List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Edition

What should we do with our 1st round draft pick?

• Finn O’Sullivan

Votes: 57 19.0%
  • Sid Draper

Votes: 86 28.7%
  • Josh Smillie

Votes: 22 7.3%
  • Jagga Smith

Votes: 34 11.3%
  • Split for best mid and Tobie Travaglia

Votes: 46 15.3%
  • Split for best mid and Liam Baker

Votes: 20 6.7%
  • Split for best mid and best KPD

Votes: 4 1.3%
  • Split for best two mids

Votes: 9 3.0%
  • Other

Votes: 13 4.3%
  • Sam Lalor

Votes: 9 3.0%

Quick links:
Player contract status
Draft prospect video highlights (thanks to noobermensch)
AFL retirements and delistings

Latest news and rumours:

Last edited by a moderator:
Wrong. Between them they have one ruck under 26 y.o. who has played a grand total of 5 games. A 20y.o. SA ruck who was the best in his year costing nothing would be a no brainer for both clubs.
If that was the thought process then we would trade him and have it understood then ?

Still a bit to process before seasons end to be fair. I’ll stand by my low expectations though. It’s lees a talent issue and more a lack of competitiveness I have an issue with. Problem is between the ears which sometimes is tough to fix

Looking at some of the names here... Jack Ough ? ?? ??? :moustache:
View attachment 2010244
Vic Country squad for Sunday. Good to see Mraz named after his foot injury earlier in the season. Players that I think would be a great fit for our list are FOS, Travaglia, Lindsay and Mraz. Would also keep an eye on Hynes and Langford.

You can’t just move an uncontracted player to the rookie list. You have to delist them and then rookie them. What do you think the chances of both Crows and Port offering him a 2-3 year deal are?

Luke Edwards could get to the rookie list.

Barnett. Doubt it.

As others have mentioned we should develop him as a CHB and see how it goes. Crows may be looking for tall defenders in a year or two. ;)

Barnett should just be delisted and put onto the rookie list if we are being fair dinkum. He has shown less than nothing and I’m certain no one else would want him at this stage.

Edwards slapped him who all season has got belted by everyone except Swan Districts who basically have no ruck
It is with posts like this that I am thankful you are not in development or list management. I think you need to take a couple of patience tablets

One thing our club has gained in reputation (along with Essendon) is banking our talls and waiting for them to flourish.

It’s nearly like they play completely different positions and have completely different levels of competition for spots.

Let’s be clear I would only consider a contract for Gaff if he played to a decent level for the rest of the year.

Jamieson is nearly 24. Has been improving just isn’t good enough when he has four people ahead of him.
Doubt Jamo would've missed a game if not for injury this year.

Was building slowly but nicely

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Just watching the champs and geez I reckon we've got one in Charlie Banfield for next year. For the record, I'm not saying he's a top 10 player for next year.
More he's done some quite nice things in the game from the weekend, seems to have a very good footy IQ.

Would be very nice to be on the receiving end of a top father son prospect so I hope he goes so well he is the clear number one pick.

It is with posts like this that I am thankful you are not in development or list management. I think you need to take a couple of patience tablets

One thing our club has gained in reputation (along with Essendon) is banking our talls and waiting for them to flourish.
I do have patience which is why im saying still have him on our list. Just the rookie one.

If at seasons end we have a decision to make like upgrade Jai Culley or lose him then we might be better off to upgrade Culley and rookie list Barnett. Type of list decisions we gotta think about as opposed to just chucking contracts out to everyone whose tall

There's an easy fix to this.

Put a condition in place that for teams who have not benefit by FS/Academics in the last 10 years the rules are phased in. For those that have, it is instantly applied.
so the northern teams and pies miss out.

Dr Evil Whatever GIF

With Vic Country playing their first champs game on the weekend it's time to take a closer look at the talented Lachie Jaques. Lachie is an intercepting and rebounding defender from the Geelong Falcons who's still flying a bit under the radar even though he's putting together a prolific campaign. He's strong overhead which allows him to play taller than his listed 184cm height, and has tidy foot skills.

I do have patience which is why im saying still have him on our list. Just the rookie one.

If at seasons end we have a decision to make like upgrade Jai Culley or lose him then we might be better off to upgrade Culley and rookie list Barnett. Type of list decisions we gotta think about as opposed to just chucking contracts out to everyone whose tall
There are at least 6 players on the main list who would go before Barnett and probably more, he won’t be pushed out for list spots.

Who out of curiosity?

OOC list is

Alex Witherden 2024
Andrew Gaff 2024
Coby Burgiel 2024
Elliot Yeo 2024
Harry Barnett 2024
Harry Edwards 2024
Jack Williams 2024
Jamaine Jones 2024
Josh Rotham 2024
Luke Edwards 2024
Tyler Brockman 2024

Duggan/Yeo/Witherden/Williams/Brockman (seems wrong anyway) all staying. Who are the 6 in that list?

Id go with

H.Edwards, Rotham, Jones, L.Edwards, Gaff to be delisted. If we then add Culley to main list then it leaves 4 spots available. If we wanna take Baker/Busslinger then we going with 2 picks to the draft

We could be in a position to lose Culley or lose Barnett for example. I dont think the decision is as clear cut as people wanna make out