play full-time in the guts, I believe.

What has gone wrong?

As mentioned above shoulders are dodgy as ****, so he’d need to be recruited for a different role to inside mid. He’s a good footballer so wouldn’t mind him on the list with a fair contract but the question is what is his role? Duggan, Yeo, Sheed, Petch, Kelly probably means we have enough older bodies to rotate through without overloading the younger guys but wouldn’t be against recruiting a good footballer with a defined role that the only cost is salary cap. Would probably take Luke Edwards spot on the list IMO.

I see your logic but respectfully disagree. No way I’m paying a top 5 pick in our situation for a player who is available for free two years later. Before free agency being introduced I agree you would have had to strike while the iron is hot and you make the call but not in this situation.

What is our situation at the end of the 2025 season?.

A

What has gone wrong?

His shoulders are stuffed.

Thats why the Lion's play him off a wing and only sparingly on ball.

The wing and flanks we need to develop the kids.

And he'd be one more shoulder injury away from retiring. So a no to Berry for me.

What is our situation at the end of the 2025 season?.

A

His shoulders are stuffed.

Thats why the Lion's play him off a wing and only sparingly on ball.

The wing and flanks we need to develop the kids.

And he'd be one more shoulder injury away from retiring. So a no to Berry for me.
That we've climbed out of the bottom 4, the injuries have stopped, the kids have shown development, we haven’t destroyed the cap on English/other imports or traded away high draft picks for players in the middle of their career. Ideally we also traded our 2024 2R for Buss, use our 2025 R1 and R2 in the draft and FA to hopefully acquire Sam Taylor then aim to do the same with Chad Warner in 2027.

What has gone wrong?

Please don't invite the Loonytoon back

In his draft year he felt a very WC pick did Berry- we took Venables which was a bit of a surprise.

But given he seems to dislocate his shoulders weekly it seems he will finish at Brisbane on either flank- not really an area we lack in.

That we've climbed out of the bottom 4, the injuries have stopped, the kids have shown development, we haven’t destroyed the cap on English/other imports or traded away high draft picks for players in the middle of their career. Ideally we also traded our 2024 2R for Buss, use our 2025 R1 and R2 in the draft and FA to hopefully acquire Sam Taylor then aim to do the same with Chad Warner in 2027.

So end of 2025 we have climbed out of the bottom 4. And have landed another draft crop of youngsters including another likely top 3 mid. By then the likes of Ginbey, Hewett, Ried, Hough, Chesser, Maric and Long have 50 games experience. And Allen is how old 28 and Barrass 30.

That's exactly when you start looking at big trades for top 6 players like a Warner.

You don't wait another two years hoping you get them for free. By then Allen is heading over 30, Barrass and others close to done.

End of 2025 is exactly when we should be looking to trade in Warner.

So end of 2025 we have climbed out of the bottom 4. And have landed another draft crop of youngsters including another likely top 3 mid. By then the likes of Ginbey, Hewett, Ried, Hough, Chesser, Maric and Long have 50 games experience. And Allen is how old 28 and Barrass 30.

That's exactly when you start looking at big trades for top 6 players like a Warner.

You don't wait another two years hoping you get them for free. By then Allen is heading over 30, Barrass and others close to done.

End of 2025 is exactly when we should be looking to trade in Warner.
Agree to disagree on this one, don’t think he’s going to be the difference between a flag or no flag 2026/2027. If the Sydney offer is to get him through to the start of FA then let him take it. The recruiting team will have a gauge of what he’s likely to do then. We’ve shown what happens when we pay draft capital overs for one player, very happy to wait it out for 2 more years. Completely see your argument though and I’m sure many others agree, just not the strategy I’d like to see the club use. If our development/list was 2-3 years ahead of where it is now I’d agree with you.

Things can change in two years, maybe a player meets a future wife, has a kid, likes the team prospects more, is convinced to stay etc. Turning down an A-grade player could be the difference between being a premier and an also-ran. You don't gamble on A-grade.

As I said mate, perfectly reasonable arguments from yourself and Obeanie1, I just wouldn’t take that approach. Keep the draft capital like most things in life assume the risk.

Not sure what a fish window is. On form to date and projected I’d expect the asking price to be top 3-5 pick minimum, which I would absolutely consider stupid when we’re not contending and 2 years later he’s a free agent.

Plenty of pathways to develop a premiership list.

Well I'm totally poached.:coldsweat: Been out fishing all day and it was a smoking hot one on Darwin harbour.

Now relevance to your comment on fish window. We had one today at a certain time of the dropping tide. The barra started boofing small sardines and prawns all over the place. In the next hour we caught all our fish. Then it went quiet. The fish window closed and we didn't catch any more.

Now as a fisherman I'd like to catch fish any time but that's too bad as the fish window isn't open all the time.

So likewise in regards to the very top shelf AFL players if you want to catch a big one. It's really up to the fish when it gets caught. If you decide the time isn't right for you to go fishing.....then you don't catch the big fish.

The reality is the Eagles get so few opportunities to trade in elite talent. We aren't on the East Coast and the Lions or Sydney who have become destination clubs.

So IMO it would be a massive mistake to turn our back on any elite player in the perfect age bracket who wants to play for us. That opportunity simply does not come around very often at all.

Some comments from Zurhaar in a HUN article that are far from convincing that he wants to stay at North… FA this year, any appetite to get him over? Does anyone have access that can post it here?

Wants to play finals hence the lack of urgency to extend at North

Given that’s his reasoning we’d be hard pressed to convince him to join us atm