List Mgmt. Contract, Trade and Draft Discussions - 2024 Post Season

Whose future picks would you have preferred?

Quick links

Trade period
In:
12, F1, F2, F3, 73, Baker, Owies, Graham*
Out: 3, 63, F4, Barrass, Darling

*Free agent

Done deals

• Jai Culley, Alex Witherden and Coby Burgiel delisted

• Zane Trew, Jamaine Jones and Jordyn Baker delisted

Last edited by a moderator:
I've read every page of this thread so far. When the trade period finishes this evening I'm putting in for some annual leave from work so I can recover from this past week and half.

And barely anything has happened for 6 out of the 8 days.

To be in this position where you are haggling it out in the last hour of trade week over a player contracted to you and where the trade has been on the cards for 6 months now is just such awful mismanagement from our club. We shouldn't be in this position. Only an incompetent club would be in this position.

There’s literally a dozen other deals that are also at a standoff between clubs all waiting for the other to blink first

Not accepting a substandard offer for a contracted player is the opposite of incompetent

Sorry for the intrusion jatz, with all sincerity, I'm seriously not trying to troll you guys but I agree completely with you.

In all honesty, you guys seriously need to be loading up with draft picks like Richmond are. I know you're not gunna like it, but I said the same thing last year that you should have sold pick 1 for as many first rounders as you could get to load up with developing superstars and smash out your rebuild.

There's gunna be some compromised drafts coming up with Tassie entering the comp in a couple of years and I'm not convinced Chads gunna be your difference maker long term as much as a group developing 1st rounders will be.

I know you're all gunna jump on me and tell me to pi55 off back to my own board, but I honestly reckon you're all better off taking your medicine and getting started on this rebuild as soon as possible rather than looking for that big name import that might be a bandaid fix but will probably be worth just a couple of extra bums on seats at Optus on a Sunday arvo.

And trust me, as a Fremantle supporter, I do speak from experience on that. Don't do what we've done for the past 30 years.

Good luck guys and gals.

Blowing it all up and building with a bunch of talented young kids can work, but it can also not work at all. Good Coast were given most of the first round in 2010 and have had any number of top 10 picks over the years; they’ve still never played finals. Since 2017 North have drafted at 4, 8, 3 and 13, 1, 3 and 4, and 2 and 4, and they’re still terrible.

Drafting early is great but people really tend to underestimate the inherent risk in having a rebuilding plan which is completely contingent on identifying the best teenagers, most of whom are not physically or emotionally mature, playing in different structures, and none of whom have been in anything resembling a professional football atmosphere with that being their actual job (as opposed to an activity they do outside of school hours).

I've read every page of this thread so far. When the trade period finishes this evening I'm putting in for some annual leave from work so I can recover from this past week and half.

And barely anything has happened for 6 out of the 8 days.
I remember the good old days on Monday when we were just melting over the Barrass pick being used on Baker.

There’s literally a dozen other deals that are also at a standoff between clubs all waiting for the other to blink first

Not accepting a substandard offer for a contracted player is the opposite of incompetent

Complaining we fold too easily and then also complaining we're holding too firm on Barrass is quite a position to take

clarke rushing to the rooms before the deadline
the simpsons escalator GIF

If a trade has only just now been asked for by a player or a club only just put a player up at the start of trade week then it makes sense that the negotiations might still be going at this point. When the trade has been in the works for 6 months and the player is contracted and you haven't gotten the other club to agree on a trade price with you yet then that is incompetence. Especially when they got Battle then we really should have been on the phone to them try to get a price agreed to see if they were still intending to go through with the trade.

How did it get to this point where a trade price wasn't agreed a long time ago? We clearly agreed on a price for Baker a long time ago and he is uncontracted. They should have gotten Hawthorn to agree on the price months ago or shut it down.

I get making a stand for Barrass and I'm happy to keep him rather then taking unders and further diminishing our future trade reputation. However I think our priorities have been backward this trade period.
We should've been working on maximizing our draft hand first and foremost by getting the Barrass deal done and then made a stand on Baker. I think we would've still got him without diluting our draft hand so much.
Having only 2 picks in this draft is really deflating.

This all sounds good in theory but we’re in the last hour and Hawthorn still haven’t put an acceptable offer on the table

What matters we net picks after that disaster of Liam Baker shit where we lost picks

Imagine being Tom Barrass right now. You would have to feel like a complete twatter. Absolutely taken for a ride by Hawthorn and his "mate" Sam Mitchell.